Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Belvoir Castle Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Woolsthorpe By Belvoir > Belvoir Castle Campsite Reviews

Belvoir Castle Campsite
The Dirty Duck Pub
Woolsthorpe By Belvoir
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG32 1NY
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fleagal 6 reviews from this member

 Very peaceful, we shared the field with 2 other units the first night and 4, the next.

Had a meal at the Dirty Duck, which was lovely.

Walking with a dog from the site was a dream-there are so many footpaths along and around the canal to choose from.

The toilet block was very nicely refurbished but would be too small if the the site was full, and as someone else commented, the shower floods the floor if you are not careful. The light in there is automatic and turns off very quickly, so take a torch if you shower at night!

The hard standing area is rather rough and next to the pub car park. It really needs sorting out. It would stop us coming to the site in the winter months (the field is only open April to September).

The check in and out times are a bit mean-11 am and 3 pm; however, we contacted the manager to ask if we could delay our departure by a couple of hours and he confirmed that that was fine.

I think that you are allowed on site before 3 pm, if there are pitches free, so why the 4 hour gap between the two?

We would definitely visit again but would have to choose a quieter time again, when the field is still open. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew 2 reviews from this member

 Always a good place to camp with modern, clean toilet and shower facilities, this campsite is a must for all.

Bonus that it's right next to one of the best foodie pubs in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Viennese 7 reviews from this member

 This campsite is fine in many ways but being owned by Belvoir castle it is expensive for what it is.

We paid £28 per night in September mid-week in term time. Located next door to (but not owned by) a friendly pub with good food, it offers hot showers and toilets but only 2 of each for each sex, and the shower cubicles are very small, with nowhere to put stuff apart from 3 clothes hooks on the door.

Being over 70 I would have appreciated a soap dish and something to sit down on! We came to see round Belvoir castle and to attend a horse festival run at the castle.

There is no public transport or shops near by so we had to take the van to the castle (2. 5 miles) 2 days running.

The castle is very impressive, has a small retail park and and the horse festival was most enjoyable.

We might go again as the countryside is wonderful.

There are good walks in the area, especially along the Grantham Canal next to the site.

The camp site was very quiet while we were there, whether this is due to poor PR or high cost who can say?

It was less than half full on Friday night before the festival next day. A shame as it was quiet and well laid out. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tomdar 1 review from this member

 Brilliant spot and the added bonus of a firework view on Saturday

Toilets and showers were ok but not enough for the amount of visitors at a weekend!

Slighted disappointed to be reminded to turn the Music off at 10pm on the Saturday but then kept awake the following night by a wedding at the pub! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Markar 1 review from this member

 My family loved the campsite, lovely walks down the canal. Showers could do with being a bit bigger as hard to shower the kids while being in the cubicle with them.

Great help from the booking staff in helping us change our little break and changing pitches so we can be next to our friends pitch.

Kids loved the play park and making lots of new friends 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Derryw 1 review from this member

 Great spot - right next to a lovely pub in a rural location but excellent to walk along the Grantham canal or even cycle.

About 1 mile from Belvoir castle.

Site was easy to find, easy to access and easy to find plot.

We used the EHU with no problem.

Only downside was the toilet block - I felt not enough WC, s, only 1 and 2 urinals. 2 showers - so that was adequate. And they were clean. There were quite a few campers on the site, so toilets were in constant use.

Would I go again - YES 👍 - for the location and the Dirty Duck pub - had a great night 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: TimGill 2 reviews from this member

 A perfectly functional site for an overnight stop. The site does look desperately tired and ill-kept. Hedgerows need a good cutting back as the pitch numbers have disappeared in the undergrowth.

The site is an excellent park-up for a stopover as the pub served us well - but we would not spend more than a night there. The hard standing area is a gravel car park that has been taken by the weeds.

Toilet block is very good indeed - modern and very clean. To claim it's in the shadow of Belvoir castle means it has to cast an extremely long shadow !

The castle is miles away. It's not visible from where we were pitched ! 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Katie3 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with beautiful walks. NOT suitable for babies, no baby facilities and was very very difficult to try and wash and dry baby with the shower rooms, the shower rooms floors flood a little and not enough hanging space to hang clothes, need to find more space to be able to get dry without getting wet again, the lights in the female toilets don’t stay on very long so when getting a shower it does get dark after a minute to two!

Brilliant pub and lovely staff would camp again but would reconsider whether this is the best place to be with a baby, maybe a disabled/baby changing room with a shower would be perfect! Although not many people camp with a baby!

Other than that the stay was brilliant and will definitely come again and costing for campsite was fair pricing with a beautiful view of the castle! One of the best campsite we’ve stayed in, security guards nearby as well so easy to report any issues 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janebe 1 review from this member

 Clean and tidy site, well spaced pitches. Next door to Dirty Duck pub and nearby walks along the Grantham Canal, bridlepaths and footpaths.

A short drive to Belvoir castle.

Low score for customer service as I booked online and we sited ourselves on pitch allocated. Happy with that. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Site is very quiet and next to The Dirty Duck which has fantastic food.

Toilet block is very new but a tad on the small side, cleaning regime should be more frequent than we experienced, wet muddy floors left all day.

Ideal location for seeing Belvoir castle. 
via mobile


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Belvoir Castle Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Belvoir Castle Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Belvoir Castle Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolsthorpe By Belvoir      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3063 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window