Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Craken House Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Craken House Caravan Site Reviews

Craken House Caravan Site
Middleham Road
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 5HF
Tel: 01969 623192
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 04/07/2020 to 30/11/2020
           01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 133 Reviews
                10/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sharonicus 1 review from this member

 What a fabulous find, the views from our pitch were incredible. We enjoyed it so much we have booked again for September. Richard the owner was very helpful.

It was so peaceful and relaxing. Not able to score the facilities as due to COVID Richard has decided not to open them the rest of this season but they looked good from the outside. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diane Susan Barras 1 review from this member

 We found Craken House extremely clean and tidy.

The owner, Richard, was very friendly and helpful.

It was so peaceful and in a beautiful setting.

Leyburn was in easy walking distance and we look forward to a return visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Andyca 1 review from this member

 This site is brilliant. It was my 5 year old daughterís first camping trip and thatís why we only stayed one night.

Richard was helpful throughout the booking (it was last minute) and the stay, he honestly made you feel that nothing was too much trouble.

The site is lovely with excellent views and facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John Colin 1 review from this member

 One of the best sites we have stayed on. It is positively idyllic and Richard the owner was lovely. He made us welcome and was very helpful and friendly.

The area is beautiful and there is so much to see and do, we visit at least twice a year and we will certainly stay at Cracken House Farm again.

We highly recommend it, it was brilliant! 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cycosport 14 reviews from this member

 Very enthusiastic and detailed welcome from Richard the site owner, clearly taking pride in his site and happy to offer a variety of pitches to choose from.

Lovely views and several separate areas to pitch, most of which are level or a gentle slope. Plenty of taps, bins etc and clean washroom and shower area, minor niggle, only one shower and no hot tap in the toilets.

A nice touch were the picnic gables and summer house with information in. However our stay was blessed with great views, and a leisurely 20 minute walk to Leyburn where there are some nice independent shops and good pubs / restaurants.

If you want a near perfect independent site for tents, caravans or motorhomes, this is one, plus the beauty of the Yorkshire Sales. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andie74 21 reviews from this member

 Best welcome we have had couldn't do enough for you.

Fantastic views. Very good facility's for a small site 2 loos 1 shower each, dish washing, laundry, information room, walks from site. 20 min walk to village.

Would definitely stop again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackie18 13 reviews from this member

 Youíll have to travel far and wide to find a better host. Richard is always friendly and more than willing to give a helping hand.

The camp is perfect. Here are some of the things youíll love: beautiful views, peaceful camp, good clean facilities, within walking distance to Leyburn.

Leyburn has everything youíll need: Shopping, pubs, restaurants, cafes.

This is not our 1st stay and it wonít be our last. We have stayed in a tent and now our caravan and both have been very enjoyable.

Thanks again Richard. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wetwellies 10 reviews from this member

 Loveliest host ever, Richard is such a nice man. I would go again just to chat to him. Facilities beautifully clean and a kettle and fridge for us basic campers really made us happy. Showers hot.

There is an adult only top field but our lower field had a shallowish stream for paddling in had it not been April and a bit cold

Great location for forbidden corner which is a super fun attraction for kids and adults alike it's not far at all. Bolton castle was also good great talk from falconer and a maze for kids.

Overall, A gorgeous quiet little site with nice sheltered camping areas. If you like a more social, nightlife style site it's not for you, my parents who caravan with a dog would love it. Even my husband liked it and he is less than enthusiastic about camping! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Patricia Joy 2 reviews from this member

 Great to find a site open in November. Rich, the owner, was great. He gave us his guided figure of 8 tour around the facilities and lent us some ramps for our small camper van so that we could have an amazing view of the hills out of our front window. The site is well kept by Rich and he has clear demarkation areas for people with families and those without.

The washing up room was well lit with plenty of hot water. Only one shower for women and only one shower for men BUT the water was lovely and hot with plenty of pressure. Not many folk visiting mid-week in November so no problem with showers and toilets but during peak season I wonder how this would be then.

We would certainly stop over again and spend more than one night so that we could explore the region. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NdBuk 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to this site and can echo the excellent reviews posted by other people on this site, and confirm that the site is as good as it always was.

This site serves as an excellent base for a visit to the 'Forbidden Corner' - a long held favorite place of ours to go for a day out with the kids. Book early though. If you thought the Forbidden corner booked out quick, this site books out even quicker during the summer months.

The site doesn't have a park, but it does have a willow tree. That tree has kept our kids amused for many more hours than any play area ever has.

Rich, the site owner, never stops working (except for a chat. ) to make sure the site is always in tip top condition. The site has licence for 25 units but has a few more pitches than that which means that a couple of pitches get a chance to recover and aren't as battered as ones that are in constant use. It does also mean that if you tip up on spec thinking that you can see free pitches, you may be turned away as the site is actually full.

Facilities (toilets, wash / shower room, dish washing room with fridge freezer and washing machines) are all well maintained and clean.

It's not unusual to come across people who have been staying here every year for a number of years. 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Craken House Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Craken House Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Craken House Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leyburn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1663 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December