Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Norman Knight Inn

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Warwickshire > Shipston On Stour > The Norman Knight Inn > Reviews

CLOSED: The Norman Knight Inn
Whichford
Shipston On Stour
Warwickshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this location no longer motorhome pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynzfitz 6 reviews from this member

 Whilst we have enjoyed a number of stays here in the past, the last couple of times with the wonderful new facilities (hard standing, water and electric to each pitch) it seems that they no longer welcome caravans. Great shame, a favourite of ours. 
Management response: Sorry, we don't take caravans anymore, but we do still have two motorhome pitches for those wishing to visit us in those outfits.


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Colman71 5 reviews from this member

 We are booked in to this site for early October and will leave a full review then but for now please note that they now have glamping pods and therefore now only have a few pitches for campers (these pitches still have hook ups) 15 per night 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Linda Liss 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at The Norman Knight. The site is very well laid out, with electric and water at every pitch. The staff at the pub were very friendly and accommodating. The food and beer at the pub was excellent. Booking for food is advisable as it does get very busy, however, it was a very quiet site. We have 2 basset hounds who were welcomed into the pub and offered treats, great to be able to eat inside with the dogs. The pub is opposite the village green excellent for exercising dogs and also has a play area for children. Plenty of walking from the site and the pubs Web site has walk routes of various lengths. Worth noting that there are no shower facilities and toilets only when the pub is open. This did not bother us at all. The Hook Norton brewery is 3 miles away, and plenty of beautiful Cotswold villages and towns in easy reach. This site is the perfect way to spend a relaxing few days. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulwarning 5 reviews from this member

 If you like small quiet sites this may be for you, small area at the rear of the pub 7 caravans max, bit tight getting in, nice pub, we didn't eat there but were told it was very good, nice walks to nearby villages, very friendly owners who like dogs, 2 showers and clean pub toilets open all the time, no TV signal though 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SantaFe RMK 6 reviews from this member

 Pleasant place to stay although the weekend we stayed there was entertainment on in the pub which was good, but the entertainer`s entourage camped in the field too in their vans! In all there were 11 units on a very small field which, had we known about we would have stayed elsewhere. We have our own sanitation facilities so am unable to comment on the showers etc. Beer, wine and food in the pub is good, and it is also dog friendly. No child`s play area although there is a small play park on the village green. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cumbria_traveller 6 reviews from this member

 Small square of rough grass next to a gravelled parking area immediately behind the pub. The village is very quiet though we enjoyed our peace being slightly disturbed by bell ringing practice, and did not notice any noise from pub guests leaving. Very friendly welcome, plain but good pub grub and well kept beers. Pub toilets the only place for ablutions and getting drinking water (tricky getting water bottles under taps) apart from two portacabin style showers. When we used them the showers produced the merest dribble of cold water. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patbill 11 reviews from this member

 This site is behind the pub but while staying there there was little noise from there. The showers were adequate and the toilets were in the pub but were available at all times. Across the road from the pub was a large village green with swings and a slide and football goals for children to play on.

For real ale drinkers the pub had 8 different beers. The food was very good prepared by a French chef.

Nearby is a pottery with a coffee shop and in the next village is the Hook Norton Brewery. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TAD ANDREWS 2 reviews from this member

 The reviews already submitted for this CL site describe the site and pub very well, except my wife and I did not feel cramped on site at all and sitting out was possible and restful.

All the amenities worked well and we had no complaints. The inside WC's are in the final stages of a refurbishment.

The landlord and staff are very friendly and welcoming.

The selection of real ales was superb with 6 on offer plus a selection of Spanish and Belgian beers. Cider drinkers are catered for with a selection of 4 that went up to a 7. 3% ABV.

Chef and his staff created brilliant food at the right price.

All in all a superb place to stay whether for a few days or a week. We highly recommend a visit - you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Timotheus 4 reviews from this member

 Whichford is a very attractive village with a large village green which the Norman Knight faces. It is a first rate pub with interesting beers microbrewed on the premises. The food is very tasty and appropriate to a pub. The bar is obviously used by locals as a meeting place. Hunter wellingtons and braying voices are commendably absent; the car park is not full of Range Rovers. They seem to host quite a bit of live music (good) which was inaudible in the caravan (also good).

Ablutions are carried on in the pub toilets and, for showers, in two units set up close to the caravans. They were clean. The main issue is the small area allocated to caravans. Apart from a hard standing pitch at the end of the pub car park I estimate the caravan area to be no greater than 25 meters by 30 meters. This is OK if you just want to use the site as an accommodation base. But it might not be suitable if you like to sit outside your caravan during the day.

There are trees bordering two sides, the pub on the third and the car park on the fourth. There are no views. On the last night I was there, there were two camper vans, four motor caravans and my trailer caravan. It was all a bit crowded. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4274 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement