Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hallgate Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Hallgate Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Hallgate Farm Certificated Site
Hallgate Lane
Pilsley
Chesterfield
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S45 8HN
Tel: 01773 874782  or  07743 760949
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/03 To 30/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2yorkies 13 reviews from this member

Making our 3rd visit to Hallgate Farm. As usual Clair & family made us very welcome. Site peaceful with a generous pith size & lovely West facing views. Large 'family' size shower room, & separate toilet which are kept clean, not easy as we're on a working farm & a grass field. The previous reviewer must have been unfortunate, as we have always found the camping field very clean. Many good walks in the area & local shops in the village, & large supermarket/fuel in Clay Cross.

Thank you for another enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jojobo01 13 reviews from this member

We used this site as a break for one night on the way home from Gloucestershire. The track/road is narrow past rows of houses and on entering the owners were friendly and told us where to pitch. A large very rutted long grass field but had a choice of pitch by numbers.

Our two girls need toilet on arrival so it was off to try find them. A basic sign to a small building. There was no heating in this small block one toilet and shower.

But at 15 a night with electric we were not expecting anything else. Also there is a sink that looks like it is for washing up and washing your hands but there is only cold water.

There is no real clear signs for waste either chemical or waste water, bins etc.

We watched the sun set and the views are lovely. Managed fish and chips from local village and shop to get milk and bread.

Our only main complaint was that at 6. 45 am while we laid watching the morning break the owners dog a large very over weight chocolate lab took a poo right next to our caravan and kinda ruined our morning coffee.

There was several dog poos over the field and even though we are dog lovers we find ourselves saying to the children watch where you are walking. If the sign as you drive in says pick up after your dog surely this should be for the dogs on land too. We wouldn't re use.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JonandTrish 2 reviews from this member

We have just come back from another fantastic week away at Hall Gate Farm. Yet again a peaceful and quiet week. Ideal for the quiet 'get away'.

We met 'dora' the new addition to the family and as ever facilities spotless. Loads of information about local attractions, well worth a visit. Look forward to our next stay.

Thanks to Claire, Wayne and family

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caro48 9 reviews from this member

This campsite is peaceful and secluded, just what we want. The owners are friendly and welcoming but not at all intrusive. Shower/toilet block is basic but spotless, only gripe is there is no heating or hot water to the basin and washing up sink. Fantastic dog walks in the area, it's worth finding Pilsley Plantation, our spaniel loved it there. As mentioned in other reviews, the eggs are lovely.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JonandTrish 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic Site, peaceful and quiet. Basic facilities, just enough for what you need if you don't want to use your own. Local shops/pubs a short walk away. Have visited many times in 2013 and intend to re-visit 2014. The site isnt a massive one, just enough to keep it pleasant when full. Fresh eggs available most days, if you're quick. Lol

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue hutchinson 4 reviews from this member

Camp site is small but very clean and tidy lovly views and many walkng areas from site this site is a hide away little gem. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Shower is clean free and big enough for a family to shower together. Short walk to village where there is a post office shop and chemist. Bus services approx 10mins walk away from site which is good with a motorhome you can visit different places. Owners recommended a restaurant hardwick inn. It is very good and reasonable priced. Will be visiting this site again next month. Site fees are well priced as well at 12pn with electric.

Many thanks to owners for all their help

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel58464 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from a lovely weekend.

The site is small and peaceful place along a lane out a small village. There's one toilet and shower for site which could do with updating but was kept clean and tidy. The washing up sink is in the same building as toilet but this fine and never queued for either. Do know what shops was in the village as drove to Clay Cross which is small town a couple of miles away with Supermarkets and the usual shops. Chesterfield is the nearest large town with nice shopping area and nice eateries, but use any this time but have done in the pass.

Overall nice small site.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 119 reviews from this member

A fabulous CS!

I would like just to emphasise how helpful the owners are, the peaceful rural location, the newly completed shower room (free), the views and the footpaths that you can access directly from the site which make it very dog friendly. Then in order to avoid repetition refer you to the complimentary comments of the previous reviewers which are all representative.

To sum up: It is difficult to see how the CS / CL experience can get any better! Another place taken in my personal top 20 sites!

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bizzielizzieuk 11 reviews from this member

Lovely rural camp-site that 'does what it says on the tin'. Level grass pitch, EHU, wet-room, loo and pot wash all in one small building. Really laid-back owner who charged a very reasonable 10 per night without bombarding us with rules, regulations, do's and don't s. Small shops in the nearest village with a really good fish bar and chinese take-a-way. 24-hour Tesco in Clay Cross which is approx. 15 minutes each way. Will be calling again for many more visits this season. Also: fresh eggs are available from the hens!

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S+K..... 1 review from this member

Went to this site on a last minute booking and found it to be a lovely little site. The owners were very friendly and helpful as we had forgot our electric hook up cable they lent us one without any hesitation.

The campsite is well kept and the facilities are kept clean. There's a shower room and toilets and wash up area that has been recently upgraded and is more than adequate for this site as there are only 5 pitches. There is no play area for children but plenty of room on site for ball games etc.

There's a few local pubs and shops within walking distance which we found to be very expensive (shops that is).

The view on this site is amazing, we sat and watched the sunset and it was worth 10 per night just to see that.

Free range eggs are available for breakfast. Yum.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Chesterfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7641 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019