Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trig Point 49

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Trig Point 49 > Reviews

CLOSED: Trig Point 49
80 Staithes Lane
Staithes
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, although the bed and breakfast is still open. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

 This is a very difficult site to review: we like it but be warned, the word 'basic' doesn't do it justice at all.

The site is situated at the top of the hill that takes one down into Staithes. It is best accessed through the adjacent municipal car park since the other entrance is very tight indeed.

Most of the site is taken up with ageing blocks of huts, presumably for outward-bound groups and such, but there are also some chalets to rent and some B&B accommodation.

The camping portion of the site overlooks the cliffs and the sea, so is very picturesque in that direction. One can also see countryside but a pig farm and mineworks are not the pleasantest of sights.

It consists of a circular hardstanding from which grass pitches are accessed. These are unmarked, but we've never found the place overly full. In wet weather the grass can get very boggy, so beware getting stuck and bring wellies.

Toilets are beyond basic: one lavatory, one shower and a couple of handbasins for each sex. With the best will they're not overly maintained. The demolished remains of a further block can be found at the bottom of the camping field where it has lain for some time.

There are EHU points around the site, but if many are used the supply becomes unreliable - so keep an eye on your fridge (we have turned ours to gas on occasion)

That's the bad news. The location is brilliant and two very good pubs are nearby. The Captain Cook is very close by at the top of the hill and served very good food and real ale at very good prices. At the bottom of the bank in the village proper is the Cod & Lobster, a gastropub specialising in seafood which is exceptional and which also serves proper ale. There's also a good restaurant in the village and a further pub, which we haven't yet visited, together with various craft shops.

Walking is good with inland, cliff-top and seaside walks from the site. Runswick Bay, Robin Hood's bay and Scarborough are easily found by car, as are the North York Moors.

The site is open all year, which is why we started to visit. Last weekend we were charged a tenner a night including EHU, so it's certainly VFM.

The owners are very pleasant and very laid-back

So if you like an excellent sea view and don't mind very basic facilities, it's great. If you're glampers, look elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Esmeralda 31 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a two night stay here in a lovely location, just a short walk into Staithes old village and the harbour area. The campsite is basic but clean and there was always plenty of hot water which is all you need really. A grassy field which made you feel you were really camping, not stuck on a car park, fine in the summer, not sure what the drainage is like out of season, however we will find out as we will definitely return here.

The only downside is that the electric hook ups are so close together that there is not enough distance between units. We had a tent beside us with guy ropes only a couple of feet away from our windows, although we don't need massive amounts of space you don't want to hear everything being said by the neighbours! The safety aspect bothered us a bit too. Having made this point we loved it here and perhaps it won't be so busy in the autumn. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RobandB 4 reviews from this member

 Love this little site, have visited several times out of season and virtually had the place to ourselves, was busy last weekend but surprisingly quiet. Good, clean basic facilities and an excellent location. Two pubs in the beautiful village with another at the top of the hill all doing meals, all very friendly, shops close by too. Fabulous views and a lovely laid back atmosphere. Yes the field is a little uneven, and there may be a slight, 'farmyard wiff, ' if the wind is in the right direction. But so what, great value and open all year, a fabulous place. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jandave11 1 review from this member

 We are so glad we found this site! We were a family group of 6 adults in tents and a campervan. The site was well signposted and easy to find. Hook up was along the top fence line but all full though this wasn't a problem for us. The site has stunning views of the sea to one side. There was a path that led to the harbour in Staithes or joined the Cleveland Way in the bottom of the field. The toilets and showers though dated were very clean. There was a pot wash area again very clean. We only spoke to the owner on the phone but met Vanessa their manager who was lovely and helpful. The site is ideally situated for a visit to Staithes and all it has to offer e. G. Couple of pubs, a few gift shops, the harbour and some wonderful walks just be aware of the steep climb back up the bank! The site unfortunately is not very level but this did not seem to prove problematic as the site was full. We thought it would be noisy however this was not the case. We were told the site gets busy at the weekend but is quiet through the week. We will definitely be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rowena3406 1 review from this member

 This was a lovely little campsite with sea views. We were pleasantly surprised by the facilities as we didn't expect such a nice little hut with a kitchen space. Some people have said that these huts were a bit dated but we didn't have a problem with them at all as we were there to camp properly so the facilities available were extra. Staithes itself is a really lovely village and we were delighted with the views from the tops of the cliffs that we saw due to the campsite owner suggesting we get one of the treasure hunts from a shop in town and with the rock pools. There is a magnificent pub near the campsite called the Captain Cook Inn which I believe has recently been taken over. I am gluten-intolerant and had looked at the menu expecting to only be able to have a jacket potato. I was shocked when the waiter told me there were loads of gluten-free options; it was so good in there (and I wasn't ill) that we ate there both nights we were there. There is also a bistro in the village which someone else at the campsite said the same people owned that also has a lot of gf options. The campsite owner, Wendy, was really nice and gave good advice on where else to visit in the area. The only thing that *slightly* spoiled our visit was the piggery across the way. We could cope with the smell and noises ourselves but others might feel differently. Totally understand that this is no fault of the campsite but just wanted to warn those with less strong stomachs and/or nerves! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ally G 2 reviews from this member

 To start with the positives:-

Great location

Lovely village

Good walks

Close to Staithes centre

Good pubs and food.

On to the negative:-

It was Easter and the units were crammed in

Not many got the opportunity of the great sea views

Substandard electrics kept tripping out and one unit ended up with a welded hookup cable!

Smell and noise from the pig farm was off putting

The signposted showers and toilets were insufficient for the number of units but more were open in a neighbouring bunkhouse but not marked or told about, we just found them by nosing about.

No hose at elsan point

Leaking pipe taped up outside washing up facilities

Piles of rubble where one of the buildings had been demolished - although I appreciate this will be moved in future but unsightly non the less

Would I visit again? Maybe just for the location but not on bank or school holidays. 


Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hexegon 1 review from this member

 Great little site only a few problems the sign posting for the turn off into the site. The women's showers never got hot so my wife had to use the Men's showers. Other than that very laid back site with good views. Was very windy and raining heavy the week we went so they allowed us to park the van in the car park or we would have struggled with the van on the grass. Perfect walking distance for staithes. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris5448 34 reviews from this member

 Exactly as the owners described it. Basic, clean and views to die for. Near to Staithes and not a bad walk along the clifftops to a Runswick Bay. There's a piggery on the hill opposite so may be a consideration for those with sensitive noses. That said it didn't detract from our visit.

One small thing that would improve things would be a hosepipe by the elsan disposal to swill out the toilet cassette. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Benlovescamping 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic laid back site. Went Friday till Sunday but stayed till Tuesday 2 adults child and dog. Staithes is really close by. Along with a co-op and chippy.

Toilets clean and always plenty if hot water. Definitely worth a stay. Site open all year which is a bonus.

Site is on a gentle slope but with fantastic views over the bay.

Very bad winds on 1 night but our vango tent survived even if my sleep didn't. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2739 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement