Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wellhouse Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Wellhouse Farm
Newton
Corbridge
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE43 7UY
Tel: 01661 842193
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
                8/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alienbabe 4 reviews from this member

We used this site for an overnight stop whilst travelling from Scotland to Lincolnshire. The area is beautiful but didn't get a chance to explore. The site is large and the area we pitched on mainly contained what looked like permanent pitched caravans. The site is mainly level, with a large facilities building containing male/female and disabled toilets & showers plus a washing up area with washing machine and dryer. There is also a large games room. For £18 per night with EHU included it is very reasonable for what is on offer. The facilities, although clean, could do with an update. The main downside were the bins which are directly opposite the toilet block and they were full. The site is probably not one we would stay at for any length of time simply because we prefer CL sites but would be happy to use it for one-off stays.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunbeamlotus36 3 reviews from this member

We recently stayed on this site and, given the description, we had high hopes for it. It is located in a very attractive area, with rolling hills and open views across farmland. Its location close to Hadrian's Wall and the attractive little town of Corbridge, make it a good base.

This could be such a pleasant site, but unfortunately we found it to be quite run down and neglected - the shower blocks (2 toilets, 2 showers and disabled shower in each) were clean, but were dated and very much in need of refurbishment. The showers were cold and water only tricked out of them (no one else using any other showers at the time so it couldn't be cold / low pressure due to demand). Opposite the toilet blocks, the bins were overflowing and looked untidy.

We were situated on the lower camping field, which had great views over open countryside and rolling hills. During our stay, a family arrived on the pitch next to us. They had a caravan and awning and arrived with 3 cars. It was a couple with about 10 children / teenagers with them. One large tent was put up fairly close to our caravan. Then over the next couple of hours another car arrived and 2 more tents were erected only a couple of metres from our caravan. Fortunately we didn't have an awning, as their tents were so close, they would have been touching! Their touring unit (1 caravan, awning, 3 tents and 4 cars!) took over part of our pitch and part of the adjacent pitch on the other side of their unit - yet there were larger areas in the other part of the field they could have gone and not caused any problems. That said, they seemed pleasant and weren't noisy or rowdy. Fortunately, we were leaving the following day, so decided not to say anything.

All in all, a potentially very nice site, but in need of some refurbishment and stricter pitch control.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vantango 11 reviews from this member

This is a quiet site in the countryside. We stayed for one night. Nicely kept pitches. Friendly welcome. The shower block was OK but could do with updating. There were 2 showers in the ladies with one additional disabled cubicle. It was clean & the water was hot.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woopededoo 4 reviews from this member

Lovely little peaceful site, grass and grounds kept immaculate, toilets could do with a bit of an update but still fine and clean. Friendly staff and really good rates. Possibly my favourite site in the North East

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Treen67 6 reviews from this member

I've just returned from a 4 day camping trip to Northumberland with my husband and 10 year old son. We chose this site as we wanted to get away from it all and wanted to try a smaller, less busy site than we usually go to.

The camp field was large and quite empty when we arrived. We chose one of the pitches on the perimeter as we wanted electric hookup.

The site's facilities are basic but adequate. The toilets and showers were clean and didn't run out of soap or loo roll while we were there. Some of the areas were a bit muddy but only to be expected as it had rained the night before. The shower in the wet room was very hot but that's the way I like it anyway, others might not.

Our first 2 nights were great and my son was in awe of all the stars that could be seen at night. The location is great for sightseeing and very close to Newcastle and we were delighted to have found such a lovely site for our short break.

However, things changed at the weekend. Large groups of families arrived and some were not too considerate about the noise or mess they were making. Groups of 3 and 4 tents and several vehicles sprung up. Children were openly peeing on the grass and bushes, dogs were running around and leaving mess. While we were out another group decided to squeeze 2 huge tents into the space next to us, presumably because they wanted the hook up that was there. A tent had left earlier that day so the space was adequate for a large tent. They were so close to us that they even pitched one of the tents over our guyropes and surrounded our tent by 3 of their cars. This meant continual walking past our door to get to the cars when they wanted something. The kids on site seemed to be let free to run around all the tents, falling over guyropes and stumbling against the tents. I was hit by numerous footballs hitting the tent whilst sitting inside. There was ample space to play away from the tents in the centre of the filed but the kids played right by the tents. By the third day I kept our curtains shut. There is a no noise after 11pm rule but we did have to contact the owner due to the noise. We are quite tolerant and have been camping as part of family groups before ourselves but the noise was excessive. Loud music and shouting until the small hours. The Staffie in the next tent growled, barked and whined for the whole night it was there. Its owner continualy smacked it on the face when it started but took it home the next day because it was unsettled. My son kept asking to go home.

This site could be perfect. Ok, the facilities are basic but perfectly adequate. The location was great and just what we wanted. However, I would not return due to the noise and lack of rules. I think that the pitches should be marked out in some way or there should be someone there telling people where they can camp. The tents were far too close together and a real fire hazard considering most of the the large groups had firepits.

The owner is in no way to blame for the inconsiderate behaviour of the people staying there but it did put a damper on our stay and we wouldn't return. I heard some of the regulars complaining too.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jrtonks 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at Wellhouse Farm camp site on the first leg of our Hadrian's Wall hike. We'd walked from Newcastle and while manageable, it's a long first day. The site is a bustling vibrant family site and not what I would usually go for, but I cannot fault it. The owner was very friendly and helpful and found us a quiet spot in the corner of their caravan field. Prices for hikers were very reasonable. It's not unusual for some sites to charge a hiker with a tiny tent the same fee as a family with a huge tent and 4x4, but this one was far more sensible. I particularly liked the shower room avec toilet. I recommend it to all hikers

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Megazord 2 reviews from this member

Smashing site! The owners popped round late evening and collected the site fee, we had been set up quite a while, a very laid back experience, no one pouncing on you the minute you arrive, no check in as such. Very friendly people, we had a chat and they pointed us in the direction of the nearest town, Corrbridge, in case we needed any supplies in the future.

The site: split in two either side of the entrance road to the site. We picked the field side. The other side appeared to have many seasonal pitches and the toilet block, waste points etc. The field side slopes, so unless you have quite a few levellers with you, you need to be pitching at the bottom of the slope which backs onto a field with crops in. There were a few seasonal pitches there too and we settled in a spot near an electric hook up. There is a water supply in the field but waste has to be taken across to the other side of the site, but it's minutes away so no hardship. The shower block is basic but clean and tidy with good hot water. We never felt hemmed in as the field doesn't really have designated spots, you can pitch up where you like, obviously, be sensible! It was £16. 00 a night with EHU. Absolute bargain, but I would say they need more EHU points in the field.

It's a fantastic base for seeing all the attractions, Housteads, Vindolanda, Hadrians Wall and much more. Corrbridge is a lovely place where you can virtually buy everything you can think of. The 2. 5mile walk along the river takes you to Corrbridge Roman Fort. Worth a visit and a really pleasant, easy walk. A visit to Cawfields is a surprise, nice spot for a picnic and then walk it off along Hadrians Wall, do as little or as much as you like. Everything is within striking distance of the site so you don't spend too much time, if travelling by car, looking out of windows! Although to be fair, the scenery is dramatic and wonderful.

Would I stay again? Yes, so much more to see in the area, we only had 3 nights, and at £16. 00 with EHU, what more can you ask for?

If you want entertaining, marked pitches, shop on sight and hair dryers in the shower block then this sight isn't for you. If you want a field, plenty of space, the feeling of being in the middle of no where, peace and quiet but in reality within a short car journey away of sights and shopping this would suit you to the ground. Cheap and cheerful, but as a base to get out and about, whether by car or walking, it's a great little spot.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pillsley 21 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Scotland as I wanted to visit Hadrian's Wall. The site consists of two fields on either side of a lane leading up to the farmhouse. It's a very large family-run farm and the campsite reflects the fact that the owners have a lot more to do than manage a campsite. I rang ahead to check they had spaces and the farmer answered from his tractor, he told me to pick a place to pitch and he'd be along later to collect the fees.

The upper field contains the shower block and is pretty full of permanent vans. The lower field is big with a slight slope and has wonderful views with plenty of birds to watch. There are some electric hook-ups in this field.

The shower block consists of a biggish room with chairs and tables to flee the rain and a power point to recharge phones etc. There are two wet rooms with excellent showers and two more 'normal' blocks for men and women with less good showers. It's all clean but a little tired round the edges. There's also a room with a washing machine and sink and an outside sink for washing up. There are also recycling facilities.

At £12 per night (without EHU) this site is very good value indeed. It's near the Newcastle end of Hadrian's Wall so a visit to the museum and Wallsend are a requirement and Vindolanda / the Roman Army Museum are nearby in the opposite direction. Corbridge is a five minute drive away and is a pretty place with some interesting shops including a small Co-op and an excellent greengrocer.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickeydoodlebug 5 reviews from this member

A very rural, quiet tidy site but no welcome. Despite have booked we had to guess where to pitch. However, it was excellent for twitchers with a wonderful dawn chorus, House Martens nesting in the shower block eaves and Guinea Fowl wandering around! We chose it so we could easily access Hadrian’s Wall – and we did! The facilities looked good but male, female and disabled showers were preset to scalding! The laundry room was well equipped, clean and tidy but the dishwashing station was 1 sink outside with no shelter.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Val E 12 reviews from this member

On arrival to this site we were greeted by a very nice lady, who told us where we could park, and told us about facilities and if we had any problems where she was.

We had a nice level spot. Grass wasn't to hard so the awning went up well.

The price was very reasonable, the toilet and shower block were dated but very clean which is most important. Washing up area ok.

We were just using site as a base for going to Newcastle for the day, on Saturday, which it was ideal, only took 20minutes to get there.

We didn't really use any of the other facilities on site or in the area, although not far from hadrians wall, we drove up but couldn't see it, (it was raining very hard when we got there though)

Hexham was very nice.

We would definitely use again thank you.

Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2636 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019