Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dirty Duck Caravan Site At The Rutland Arms

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Grantham > Dirty Duck Caravan Site At The Rutland Arms Reviews

Dirty Duck Caravan Site At The Rutland Arms
Belvoir Castle Campsite
Woolsthorpe By Belvoir
Grantham
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG32 1NY
Tel: 01476 871001
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 22 Reviews
                6/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shailey Sokoli 1 review from this member

The shower and toilet facilities on this campsite were disgusting! I'm not too fussy and aware camping toilets aren't spotless but these were awful. The bin dadnt been changed for a few days and was overflowing all onto the floor. The walls were smeared with dirt or poo. The floor was filthy. The owners were contacting by other campers and nothing was done for the 3 days we were there. There was noone around at all, we could have camped for free. I've emailed them regarding this with photos and been completely ignored.

It's a shame as it's a nice spot and this ruined it.

Also lots of mosquitoes so take your repellent.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Daniella Nudd 15 reviews from this member

Booked for second May bank holiday. Straight forward process. £21 per night with electric hook up. Pay up front. Arrived at site and phoned ahead (number given when you book) Pitched up no problem. Very busy as expected. Lots of families enjoying themselves.

Dirty Duck pub immediately next door.

Campsite toilets and showers accessed via coded door. Very dirty when we first arrived and no toilet paper. No signage for washing up area but Elson point was by toilet block. Night time, very loud and could still hear talking at 1am. Site isnít patrolled so you are left to your own devices. Guy in 4x4 did drive past checking everyone was ok and advised us we didnít have to rush off in the morning. Toilets were eventually cleaned and stocked with loo roll.

Wouldnít return here simply because of there being no one around (esp re the noise!) but good for groups of families. Grantham canal right near for walking.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daveyboy187 1 review from this member

This campsite was in a fantastic location for our visit to Belvoir Castle, lots of room with only a few other people on site. Plenty of hookups available.

However, the toilet block was an absolute disgrace, no hot water for showers, not cleaned regularly, no toilet paper, washing up area was leaf covered. Only one loo in mens and two in the ladies, one of which had to be closed because of its state.

The people in the pub next to it, said they'd had many complaints about it.

This site is meant to be full over the bank holiday weekend, which will not be good. I recommend you change your site choice if you require working facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Corsa759 1 review from this member

Slightly bizarre long bank holiday weekend camped almost alone for the majority. Field to ourselves!

Toilet block tired, but functional and showers good hot / powerful.

Pub closed for refurbishment, but we brought enough supplies so wasn't a problem.

Water / elsan close to the pitches and plenty of electrical hooks ups around the site. Also hard standing, but you don't get a view of the castle then. Washing up was pleasant alongside the canal.

£21 seems quite expensive, but the view and the fact we had the place to ourselves made it worth the money in the end. Village / pub about a mile away, but we didn't need it.

Lovely position with or without good weather! We will be back, with pub open or closed, it won't matter to us.

I booked directly with the admin at Belvoir Castle, communication was great and no deposit required.

Not sure why his place isn't more popular used. It's lovely!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

Location

A CL site located in the grounds of s great pub. Set in lovely countryside yet only a few miles from the busy town of Grantham. Ideal stopover if travelling on the A1.

Facilities

All pitches have electricity and there's a water supply. The pub is excellent - traditional real ale bar serving excellent food.

Price

Very reasonable at £12 per vehicle.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ian 256 1 review from this member

Clean, Friendly, good pub grub reasonably priced and great Beer. The TV reception was reasonable. In all a good site plenty of walking near by. Both Grass and Hard stand Power and non Power pitches. Water tap and laundry room. A very quiet setting but easy to find. A flat gradient with non boggy ground, Ideal for all vehicles.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Petraconmac 1 review from this member

We visited the site with friends for 1 night, we pitched a tent and our friends had a caravan. It is a small site with a children's play area which was clean. The toilets and showers were very clean with toilet roll in both mens and ladies. The washing up area had hot water which was good.

We really enjoyed the walks we had with very unusual but quirky wooden painted objects situated on the way in the trees.

The pub food was excellent and the staff were very friendly our children were very comfortable playing pool most of the evening, they loved it.

I though £21 was expensive for a tent with hook up but it will not stop us from returning to explore more on our walks.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smoothies Girl 3 reviews from this member

Arrived started to pitch and my old tent failed, had to de-camp and landlady kindly refunded us for the week. Purchased another tent so returned to the Dirty Duck. The owners are very welcoming and allow you to choose your own pitch.

The site was empty apart from us, the field is very well maintained, grass kept short and spectacular views of Belvoir Castle.

Shower block only has two women's showers and two mens showers and two toilets each. The block is very tired, reasonably clean but the showers are powerful. However, I found it very annoying that there aren't any bins in the blocks or a hand dryer, When you go to the loo you have to drip dry your hands! Another downside to the loos is that the owner turns off all the outside floodlights after closing time which means hat the walk from the field to the toilet block is hazardous over the rough gravel. All of the security lights on the outside of the block are broken bar one, so it can be scary to say the least, do take a torch.

My friend had stayed here before and was surprised to see how quiet it was in summer, maybe it's because the facilities need updating and become a little tired?

There is a kids play area which seemed well maintained, the canal is next to the pub and is very pretty.

There isn't really anywhere to buy supplies from other than Asda in Grantham and that is a 14mile round trip! It got on my nerves to be honest.

I think that this site is great for a weekend but a week here is a bit too much for getting food in etc. The pub prices are expensive at an average of £8. 00 a main course. The kids menu was very nice and had huge portions at £4. 45 ish a dish.

All in all, a nice little site for a weekend that offers tranquility, we never experienced any noise from the car park as others have suggested. We did enjoy ourselves.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DEANO3528 11 reviews from this member

Despite the recent negative reviews, the wife & I spent a mid-week break here in the company of friends arriving Monday dinnertime and departing Friday late morning.

There's nothing I can add about the price, it is what it is, around the same as other sites in the area but this one didn't insist we go to bed with the chickens (several other sites made a big thing about noise after 10pm-ish, and we are all late-to-bed people).

Also a couple of sites said no commercial vehicles and as 4 of the 5 of us have commercial bodied Land Rovers we felt we would not be welcome: Furthermore not everyone is a member of a club with their hugely discounted pitch fees either.

There were 4 caravans and a tent and we were welcomed warmly and advised to pitch wherever we wanted to. We chose the end furthest from the road as there was an area where our tenters could pitch and not be in the way of an EHU as they don't use one.

Facilities were all laid out nicely with clean toilets and showers although I do use the ones in my 'van, but that was down to preference rather than necessity. Water was close at hand as was the sluice, which was also nice and clean.

Playground was huge and well maintained I thought, and often there were children playing there, possibly walkers 'doing' the canal walk or possibly locals from the village out for a stroll.

There were a couple of staff who were a bit aloof perhaps but on the last night we all went in the pub for a meal and have nothing but praise for the cooking, price and friendliness.

Importantly, we got caught in the hailstorm that caused so much damage across the West Mid's and despite the tent being flooded out, the ground drained very quickly which is another plus point, although we were asked not to drive onto the grass until it had dried a bit, which made perfect sense.

This site is in a beautiful setting with easy access to the various green lanes in the area and overlooked by Belvoir Castle. The Grantham Canal is adjacent and apparently makes for an enjoyable 5 mile hike into Grantham, which one of our couples did.

We visited the Newark Air Museum again, which is a fantastic place and only half an hour distant and great value for money. Lincoln is about another half hour's drive beyond that

There were a couple of 'Gary-boys' in their loud exhaust hatchbacks, but there is a pub on site after all and life goes on. It certainly didn't detract one bit from my enjoyment of the site and we will be going back again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizz99 1 review from this member

I thought I would write a positive review as most of the others do not paint this site in a good light.

I visited for the second time this weekend with 5 other adults and two children, we had one caravan and three tents. The field allows you to spread out a little as there are no 'set out' pitches which allows for a bit more flexibility. The site was clean. The facilities were also in good condition, hot showers, clean, always had loo roll in both the women's and men's. The washing up stations are not covered so this was a bit of a down point. The kids playground was also in good condition and the children had a lovely time playing.

There is a pub on the site selling very good food and drink, it does get busy so make sure to book in the summer. We ate here both nights and really enjoyed it.

Negatives: it is quite expensive £20 per night which I thought was too much (17. 50 without elec). Some of the staff in the pub were a little 'off' especially when busy. Not the place for you if you want a quiet weekend away, most people are up until midnight (including our party) so there is the potentiality for noise, especially as there did not appear to be any enforcements over the amount of noise people were making, so I reckon it could be annoying if a group of youngsters were up late.

In all a good site, very close to Grantham and Nottingham. Will definitely visit again.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Grantham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5864 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019