Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Norman Knight Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Shipston On Stour > The Norman Knight Inn Reviews

The Norman Knight Inn
Whichford
Shipston On Stour
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV36 5PE
Tel: 01608 684621
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 2 motorhomes and pods
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynzfitz 5 reviews from this member

Whilst we have enjoyed a number of stays here in the past, the last couple of times with the wonderful new facilities (hard standing, water and electric to each pitch) it seems that they no longer welcome caravans. Great shame, a favourite of ours.

Management response: Sorry, we don't take caravans anymore, but we do still have two motorhome pitches for those wishing to visit us in those outfits.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Colman71 5 reviews from this member

We are booked in to this site for early October and will leave a full review then but for now please note that they now have glamping pods and therefore now only have a few pitches for campers (these pitches still have hook ups) 15 per night

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Linda Liss 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at The Norman Knight. The site is very well laid out, with electric and water at every pitch. The staff at the pub were very friendly and accommodating. The food and beer at the pub was excellent. Booking for food is advisable as it does get very busy, however, it was a very quiet site. We have 2 basset hounds who were welcomed into the pub and offered treats, great to be able to eat inside with the dogs. The pub is opposite the village green excellent for exercising dogs and also has a play area for children. Plenty of walking from the site and the pubs Web site has walk routes of various lengths. Worth noting that there are no shower facilities and toilets only when the pub is open. This did not bother us at all. The Hook Norton brewery is 3 miles away, and plenty of beautiful Cotswold villages and towns in easy reach. This site is the perfect way to spend a relaxing few days.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulwarning 4 reviews from this member

If you like small quiet sites this may be for you, small area at the rear of the pub 7 caravans max, bit tight getting in, nice pub, we didn't eat there but were told it was very good, nice walks to nearby villages, very friendly owners who like dogs, 2 showers and clean pub toilets open all the time, no TV signal though

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SantaFe RMK 6 reviews from this member

Pleasant place to stay although the weekend we stayed there was entertainment on in the pub which was good, but the entertainer`s entourage camped in the field too in their vans! In all there were 11 units on a very small field which, had we known about we would have stayed elsewhere. We have our own sanitation facilities so am unable to comment on the showers etc. Beer, wine and food in the pub is good, and it is also dog friendly. No child`s play area although there is a small play park on the village green.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cumbria_traveller 6 reviews from this member

Small square of rough grass next to a gravelled parking area immediately behind the pub. The village is very quiet though we enjoyed our peace being slightly disturbed by bell ringing practice, and did not notice any noise from pub guests leaving. Very friendly welcome, plain but good pub grub and well kept beers. Pub toilets the only place for ablutions and getting drinking water (tricky getting water bottles under taps) apart from two portacabin style showers. When we used them the showers produced the merest dribble of cold water.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Patbill 8 reviews from this member

This site is behind the pub but while staying there there was little noise from there. The showers were adequate and the toilets were in the pub but were available at all times. Across the road from the pub was a large village green with swings and a slide and football goals for children to play on.

For real ale drinkers the pub had 8 different beers. The food was very good prepared by a French chef.

Nearby is a pottery with a coffee shop and in the next village is the Hook Norton Brewery.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TAD ANDREWS 2 reviews from this member

The reviews already submitted for this CL site describe the site and pub very well, except my wife and I did not feel cramped on site at all and sitting out was possible and restful.

All the amenities worked well and we had no complaints. The inside WC's are in the final stages of a refurbishment.

The landlord and staff are very friendly and welcoming.

The selection of real ales was superb with 6 on offer plus a selection of Spanish and Belgian beers. Cider drinkers are catered for with a selection of 4 that went up to a 7. 3% ABV.

Chef and his staff created brilliant food at the right price.

All in all a superb place to stay whether for a few days or a week. We highly recommend a visit - you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timotheus 4 reviews from this member

Whichford is a very attractive village with a large village green which the Norman Knight faces. It is a first rate pub with interesting beers microbrewed on the premises. The food is very tasty and appropriate to a pub. The bar is obviously used by locals as a meeting place. Hunter wellingtons and braying voices are commendably absent; the car park is not full of Range Rovers. They seem to host quite a bit of live music (good) which was inaudible in the caravan (also good).

Ablutions are carried on in the pub toilets and, for showers, in two units set up close to the caravans. They were clean. The main issue is the small area allocated to caravans. Apart from a hard standing pitch at the end of the pub car park I estimate the caravan area to be no greater than 25 meters by 30 meters. This is OK if you just want to use the site as an accommodation base. But it might not be suitable if you like to sit outside your caravan during the day.

There are trees bordering two sides, the pub on the third and the car park on the fourth. There are no views. On the last night I was there, there were two camper vans, four motor caravans and my trailer caravan. It was all a bit crowded.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ronnie Egg 5 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, out of the way campsite. You are quite enclosed in the grass area behind the pub, but it does feel cosy somehow.

The pub did not get rowdy at all and the owners are really friendly. They are quite happy to tell you all about the brewing process that they have there.

You do have people coming and going from the car park next to you, but our friends caravan was turned sideways, so it did not bother us.

There was a turkey called Russell, which the children loved talking to and he turned different colours, depending on his mood. There were chickens as well, which did come out and poo on the grass around the caravans. There is a park across the, very quiet, road for the children to play in.

The toilets are in the pub and the back door is left open during the night. The 2 showers are in a hut on the sight, which are cleaned daily (a few cobwebs linger in those hard to reach places) and work very well.

All in all, a good holiday was had.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3219 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019