Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sumners Ponds Fishery And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Horsham > Sumners Ponds Fishery And Campsite Reviews

Sumners Ponds Fishery And Campsite
Chapel Road
Barns Green
Horsham
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH13 0PR
Tel: 01403 732539
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 137 Reviews
                9/10 from 137 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  137 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Don Smith 5 reviews from this member

 A great location for a few days of winter touring. We didn't use most of the site facilities but they looked as though they'd be useful during the summer months.

As others have noted, the ground can be damp and muddy, but this should be expected when there are four lakes for fishing within the site and especially in a wet winter.

The hardstanding was rather small even for a 2 berth single axle and it wasn't really practical to park a car next to the van without encroaching on the grass, which would have generated further mud.

We've rated 'child friendliness' as a 5 purely on the basis of the danger of open / unfenced water, but, as a fishing location this is to be expected. 


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Doroth 1 review from this member

 This is an amazing camp site

Very clean, very friendly and super helpful.

We enjoyed it so much we have booked to return next year for a longer stay definitely 10 out of 10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Juliel 1 review from this member

 Sumner Pond is totally lovely. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff. Very helpful.

Would come back again for sure. The cafe is lovely food and drink. Lovely walks with the dog. And a dog meadow all secure as well.

2 minute walk outside the campsite is a lovely local shop and a pub next to it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: AllanGriffiths 1 review from this member

 We didn't need a power hook up because we have solar panels and batteries, so were assigned a pitch in the Rally Field which we had pretty much to ourselves except over the weekend.

The pitches with power hook-ups were very busy, even though it was late in the season.

The Cafe by the Lake currently has a limited menu because of Covid restrictions. Even so, we used it a lot, not least because it's the only part of the site (apart from the Reception Office) that has WiFi.

It's a very tranquil site - apart from the noisy geese and ducks, and there's no traffic noise.

Just a few minutes walk down the road is a well-stocked village shop and Post Office, which is next door to an excellent pub. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cathoo 1 review from this member

 A well run site without draconian measures. Spotlessly clean toilet and shower block. Plenty of trees and greenery, nice to hear birdsong when you're washing up. Canada geese also making themselves at home, watch out for their poo when pitching tent!

Several fishing lakes and ponds to stroll round and safe paths for young children to ride their bikes.

Plenty of room in the camping field although electric hook up area looked busy with caravans and campervans.

We enjoyed our getaway from the digital world. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 116 reviews from this member

 We were a bit disappointed at first glance. Site looked a bit scruffy and worn. We are not fisher folk! However, we warmed to it over time and had a good stay.

The pitches are a bit higgledy-piggledy, a bit close together, and, without any screening, there is little privacy.

The cafe was excellent.

Pity that the wifi is only available there. We would have thought that, at £33 pn the owners could make it site-wide. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cheryl Scales 1 review from this member

 Quiet site with Horsham, Worthing easily accessible.

Thoroughly enjoyed a meal at the cafe one evening - cosy and welcoming.

Wonderfully warm shower/toilet block. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 8 reviews from this member

 Nothing to fault

Would be good if they had full service pitches.

Great location, excellent restaurant and some of the best bathroom facilities ever visited.

100 % recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Minimoos 27 reviews from this member

 Great site, friendly, pitches good size lots of areas to camp in depending on preference, 1 new toilet and shower block which was very impressive, modern and warm. Older family block clean but dated and showers not that powerful (but just walked to other one!).

Fantastic walks around the woods and lakes, bike trails off the site and a great cafe with wide range of quality food and drinks.

There has never been any trouble as far as Iím aware but would prefer a barrier to camping areas versus open access as the site has multiple purposes. 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doverover 32 reviews from this member

 We can only confirm the previous reviewers comments, all good.

Easy to find, easy access, nice welcome. We had pitch 71 which had its own family of bluetits banging on the rear window during the hours of daylight and a toad landed on the groundsheet when we were packing up so with that and the ducks and Canadian Geese there is wildlife galore to enjoy. We're not into fishing but with five lakes to choose from and pictures of huge carp being displayed we can only assume that it is a fishing paradise.

The toilet/shower block in the "Sumners Park" section appears very new and always clean. We use the shower in our van but these looked large, well separated between wet and drying areas, and the showers appear to be switched on by a sensor so no need to keep pressing a button. Plenty of them for size of the park too.

The on site cafe is better than good in terms of friendly service and quality. I suppose you could say it's a little on the expensive side but then you don't have to drive anywhere and, as stated, the service is very good.

As a caravan site it is excellent and we have vowed to visit again however one thing we did notice from the off was the noise from the nearby railway line. It's not often we are disturbed by such noises but we did find it a little intrusive initially but after a couple of days we found we had grown accustomed to it (or gone deaf!)

One of the best sites we've ever been to. 


Previous     137 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sumners Ponds Fishery And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sumners Ponds Fishery And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Sumners Ponds Fishery And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Horsham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3699 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement