Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Appleacre Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Appleacre Park Reviews

CLOSED: Appleacre Park
London Road
Fowlmere
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site is now a residential park with homes for the retired and semi-retired, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacksonsinbrighton 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic weekend, only two tents in the field, trees all around the edge, perfectly flat short grass, lovely. It's only a short drive to Duxford where we spent a day and a short walk to the village. Great food at the Indian and the chequers (with excellent garden). The area is lovely and quiet. The toilets and showers are a walk across the a car park. Clean, 50p for a long shower and was hot with your own space for dressing. Washing up facilities on the side of the field, perfect. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Madita 4 reviews from this member

 Although we received a friendly welcome and the owners were nice, the facilities are not nice and cost 0.50 per shower. We were given a spot in a pleasant field with hook up, but at 9am the next morning the people arrived who had booked the spot after us and proceeded to put their tents up around us, pressuring us to go. Although they were nice about it, it was neither relaxing nor what we had wanted during the holidays. I would not visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The uk camper 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site at the beginning of September, and found the tent field flat and generally ok, the washing up facilities (x2) had hot water - but that was the only bonus (generally dirty). The toilets were like public toilets from the 70s - with hot water!

The showers (located in a portable cabin) also had hot water (at a charge 0f 50 pence for 12 minutes), but were very dirty, with shower curtains which didn't look like they had been cleaned for months and a wooden dining room chair to put your cloths on - wouldn't recommend using them!

There was a work shop in the centre of the site, which various people used to work on cars, etc - we found it a bit strange!

On the whole - there is much better sites which charge less, but if you don't need to used the facilities - you might find it ok! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jax h 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this very friendly campsite over a weekend for the Flying Legends Air Show and couldn't have picked a better place!

The proximity to Duxford was brilliant and it was very basic but clean and tidy and the hosts were very friendly showing everyone to their pitches personally. Not a vast amount of showers and loos but certainly clean and adequate for the amount of people camping.

The 50p charge for the 12 minutes in the shower is small seeing as the rate for camping is so reasonable! The field is very flat and quite a size with loads of room in the middle for kids to play or families to have fun together.

We didn't venture into the village (too tired from all the plane spotting!) although I believe there are a couple of pubs and an Indian restaurant that does take away!

We would definitely stay here again and the aircraft were not a bother at all in fact it added to our weekend. A big thanks you to Tony and Val the hosts! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrannies 4 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for its proximity to Duxford, it was very convenient for visiting the IWM.

Unfortunately not many other positives.

The owner was friendly and approachable. The pitches were flat and there was space.

There was a wash up area close to the pitches but very dirty and no hot water when we first arrived.

Many full rubbish bags all over the site when we arrived, they were eventually removed later the next day. Loose rubbish also around the site.

The shower blocks were very very dirty and cost 50p for 12mins ( Can't comment on efficiency!)Ladies facilities had 2 toilets which were ok, 1 washbasin without hot water.

There was a general air of untidiness and lack of care which was a great pity as the location near to Duxford could attract many families. Only 5 tents during our weekend.

Hook ups available and one tree swing for children.

Site was noisy at times. Loud vehicles crashing nearby 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnmarie 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite at the weekend and chose it because of its location being only 5mins away from Duxford IWM.

The campsite has 3 fields, 2 of which seem to be mainly for caravans although there were a couple of tents on them, and one field for tents.

We were shown where to pitch and had loads of space as there were no marked pitches.

The only facilities on this site were the standard washing up sinks, toilet block, showers (50p for 12 mins), washing machine and dryer, water and waste etc, there is no park but plenty of space in the middle of the field for children to play.

The field is flat and well mown but full of nettles (children rolling around on grass got nettled)

The toilet blocks and washing up areas were adequate with the usual cobwebs on ceilings etc.

The location is good, only 5 mins walk to lacal pubs of which we found 3 together, although shops seem pretty sparce, we were told there was one but it didn't open much past lunchtime.

The site owners were very friendly and helpful and gave us good advice on visiting cambridge, shopping etc.

Although pretty basic we would return to this site again because of its location, but only for weekends as there wasn't enough to occupy the kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Francophile1947 17 reviews from this member

 Owner was very friendly and helpful and charges are very reasonable. Toilets and showers are basic but adequate and always clean and well stocked.

Would definitely consider returning at some time. 3 pubs in the village, although you'd need to be rich to eat in The Chequers! Social Club is only 5 mins walk away but, as we didn't use it, can't comment on it's facilities.

Lots of old planes (presumably from Duxford) flying around. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sean.b 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Appleacre Park. Booked at the last minute and the site owner was very accommodating saying he would fit us in somewhere. The somewhere happened to be a fantastic pitch in the shade on the main field. The amenities were fine (I have seen much worse) and as mentioned before the showers were 50p a go. The loos, although basic, were clean and I had no complaints from the OH about the the Ladies. We used this as our base when visiting Cambridge (9 Miles away) for the weekend. The local village had 3 pubs that we saw and a take away. Didn't take much notice of amenities for kids as it was just myself and the other half. Over all, a well kept clean and friendly site that we will certainly be using again.
 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Astro 2 reviews from this member

 Site was nice enough though it wasn't busy, so there was plenty of space. Owners friendly. The site is very close to Duxford Air Museum which was what we wanted however, the amenities were very poor and dirty. The showers cost 50p which we were not aware of and having paid the going rate for the pitch, we think this is somewhat penny-pinching. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2354 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement