Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sumners Ponds Fishery & Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Horsham > Sumners Ponds Fishery & Campsite Reviews

Sumners Ponds Fishery & Campsite
Chapel Road
Barns Green
Horsham
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH13 0PR
Tel: 01403 732539
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 129 Reviews
                9/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Minimoos 23 reviews from this member

Great site, friendly, pitches good size lots of areas to camp in depending on preference, 1 new toilet and shower block which was very impressive, modern and warm. Older family block clean but dated and showers not that powerful (but just walked to other one!).

Fantastic walks around the woods and lakes, bike trails off the site and a great cafe with wide range of quality food and drinks.

There has never been any trouble as far as I’m aware but would prefer a barrier to camping areas versus open access as the site has multiple purposes.

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doverover 23 reviews from this member

We can only confirm the previous reviewers comments, all good.

Easy to find, easy access, nice welcome. We had pitch 71 which had its own family of bluetits banging on the rear window during the hours of daylight and a toad landed on the groundsheet when we were packing up so with that and the ducks and Canadian Geese there is wildlife galore to enjoy. We're not into fishing but with five lakes to choose from and pictures of huge carp being displayed we can only assume that it is a fishing paradise.

The toilet/shower block in the "Sumners Park" section appears very new and always clean. We use the shower in our van but these looked large, well separated between wet and drying areas, and the showers appear to be switched on by a sensor so no need to keep pressing a button. Plenty of them for size of the park too.

The on site cafe is better than good in terms of friendly service and quality. I suppose you could say it's a little on the expensive side but then you don't have to drive anywhere and, as stated, the service is very good.

As a caravan site it is excellent and we have vowed to visit again however one thing we did notice from the off was the noise from the nearby railway line. It's not often we are disturbed by such noises but we did find it a little intrusive initially but after a couple of days we found we had grown accustomed to it (or gone deaf!)

One of the best sites we've ever been to.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PatriciaM 19 reviews from this member

Have stayed here a couple of times during the 2017 season so decided to book with friends for Christmas. We were not disappointed. Had a choice of pitches when we booked so were pitched next to each other. It was quieter than we expected. Check in was smooth and opening times over the festive period explained.

Showers, toilets and washing up area all clean and plenty of hot water, despite being very muddy underfoot outside.

We still managed to get out walking and did a lovely 5 mile circular route which brought us out at the Queens head pub in the village. Very handy and close to the campsite. There is also a small convenience store close to the site for your morning papers. We have used the on site bar and restaurant previously but not on this occasion.

Lots of people were fishing in the lakes. Would be nice if the road around the site was tarmaced to save mud and puddles everywhere but that's probably a big expense. We will definitely be back in the New Year and bring our bikes again to cycle on the Downs Link.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bbrooker 1 review from this member

A Wonderful clean campsite set around a beautiful pond. It has a great licenced cafe that does superb food. The washing and bathroom facilities are modern and clean.

It has a huge car park, and has plenty of places to explore locally. Helpful and friendly staff always at hand.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JainEm 8 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! We booked a lakeside pitch as it was my partner's birthday that weekend and it was wonderful to look out at the waterfowl on the lake. It was a little more expensive, but that was our choice. The other pitches all looked very well spread out.

Being near Christmas the site had a children's seasonal event on, lots of families, well organised and not a problem for us. We didn't use the cafe on site, but the menu looked good and it seemed to be popular. The toilet/shower facilities were excellent - clean and spacious.

We walked past the barn full of cows (very popular with the visiting children) on our way out of the site and if you turn left there's a nice pub along the road. We had one of their speciality pies and a mulled wine, both delicious. There's also a village shop which sells a wide range of grocery items should you need anything.

We would definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bricklayer 22 reviews from this member

We spend a weekend here with friends who are into fishing

What can I say, but its a gem of a site, , really helpful staff on check in, we were given a map, details of the fishing lakes, we were told about the cafe by the lake, and we were given a code for the showerblock

The pitch was hardstanding are surrounded by hedges, it felt very quiet, - it was lovely

The showerblock was immaculate, really 5 star, very clean and very well equipped

There is laundry facilities and amazing facilities for the disabled

The fishing I was told was very good too, our friends were happy with the well stocked lakes ( there is 5 of them )

Woodland walks, kids play area, cafe/ bistro on site, village shop and pub is 10 mins walk

A really top quality site

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JoannC 2 reviews from this member

Had a lovely week at Sumner's Ponds, we don't fish but it is very much suited to anglers and we saw some huge fish being caught. We were in the Bluebell field which is a mix of hardstanding and grass with tents motorhomes trailer tents and caravans pitched up together. The pitches were spacious and level. There is a children's play area in the middle. The toilets and shower block were clean and warm with plenty of hot water. We ate at the Cafe by the Lake once and it was very good with friendly staff and nice views over one of the lakes. There is a shop and pub in the village as the camp shop sells mostly fishing supplies and does not have milk or bread etc. The Queen's Head in the village served good food and had a nice atmosphere.

The only downside was after the bank holiday weekend there was litter on our pitch and the grass was covered in the remains of water balloons and nerf gun bullets, but that is no fault of the staff or the owners.

We used the site as a base for trips to Brighton, Legoland, Arundel castle and mountain biking in Swinley Forest.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Quanna 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here as part of a group over the bank holiday weekend. We had three pitches next to each other on the rally field. The toilets/showers were some of the nicest I have come across camping, lovely and warm and somewhere to put clothes/towels so they don't get wet. There was also a mop and bucket which the vast majority of people used so the showers didn't get too dirty. There is a laundry room and also two large fridge freezers were you can keep food/freezer blocks.

We didn't use the playground, however there was a ball games area at the end of the rally field, which had goals. (The rules state no ball games except in the ball games area, which was fine by us, our kids quite happily went up there to play. ) The site is quiet after 10. 30 which was stuck to on the whole. It is on the Gatwick flight path, but the flights tailed off after 7/8ish. There are several friendly ducks who tried to get into our tents.

The cafe on site did great breakfasts, but service was quite slow, so allow plenty of time. Plenty of things to do nearby, we went into Brighton for a day and also the Amberley Country Museum. We got food supplies from Billinghurst around a 10 minute drive away. The shop isn't particularly well stocked.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SecondLife 13 reviews from this member

There are excellent fish here and the facilities are first class however I would say look at the map on their website and choose your pitch with care.
We stayed for a week as we wanted to fish so had paid for a premium lakeside pitch, unfortunately our pitch had fishermen on either side with 4 rods each and their lines crossed our fishing area leaving us about a 20 yard area to fish in. My other criticism is to do with car parking and security.

The pitches are not marked out and we came back from shopping one day to find a car parked at each end of our caravan by people who were visiting the café. On our last morning I was woken by people talking, got dressed and went outside to find 3 men and 2 women sitting outside our caravan next to the lake.

It is very expensive to stay and fish here but the food in the café helps to alleviate that pain.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachelkm 1 review from this member

Super campsite. All facilities modern and clean. Staff very helpful. We had a superb pitch at the edge of the Rally Field and Ribbon Lake. Only downside was the wasps but we fashioned our own trap and the situation improved.

Great for children on their bikes. Would definitely recommend to others. Thank you for a great stay.

Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2505 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019