Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Ellscott Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Chichester > Ellscott Park Reviews

Ellscott Park
Sidlesham Lane
Birdham
Chichester
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 7QL
Tel: 01243 512003
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Seashell2 5 reviews from this member

 Nice site, clean facilities but we left after one night, having paid for two. The site has signs everywhere saying dogs must be on leads and campers kept to this. Sadly, the owner did not and her staffie came after our elderly cat, who was walking on a lead near our camp. I tried to fend off the dog while my husband protected the cat as best he could. The owner couldn't or wouldn't do anything to help. When I said the dog was out of control she was very unpleasant. Having read other reviews and had this experience, I don't think customer service is a priority at this camp. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesleyh68 1 review from this member

 I love this site and come every year. The owners are always very accommodating, I am usually on my own with my son who has special needs. Owner is always there to help if I need anything. The site is very well maintained with excellent drainage.

The facilities are always clean and tidy and any problems are dealt with immediately. This is a tranquil site and the owner prides himself in keeping it that way so will not allow lots of noise late at night.

The charges for a caravan, awning, car & 2 adults are very reasonable. If you want a quiet relaxing holiday close to beaches & shops (by car) then this is the place for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clarettas 2 reviews from this member

 My review of Elscott Park is very much split into two sections, as the park itself is very nice, but the behaviour of the owner sadly, was not.

First the easy part - The site is situated in a brilliant position for accessing all that is lovely about Chichester Harbour, the Witterings and other beaches. It is also close to camping amenities such as a large supermarket, all of which we reached in under 15 minutes (West Wittering traffic queues aside!)

There is a large camping field for tents, which is kept clear in the middle, as an area for children to play and dogs to be walked. It has goalposts, and I think a basketball hoop too. This field wasn’t too busy, obviously busier at the weekend, but still seemed to have lots of space.

The caravan field was somewhat more cramped. Many of the pitches were allocated already to seasonal holders, with large caravans and full awnings already in place. As we arrived at very short notice however, we were grateful to find somewhere at all and didn’t pay this much mind. There seemed to be adequate hook ups and water supplied with each outlet.

The loo block was adequate apart from Friday - Sunday, when it was stretched beyond it’s 4 loo and 2 shower size (for women, not sure about mens). Lots of queuing and restrictions on washing up during peak hours, to save water for the showers. This failed on the busy evenings, as there was no hot water left when 3 of us needed to shower after 7pm. The owner was standing outside the block at one point, sending in another camper to check if there were children inside. He was unhappy that a Mum had been in the shower with her children for 20 minutes and said she wasn’t “playing the game”,

Though they were mopped and cleaned, during our week stay there was nothing done about the abundance of cobwebs around the inside of the block. It’s a shame to clean the facilities then leave everything else looking dirty - didn’t make sense to me.

There is a washing machine and dryer in its own hut, a good facility, even though we didn’t need to use it, so am unsure what the charge is. There is also an indoor washing up area with 2 sinks, alongside a freezer for ice blocks. The freezer was too small for the amount of people wanting to use it during the warm weather (freestanding - looks like a top loading fridge), so blocks were taking a couple of days before they could be used.

Now the hard part - the owner is an ex-police Chief Inspector, and this is reflected in the way he seems to patrol the site on his bike, on the look out for people misbehaving. His manner is quite brusque and at times, patronising. He seems to be very pre- occupied with money and making sure he gets his payments promptly, indeed this being the first thing we told on arrival.

I was quite shocked by their pricing policy, or lack of, when it comes to pup tents. I have postage stamp sized Eriba Puck, which sleep 2 people, and has an awning. My Niece was with us, so slept in a very small pup tent. Our entire square footage, including my car, could’ve fit twice into one of the large caravan and awning pitches. However, we were charged £20 per night for the caravan, car, awning and 2 adults (reasonable enough), but then charged and additional £17 per night for the pup tent. A whopping £37 per night! My fault for not checking before our arrival I suppose, but I’ve never been so overcharged for camping.

The day before we were due to leave, I injured my foot and leg on the beach, meaning I couldn’t pack up the pitch. My partner saw the owner and approached him to ask about the possibility of staying an extra night. She was dressed in shorts and a bikini top, as it was 30 degrees. Mike’s response was “you can stay all week if you dress like that”, to which she responded “I’m going to put a top on”, Mike responded “oh no, don’t put any more clothes on”. Needless to say I wasn’t very happy, and if we could’ve left, we would have.

When he was on his patrol later that day, he approached and asked if we were going to stay a further extra night, to which I said no. My partner joked about getting a discount on the expensive rate for the extra night. His response was “oh no, you’re fully dressed, so you don’t get any discount”. I made my feelings about this known, as he cycled away laughing. All of this said by a 73 year old man, within earshot of a 16 year old girl. Completely unacceptable behaviour, which left all of us feeling very uncomfortable.

The site has mixed reviews if you look around, and I now understand that your rating will largely be based on your interactions with the owners. We will certainly never go back there, despite its good points. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mookie7x7 1 review from this member

 Started lovely, but ended with a bad taste in our mouths! We have been to this camping site several times before and always liked it a lot due to its location near the beaches and plenty of space for our little tent. As it was very early in the season when we stayed, second weekend of April, we were allowed to stay just one night as we decided to go camping as a last minute thing.

They have one electric hook up pitch for tents which basically is an extension from the camping pitches, but it works fine, so if you're a tent that want electricity, make sure you book early. We checked in at 3pm and upon check in we were told that we had to check out 24 hours after we checked in. As it was a lovely sunny and warm day we decided to stay by our tent instead of going to the beach. Around 1pm the owner of the campsite came to cut the grass and stopped and asked us if we were staying another night, as our tent was still up, which we said no to, when he grumpily said 'well, in that case you have to be out by 2'. My husband said to him that we hadn't checked in till 3 so we were going to leave around 3, but the caretaker didn't want to hear anything of this. As there was no one else in a huge field and hardly long lines of people waiting to get in to take over our pitch we thought this was very square and unfriendly of him. This left us with a very bad feeling and ruined our day. And from being our first choice of camping site down in this area, we don't want to spend our money coming back here now.

It's not too much to ask to show a bit of friendliness and customer service especially when there is no one else waiting for the place to be used! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JainEm 8 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. We booked for one night, then when we got there we liked it so much we ended up staying for three. Very peaceful, the site and the toilet/shower block are immaculate and Michael keeps a watchful eye on the whole place. Some have criticised him for being a bit 'strict', but most people like the fact that it's well kept and quiet.

There is a field for children to play in and people to walk their dogs, when we went it was term time so no children around. I've only put 8 out of 10 for facilities as the nearest shop is about 30 mins walk away.

We have a motorhome so rely on walking, cycling or buses to get around once parked on site. If you turn left out of the gate and walk to the main road, there's a very good bus service to Chichester etc. When coming back, ask the driver to drop you off at the 'ghost stop'. It's not anything spooky, just where there used to be a stop right at the end of Sidlesham Lane.

We will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrsD1972 1 review from this member

 I would like to thank both the Owners Angela & Michael for 8 happy seasons we have had at Ellscott Park. We have now moved into the area having fallen in love with it resulting in us selling our Van.

We have stored our van there and enjoyed many summers and Bank Holidays, we always got a VERY warm welcome, the site is extremely clean and beautiful presented. Showers/Toilets are again always spotless, great place to come and relax with kids as it's safe. They have a field that they can ride there bikes play football etc. You can also have dogs as long as they are kept on leads which we felt was again a very good thing.

If you want a site that's small and peaceful then this is the site for you, it's only a few miles from the beaches at Bracklesham & West Witterings, lovely village shops at East Witterings that includes 2 Butchers 2 Greengrocers 2 Bakeries and lots more. Not forgetting a great selection of pubs in the area that serve good food.

Again we would like to thank-you both Angela & Michael for many happy memories.

Becki Mike Rachel & Louise 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dhill2 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I visited this site a week ago. The location was good for us as we were using it as a base for cycling trips. It is a little remote from shops etc. So it might not suit backpackers. It is also a few miles from beaches, but the tranquility of the site compensated for this. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and well maintained and the owners were friendly and helpful. They suggested cycle routes and even lent us an OS map for one of our excursions. We will certainly use this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeff1965 2 reviews from this member

 Very well presented, tidy and clean site. Warm welcome from the owner. We were in the back field on the manicured lawn, alone, no other tents. Great place. All the washing and cleaning facilities were spotless and smelt clean. Water was very hot to wash in. A great quiet find.

Around plenty to do, the coast and beaches, waterways and boat trips to air museums and more urban pursuits. Chichester, Portsmouth and Southampton very close by. The Chichester harbour hosts beautiful villages and waterfront pubs. Try the Anchor Bleu in Bosham. Great food and atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Riji 2 reviews from this member

 This was the first site we visited in our recently acquired campervan.

We are happy to say it was a very good experience.

Clean showers & toilets. Water always hot.

Friendly owners, we were only due to stay one night & ended up staying four.

Good value for money.

Will definateley stay there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Toofif 2 reviews from this member

 Just had super 4 days at this lovely quiet rural site. The two grass fields and facilities are very well maintained by the owners and their wardens. The very short grass was hardly affected by the morning dew. Even the large quantity of overflying private aircraft and jets queuing for Gatwick are no bother. A great location for a large number of local beaches, Chichester Harbour and the bus for Chichester with its shops and Cathedral, is just up the road. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ellscott Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ellscott Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ellscott Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chichester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder