Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Wellhouse Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Corbridge > Wellhouse Farm Reviews

Wellhouse Farm
Newton
Corbridge
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE43 7UY
Tel: 07811712770  or  07817858178
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 69 Reviews
                8/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (5)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bhoggu 1 review from this member

 Nice site plenty room, nice friendly welcome.

We only stopped to try our new van but will look to return as it is in a good location to explore the surrounding towns and countryside.

Unable to comment on facilities due to COVID restrictions 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris Thorp 2 reviews from this member

 A very good pitch. Due to Covid facilities were restricted. Dog very welcome, with good walks round the fields on the doorstep.

Location is excellent for exploring south Northumberland and north Durham.

The wonderful Northumberland coast and the Cheviot hills are also within easy reach for a day out. And don't forget the great local pubs, towns and villages of the Tyne valley. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kriste 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean and friendly site, close to numerous places to visit.

Site was very clean and quiet with lots of regulars who were very warm, friendly and welcoming.

We will definitely be back soon.

Easy to find and great EHU pitches. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jonathan dodds 4 reviews from this member

 Second time I've visited and still not disappointed.

Lovely big open quiet site to chill, relax and forget about the world 😁

£20 a night with electric, ya can't go wrong. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robhood 2 reviews from this member

 The drive from A1 junction west onto A69 is pleasant enough, mostly farm land, about 7 miles from the A1 Situated 4 miles east of Corbridge, there is a right turn to make across the dual carriageway quite an easy manoeuvre with plenty of room with itís own central reservation slip.

A mile through a winding country road and you meet a sign for wellhouse campsite, left turn onto a single track tarmac road, an option to turn left into the bottom field for a grass ďpark where you likeĒ option, or turn right into the top site for mostly compact gravel pitches,

The park itself has well maintained facilities, including an amenity block with modern toilet units, showers, disabled access, laundry, dishwashing area and main reception.

There is a choice of 45 pitches for tourers, tents and motor homes, with electric hookups, hardstandings and internal road. We prefer the bottom field for itís non regimental pitching flexibility, the site allows fire pitís to be used, which makes the evenings fantastic when the skies are clear,

Itís quite an easy going site the owner Ken Richardson letís you pitch up get settled and calls later for payment, he also comes a round at 11pm as this is when noise has to stop, we normally sit around a fire chatting quietly way after this time,

The site, being a working farm has walks around the land and a dedicated dog walk area, although I think itís ideal for children with the large playing field, there is no shop, no pub (nearest is 1 mile), no play park and nowhere to spend daddyís money but all ball games are normally played without affecting anyone as the field is huge.

Itís a laid back relaxing site close to Corebridge and Hexham, hadrianís wall etc is just a stoneís throw away (pardon the pun). Iím a regular as I like the relaxed non regimental feel of the place and a no rush feel on departure day.

Well worth a visit for all types of camper. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jonathan dodds 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet spot in the countryside, 5 mins from the a69.

The couple who run it are very friendly and welcoming.

Got everything you need for a quiet getaway without the kids 😜

The field is big and open with plenty of room for everyone.

Unfortunately it absolutely chucked it down all night and was a bit squidgy under the foot but we made it out with our trusty awd kuga 😁

Would definitely recommend especially at £20 with electric hookup.

We will be back and thank you 👌👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wilsonfamilyholland 5 reviews from this member

 The site could be very impressive.

What lets it down is the lack of cleanliness in the facilities. I found the showers and toilets dirty. The grate where the water went down, also the excate spot where you feet should be, was filled with muck. Same goes for the grate where the wash basins were. The outside of the toilet was dirty but even worse the floor at the back/ side was filthy. No 'proper cleaning done in a long time.

The weather was cold and damp. Radiators in the facilities were not on. The building was FREEZING as was the floor. We planned to stay longer but truthfully this was the worst camping we stayed at during our stay in England. The wardens were definitley not doing their work.

The owner left everything over to the wardens. I think it's time he looked at what they were doing 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alienbabe 5 reviews from this member

 We used this site for an overnight stop whilst travelling from Scotland to Lincolnshire.

The area is beautiful but didn't get a chance to explore. The site is large and the area we pitched on mainly contained what looked like permanent pitched caravans.

The site is mainly level, with a large facilities building containing male/female and disabled toilets & showers plus a washing up area with washing machine and dryer.

There is also a large games room. For £18 per night with EHU included it is very reasonable for what is on offer. The facilities, although clean, could do with an update.

The main downside were the bins which are directly opposite the toilet block and they were full.

The site is probably not one we would stay at for any length of time simply because we prefer CL sites but would be happy to use it for one-off stays. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunbeamlotus36 3 reviews from this member

 We recently stayed on this site and, given the description, we had high hopes for it. It is located in a very attractive area, with rolling hills and open views across farmland. Its location close to Hadrian's Wall and the attractive little town of Corbridge, make it a good base.

This could be such a pleasant site, but unfortunately we found it to be quite run down and neglected - the shower blocks (2 toilets, 2 showers and disabled shower in each) were clean, but were dated and very much in need of refurbishment. The showers were cold and water only tricked out of them (no one else using any other showers at the time so it couldn't be cold / low pressure due to demand). Opposite the toilet blocks, the bins were overflowing and looked untidy.

We were situated on the lower camping field, which had great views over open countryside and rolling hills. During our stay, a family arrived on the pitch next to us. They had a caravan and awning and arrived with 3 cars. It was a couple with about 10 children / teenagers with them. One large tent was put up fairly close to our caravan.

Then over the next couple of hours another car arrived and 2 more tents were erected only a couple of metres from our caravan. Fortunately we didn't have an awning, as their tents were so close, they would have been touching!

Their touring unit (1 caravan, awning, 3 tents and 4 cars!) took over part of our pitch and part of the adjacent pitch on the other side of their unit - yet there were larger areas in the other part of the field they could have gone and not caused any problems. That said, they seemed pleasant and weren't noisy or rowdy. Fortunately, we were leaving the following day, so decided not to say anything.

All in all, a potentially very nice site, but in need of some refurbishment and stricter pitch control. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vantango 11 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet site in the countryside. We stayed for one night. Nicely kept pitches. Friendly welcome.

The shower block was OK but could do with updating. There were 2 showers in the ladies with one additional disabled cubicle.

It was clean & the water was hot. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wellhouse Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wellhouse Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wellhouse Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2423 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December