Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashieview Stud

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Ashieview Stud
Ancrum
Jedburgh
Borders   (Browse area)
TD8 6UN
Tel: 01835 830592  or  07814679854
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 11
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Standleo 3 reviews from this member

Lovely overnight stay here at Ashieview Stud on the way to the Highlands. Flat grassy pitch with EH. Chemical disposal, toilets and showers in the barn. A road runs past the camping field but very few vehicles and none over night that we heard.

Not much in the area and closest pub a couple of miles away.

Recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mishka Moo 2 reviews from this member

Great for a one night stop over for travelling to other areas.

Owner is very friendly and pitches are kept immaculate. However shower and toilet area is in much need of updating, although water hot. You have to pay for showers

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Handkcampers 1 review from this member

Have camped here many a times and will continue returning for many years with family and friends. Friendly owners happy to accommodate additional requests such as freezing ice packs. Its clean and beautifully maintained quiet campsite. It's basic but that's just what I want peace and quiet with no rowdy campers and safe for kids to play all day. Ideally located for a short trip to jedbrugh to visit the jail, abbey or free playpark and of course a cheat chippy tea. I have found my favourite campsite and will be returning again soon. Thankyou.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eribaist 7 reviews from this member

We used this site as a break between Fife and Lancashire. It has a very rural feel and is surrounded by serene rather than dramatic countryside. There are views across the border to the Cheviot however. Ancrum is a good base for visiting the Border Abbey towns. Ancrum village is a short drive away and has a shop selling local and organic produce. Jedburgh is close for supermarkets. The site facilities are a bit dismal. It is a tedious having to remember toilet paper. Dog walk is a field opposite. As I feel that 'Luxury' is removing the 'camp' from camping on a lot of sites I prefer a proper site like this one, on grass, with get away from it all feel, to those that try to emulate 4 star hotels.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gerry31 16 reviews from this member

Site in peaceful spot a short drive from Ancrum/Jedburgh. Friendly owner greeted us & offered a choice of pitches, suggesting hardstanding may be best as rain was due so best not pitch the van on grass.

The shower/toilet facilities were rather in need of updating. 50p tokens (lasts 5 minutes)per shower. Must take your own loo roll with you or buy from the owner. Pitch cost 15 per night including electric. You could say you get what you pay for, but it did feel like the washrooms needed some attention to bring up to speed with the 21st century.

Too far to walk to Ancrum from the site (2 miles) where the village store is open 6. 30 am - 5 pm.

All in all a good stay but could be improved.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Datman229 3 reviews from this member

This site is a particular favourite of ours, been going for 10 years now. Nice and quiet farm site, with electric hook up, lovely scenery with walks near by. Only a 10 minute ride into Jedburgh by car. Edinburgh not much more than an hour away. The facilities are basic but very clean and are more than adequate, its got everything you need if tent camping. Friendly site owners is a bonus too.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frapo 5 reviews from this member

A very rural site, a farm, about 9km from Jedburgh. Coming from Jedburgh, don't use the postal code for navigation otherwise you will end up on a steep rough track like we did! Just stay on the B6400 that passes Ancrum until you see the campsite sign. The simple, a bit outdated facilities are in a separated part of the barn. But they were o. K. For us. The remote site is very quiet and has nice views.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sooz 20 reviews from this member

Had a lovely few days here meeting up with friends. Spacious, flat, well maintained camping field with some hook up pitches.

No walks from site, but plenty to do/see in nearby villages.

Facilities fairly basic - 3 toilets, 2 with showers, 1 with washing up sink (?) and one separate washing up sink. No toilet rolls or soap are provided which for a tent camper with no facilities is inconvenient. The owner said it was because people take the toilet rolls (do people really do this???) and it helps to keep the price down. 10 per night for 2 adults non electric I would have thought could cover soap and toilet roll. Showers are 50p (token) for about 3 mins - too short a time and shower temperature ranges erratically from scalding to freezing.

We really enjoyed our stay - I don't mind basic facilities but as I have none of my own, having to remember my toilet roll and being unable to wash my hands would deter another visit I'm afraid.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rabble 15 reviews from this member

Site is in a lovely peaceful location with plenty of biking and walking potential. The grass is beautifully maintained and the owners were very friendly allowing us to park the van on the hardstanding track inside the field so we were near grass for the children to play.

However the toilet and shower facilities whilst cleaned were very run down and as the lights were turned off and there was no light left on you have to fumble around in the dark for the switch (and find the right switch) after dark so torches and toilet rolls are essential.

At 5 per adult, 2 per child and 3 for electric, it is reasonable.

Biggest problem for us was that in my opinion the elsan point and fresh water tap were too close to each other and rinse water for the elsan point was on the same pipe as the fresh water tap!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

Used this site as a 1 night stay when travelling back down South.

Friendly owner when enquiring on telephone and on arrival. We were offered the hard standing area opposite the barn with hook up (clearly an area for vans etc) but the annoying thing was that there was a Duke of Edinburgh or something similar group camping and although we had no trouble from the teens their parents inconsiderately parked alongside our unit as if it were a car park!

Otherwise the site was quiet, friendly but basic. Toilets etc were clean but basic, need your own loo rolls as owner states he does not put any out as people take them, he will still sell you one for 40p. As previously mentioned - book swap and lots of local info / leaflets about the area provided.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!