Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cartref Camping And Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Cartref Camping And Caravan Site
Ford Heath
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY5 9GD
Tel: 01743 821688
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46 Pitches choice of Fully Serviced or Standard Pi
Open: 2nd March To 28th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 176 Reviews
                10/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prospect35 16 reviews from this member

Wow, what a fababulous site, we stayed 5 nights in pretty awful weather, but still enjoyed ourselves. The site is run by Katrina and Chris, who met us with a friendly welcome and let us choose our pitch. We chose no 37 looking out on the garden and fountain, pitches are large and all hardstanding.

Shower and toilet block is immaculate and as for the bar with its log burner, and great host Chris, selling real ale and a great selection of gins, it's just the added bonus.

Everything about this site is first class. We will be back, hopefully when the weather is warmer so we can enjoy sitting outside and enjoying the garden.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Podds 10 reviews from this member

Stayed three nights in adult area level pitch set up excellent well laid out facing centre koy pond with well laid out gardens.

Dog walking area enough for my dog to have a walk around and to do what's needed also bio poo bags provided by camp site to be put into special disposal bin good idea.

Small quirky bar which we used selling drinks and special gins and local ales.

Also had a full English breakfast with local produce well worth the money pre order the night before

Enjoyed our three day break would come back if we are in the area in the future.

Well done for a well kept site one of the best shame it's a long way to travel would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindal35 1 review from this member

Stayed for 5 nights on a fully serviced pitch, great sized pitches nicely private. Greeted by lovely friendly owners and warden, this is probably the friendliest site we have ever been on. Toilets and showers were very clean with plenty of hot water, push button showers which arent ideal but we understand why they are necessary.

The whole site was immaculate, short dog walk and off lead area which we appreciated. The reception was also a little shop selling a few essentials and local produce, delicious sausages and eggs.

The quirky on site bar was great, cosy with a log burner and a great selection of drinks, it was a great place to sit for a quiet drink and a very social space to chat with other guests, so much nicer than just sitting in our van or having to drive.

Only 10 minutes from Shrewsbury which is full of beautiful character buildings and great shops and restaurants, also a good base to travel around a bit further afield.

We loved our stay and would highly recommend the site, well be back.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: IanRammy 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Cartref for a single night as a stop over on the way south with the family - what a lovely place, every bit as good as all of the previous positive reviews Id read.

Small, super-clean and beautifully presented. The owners are extremely friendly and run the little bar as something of a vocation - which made us very happy on the hot day we arrived!

Well definitely be returning to this jewel of a site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TarkaCS 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic week at Cartref.

Everything was perfect, there was nothing else we needed. Facilities were immaculate always spotless. Grounds were well cared for. Pitches were a good size with well kept hedges for privacy and the owners and wardens were brilliant, full of useful local information, really friendly and helpful. Our dog and our children were truly welcomed too.

Loved the little bar on site, served a great pint. We hope to return very soon.

Thank you for a fantastic stay

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicolasmith1973 4 reviews from this member

Wow. What a beautiful site. Large, flat, well-draining pitches all separated by hedges for privacy. A lovely shop stocking local produce, a laundry, a children's play area, a small cafe and even a cute little bar! The facilities were always absolutely spotless with limitless free hot water, fresh flowers and even a shower stool for less able-bodied guests. There's an adult-only area and a dog walk where dogs can be walked on-lead, or an enclosed field where they can run to their heart's content. The site even provide free flushable poo bags. They really have thought of everything! The wardens and owners all went out of their way to make everyone's stay enjoyable. We definitely will be returning later in the year.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neilly66 3 reviews from this member

We visited Cartref over the May Bank Holiday.

The site was spotless, as you would expect from a site in Practical Caravans Best 100 Sites 2018. The pitches were shielded with hedges for privacy, the toilets were spotless and the whole site was well set out.

However, and this is where I'm a little less impressed than previous reviewers, the site seems to cater more for caravans than tents. We found our pitch, while very nice, a little too cramped. With guy ropes both sides of a tent, the pitch was more suitable for a caravan / motorhome / campervan where only one side has guys. That said, this is the only criticism I have of the site and the welcome was very friendly and the on site bar is a little gem, with excellent local craft beers on sale.

All in all, if you're in a caravan, motorhome or campervan, give it a visit. If you have a tent that is over 4 berth, you may be best off looking elsewhere.

Neil & Lorraine (Wrexham)

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ronni54 30 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! We arrived and were shown to our pitch by the very friendly Warden and even helped to push our folding camper onto the pitch. We were in the Adults only section, looking out onto the fish pond and fountain. The whole site was beautifully kept and the facilities were always spotless. The ladies showers even had a shower stool for disabled guests - nice touch that. We didn't use the bar or the shop but both looked good.

The Park and Ride made it easy to get into Shrewsbury - we went on the Sabrina Boat trip round the Severn loop which was well worth the fare, especially since it was a beautiful day.

We look forward to returning to this great site later in the season.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maddy Old 3 reviews from this member

Stayed over the Easter weekend, lovely site with plenty of room, all the site including the toilets were spotless. Very friendly & helpful warden. Shame about the weather but that was out of there control & despite all the rain our pitch was well drained & we had no problem with flooding, which was the same on all the other pitches.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Struth 19 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site this is. We stayed in the adult only field which is fully serviced with spacious pitches, in the middle of the field is a raised pond & fountain & two pergola with climbing roses, a lovely feature. The owners & wardens are very friendly & welcoming. The toilet block is immaculate, with very nice showers & plenty hot water. There is an on-site bar open in the evenings, which sources its ale locally, unfortunately we could not attend due to having bad colds, but did look very inviting. It doubles as a hot drinks cafe mid mornings, which we did try & very nice it was too. Shrewsbury is very easily accessed, only a few minutes drive to a central car park. Also there is a Toby carvery only 3 miles down the road towards town. This site is perfectly located for exploring Shropshire. We felt very much at home on this peaceful site & will definitely be returning in the future.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2669 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019