Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brownmuir Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Laurencekirk > Brownmuir Caravan Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Brownmuir Caravan Park
Fordoun
Laurencekirk
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that this site is now closed, and is being redeveloped for housing.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Motor2014 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in May. Owner very helpful. Toilets and showers very clean, as was the whole site. Lovely base for touring and golf course just up the road. No shop on site, but shop in village. Site very quiet and peaceful. I think the sole owner of this site is doing a splendid job, under the circumstances, as I was told that her husband had just passed away recently! Well done you for carrying on with this site. You are doing a good job. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kgm64 3 reviews from this member

 A nice little site with decent facilities and in a nice area. Owners were very nice and helpful and there is plenty to see in the area. Showers could do with upgrading. A bit of noise from the dual carriageway was evident. If you are visiting to go walking etc. It is a good site but for eating out or pubs it's a bit out of the way. You are not too far from Aberdeen for visitor attractions and quite close to the Aberdeenshire coast line. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derek anderson 4 reviews from this member

 Pretty poor site, only 1 shower for each sex. We were only there 2 nights, the first day the ladies one was broken (20p's machine for shower was jammed), while I can't blame them for that it is a poor show that there was nothing else to offer, my wife had to use our van shower. Even when it was fixed she spent 20p for a cold shower until another lady showed her the knack to get a hot shower - run the hot tap on the sink nearest the shower until it gets hot whilst running the shower water, then put the 20p in - obvious really?!?! The facilities appear to be 20 years out of date (I'm being benevolent) I don't think there has been any improvements or update in that time - perhaps they are going for the 'Theme' since it was a second world war airbase.

We were packed in the site like sardines - no European standard pitch sizes here.

At 19 per night (June/off peak)for a caravan with 2 adults this is extremely poor value.

We will only back if it is the last site in Scotland! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ehr100 5 reviews from this member

 Sadly we did experience personal problems with the owners.

During our overnight stay the toilet block was accessed by a key. This we had no problem with. What we did find was the toilets were a little unclean, as there are no brushes to wipe the pan with after use. The wardens have admitted that the toilets are cleaned twice a day-unfortunately from our stay from 1. 30pm until 9am the next morning-the male toilets had not been cleaned, and the toilets were very uninviting.

At 25. 00 per night per unit, I would have expected a lot more facilities on site. Ideal for just a overnight stop-over.

Although the above did spoil our visit, the site was ok. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jan + Nige 2 reviews from this member

 The site is excellent, well drained and with good facilities. It was kept clean and tidy, and had everything a family of 4 needed for a good holiday. While we were there, we had some trouble with our car.

We fetched basic supplies from the local shop in Auchenblae, about 30 mins walk. The shop sold fresh bread, milk, eggs, bacon, ham etc. As well as newspapers and local produce.

The site owners could not have been more helpful. Apart from freezing our ice packs and checking the facilities at least twice a day, they also ensured that the site was quiet at night. They even ran my husband into Laurencekirk to fetch the car when it was fixed.

We will be going back. This is a stunning part of the world. Coastal towns and villages are rugged but beautiful, and the hills nearby are spectacular. We had an amazing day climbing Clachnaben, a local mountain. (well, nearly a mountain) Local supermarkets included Tesco and Morrisons in Banchory, both with petrol.

The only downside to this site is that the tent area is next to the popular play area. Great if you have small kids, a bit noisy otherwise. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevinmacdonald 3 reviews from this member

 When I rate things, they're given a perfect score and points removed for the bad things.

OK, when you find this place, either tag in it your GPS or phone, or don't leave! must've got lost twice a day in the 3 days we were there. More to do with me than the site I think. No shop on the site, but located further down the road. A bit of a pain if your rough and want a bacon roll

On first appearance the site is very well maintained, save for a few pot holes and a faulty fence.

Toilet block is dated but clean. As previously reviewed, 20p for a shower, but nowhere to get change! Washer and drier located in the potwash area, 2. 50 a turn. They are large so I dare say you'd get a lot in there. A few books also in the potwash, I'm guessing you can borrow them, so long as you don't steal them.

Dogs are accepted under reasonable control. We kept ours on the leash in the dog walking area, but noticed other residents didn't bother so we let ours play amongst themselves. I'm very strict when it comes to dog poop, mine know the rules, poop first, play later. This means they are not allowed to run around until they've moved their bowels, this means I can always clean up after them. As we were leaving, the owners came over and asked me to 'clean up your dog sh*t before you go' I found this a little hostile and went with her to investigate. She had found a turd that did not belong to me, I know my dogs poop, I've been picking it up for years. However, I had bags and alcohol gel in my pocket so I cleaned it up to be nice, told her it wasn't one of mine, and she argued the point with me, saying that dogs should be under control. I politely explained that It wasn't mine, and nobody else clipped their dogs so its almost impossible to say who is belongs to. There are no rules about dogs anywhere on the site (other than 'No dogs in the playpark') but I was made to feel like a 2nd rate citizen.

Will I return? No, not if my life depended on it. Park was quiet, apart from rush hour, but there are several other parks in the area that offer better services. From the top of my head, Johnshaven, about 8-10 miles away. Campsite is right on the waterfront, and the people are lovely and much more relaxed. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hev24 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely, quiet site with level pitches. We didn't need EHU so pitched near the toilets looking on to the playpark.

The site is mainly for statics with a small touring area but is laid out in such a way that you don't feel over looked or squeezed in.

The toilet block is old but was kept very clean and showers were 20p for 6 mins. Small laundry room with washers and sink and a dedicated drying area for tourers. The water points were dotted around the park.

The playpark was good especially as we could keep an eye on our youngest while she still managed to get the freedom to run about.

There is no shop on site but there are local shops a few minutes drive away or bigger supermarkets in Stonehaven and beyond.

We felt this site was very good value for money at only 13 per night for a family of 4 and will definitely use it again when visiting the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chelltiger 10 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for 10 nights but only stayed 9. The early leave was not due to the campsite though, but weather, insects and OH being stubborn.

The facilities are basic but clean. Only 1 shower and was 20p a shot but worth it as they had good hot water with a good blast of water pressure. Downside to that is making sure we had a collection of 20ps.

Washing machine was pretty good but the drier was crap and was out of order a couple of days later. We had chosen this site as it had a launderette so we didn't take too many clothes as we'd wash them but just could not get them dry as weather didn't allow them to dry on line. Had no idea where there was another laundrette locally to us, so we started to whiff a bit.

There isn't much to do in the immediate local area for us, (though for others who like walking and nature there maybe) but we were closeish to family and this trip was about visiting them. Had we not had family in the area we wouldn't have enjoyed the trip half as much.

The playground was pretty good. It did attract the children some were unkind and exclusive to ours (as expected due to their autism) but others were just marvellous and made my children's holiday special. 2 young girls really left a mark as they played with my daughter and accepted her for who she is and they let her ride their bikes and she has finally learnt how to ride a bike on her own at age 11, so very pleased about that.

It did rain (expected) which left the ground sodden and covered in pools of water. (not expected)

Unfortunately this seemed to effect our footprint badly and at the end of our time there it stank awful and didn't protect the tent as much as we thought it would not sure if it was the footprint or the site though or even both.

It was good value but if the drier had been working then it would have been better.

The wardens were nice and we didn't see much of them, except when they emptied the bins in the washing area. Hadn't been told where the bins were on arrival and only found the bin in the wash room and was then told about the recycling so recycled from that day forth though no plastic recycling yet.

Was a very quiet site and not heaving with people. Didn't find the nearest shop as imagined this was in the village, but found a good shop (a coop sort of shop) in next village which sold most of what we needed (including for special diets)and it was 4 miles away

There weren't many pubs or restaurants and certainly no fast food places, so got to cook and eat at the campsite.

I don't think we would return to this site for a long stay but head further north and travel to visit the relatives, giving us more things to do when not visiting family. We may have a night on our way up further north though. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deeko.d 5 reviews from this member

 Great site. We loved the quietness of the site, combined with Aberdeen / Dundee both within an hours drive, and Stonehaven only 20mins away with a heated outdoor swimming pool (they pump in water from the sea, clean it, heat it). The swimming pool in Stonehaven is great, as long as the weather is kind. They have chutes, loungers and a cafe so you coul spend most of the day there.
The toilets in the site were basic and needed upgrading, but they were spotless. Cheap shopping can be found at somerfields or co-op at Stonehaven, but no shop on site.
Great play area for the kids in the middle of the site tents without hook ups pitch right next to it, tents with hook ups pitch with the tourers. Both tent areas flat. We pitched next to the toilet block so we could sit at the tent and watch the kids play in the play area - perfect! Only 30 for family of four for two nights with EHU - an absolute bargain.
Would highly recommend and will be back again very often. Site staff very friendly and came over to see we got pitched OK. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2452 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement