Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fiunary Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Morvern > Fiunary Certificated Site Reviews

Fiunary Certificated Site
Fiunary
Morvern
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA34 5XU
Tel: 01967 421225
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: SmedmorDCH 10 reviews from this member

 This site is a hideaway site which its is, and the views from there a spectacular, lots of walking, made a short crossing to Mull from here.

Met families that visit every year, and I see why its so relaxing and quite. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swapeman 13 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site for about 20 years and we loved every minute of it. The owners are two of the nicest people we have ever met and could not do enough to help us.

Unfortunately we had to curtail our stay by one day due to the weather, but we will most certainly be back!

The site is wonderfully situated right on the Sound of Mull, the toilets, showers and dishwashing facilities are spotless and well maintained - we could not have wished for more (except a little more sunshine). 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greyhoundstar 10 reviews from this member

 Beautiful small site well off the beaten track, we stayed here for one night after leaving Mull, the site owners are a lovely couple who were very helpful.

The facilities on the site are old but everything is spotless and working, with views across to Mull from every pitch and a calm quietness about the site make it well worth a visit.

On the beach at the bottom of the site the owners have supplied all you would need for a fire to sit and watch the world go by. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ravelin 13 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stayed here in a 3-man tent for 3 nights at the end of July and had a fantastic weekend. If you want a site with a view, secluded location and plenty of wildlife then this is the one for you.

The site itself is affiliated with the Camping and Caravan Club. It limits itself to no more than 5 caravans/ campervans plus an unspecified number of tents so will never be busy. The toilet/show block is small but adequate, especially given the limited numbers on site, and was kept spotless when we were there.

The only minor fault I could find at all with the site was that the shower cubicle was quite dark, being stuck in a poorly lit corner. The site is basic, apart from the toilet block the only other real facilities are a washing-up sink, the usual water taps & disposal points and some picnic benches (the nearest shop is in Lochaline). Electric hook-up is available but we didn't use it.

The site is gently sloping grass, with some low hedges, which runs down to a pebble beach on the Sound of Mull, and is bounded on one side by a stream. I don't think you could pick an area to pitch that wouldn't have a view across the water to Mull.

As for the surrounding area, well it's what you could safely call rugged and remote. Lochaline is the nearest village, and that is 4 miles along a single-track road (and there's a lot of single-track to even get to Lochaline itself).

Mull can be visited by taking the ferry from Lochaline, and is well worth it for the fantastic scenery. We went to the area primarily for the wildlife and weren't disappointed.

We lost count of the number of Golden Eagles we saw (including an 'incident' where we followed 3 of them along a forestry track on our bikes about 20ft behind them until they cleared the trees), as well as a number of Sea Eagles on Mull. The crowning glory though was watching an otter (2 at one point) for about 2hrs fishing in the water just off the campsite.

We enjoyed it so much we're considering returning with our caravan despite the long stretches of single-track road to get there. There were at least 2 caravans on the site when we were there so if they can do it then so can we. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Whistling jean 10 reviews from this member

 This is a gem, a small site right by the Sound of Mull, you can walk straight from the site onto the shore. There were plenty of sea birds and ferres to watch.

The toilets are spotless, and the shower is free, there are wash up facilities.

Opposite the site there is access to the forested hillside, and a path winds upwards to an abandoned farmstead, a perfect dog walk. An easy bike ride takes you to Lochaline.

Further afield there is an abandoned township, with explanatory boards. Also some exacting mountain bike trails.

An excellent site which we shall certainly revisit 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Ws 1 review from this member

 Quiet, peaceful site in a stunning location. Very clean toilet and shower block and a lovely owner. This is a certificated site for Caravan and camping club members only. We will definitely go again.

It would be handy to have bikes with you as you can go over to Mull on the ferry from Lochaline to Fishnish - nothing at Fishnish but it is near the road to Tobermoray.

There were some people with canoes staying when we were there who went out for a paddle - easy access to the water from the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arty Collins 5 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting, glorious views over to Mull. Now a Caravan and Camping Club Site from May 2008. Only allows up to 5 vans or motorhomes at a time. Must be members to stay.

1 shower for males and 1 shower for females. Toilet blocks spotlessly clean,plenty of hot water. Site is well looked after. Ideal site if you want to go walking in Morvern. No shops or pubs nearby. 4 1/2 miles to Lochaline which has a general store, post office and ferry terminus for the Isle of Mull. Single track road. (B489). Helpful and friendly owners. Lots of midges! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kahns 38 reviews from this member

 Fiunary is on the Sound of Mull. Most pitches have views over the water to the mountains of the Island of Mull. From our 'van we watched dolphins, seals, otters, fishing boats, yachts, ocean bulk carriers, cruise ships, buzzards, light aircraft - if it floats or flies it'll probably appear off this camp site eventually. The view cannot be bettered. Take your telescope.
 
It's a sloping grassy site in two distinct areas, but level pitches can be found for motor-homes. A few hook-ups are available if required. At the bottom of the field is a private stony beach with slipping facilities for small boats. Controlled camp fires are allowed on the beach.
 
This is a tranquil, peaceful and secluded site. If you want to make noise go somewhere else - please. The owners like to keep the site as a hide-away, and demand behaviour to suit, yet they're very friendly and helpful.
 
Facilities are basic, but kept very clean. Both M & F each have 2 WCs, sinks and a free hot shower. Water is from a tap and the site has chemical disposal. Mobile and TV reception is minimal.
 
Access is from Lochaline about 5 miles along a typical Scottish highland road - very narrow and twisting but with plenty of passing places. The site is ideally placed for a stop-over for the Lochaline-Fishnish ferry.
 
One of the best sites we've ever stayed on. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fiunary Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fiunary Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Fiunary Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morvern      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2619 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement