Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Fleur De Bretagne

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Rostrenen > Camping Fleur De Bretagne > Reviews

CLOSED: Camping Fleur De Bretagne
Kerandouaron
Rostrenen
Brittany   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dnbherbert 1 review from this member

 If your looking for the sterile caravan club site with all its snobbery then this place is not for you.

My wife and I have been visiting here for years, and site has become a second home it so easy going. There are lots of spots to hide away on the site with a great communal bar which has a good customer Base of French locals and expats to which you are welcome into.

The site is very easy going thier only seems to one rule and is to enjoy yours self and allow other guests to.

The swimming pool is all ways clean and safe during the main season.

The toilets are cleaned daily basic but work well. The showers are again the same but good and hot and free. There is a good area for washing up with plenty of hot water.

The bar is a family home as well and a better welcome we are yet to find and when locals it only enhances the place. Stand any ware on the site and would swear there was no bar it is that discreet with no noise bleed.

There are plenty of walk from the site it's self. Fishing is aviable on site and we have spent many an evening fishing with a couple of bottles of local wine.

People truly miss the ideal position of this site because it is so central in Brittany that all areas of Brittany are easly accessible. The north coast 50mins the south coast 1hr curzon 1hr 10mins ideal for fickle brittany weather.

The hoast them self are Marco and Sarah with Sarah parents I support David and Jenny, and what can I say about them David knows all place to visit in the area jenny loves to chat and every one loves her. Marco does as he is told haha no he is good fun and is local to area and is always will to help and last but no means least Sarah the boss you'll never forget her she dose great job balancing it all.

The site is great value for money a hard one to beat we love it hee 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Transitlegend 1 review from this member

 Now I understand that I was there very late in the season and that they were probably 'winding down'for the winter, but most of what was wrong with this site is long term decay. A number of apparently derelict caravans were to be found near the lakes, most of the planting was overgrown, there were lights which were buried in overgrown vegetation. The main toilet block was closed, that's fine during the off season, but surely the remaining facility could have been kept clean.

The owner responded to some of the criticism by saying that they had not been there for long and that these things take time and money, this of course is true, but a lot of what needs to be done could be achieved by hard work and a desire to be as good as they could be. With a bit of imagination and some blood, sweat and tears this would be a very nice site, but as of the time of my visit it is not, and I would not recommend it. 
Management response: my husband was diagnosed with cancer in June 2013 and during the period 2013/2014 things here were very difficult and we are very sorry if things were not up to scratch - but following 3 major operations and chemotherapy I am pleased to say that he is now fully recovered and back working on the campsite. I do not understand the comment ' they had not been there for long' as we have been here for 10 years and I am wondering if they actually spoke to someone else. We will happily give any campers that have a genuine complaint a refund or free stay. Please feel free to contact us and we will forward upto date photos of the campsite and any other information they require.


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckflo 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this campsite in August and we had a wonderful holiday. This was a return visit as we previously stayed in 2011. Although the shower blocks are getting a little old they were always clean. The food in the bar was excellent it was a snack bar and not a restaurant which was reflected in the prices. Excellent food for us tenters. It is a quiet site which is why we went back where we could chill by the lovely clean pool or fishing lake. We met with lots of the locals in the bar. While we were there they installed a tennis table which was good fun and exercise. If you want a peaceful holiday it's a good place to go if you want thrills then find a bigger commercial site 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ScimitarMatt 4 reviews from this member

 Sadly Camping Fleur de Bretagne did not live up to its name or the reviews we read on here before setting sail for France. The camp site is run down with the only flowers being the wild dog roses which grow by one of the toilet blocks and the ones on the private balcony belonging to the owners. I can only assume things have changed since the last review in 2010.

Many reviewers are right when they say that the site is peaceful, for the most part that is right, probably as there were so few campers during our stay for the last two weeks of July 2013. The site is very tired looking and has an air of neglect about it. There are two toilet/amenity blocks which have everything you need (toilets, showers, hand laundry room and washing up room as well as one washing machine) but they are very basic and very very dirty. The gents were rarely cleaned and only then were the floors mopped judging by the dirt, bird droppings and spiders webs on the sink units. I am told that the ladies were similarly unpleasant.

There is one chemical toilet emptying point which is a buried toilet pan to the side of one of the toilet blocks, we needed a local to point it out to us.

The site is run by a French man and English lady and they were helpful and pleasant. The grass is kept trimmed by locals who do odd jobs in lieu of paying site fees, any cut or strimmed grass is just left on the ground so it gets walked into the caravan with every step.

During our stay the owners moved another tatty static caravan onto the terrace next to ours which blocked the view, we were told by a summertime ex-pat resident that more will be installed which will then become holiday lets, this will, in my opinion, change this site for the worse. There are numerous touring caravans parked up in bushes, some at alarming angles, which are clearly just being stored on site.

The communal wheelie bins at the site entrance were frequently overflowing and just looked very unsightly. The drinking water points were grotty with blocked drains, adding to the unkempt feel of the site.

The sites saving grace is the swimming pool which is great, it was relined just prior to our arrival which was great for us but not for my father and nephew who had already spent two weeks on the site before we met them without a pool, my father was not warned of this massive inconvenience when he booked.

The bar on site is tired looking and frequented by locals but it is not noisy so did not disturb us during our stay, there is some food available on site but it's just burgers, omelettes, chips etc. We didn't bother trying any of it. Smoking, despite being banned (or even illegal) indoors, still went on in the public bar by the owners (and possibly guests too) and the smell of smoke was strong and lingering.

I suppose I could conclude by saying this site was a great disappointment and it is a crying shame as it could be so much better without a great deal of effort. Plant some flowers so that the camp site name makes sense, keep the toilet and showers clean and generally tidy the place up. The potential is massive.

Pitch fees €8 per night for a caravan

€4 per person per night

Electric €3 per day (you may need to borrow extension cables off the owners as the electricity points are few and far between, many people strung cables through the trees over gravel and mud roadways)

Swimming pool €free

Wifi €free but patchy signal strength on the site, fine in the bar area though

Washing machine €5 for an hours time which will do one wash load

General review of the area - Rostronen is a pretty little town with an excellent bakers, there are 3 supermarkets within a 5 minute drive but research the area before you leave home as there is not a lot to see and do close by and it's tricky to find things out when you're already here. It's a great area for sitting in the sun reading your kindle all day but thrill seekers should probably choose somewhere else.

I wish I could be more positive about the campsite but in think honesty is the best policy with reviews, people rely on them when choosing a destination (as we did) so here you have it. All in all though we still enjoyed our holiday as the company was great and the cakes were plentiful. 
Management response: Just a reply to matt scimitar. As owner of the Fleur de Bretagne I will point out a few issues which appear to have been falsely reported.

The people in question were well informed before their visit of the work to the pool, they were also adequately discounted for the inconvenience. The tatty mobile home is NOT a holiday let, and it is a fully winterised home that will be offered for sale when cleaned and installed. The campsite does not promise lake views.

We have recently re decorated the bar and as these people never so much as bought a drink in the bar I feel they are not well qualified to judge. We have had a busy august as is normal in Brittany. July is not official holiday season.

I feel it would be much more beneficial to both campers and the site to air your feelings whilst on site than to slander the site on your return.

I would ask any future campers to please read our other reviews before acting on the one below. If you have any concerns please do not hesitate to ring or email us

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SIMON BURCH 4 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site and would highly recommend if you want the quiet life.

Friday Fish and Chips and Sunday Lunch were great as was bar service.

Very Dog Friendly and our Greyhound was a pretty good boy despite the abundance of rabbits. He was a star in the bar and loved the attention from everyone.

Rostrenen is a lovely town and recommend a visit to the Church which is gorgeous inside.

Will be back later in year from our home in Brittany near Fougeres.

The Nantes-Brest canal is nearby and the walks are great and Greyhound loved it all.

This site is great and we will be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jahst 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this wonderful peaceful family (English) run campsite for our holiday this year. Lovely fishing lake, swimming pool and bar serving the best fish and chips every Friday. Close enough to the town centre to walk and the Nantes - Brest Canal is only a 5 minute drive for excellent cycling/walking We were also able to visit all the coasts as they are only about 45 mins away. Plenty of hot water for showers and washing up sinks. Will certainly go back again. It it a bit hard to find so best to ring if you get lost - the owners came out to find us. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wombling2006 1 review from this member

 It all depends what you want from your holiday. If you want a busy haven type one with a lot of razmatazz. Don't go to fleur de bretagne. If you want a lovely peaceful rest with a cosy friendly site pub ran by lovely friendly people (english) with good beer good food (fish and chip nights every friday make sure you book as can get busy. Sunday lunches also and karaoke nights) and a nice mix of locals and campers alike set in very peaceful countryside then this will be perfect for you.

The site is a quiet rural site, which we love. With lots of local wildlife in abundance. Bunnies hopping about there's a fishing lake and a small pond which the kids loved.Quite a few bird spotters camped there .

They have an outdoor pool which isnt heated but was as warm as the heated ones weve been in. It was a real joy to be either the only ones or one of a few to sunbathe on the sunloungers around the pool. The pool was very clean for such a rural site.

There is a family bathroom near the pool which was the most modern on the site and we tended to use being a very short walk from our caravan. There were other toilet and washing blocks a little further down the site, which are in the process of being updated, but were equally as adequate and clean, merely a little dated (these had netting in the rafters to help prevent birds from roosting in them and causing a mess)

There were all ages and variations of people staying on the site from very young families in tents with babies a few months old and festival goers (just a short car ride to carhaix where the french glastonbury is held every year! and is fantastic) to older couples in caravans.

There are a few mobile homes on the site also.

A big bonus for the site is free wifi and it worked brilliantly as well, no having to trek to the bar to get a signal. But we did trek to sample the local beers friendly company and have a few games of pool.

Some pitches are slightly sloping but didn't seem to cause problems for both caravanners and tenters alike, the grass was cut very regularly even in the field going down to both of the lakes.We stayed for 10 days there and we were quite sad to leave really .

It was about a 15min walk into rostrenen which is quite a bustling little town with a weekly market in the square which is dotted about with various shops bars and cafe's. There's quite a few supermarkets a short drive / long walk from the site including. Lidl carrefour and leclerc

There are many lovely days out within easy driving distance and lots of local markets.

Its close to the nantes brest canal which is lovely to walk or cycle along and we stopped at many lovely aires / picnic sites along the canal.

Being central in brittany you can get to the majority of beaches sights etc within a 30/40 min drive which is a real boost if you do want to venture around and explore. Which we tended to do when mum and mary was with us there. After we tended to stay on site and really chill out.

The whole area of brittany has a very different feel to it from the rest of france,very similar to wales (very celtic)it has signs in French and breton language and the local people / villages are very proud of their own distinctive breton heritage.

We would stay at the site again if / when we are over in brittany. We had a warm welcome, lovely relaxing time and found the site very good value for money.

Roscoff 1hr 20mins and st. Malo 1hr 50mins away 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan dog 2 reviews from this member

 This is a hidden gem. Very quiet, very peaceful, and in a very beautiful area of France which still retains its authenticity.

It has open pitches (some sloped areas), a good size swimming pool (not heated)a lovely little bar (Sky TV) that does excellent fish & chips on Friday evenings. A fishing lake on site and it is only minutes from the Nante Brest Canal - perfect for cycling or walking. Not all pitches have electric, so phone in advance in high season. WIFI is always a bonus and it´s free.

Carrefour, Intermarche and Liddles in Rostrenen, so no shopping problems.

Facilities are fairly basic but kept clean and there is plenty of hot water (no music in the showers so you will have to sing to yourself). The owners are really lovely and will put themselves out to help you. No hard standing, but there is room in the upper car park for over nighters if the weather is bad.

If you want a large commercial type park with lots of entertainment for the kids laid on, you will have to pay for it and go nearer the coast. If you want a truly relaxing holiday, time and space to read your book, then this is the place for you. We love it. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliamoris 1 review from this member

 We (my husband and I and 2 children) just spent 2 weeks at this lovely campsite. It was a beautiful peaceful location and the owners did everything they could to make our holiday a good one. I have read the previous reviews and would like to say that the facilities were fantastic - lots of hot water for washing, washing up and showers and they were exceptionally clean. The Friday night singalongs were great fun and I would have no hesitation in recommending this campsite for a short or long stay. We are already planning our return trip next year. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement