Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Whittlieburn Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Largs > South Whittlieburn Farm Reviews

South Whittlieburn Farm
Brisbane
Glen
Largs
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA30 8SN
Tel: 01475 675881
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Andyrb 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent location and facilities.

Hosts were helpful nothing to much trouble and caters for campers and motorhomes.

Gem of a find. Set in a beautiful valley about 2.5 miles from Largs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Brenda 2 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely CL site but as others have said, be aware that there are two other areas close by for other campers. Reception is on the side of the house, we booked in, paid our money and never saw them again. We did not use the toilet block so canít comment. Donít go for pitch number 4 as itís on a slope ( as is number 5) and we tried every way to get level but couldnít as it was leaning every which way but loose and loose gravel clippings didnít help!

The black and grey waste was an open gridded drain outside of reception, not very hygienic position and no sanitiser there or near the water taps so take your own wipes etc.

It was an easy 15 minute cycle (along a single but busy single track road) to Largs which was very busy! We got the ferry over to Great Cumbrae and cycled twice around the island (itís only 10 miles round trip). Donít bother with a car as it could only take you 10 minutes to get around and there is a bus once you get off the ferry to take you to Millport the only town on the island. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: PamelaCollumb 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite run by Katie who is so friendly and helpful. It has beautiful views and lots of lovely walks you can do.

Only a 10 min drive into largs and you can crossover to millport.

We had our 2 young children with us and they had the best time running around the field. They loved the animals especially Ruby the super friendly dog!

We will definitely be back. We were only supposed to stay for 3 night but extended our stay to 1 week.

We all had such a lovely time thanks to Katie and co! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 We used for a night when passing through from the ferry of Bute.

Site is easy to find, just a couple of miles up a single track road from Largs.

We stayed on the CL, just over lane from the farmhouse and main campsite. Good sized pitches, all with ehu. A fresh water tap and grey drain and bins.

The shower and loo are in an outbuilding attached to the farm. Both do look incredibly old - but they are clean. Electric shower was super hot and powerful, shower curtain had seen better days.

The lady owner was friendly and helpful - no problem that we changed our booking by 4 days with a few hours notice.

Would use again if in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: William scott 21 reviews from this member

 Well kept site new owners taken over from older lady that owned the last time we visited site

Bad TV and Wi-Fi reception no phone signal either

Site fairly busy when we were there 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: VWgir1 1 review from this member

 A great small friendly site well placed to explore the area. A selection of places to set up and didn't feel crowded. Katie, Neil and family are very welcoming would recommend a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Houldens 1 review from this member

 We have just spent three lovely nights here, what a lovely lady and a lovely warm welcome we received.

The facilities were very good, the walking down to the Glen for our dog was excellent, as it is a working farm our dog was on her lead at all times. Plenty of safe space for children to play.

The Viking festival was in Largs.

A site we will definitely be returning to. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 276 reviews from this member

 Not overly impressed to be honest; the site is easy enough to find and the road up the glen is wide enough. The CL area is all a kind of tarmac, like a car park and distinctly unlevel. The entrance is on a slope and rather narrow, ok with care but could be improved.

Our dog wouldn't walk down to the burn so can't comment on that; we did find a walk a couple of miles further up the glen which was ok.

Largs itself is rather uninspiring, has a Morrisons for supplies.

We drove up the coast looking for walks and inspiration and found neither, just a narrow area of rocks and then the angry sea.

The facilities are across the road, we didn't use them so can't comment. We were charged £17 per night, a rip off, but there are not many sites in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mustang75 22 reviews from this member

 Arrived on a busy weekend, it was very wet so we couldn't pitch on the grass. I had called ahead to ask for a pitch. We were shown to a level area in the car park at the back but told there was no hook up. There appeared to be hook up in the upper hard standing area but it wasn't offered. We were still charged full price, which I didn't mind too much but I paid for 3 nights ahead. The lady was very pleasant but seemed a little flustered. After a couple of hours sitting in our van in torrential rain we decided to go into Largs, where we found somewhere better to pitch up. The facilities at this site are very dated - one toilet and shower inside a building and a decidedly ropey looking portacabin, which we didn't venture in so can't say what it was like. It just reminded me a bit of what campsites used to be like in the 70's/80's. Everything worked but was just a tad rough around the edges. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Headgardener 36 reviews from this member

 We tried to book two nights at the CL but were told it was full but we were offered a hardstanding in an adjacent field which we accepted. The site was easy enough to find and we were surprised to see four areas, one of which was the CL, with caravans/motorhomes some of which looked as if they were long stays. We were directed to the field beside the CL and opposite the farmhouse. The entrance was a bit steep but we got in OK. The 'hardstanding' turned out to be a large car park at the bottom of a field which not only sloped N/S but E/W so we could not get level and did not want to use the planks of wood, complete with nails, which were available and would be OK for caravans. There was one motorhome and one caravan that appeared to be occupied and two other caravans and a boat that appeared to have been there for some time. There were several EHUs and water taps. We could not get a TV signal although next to the CL which is stated to have good TV reception! We were adjacent to the road with a bit of traffic noise There was a toilet and shower across the road adjacent to the farmhouse which we did not use as it did not look inviting. I did use the chemical disposal which was the worst and dirtiest I have ever used.

We were tired and decided to stay the night, which was not a very pleasant experience, and left a day early. We paid £16. 00 for the one night. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Whittlieburn Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Whittlieburn Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is South Whittlieburn Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Largs      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4064 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement