Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Salutation Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > The Salutation Inn Reviews

The Salutation Inn
Shoreswood
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2NL
Tel: 01299 848468
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: X4nder50 4 reviews from this member

 Site is nice, but there is no laundry, the toilets were not very clean. No paper hand towels in gent's when I arrived. Could not get a hold of the people on either the mobile or landlines provided had to wait in the car until someone turned up. When the gentleman returned he asked if he could help and I said I'd paid for camping. He told me to pitch at the bottom, but to avoid using the second power supply as it did not work and was awaiting replacements.

The first shower in the gents did not work and tripped the electric, the second one ran hot and cold even on 10. The wash area for dishes were passed their best and no hot water supply, you had to get it from the little water boilers in the toilets. The wash area was not covered and open to the weather. Sorry I won't be back again, not for the cost of 73. 50 for the 3 nights I stayed, certainly not worth that much. The toilets were not heated either. I know new owners, but don't know when they took over. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lornalou71 2 reviews from this member

 Gem of a site. Visited this site for a weekend with a group of friends. Very very friendly hosts. Fantastic pub that serves the best food. The rates are fantastic. Yeah okay so the toilet block isn't great but it's not dirty as such. It doesn't put me off. I love it up there and will be back soon :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JPLL 3 reviews from this member

 Avoid. The toilet block was dirty and clearly had never been cleaned for weeks. Campsite itself was OK, bear in mind that there seemed to be little passing campers, but a lot of permanent caravans. Food in the pub was very average. However, friendly welcome from the staff and fellow campers. It will not be a campsite that I shall return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Little miss talbot 5 reviews from this member

 Great place. Really lovely staff. Very helpful. Great food. Would benefit from a snack menu though, in case your not hungry enough for a meal. A great base if your exploring the area. Very Dog friendly. Locals really nice too.

Toilet block was ok. Bit of a walk from the pitches. Could do with being cleaned more often, they looked a bit neglected and weren't cleaned at all while we were there. We didn't use the showers.

Road traffic didn't affect us at all. Friendly folk in the statics/seasonal tourers which was nice.

Plenty of room, you're not sat door to door with another van which was great. You can choose your pitch too which was good.

There were a few tents there when we went and they all seemed very happy. Their pitches were on a very slight incline so when it rained they didn't get flooded, which must have been a bonus.

Will definitely go back. Good value at 15 pn inc electric.  


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bendog 21 reviews from this member

 Chose this site due to having friends in Coldstream, it is very basic with touring vans down the far end past all the statics, the toilet and shower block is at the entrance end so you have to walk back past the vans to use them, also the elsan and waste water point is just one hole by the same block. Toilets need a lot of work doing to them they are cold and not very clean. Having said all that the pub is lovely with staff to match and you are made very welcome by them and all the locals as well Berwick about five miles away and the nice little town of Coldstream about nine mile the other just over the Scotish border. This is a work in progress by Rose and her staff so will go again to see how they are getting on when I can 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sue 27 1 review from this member

 The pub on site is nice and clean and food is very nice.

The staff are very plesent.

The site itself is looking a bit rundown the place were you camp is pich black so make sure you have a torch.

As you enter the site there is a barrier to go through but when we arrived it was up there are some static caravans as you go in some looking very run down.

The shower and toilet block are on left at top as you enter and I must say they were not very clean.

I went for shower and the shower tray was filling up with black dirty water as if the drains were blocked.

Its a shame as this could be a lovely site with very little work.

The prices I must say are very reasonable but price lives up amenities 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulsandb 1 review from this member

 Great wee site recently under new management. 1st season and they are trying really hard. No problem with space, really good rates. Rural local pub on site a real bonus. Not a place for big site campers but perfect for those who can make their own entertainment, or are travelling further. Play area for kids is good-chickens and sheep & trampoline entertain everyone. Staff very helpful. Small campfires & bbq allowed but please respect safety for other campers. Road noise was not an issue for us. Pub food is fab. Thank you. We will return- please warn Tony!

Pauline & Becca 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lornalou71 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here just for one night to check the place out for future visits. Basic facilities but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. Very reasonable site fees. Food in the pub was excellent as was the drinks and very good value. Yes there is a bit of road noise but nothing too bad really. It didn't spoil our stay. Very very friendly and helpful staff and locals. We will definitely be returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbi318 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend camping trip and had a fantastic time. We had 2 6man tents for 9 of us, 4 adults and 5 kids ranging from 4-13. We all really enjoyed our weekend.

The campsite is basic but had everything we felt was necessary. It had a great play area which the kids loved and the toilets/showers facilities were quite good. The only downfall was one of the toilets ran out of toilet roll on Saturday morning and had still not been replenished when we left today (Monday). There was a cleaner in daily so unsure how this was missed.

There was a sink outside which looked as though you could use it to do dishes however the taps and drainer weren't connected so we had to rinse through our dishes in the toilets.

We managed to find the town centre quite easily and Asda. The beach wasn't to far away either and enjoyed a day out there.

As I say all in all it was a great break away and would definitely return :) 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Morganstar 2 reviews from this member

 We first went to this site a few years ago and we're amazed by the transformation. The toilets were spotless and the site was very clean and tidy.

The pub itself was decorated to a very high standard and the staff went out of there way to please.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and very reasonably price and we received high class service from the moment we checked it.

We can't recommend this site enough and along with another couple we met there we intend to return at least once this year and have already booked for November. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Salutation Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Salutation Inn?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is The Salutation Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2962 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement