Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW
Tel: 01548 580538
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 105
Open: 01/04/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kampervankeeny 14 reviews from this member

 After several days of rain on Devon, it was nice to arrive at this site in the sunshine. Most pitches have lovley wide views of the sea across Slapton Sands. The warden team were kept very busy yet still able to chat and be most helpful.

The facilities were very clean and never overcrowded. There is a lovely pub in Slapton village with a great atmosphere and deliecious menu, a most enjoyable evening.

Slapton has a well stocked village shop which is about 250 yards from the site but its only open in the mornings. There seemed no co-operation between the site and the shop which was a shame really so no morning milk bread or croissants for example. We bought delicious bakery products from the village shop.

The site does have its own small shop but its very basic. The walk to the beach is 10 minutes and only a short bit is steep so quite easy.

In Torcross village is a fabulous fish and chip shop, and you can park a motorhome in the layby spaces (payable) but not the car park by the famous tank.

We really enjoyed this site, and it was a shame that we left 2 days early because of the rain, but we plan to return and make up for what we missed out on. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Agrif7 3 reviews from this member

 Loved the location - we'd been there previously and enjoyed it.

This time however, we found that the site was run a little like a military camp. Windbreakers were not allowed on the grass patch between the m/homes as they were deemed a fire hazard - even when there was no vehicle in the adjacent pitch!

The village is friendly and boasts a well stocked community run shop.

A lovely walk along the beach or through the nature reserve took you to a restaurant / pub.

We'd like to return perhaps when there is a more relaxed attitude to the running of the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 85 reviews from this member

 Great views from the site. Nice village a few minutes walk away has 2 pubs - the one we tried was good.

We walked to Blackpool Sands and lounged about there without actually swimming (weather wasn't great that day), it's a nice excursion but the café has cheapo 'fake' barista coffee - with the business they get they could surely afford to invest in a proper machine. Got the bus back, it runs hourly.

The 2 mile walk alongside the Ley (lagoon) to Torcross, and back along the shore, is worth doing.

There are cafés and a pub and chippy at Torcross.

We are quite sticklers for good site facilities and were not disappointed here, despite some earlier negative reviews. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LesleyMA 21 reviews from this member

 Lovely hillside campsite with views across the bay. Lots to do: Coastal walks, wide beaches, birdwatching by the lagoon, etc.

Friendly welcome and helpful staff. A pub serving meals five minutes walk away.

The local bus route passes at the bottom on the hill, serving Dartmouth to Plymouth so there is no need to drive your own car/van.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil Heb 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed during Covid-19 restrictions - facilities limited and dated. We had booked a ‘standard’ pitch (no electric) and were offered a choice of sea view pitches at the far end of the site. Pitch fairly spacious, slightly sloping so levelling ramps required. Some other pitches in middle of field looked tight and would overlook and be overlooked.

Can’t understand why some showers were out of use; WC cubicles, open at floor and high level but all in use. Shower cubicles with solid walls to at least 8 foot, one in 3 out of use. Probably just to reduce the cleaning required. Supposed enhanced cleaning due to Covid was not clearly evident.

Good location to access Slapton beach and coast path. Bus stops on main road near beach. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Susperella 11 reviews from this member

 Firstly, I would like to start on a positive! The sites location is fantastic! A 5 min walk from the beach at Slapton and the same again to the local village where there are 2 local pubs. 9 miles to Kingsbridge and 8 to Dartmouth if you fancy a few shops or supermarket. Lovely and remote- but perfect for the walkers.

A couple of miles down the road- nice walk- is Torcross- that has the best fish and chips we have had in a long time! Site is a typical club site and offers sea views from its hill top position. A nice touch was the free WiFi- this made my son very happy.

Fish and chip van came around to the site every Sat and pizza was on the Tues when we were there. Now on to the negative. The facilities are very tired- shower block needs a complete overhaul. Cracked tiles, black mouldy grout and paintwork and wash cubicles with doors missing is not acceptable for £40 a night.

If we had paid for the glamping ready tent and had to use the facilities- I would have been really disappointed! The wardens were lovely- and told us on arrival that the facilities were old but clean- so we knew what to expect- but glamping customers would get a real shock.

Come on C&CC invest some money into your Devon site facilities and stop just adding more ready tents and hard standing. I loved the location of this site- but much like the one at California Cross- I don’t think we will return until the facilities improve. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cliffbrown 6 reviews from this member

 We had booked a grass pitch, prior to arrival there was heavy rain in the area, on arrival the warden asked us if we wanted to upgrade to a hard standing, which we did, we had more rain but the grass pitches didn't get water logged.

This is a great site, very tidy, clean facilities, very friendly and helpful wardens. The Queens Arms pub in the village is a 5min walk and serves excellent food.

This is a great site to discover south Devon, Brixham, Salcombe, Bigbury etc. Slapton Ley nature reserve has a pleasant walk along it which is a 5 min walk from the site, the beach is pebbles not ideal for building sand castles, but is a pleasant walk about 1. 5 mile to Torcross where there is a pub, café and a restaurant.

Word of warning follow the directions as the roads around are very narrow in places. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LCFC 2 reviews from this member

 Slapton Sands has always been our favourite campsite and we have been camping there for over 40 years. But unfortunately in later years it has been over run with far to many camper vans.

Surely it would make sense to have them camp at the back of the site as they completely block the sea view when camping at the front 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mildura 4 reviews from this member

 I went glamping here with my son and his family and we stayed in a Ready Camp tent. The location was amazing with sea views (you could hear the sea at night whilst in bed). Everything we needed was provided and it was great not to have to put up the tent, arriving after a long journey. Also the toilet block was quite nearby (useful for those night trips)! The wardens were very helpful.

There was plenty to do in the area as well as going to the nearby beach and we visited Greenways - Agatha Christie's home - and Coleton Fishacre - both National Trust properties. We also went to Dartmoor and to Salcombe. We had a good meal in one of the local pubs. There is also a community shop in the village as well as the one on the campsite.

The only downside was that it was very chilly in the tent, even with the fire, as there was a strong North Easterly wind blowing and the temperature dropped as soon as the sun went down.

I would definitely recommend this site and using Ready Camp. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 45 reviews from this member

 We followed the recommended route and although it did narrow to a single lane on occasion, it wasn't too much of a problem. Just such a long way around but it has to be done! If you tow a vehicle down some of the lanes nearby you will not actually be able to pass through some of the villages as there are width restrictions, so abandon the satnav!

The welcome was probably the best we've ever had at a Club site. Fabulous. We had been thinking of not renewing our membership next year but the crew here restored our faith in the Club.

Beautiful spot, lovely views but very open to the elements and exposed. So much so we cut our intended stay from 9 to 7 nights because we couldn't face the wind any longer. Perhaps we're wimps but the storms were nasty and we didn't want to lose our awning! You may well ask why we didn't take it down, well we have a small Basecamp with a rear awning and a small towing vehicle. We had nowhere to store everything without the awning. There's a moral in there somewhere.

Facilities are as you would expect from a club site, clean and well kept however, the shower area is looking a little dated and could do with sprucing up.

Nearby are lots of lovely walks and Slapton village itself is a delight. Thoroughly recommend the local pub! Great value meals and huge servings. Lots of other really lovely places to eat in the area at Torcross and Beesands, including tea shops and a little further away Dartmouth, about a 20 minute drive to the park and ride, which we used several times and do recommend. Dartmouth is a lovely town and there are lots of boat trips etc available along with the Castle.

Slapton Ley is a national nature reserve and there are several well marked walks around it that suit abilities. The beach isn't one for walking on but there is a decent hard surface track all the way along the beach, so a walk into Torcross is easy. Well worth the effort to see the memorial there to the US servicemen that died in Start Bay, in the form of a Sherman Tank

If you're after peace and quiet then this is a good site. It's worth the effort of the drive, just wish there was a little better shelter from the winds! 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54669 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement