Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Poplar Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Poplar Farm Caravan Park > Reviews

Poplar Farm Caravan Park
Acaster Malbis
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 2UH
Tel: 01904 706548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Really nice site with pitch looking onto river.

Couple of nice pubs, The Ship Inn and Woodman with good food and service.

Bus service into York stopped at site, but the service is somewhat limited. We used Uber as well as the Route 21 bus.

Showers and toilets really clean.

Weíll definitely stay at Poplar Farm again, although it is slightly expensive. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Craven 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, very clean. Good location, riverside pitch

Transport into York very good, bus stop across the road, no buses run on sunday

Lovely pub very close, varied menu 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Reetj5 1 review from this member

 The Campsite is very clean. Dated toilet block and Laundry but also very clean.

There is a bus stop to york every two hours and itís right at the campsite gates. The buses stop after 5:30 so you need a taxi to come home later. The camp owners have a taxi service that we should use and itís a £10 set fee. The bus for two is £5:95 p.

We stayed on the river pitch which is across the road. From the main camp. The river front ones are £40 a night fantastic view could not be beaten, and the second row £35.

The owners we met were two brothers they were both helpful polite and informative. We would stay here again and intend to in the future 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Louise 1 review from this member

 What a lovely place to camp. Amazing views, clean facilities and beautifully landscaped.

The owners were friendly helpful and the right amount of chatting time.

We could have a fire pit which is important to us. The pitches give you a sense of being in an exclusive site just for you and one or two others. I cannot recommend it high enough.

Close to Aston Towers, Emma Bridgewater factory and outlet and Newcastle under Lyme. Get booking. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Craig R Turner 7 reviews from this member

 This is a super campsite. The river view pitches are really special

The pitches are large and well maintained

The staff are very helpful and friendly

The showers and toilets are very clean and warm

Ideal place to stay for York

Highly recommended! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spyder27 11 reviews from this member

 A deceptive site. The main site is across the road from the river with tourers, statics and the facilityís ie toilets etc. Across the road is a smaller area next to the river that holds about 30 tourers. We were on this area which although scenic it felt a bit cramped.

The only thing separating you from the road is a hedgerow so traffic (although to be fair there isnít much traffic) sounds as though itís right next to you. Facilities clean and well maintained.

Easy access to York. Will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jon.mcguinness 13 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Poplar Farm and I can honestly say it won't be our last.

The site has a nice wide entrance with plenty of room to swing in and park with a caravan. The owner was very welcoming and gave us a breakdown or facilities on site and pitching options.

A gentleman escorted us across the road to the riverside pitches which are fantastically located and beautifully manicured. The gentleman watched us back onto the pitch and made sure we were happy.

The view from our caravan over the river was beautiful and it was great to watch the boats go by.

Next to the site is The Ship Inn which serves lovely meals and the the staff and locals we very welcoming. The prices were very reasonable and we spent quite a bit of time in there in the evenings.

York is a mere 3 miles away and is accessible by river bus, road bus or taxi. We took the road bus which was a great way to get in to York and got off at Stonebow for the shopping areas. York Designer Outlet is close to the site and offers all the big label shopping you need.

I will definitely be returning to this site and I would confidently recommend it to anyone wishing to sample York or this area of the country. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fatbird 9 reviews from this member

 Absolutely delightful site in fantastic location. We paid the premium to have a pitch by the waterside which was worth every penny. Lovely pub next to site where we took part in the Wednesday night quiz for a £1 each, great evening with such friendly locals and publican. The pub is also dog friendly so a definite must to visit.

Walked into Bishopsthorpe where there are 3 pubs and had dinner in The Ebor. Good value honest food, lovely pub. Took the river taxi on Thursday morning into York great value and a wonderful way to see a beautiful city. Be aware the taxi doesn't run every day. If you want to go to York, stay here. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dobboanddobbo 13 reviews from this member

 First visit here and very impressed. Very friendly welcome from the owners. We were pitched in the main site near the playpark and close to the toilet block.

Playpark only has a few apparatus but is in a huge field with lots of space for the kids to run around. Great dog walking field also.

Owner gave lots of suggestions of the best places to visit.

The Ship Inn next door to the site wasn't serving food so we had a lovely walk along the river to Bishopthorpe. There are a few pubs there that are dog and child friendly although we chose the Mercier Inn which also has a large beer garden. Food was good and reasonably priced.

You can get a riverbus into York direct from the site however we chose the bus which is also right outside the site (only because we have done the riverbus before from a nearby site and the weather didn't look great so we weren't sure how long we would be staying in York).

Showers were continuous (no annoying push buttons) and the whole site was spotless.

The only downside I could think of was no shop on site however there is a co-op approx 1 mile away in Bishopthorpe.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jesspekjon 12 reviews from this member

 A real treat. On arrival we were told we were down by the river which was a nice surprise. I believe the site is run by two brothers, one who works mainly in reception who I didn't actually meet but my wife said was very helpful and 'lovely'.

The other who showed us to our pitch, being new to caravanning I always find the reversing on to the pitch a little difficult especially with an audience however not this time as the chap talked me through the manoeuvre with ease which really impressed me. The site is spotless clean and very well kept with spotless facilities.

I'm struggling to find a negative point, the only thing I can think of is that the waste point is a bit of a walk from the side of the river however It still definitely worth the walk with the fantastic views you get, watching the boats pass was great and we found the site very relaxing.

We even jumped on a boat and went in to York for the day, it cost £17 for 2 of us single way, it wasn't much extra for return either- we highly recommend this as its about an hours run and you get to see a lot of places you'd never usually see.

All in all we loved it and will most definitely be back. Thank you 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Poplar Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Poplar Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Poplar Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53867 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement