Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cartref Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Cartref Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Cartref Camping And Caravan Site
Ford Heath
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY5 9GD
Tel: 01743 821688
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46 Pitches choice of Fully Serviced or Standard Pi
Open: 2nd March To 28th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 180 Reviews
                10/10 from 180 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pubcrawler 1 review from this member

A lovely gem of a site. The pitch was big and level with electric hook up and a water supply. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The bar on site was warm and a great place to have a beer. Or three.

The toilets and shower block were spotless.

Definitely going back.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GillMaz 1 review from this member

Our first trip camping after many years break.

Weather couldn't have been better. Owners very friendly and helpful. Excellent facilities.

Would return for another stay.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sarahbeen 8 reviews from this member

Our short stay at Cartref Caravan and Camping Site for 3 nights earlier in the month was superb - highly recommended. We were immediately welcomed by a friendly face, great service and a genuine welcome.

The site is well maintained and shower/toilets spotless and respected by other guests. The quirky bar has a lovely atmosphere to it. A quiet relaxing site.

The site is well located for local attractions (6 miles from Shrewsbury) and some lovely walks with the dogs. Thank you Chris and Katrina. We would definitely like to stay again soon. Wish you were closer to our home!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joanna cowap 1 review from this member

Just arrived home from a short break at Cartref. What a lovely time we had. Katrina and Chris are lovely people and really made us welcome.

Lovely location, Surrounded by fields and sheep. Toilet and shower block was warm and beautifully clean.

Love how you can order Pizzas! And love the little bar, lovely log burner and perfect place to get to know everyone!

We will definitely be back! Thankyou Katrina and Chris

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prospect35 17 reviews from this member

Wow, what a fababulous site, we stayed 5 nights in pretty awful weather, but still enjoyed ourselves. The site is run by Katrina and Chris, who met us with a friendly welcome and let us choose our pitch. We chose no 37 looking out on the garden and fountain, pitches are large and all hardstanding.

Shower and toilet block is immaculate and as for the bar with its log burner, and great host Chris, selling real ale and a great selection of gins, it's just the added bonus.

Everything about this site is first class. We will be back, hopefully when the weather is warmer so we can enjoy sitting outside and enjoying the garden.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Podds 10 reviews from this member

Stayed three nights in adult area level pitch set up excellent well laid out facing centre koy pond with well laid out gardens.

Dog walking area enough for my dog to have a walk around and to do what's needed also bio poo bags provided by camp site to be put into special disposal bin good idea.

Small quirky bar which we used selling drinks and special gins and local ales.

Also had a full English breakfast with local produce well worth the money pre order the night before

Enjoyed our three day break would come back if we are in the area in the future.

Well done for a well kept site one of the best shame it's a long way to travel would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindal35 1 review from this member

Stayed for 5 nights on a fully serviced pitch, great sized pitches nicely private. Greeted by lovely friendly owners and warden, this is probably the friendliest site we have ever been on. Toilets and showers were very clean with plenty of hot water, push button showers which arent ideal but we understand why they are necessary.

The whole site was immaculate, short dog walk and off lead area which we appreciated. The reception was also a little shop selling a few essentials and local produce, delicious sausages and eggs.

The quirky on site bar was great, cosy with a log burner and a great selection of drinks, it was a great place to sit for a quiet drink and a very social space to chat with other guests, so much nicer than just sitting in our van or having to drive.

Only 10 minutes from Shrewsbury which is full of beautiful character buildings and great shops and restaurants, also a good base to travel around a bit further afield.

We loved our stay and would highly recommend the site, well be back.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: IanRammy 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Cartref for a single night as a stop over on the way south with the family - what a lovely place, every bit as good as all of the previous positive reviews Id read.

Small, super-clean and beautifully presented. The owners are extremely friendly and run the little bar as something of a vocation - which made us very happy on the hot day we arrived!

Well definitely be returning to this jewel of a site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TarkaCS 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic week at Cartref.

Everything was perfect, there was nothing else we needed. Facilities were immaculate always spotless. Grounds were well cared for. Pitches were a good size with well kept hedges for privacy and the owners and wardens were brilliant, full of useful local information, really friendly and helpful. Our dog and our children were truly welcomed too.

Loved the little bar on site, served a great pint. We hope to return very soon.

Thank you for a fantastic stay

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicolasmith1973 4 reviews from this member

Wow. What a beautiful site. Large, flat, well-draining pitches all separated by hedges for privacy. A lovely shop stocking local produce, a laundry, a children's play area, a small cafe and even a cute little bar! The facilities were always absolutely spotless with limitless free hot water, fresh flowers and even a shower stool for less able-bodied guests.

There's an adult-only area and a dog walk where dogs can be walked on-lead, or an enclosed field where they can run to their heart's content.

The site even provide free flushable poo bags. They really have thought of everything! The wardens and owners all went out of their way to make everyone's stay enjoyable.

We definitely will be returning later in the year.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3564 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019