Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mounts Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Totnes > Mounts Farm Touring Park Reviews

Mounts Farm Touring Park
East Allington
Totnes
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ9 7QJ
Tel: 01548 521591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueper 13 reviews from this member

 I had booked this site online in January and received a confirmation email. When we turned up there was no-one on site, no answer on the mobile number given on the reception door and so we were left in limbo. Having traveled from Birmingham we needed somewhere to stay over night.

The site was full, with many of the pitches obviously occupied long term. The grass was all churned up and I would not have fancied even trying to get onto a pitch.

After no response we moved on and 'wild camped'. I couldn't leave a 'no score' review, after all we didn't get to stay there, had to give 1's. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Inkjets1 1 review from this member

 As visitors to this site for a couple of years now, we say how wonderful it is in meeting our needs.

The site has all the key facilities you are likely to find on larger sites and can accommodate mobile touring caravans, motor homes and tents of all sizes.

Spread over 4 large fields, there is always nearly a place for someone. It has several heated showers and toilets plus a specially adapted disabled toilet with easy access.

Itís a very quiet site and has plenty of play space for families with kids. Although there is a small site shop on site, there are no on-site bars, there are a host of local watering holes all nearby if the adults fancy a pint or two. Many also offer fresh locally caught fish and its well worth a trip to The Start Bay Inn, Thatched-roof, 14th-century inn with seafront patio offering catch-of-the-day seafood and real ales.

Located in the heart of the South Hams, the camp site provides an excellent base to explore the wonderful beaches, we think, the closest being only about 9 miles away (10min car trip), and then you have all of Dartmoorís wonderful national park to explore if you travel inland. Again, only about a 45min drive from the campsite and loads of places to visit and things to do.

A short trip to Dartmouth is also worthwhile where you can catch a ferry across to Kingswear, where you can catch a steam train trip to Paignton. A great one for the kids.

On site you will often bump into the owners Karen & Keith who are more than welcoming and able to offer multitudes of local advice and will always try to help out wherever they can.

The site itself has electric hook up and free Wi-Fi, plus accepts well behaved dogs where there are plenty of local walks for them. We couldnít recommend this site more, especially for one that is a little quieter, in the country and has amazing site owners. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Toowoowheeliehome 1 review from this member

 Keith and Karen absolutely amazing couldn't have been more helpful. We broke down on the way here, Keith kept in contact with us to make sure we were ok, when we eventually arrived by a break down truck Alternator problems,

Keith and Karen and with help from Cliff and Jenny, picked an alternator up for us and fitted it too our campervan, then with the help of a jump start got the van going,

Absolutely appreciated for their help So stay at this site and tell your friends to stay here too 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JASMSN 2 reviews from this member

 A brilliant site. Karen and Keith will do anything they possibly can to make your stay a good one. It is a great site for families and has a very relaxed atmosphere. We have toured extensively over the years and this is our absolute favourite site. We have been here twice and we plan another 2 visits next year 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KM2017 2 reviews from this member

 What a dump. Photographs on AA site guide and on website so out of date. Site is an absolute mess. Buildings shabby and disgraceful. All signs are shabby with paint peeling off them or falling down. Pile of rubbish outside what looked like an abandoned caravan. Permanent residents on site. One to avoid. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Taurusgb 3 reviews from this member

 The reason their website has very few photographs of the site is because it is a mess. At some time someone has tried to make this site attractive, the evidence of this is dead plants in lopsided containers set amongst uncut grass and surrounded by giant dandelions and other choice weeds.

I have no idea why they are so proud of their toilet block - I quote 'We take care to make sure the bathroom and cleaning facilities are kept tidy at all times'. Most of the time that we were there there were no paper towels for hand drying, and on the 2 ocassions they were replenished, only a handfull were put in, so soon ran out again. There was also a hot air hand dryer - but that didn't work. Toilet paper was also in short supply and the floor was filthy. The drains that the shower cubicles drained into were covered in matted hair and debris and the shower curtains were covered in mould and stains. Water was hot though and the shower block a comfortable temperatire, I'll give them that.

Reception was never manned, and the hot water to the washing up sinks never ran anything other than cold.

It is also a misnomer to call it a touring park, as it is mostly full of static units in a not very clean or good state of repair. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AL53HX 21 reviews from this member

 Just returned from six nights stay here and, I have to concur with the other reviewers about it, although I would describe it as quirky. It's a mixture of touring and permanent 'vanners, very quiet, basic but good, don't expect any whistles and bells on this site, fairly short walk to the toilets washing up area and water taps, longer walk to the elsan point (no motor home dump point) this is a farm after all. Dog walk is a circular path through the trees, but as the site is central to lots of places, we only used it a couple of times.

The owners (Keith/Karen) are as described by the other reviewers, (we arrived on Monday afternoon and didn't pay for our pitch till Wednesday afternoon, ) we didn't see a great deal of them but they were there if needed.

All in all, a very happy stay at Mounts Farm and will happily return, as for the area, it is absolutely stunning, we fell in love with Kingsbridge, blackpool sands and renewed our love of Dartmouth, Salcome was ok but the area on the other side of the river is outstanding. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madab0utcamping 5 reviews from this member

 Well I'm not sure I want to tell you all about Mounts Farm Touring Park as you will all know how fantastic it is, then I might not get in next year

I've never ever been anywhere with such lovely owners, they couldn't do enough for you. They gave us great ideas for trips out and nice places to eat, always available for a chat and a cup of tea. The showers are always clean and tidy, a well stocked shop, and if they haven't got what you want they will get it, we needed a loaf of bread, Keith the owner got me a loaf within half an hour. Brilliant service. Nice size pitch, Keith shows you where to pitch and if you don't like it he lets you go where you want. We had a couple of people arrive with unruly kids, we phoned him at 10. 30pm he was out to sort them out within seconds, he stayed up nearly all night checking everything was ok and they left the next morning. He made everyone feel really safe. When we packed up to go home Keith and Karen made us a cup of tea before we left. An absolutely lovely site - we will definitely going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: AjCj 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned after a week at Mounts Farm and loved it! in terms of cost it is really good value for a large family with a big trailer tent as we were only charged a simple single pitch fee of £22 without hook up, no hidden extras for showers etc. We were even able to have a couple of extra adults with us one night for no additional cost.

Facilities are great. We made use of the new wet room, which is ideal for families or a less able person, we paid a deposit to have our own key for the week. The main toilets and showers were cleaned regularly, and generally although a bit scruffy around the edges the site was tidy. The site has a good washing up area with washer and dryer and a kettle, which we used to save a bit of gas!

The site has a very well stocked shop, which is pretty much open on demand as the owners are around most of the time and will unlock it willingly if it is shut up.

The owners are lovely. They genuinely give the impression that nothing is too much trouble.

Great central location too. Good for the beautiful south Devon coast and not far to Plymouth, Exeter or Dartmoor.

We plan to return next year and would happily recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lunarb 1 review from this member

 We love this site and will be returning.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and assisted us as best they could, even got a cup of tea after driving 6 hours in the rain.

There are plenty of showers and toilets so there's no waiting around in the morning and they're cleaned daily.

The nearest town is Kingsbridge and takes five minutes to drive to and has everything you'll need and is also very charming.

It's our secret base in Devon so don't tell anybody. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mounts Farm Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mounts Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Mounts Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Totnes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4368 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement