Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Litchlake Farm Silverstone

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Northamptonshire > Silverstone > Litchlake Farm Silverstone Reviews

Litchlake Farm Silverstone
Buckingham Road
Silverstone
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN12 8TJ
Tel: 01327 857955
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 2000
Open: Bgp, Classic, Motogp And Rws

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tigerlily1968 1 review from this member

Booked to camp for the Silverstone event this Bank Holiday weekend and have mixed views.

Firstly I wanted to say that the washing facilities were not great (in comparison to previous years) There were 12 showers available for the whole campsite and approx 12 toilets for ladies (6 at top of field and 6 at side of field). To shower without queuing you needed to be up very early or wait till during the bike racing to go for one. This needs to be addressed for next year. I queued at 6. 30 and there were 10 people in from of me even at that time! The other facilities ie 'beer tent' 'farm shop' etc were great and added to the setting.

Secondly and this is not about the facilities but those who stayed there. We left the campsite on Monday morning (27 Aug) and found that there was a lot of rubbish lying around the field, despite a number of large biffa bins being provided by the Farm. This was a shocking thing to see and I find it really distasteful that people don't have the decency to put their rubbish in the bins. They wouldn't leave rubbish like this in their own gardens after a BBQ so why there. I feel sorry for those who have to clean up. Its just unfortunately that plot numbers are not allocated so that the farm could charge those who left a mess.

Despite the above the camp site is an ideal place to stay and everyone seemed to enjoy their time there, despite the MotoGP being cancelled.

I just hope the Farm put a more washing facilities on for 2019.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moneypeni 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the August Bank Holiday to attend the Moto GP at Silverstone.

The main thing to note is that this site is a temporary site that is set up for several of the larger events at Silverstone. The location of the site is excellent, just over the road from an entrance, with a bridge going from the campsite to the entrance. We paid 40 per person for 3 nights camping, which is much cheaper than camping directly at Silverstone and given the location, was good value as we could leave the car on site and walk, so no need to pay parking fees.

The site is a large, relatively flat field and the camping was well organised into rows by the on site team. We were a group with 4 tents and it was easy for us to camp together as we got their on the Friday for the practice sessions. The site has security 24 hours who were very visible.

The toilets and showers were temporary porta-cabin types and despite the number of people on site, they were kept relatively clean but the ladies did run out of loo roll regularly, so take your own! I never had to queue for the loos, but the showers did have large queues at busy times, especially first thing in the morning. I found the best time to shower was in the evening. There was also drinking water taps and an elsan disposal point but no pot washing facilities. There was no electric hook up but they did allow 'quiet' generators.

There was on site live bands in a large marquee that went on until midnight every night so beware that the site is quiet noisy until then. However, after this time, things were very quiet.

The site was very friendly as everyone was there to see the same event, and there was a jovial, party atmosphere. I will definitely stay here again when I attend events at Silverstone.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ChristineAvery 1 review from this member

We booked a pitch with electric hook up for the Grand Prix at Silverstone.

I thought the price was a bit high but try getting anywhere near Silverstone at Grand Prix time for a reasonable price and that's if you can find anywhere.

The site was clean and tidy, good clean showers and the toilets also very clean.

The site is brilliant for entry into the track as there is a large bridge which has access from the top field in the campsite over the road and comes out opposite gate 1. The bridge doesn't open till 6am and as I was working at Silverstone for the weekend and needed to be at the track for 5am each morning this could have been a problem, but security were kind enough to let me through each morning.

Plenty of security on site and the guys I spoke to were friendly and helpful.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again at Litchlake and am very happy to recommend.

They also allow dogs which was great for us and also did see quite a few other dogs on site.

Great experience and we will be back, thank you.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Claire Barr 1 review from this member

Had a great time you couldn't get any closer to the circuit. It was great making breakfast and listening to the cars on the circuit, was a very friendly site I had lots of questions before I arrived and my emails were answered very quickly and very helpful. The toilets were clean and never ran out of anything which was a real surprise as was a busy weekend with the weather being so good. I will definitely be back, didn't have the kids or the dog with us on this trip but there were lots of kids and a few dogs about all seemed to be having fun.

On arrival the security people were really helpful showing us to our place and offered to help, there was no rubbish lying around, there was a few bin bags that were quickly cleared through out the day (there were bins there for people to put the rubbish in) only negative thing I can think of was we drove by the entrance there was a sign and directions in to where the circuit is but once you get to the bottom there was no sign saying that this camp site is on your way out but the site itself is very well sign posted

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Law 7 reviews from this member

Very friendly and helpful staff when booking in and being shown where to pitch. We stayed for the WSR event at Silverstone in August 2011. Good level pitch and we were allowed plenty of room for the two small tents and coleman event shelter.

Sadly, the toilet and shower facilities were inadequate for the amount of people pitched. The queues were unsatisfactory. When you were sat on the loo, if someone next to you flushed you had to lift your feet to avoid the tidal wave from the leaking loos!

There did not appear to be any security on an evening. We are not party poopers by any stretch of the imagination, but when fellow campers are still imitating meerkats and shouting 'Alan' across the site at 4am, it really is too much.

Cannot comment on child friendliness as we did not travel with children.

Not on our 'must return' list.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sheeprider79 14 reviews from this member

Just booked this again for the 2012 Moto GP and I forgot to say a few words about last year.

This site in good value for money, it's right almost on track so it's no problem at all. We parked up on the Thursday and that was us till the Monday.

The site is a big field with mobile toilets and showers, in general it's all good and you cannot expect to get any more service than that it provides.

There is a shop, bar and few take away vans on site and the prices were not to bad.

The people the all have a common interest and its a good laugh at times and can be very social, but by 8pm all were cosy up in tents as it was chilly at nights.

All I can say is one bloke, I can only guess trying to blow his bike engine up late one evening was faced with dogs abuse, highlight of the night. :-)

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davyboy48 1 review from this member

We have been coming since 1997. First impression was good. Easy to find, though it is now a lot easier with the new A43. The facilities have been improving every year, Showers and toilets well looked after and kept reasonably clean. If there was a problem, it was quickly resolved. The staff these days are all very professional and polite. The site is so close to the circuit that you can hear the commentary from the circuit speakers in the tent. We were of course at the top of field 1. Up there is a bit noisy at night with the fair ground in the next field, but further away one doesn't hear them at all. As the web site says, it is advisable to get there on the Thursday, as the roads are put into a one way system, which hampers one getting to the camp site. The little shopping area at the top of field 1 was excellent, one could buy just about anything. The food tent was also very popular. We will be back in 2010, glad that the GP is still at Silverstone.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3186 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019