Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Gilestone Farm (now Closed)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Gilestone Farm (now Closed) Reviews

CLOSED: Gilestone Farm (now Closed)
Taly Bont On Usk
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 47 Reviews
                7/10 from 47 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy--camper 1 review from this member

Stayed at the beginning of the '10 season here with my partner and dog in our caravan. Had a fantastic time. Views from the whole site are second to none, they have private access onto the canal which is perfect for dog walks and bike rides with the local (very pretty) village and pubs 5 mins away.

The site was lovely and quiet and very tidy/clean. The new shower and loo block was FAB (but you have to keep pressing the button for the hot water- it will come!)

We'll definitely be coming back- great place. They have had some issues with the national park but the site was to be in full running order when we went.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kazwill 1 review from this member

Visited this site bank holiday weekend and being my first ever camping experience there were a lot of expectations.

Well all I can say is what a great weekend.

Camped in the big tent field as we left it too late for electric hook up, the area was very spacious even with lots of tents.

The food and entertainment were fantastic and all staff very friendly.

New shower blocks and toilets were excellent although quite a way from the Tent Field.

The location was second to none, Amazing views and very central for various activities such as horse riding, cycling, walking etc.

The Village of Talybont was 5 mins walk and beautiful with lovely pubs.

The only down point for me was the toilets in the tent field. Very dirty and not well maintained.

Overall the campsite was brilliant.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

This has potential to be a truly outstanding campsite. Its location is breathtaking, with outstanding scenery in every direction.

A short walk takes you to a lovely village nestling between a canal and a gorgeous streaming river. There are two very attractive pubs, only had a meal in one but it was delicious.

Back to the site, though! Another reviewer mentions newish toilet facilities that are showing signs of neglect. Sadly I have to concur. Cleaning was evident but not thorough and one badly soiled loo went untouched for at least 24 hours (wasn't me - honest!)

The marquee style bar could also be a winner. However my only visit, early in the evening resulted in some pool players stopping their game to stare at us. One of whom was a member of staff.

Get the loos sorted and some customer service training for the younger members of staff and this could be a multi award winner!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarge8 1 review from this member

A fantastic campsite! nothing is too much trouble for the family who run the site (including their children)and the other staff that work there. It is friendly and welcoming.

The showers and toilets are very clean with fresh flowers in the vanity area(nice touch).Freshly cooked meals are served in a huge marquee which doubles as the entertainment area of a evening its a great place to be with a lovely atmosphere.The grounds of the campsite are well kept with flowers and shrubs and are very pleasing to the eye.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jen Scott 3 reviews from this member

Hi just returned from a 3 day stay. Here are my observations.

1) (+) lovely big field, few tents and loads of space. (-)toilets in an old porta cabin, no lights, hot water or toilet rolls.

2) (+) good proximity to Brecon town.

3) (+) lovely scenery.

4) (+) 20 mins to a lovely canal side bar, drinks were good, (-)food disappointing as blackboards, decor, ambience, suggested homemade food, but upon receipt was frozen chips and peters pies.

5) (+) big new shower block, free showers, plenty hot water,(-) situated by reception,drink and food Marquee (lots of teenage boys hanging about),carpark and you had to walk through the touring vans field and the seasonal/permanent pitches to get there. Not for the shy or easily offended.

6) didn't use the marquee or shop to comment.But seemed quiet and clean a few people visiting, cheap drinks and a happy hour on the weekend, we went for a relaxing few days which is what we had the field was very quiet due to on off rain, we had lovely time and didn't see or hear anyone for the majority of our stay.

8) Little park area would have been nice but we were maybe unlucky with our timings, day 1 we had to break up a fight between 2 teenage lads who I think were from the seasonal/permanent field. So we came away with our 4 year old. Next day same lads from previous day were sat on top of little climbing frame swearing amongst each other and laughing and preventing at the other little kids trying to play on it.Give us verbal when we asked them to stop.

10) at 7.50 a head so 30 for us to stay per night seemed expensive, and appears to be one of the most expensive sites around the area.

11) There was a lovely private field up the top end of the site on the way to the canal which had picnic benches, electric hook ups and seemed very idyllic also had its own toilet/shower block a little walk away,if I was going to stay again I would definitely stay up there and pay extra for the hook up pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hottubalci 2 reviews from this member

Apart from the views which are amazing I feel like this place is hell on earth.

If your view of camping is getting back to nature for some quiet time avoid this place like the plaugue..

Toilet floors covered in loo roll, dirty sinks.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aliwade 4 reviews from this member

We needed somewhere for our touring caravan close to Brecon (I was spectating at the Exmoor Pony Society show on the Saturday) for a couple of nights last weekend. I did a search and found Gilestone. It looked perfect - excellent facilities for caravans, a good toilet/shower block (I prefer to not use the shower in the caravan), dogs welcomed (we have 2) and my hubby could meet up there with his mountain biking friends for a ride direct from the site. I rang to book (the web version wasn't working) and a friendly girl took my booking for a super pitch (25 per night to include our own electric/water/drainage/tv aerial point on a hardstanding). After booking I noticed that it did mention a temporary bar/cafe in a marquee on the site. I thought that could be a bonus, as I wouldn't have to cook or travel to eat out.

On arrival, the site did need some maintenance to the entry roads/car park - lots of big puddles and mud. I had to wait for ages in the 'shop' (very small - we didn't buy anything there) to pay (someone trying to get his motor home into the tent area!). We were then surprised to see children operating the barrier into the main site. The pitch was fine - we were surrounded by sited caravans; all very large and posh. However, the problems started later. They had a singer on both the Friday and Saturday nights. He was actually very good - but the sound was far too loud. We could clearly hear it from inside our caravan (and we weren't that close) and it disturbed the whole area until past 10.30 pm (lots of signs on site asking for quiet after that time). The noise from the marquee then continued well after that. We also had various groups in sited caravans close to us with lots of Jack Russell Terriers - all getting loose, fighting, barking well into the night. We have a Jack Russell ourselves, so not against the breed - but ours is not allowed to bark at all. I didn't get much sleep on the Friday night.

The toilets/showers appeared very nice, but on closer inspection they were dirty/broken locks/flooded floors/often no toilet paper. Annoying showers that needed to be run for ages to get hot water - and you had to press the button hundreds of times to get a reasonable time of shower! The dog walk over to the canal path was nice, but lots of rubbish along there (bins needed). It was great to be able to walk to the village, where we had a fab Sunday lunch in one of the pubs. The Usk Inn looked really nice for food - but we couldn't get a table on the Saturday night (went to Brecon for a chinese instead). We had cooked breakfasts in the marquee each morning, and it was nice/good price. Didn't have food there in the evenings, as hubby didn't like the crowds/smell of burning food and noisy kids.

The security barrier to the main site was a strange one. We weren't told when we got there that most of the time there was no one at the barrier - you had to beep your horn and it would be raised. However, when you got back at night, they couldn't hear because of the noisy sound system - and someone would have to go into the bar to find a member of staff. We were tempted to drive back in via the exit! No one ever checked our pass that was meant to be displayed on the windscreen - didn't see anyone else doing that - anyone could beep and get in.

It could be a lovely site, but for the noisy bar/entertainment. The showers/toilets need maintenance, as well as the roads/car park. A bit of time and effort and this could be a 5 star site. The surrounding area is beautiful - wonderful walking/cycling/horseriding. We did 2 long walks with the dogs up the bridleways/footpaths on the other side of the village. The site is very close to the A40 and only about 10 minutes into Brecon, which is a lovely town (lots of restaurants and takeaways).

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clark1e 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a disappointing weekend camping at Gilestone, not helped by the weather, but also the site itself. We were directed to a top field but were unable to camp there as it was badly waterlogged - and ultimately we were grateful for that as it was a long way from the children's play ground and didn't have easy access to the better shower block, seemingly being served by a couple of portacabins.

This meant that we had to camp without an electric hook up - as booked - but that was a small inconvenience and the location on the bottom field was far better, with fab views, even if we would have preferred one of the organised pitches which seemed to be the preserve of the touring caravans (there's only one tap on the 4 acre tent field). Overall I would say that the site is fine if you're in a caravan, but if you want to camp in a tent with electric then you are made to feel somewhat second class.

The main shower block is clean and bright, no complaints there, but the dish washing facilities are wholly inadequate and poorly maintained. We were directed to two sinks which had only one drainer and found it to be filty with dog shampoo and a fur filled comb on the drainer.

The children's play areas is a plus and there's plenty of room for them to run around, the other big positive being the location, with lovely scenery and some good walking straight from the back of the site.

Its not a place to relax though as the bar is in a marquee and as a result the music is loud and intrusive, even though we were as far away as you could get. The noise from the bar, coupled with a group a noisy older children running around screeching until late into the night, made it extremely difficult to get our young children off to sleep - not to mention ourselves - hence not a restful break.

Certainly a mixed bag, and things for the owners to work on if they want to make this a top class site.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ali.d 4 reviews from this member

Very friendly site, helpful staff.

We were a group of 4 families with children and dogs and the site was great.

The kids were able to find space to run about play football and cricket a nice play area.

There was a dog walk at the site and nearby pubs with beer gardens.

There were hook ups but we didn't use them we were pitched in the play field.

Toilets were clean and tidy hairdryers there for your use.

Only 1 shower out of use in ladies think there were 6 more, but there was no long queues that we saw, and the site was busy. Toilets at top field didn't look that nice, but the newer block was great. We didn't look at the top field showers.

There was noise from the bar but all quiet by midnight.

Lovely pitches a very tidy and clean family friendly site, we will go back.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1874 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020