Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Snooty Fox

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > East Heslerton > The Snooty Fox Reviews

The Snooty Fox
Scarborough Road
East Heslerton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO17 8EN
Tel: 01944 710554
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 18 Reviews
                6/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Librasam 20 reviews from this member

After our planned campsite unfortunately had to cancel on us the day before Good Friday due to the pre-Easter snow we were disappointed and stuck. After trying over 20+ campsites which were all full, we were able to book onto the Snooty Fox and with 5 tents.

As stated this is a basic site, that appears to be gradually improving in comparison according to one of our group who had stayed there in 2010. The site appears to be mainly seasonal caravans which are situated down each side of the field. The field does have a slight slope and there are plenty of rabbit holes, however with the loan of a shovel from the owner and some sandy soil, we were able to fill in the holes where we were pitched in the centre of the field around a cluster of trees.

The toilets and showers are situated in portacabin, however these appeared to be cleaned daily and there was plenty of loo roll and handwash. Although the site is next to the A64 at Heslerton, near Sherburn, surprisingly we didn't hear the traffic noise apart from the odd ambulance siren. We did notice an occasional whiff of the local pig farm, but this was dependent on the wind direction and not all the time.

There was also a small play area and the kids loved playing amongst the bushes at the edge of the site.

At the front of the site is the Wishing Well cafe, which although we didn't eat in, seemed extremely reasonable with bacon butties £2. 10 and meals such as lasagne or scampi for £5. 25. There is also a weekend burger/kebab van, which a couple of the friends used and said was really good.

The owner only took over a couple of years ago and seems to be trying to gradually upgrade the site and was helpful in dealing with a couple of issues.

The nearest town is Malton about 10 minutes away, although Scarborough and the coast is only 20-25 minutes away.

Okay its not an award winning site that's all singing all dancing, but it was perfectly reasonable with basic facilities and a relaxed atmosphere. It was very reasonable at £17. 50 with ehu, without having to pay for additional extras. However the site and owner also deserve extra marks for being able to fit us in at such short notice, especially on a bank holiday!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woocampers 1 review from this member

We went to this camp site as we wanted to be near flamingo land and Scarborough it was a perfect location for these area's.

The camp site is basic but it has everything you need the toilets were clean regularly and they are renovating the shower and toilet block.

The owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Also max the dog is lovely.

We had 6 children and 2 toddlers with us they had a great time we did make sure they were inside by 9. 00pm.

When we visit this area again we will be staying here again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bishy 13 reviews from this member

Decided last minute to go away for bank holiday weekend. I had phoned several sites and had been just laughed at.

I then spoke to John at the Snooty Fox and he said he could squeeze both myself and our friends on a pitch next door so I was very happy. I asked him what time we could arrive and he said we could come whenever we wanted.

We arrived on the Friday morning at 9. 30am and met John who was extremely friendly. It was raining so we decided to have breakfast in the cafe on site before we put up the tent, especially as it was raining. We both had a full english which comprised of 2 of everything, bacon, eggs, sausages, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, hash browns and toast. It was gorgeous, just what we needed and all that with a coffee included was only £4. 95 each which I didn't think was bad at all.

The pitches were huge for our big family sized tents.

The cafe was spot on and we had several meals there during the duration of our visit. We went to the bar on the Saturday night and the food and drink was very reasonably priced and of a very good quality.

The toilets in the cafe and in the bar were very clean all of the time.

Now I'm afraid for the bad points:-

The facilities for the campers are in dire need of cleaning and repairing. I would go so far as to say that they were disgusting and stunk. If you have your own facilities in a caravan then this is the site for you. We have a portaloo and used it all the time. We used the showers but kept my flipflops on at all times and tried to be as quick as possible.

This really let the site down as the location is a perfect base for both the coast and scenic walks.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clare_wil 2 reviews from this member

Camp site owner very friendly and helpful.

The site is quite run down to be honest was very disappointed toilets dirty and no running water in ladies on second day to wash!

The children's play area was a little shabby but kids enjoyed playing. The ground was full of mole hills and rabbit holes so the journey to the toilets in the dark was a nightmare.

There was a group of us camping and despite the above we still had a good time, also thought it was very expensive for what was to offer we paid £80 for 2 tents 2 nights with one elec hook up!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshire-rose 1 review from this member

John & Ness are great site owners unobtrusive but always friendly & helpful. Pub refurb looks great. Had an elderly friend with us who stayed in a room in the motel block on site. She was treated with great kindness,the room was very clean & comfortable. Cannot comment on toilets/showers as we had our own. Snack bar in car park was very useful, (great bacon sandwiches). Very dog friendly, plenty of walks. No problem with electric hookups seems to have added a lot more recently. We will definitely be there again in 2011

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dancol 3 reviews from this member

Excellent pub and hosts, nothing too much trouble for them. Very welcoming and family atmosphere. Kids play area is a bonus and addition of burger bar was great idea to treat yourself to an easy breakfast before setting out for the day.This is a down to earth campsite without airs and graces, just a very good place to stay and within reach of all local attractions.Plan on visiting again and again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan P 29 reviews from this member

This site has great potential but appears to have been let go. The grass was quite long, the toilets not very well cleaned and although the showers cost 50p a go only one of the three was working. The views from the site are superb and there is fishing on an adjacent farm with in walking distance. There is a small play area for children and plenty of space for them to play. Although sloping overall it is easy to level the units.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Great raymondo 1 review from this member

On first visit to this site was made welcome by the owners , John was very helpful with his details of things in the local area.

Site is a nice size. Pub and meals are good. Play ground little but is good enough to keep kids happy. Toilet block clean. Max the dog very friendly he barks a lot but don't be scared. Give him a stroke.

Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicki111 2 reviews from this member

We spent the Friday and the Saturday night of the Bank holiday weekend here, there was a group of 10 of us for a Birthday.

The campsite itself was fine and very laid back, we were welcomed on our arrival at the pub and shown to our pitch.

There was only 3 female toilets which were not very clean and seemed to have a lot of spiders in them. The toilets seemed to have been a lot cleaner on the Saturday.

The were 2 showers which were 50p to use, these again seemed to have a lot of spiders in them and were not as clean as they could have been.

Over all this was a good campsite where we had a good time and there was no problem with noise or anything.

Apart from the shower and toilet block I would highly recommend it.

Brilliant weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alicatz 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend here. Had lovely meal in pub on our arrival. Very disappointed with toilet and shower facilities. Only 1 shower working and toilets are not very private or clean. According to hubby, mens toilets were flooded. We were disturbed saturday night by drunken neighbours arguing, which is probably a result of camping at a pub!

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019