Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW
Tel: 01548 580538
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: 01/04 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil Heb 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed during Covid-19 restrictions - facilities limited and dated. We had booked a ‘standard’ pitch (no electric) and were offered a choice of sea view pitches at the far end of the site. Pitch fairly spacious, slightly sloping so levelling ramps required. Some other pitches in middle of field looked tight and would overlook and be overlooked.

Can’t understand why some showers were out of use; WC cubicles, open at floor and high level but all in use. Shower cubicles with solid walls to at least 8 foot, one in 3 out of use. Probably just to reduce the cleaning required. Supposed enhanced cleaning due to Covid was not clearly evident.

Good location to access Slapton beach and coast path. Bus stops on main road near beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Susperella 10 reviews from this member

 Firstly, I would like to start on a positive! The sites location is fantastic! A 5 min walk from the beach at Slapton and the same again to the local village where there are 2 local pubs. 9 miles to Kingsbridge and 8 to Dartmouth if you fancy a few shops or supermarket. Lovely and remote- but perfect for the walkers.

A couple of miles down the road- nice walk- is Torcross- that has the best fish and chips we have had in a long time! Site is a typical club site and offers sea views from its hill top position. A nice touch was the free WiFi- this made my son very happy.

Fish and chip van came around to the site every Sat and pizza was on the Tues when we were there. Now on to the negative. The facilities are very tired- shower block needs a complete overhaul. Cracked tiles, black mouldy grout and paintwork and wash cubicles with doors missing is not acceptable for £40 a night.

If we had paid for the glamping ready tent and had to use the facilities- I would have been really disappointed! The wardens were lovely- and told us on arrival that the facilities were old but clean- so we knew what to expect- but glamping customers would get a real shock.

Come on C&CC invest some money into your Devon site facilities and stop just adding more ready tents and hard standing. I loved the location of this site- but much like the one at California Cross- I don’t think we will return until the facilities improve. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cliffbrown 6 reviews from this member

 We had booked a grass pitch, prior to arrival there was heavy rain in the area, on arrival the warden asked us if we wanted to upgrade to a hard standing, which we did, we had more rain but the grass pitches didn't get water logged.

This is a great site, very tidy, clean facilities, very friendly and helpful wardens. The Queens Arms pub in the village is a 5min walk and serves excellent food.

This is a great site to discover south Devon, Brixham, Salcombe, Bigbury etc. Slapton Ley nature reserve has a pleasant walk along it which is a 5 min walk from the site, the beach is pebbles not ideal for building sand castles, but is a pleasant walk about 1. 5 mile to Torcross where there is a pub, café and a restaurant.

Word of warning follow the directions as the roads around are very narrow in places. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LCFC 2 reviews from this member

 Slapton Sands has always been our favourite campsite and we have been camping there for over 40 years. But unfortunately in later years it has been over run with far to many camper vans.

Surely it would make sense to have them camp at the back of the site as they completely block the sea view when camping at the front 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Miludra 2 reviews from this member

 I went glamping here with my son and his family and we stayed in a Ready Camp tent. The location was amazing with sea views (you could hear the sea at night whilst in bed). Everything we needed was provided and it was great not to have to put up the tent, arriving after a long journey. Also the toilet block was quite nearby (useful for those night trips)! The wardens were very helpful.

There was plenty to do in the area as well as going to the nearby beach and we visited Greenways - Agatha Christie's home - and Coleton Fishacre - both National Trust properties. We also went to Dartmoor and to Salcombe. We had a good meal in one of the local pubs. There is also a community shop in the village as well as the one on the campsite.

The only downside was that it was very chilly in the tent, even with the fire, as there was a strong North Easterly wind blowing and the temperature dropped as soon as the sun went down.

I would definitely recommend this site and using Ready Camp. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 33 reviews from this member

 We followed the recommended route and although it did narrow to a single lane on occasion, it wasn't too much of a problem. Just such a long way around but it has to be done! If you tow a vehicle down some of the lanes nearby you will not actually be able to pass through some of the villages as there are width restrictions, so abandon the satnav!

The welcome was probably the best we've ever had at a Club site. Fabulous. We had been thinking of not renewing our membership next year but the crew here restored our faith in the Club.

Beautiful spot, lovely views but very open to the elements and exposed. So much so we cut our intended stay from 9 to 7 nights because we couldn't face the wind any longer. Perhaps we're wimps but the storms were nasty and we didn't want to lose our awning! You may well ask why we didn't take it down, well we have a small Basecamp with a rear awning and a small towing vehicle. We had nowhere to store everything without the awning. There's a moral in there somewhere.

Facilities are as you would expect from a club site, clean and well kept however, the shower area is looking a little dated and could do with sprucing up.

Nearby are lots of lovely walks and Slapton village itself is a delight. Thoroughly recommend the local pub! Great value meals and huge servings. Lots of other really lovely places to eat in the area at Torcross and Beesands, including tea shops and a little further away Dartmouth, about a 20 minute drive to the park and ride, which we used several times and do recommend. Dartmouth is a lovely town and there are lots of boat trips etc available along with the Castle.

Slapton Ley is a national nature reserve and there are several well marked walks around it that suit abilities. The beach isn't one for walking on but there is a decent hard surface track all the way along the beach, so a walk into Torcross is easy. Well worth the effort to see the memorial there to the US servicemen that died in Start Bay, in the form of a Sherman Tank

If you're after peace and quiet then this is a good site. It's worth the effort of the drive, just wish there was a little better shelter from the winds! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiznlil 37 reviews from this member

 We visited early September and so it was busy.

Facilities clean but reminded me of school showers, not at all luxurious. And, closed with barriers 2 hours every day, surely that could be organised better?

Lovely places to visit in the area, we loved Slapton Ley nature reserve and the memorial to the American soldiers about a mile walk away.

Loved nearby Dartmouth which has a motorhome friendly park and ride, we enjoyed Dartmouth castle and a steamer boat ride.

Unlike Salcombe - we really wanted to visit, but the Park and Ride was cars only as was the main car park, we had to leave without stopping. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PedroPete61 22 reviews from this member

 What can one say that has not been said, One new welsh couple new to the club makes it look so easy as well as the main wardens, calm and collective on a busy Friday night. No Panic shows all the new folks what is available and off they go.

The View is great from my window the sea is calm. Down the village two excellent Pubs but a lovely Church open with books for sale for much needed funds, walk along the beach to the sands and the history of the past is in front of you.

Buses at the bottom of the road to the outside world. Come and see for yourselves. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cclcfc 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Slapton Sands as part of a Motorhome holiday.

First impressions were of a nice open site with nice views in certain parts of the site. Wardens very friendly especially as I had forgotten to bring my membership card with me !

We had a nice flat pitch and despite the site being really busy it didn’t feel cramped.

I was initially concerned as there is only one shower block and only three showers available however despite it being so busy we never had to queue.

It’s an ideal site to take walks from as there is a lovely walk around the nature reserve next door to the site and we also walked to both Torcross and Strete. We have a dog so the walk on the beach is not great as it’s all pebbles however there is a separate path in both directions to along the seafront which is a much nicer walk.

We ate in The Queens Arms in Slapton on one of the nights and it was excellent. It was exceptionally busy however they were more than accommodating and took everything in their stride. The food was fantastic and I’d highly recommend it.

One thing to note is that we followed the instructions on the website and we are so glad we did ! The recommended route is narrow enough in places but Slapton village would be impossible for a Caravan or Motorhome. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dkcamping 1 review from this member

 Beautiful campsite with stunning views of the sea set in a spectacular nature reserve. Upon arrival, we were given a choice of electric pitches which were large enough for our tent, awning and car and choose one that overlooked a breath-taking Seaview.

I was very impressed with the cleanliness, practicality and thoughtfulness of the facilities. I enjoyed free hair dryers, free showers and particularly liked that in each shower cubicle was a shower curtain to keep the rest of the unit dry, a stool and actually enough hooks to hang everything off the floor.

Even better there are private dressing cubicles to use after your shower each has a vanity mirror and wash basin to use while you dry and dress, apply makeup, brush teeth etc at your leisure without holding up use of the showers. The camp is very well kept with colourful hanging baskets with secure key codes to enter the site.

There is a small shop in reception with basics with Lidl and Sainsbury’s only 5/10 mins down the road. The site is close to Dartmouth and its picturesque marina and charming car ferry crossing (£8. 00 return). We found an amazing little alfresco seafood restaurant called the Oyster shack just down the road, close to Bigbury on Sea, across a causeway when the tide is out.

We spent a sunny afternoon at the nautical themed shack tucking into fresh Oysters, enormous brown crabs and a chilled bottle of wine – happy days! (Best to book in advance though its gets very busy). Also in the area was Greenway (National Trust) the home of Agatha Christie (5 miles from camp- parking is free but on a pre-booked system best call in advance) we listened to an actual recorded interview of Agatha (enormous fan!) and Coleton Fishacre a 24-acre garden and a house in the Arts and Crafts style at Kingswear (National Trust -about 12 miles away) which are definitely worth visiting.

The beaches opposite the camp are beautiful but pebbly – footwear or swimming shoes are a must). A few miles down the road at Bigbury on Sea there are miles of lovely sandy beaches sprinkled with exciting rock pools overlooking the quirky Burgh Island with its one of kind antique sea tractor/bus and famous Pilchard Inn pub and art deco hotel. You can walk to the island when the tide is out for a sandwich and drink at the Pilchard or you can dress for dinner (Black Tie) and step back in time at the very grand Burgh Island Hotel. We didn't manage to see half of the attractions that we planned to, I would recommend this comfortable camp as a base to tour Devon and shall be visiting it again soon I hope. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1186 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement