Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Tewkesbury > Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Brooklands Farm
Alderton
Tewkesbury
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL20 8NX
Tel: 01242 620259
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 05/03 to 04/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tango55 19 reviews from this member

 We decided to stay at this campsite for just 2 nights in order to break up our journey home from another C&CC campsite further south.

Winchcombe C&CC site has easy access and pitches are well spaced, however on the far side of the lake the pitches are slightly sloping (where we were pitched) so levelling is necessary under one side of the unit. The immediate pitches and those at the top of the campsite are level so no issues regarding levelling at all.

The site is well maintained which the toilet block and showers are immaculate plus the site has plenty of night lights illuminated around the perimeter of the lake which is beneficial for evening dog walkers, however, there is a huge dog walking field accessible down a narrow public footpath adjacent to the hired lodges which are fenced off.

The only criticism we can say is that the TV reception was exceptionally poor in comparison to other C&CC sites we have visited and even only having received few channels (after several TV tuning attempts) some were severely breaking up which was a shame really.

It was somewhat disappointing as the two nights that we stayed, the weather was absolutely horrendous with stormy heavy showers with loud thunder claps during early hours of the morning which must have shocked just about every person on the campsite due to it's loud volume and intensity.

We would consider visiting the campsite again in the future but now having seen what the site is like we would prefer a flat pitch at the top of the field which is also nearer to the toilet block where the chemical disposal point is located. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ryabec123 1 review from this member

 Beautifully kept site, well run, toilet facilities excellent, great dog walking facilities on site.

Staff helpful, generally could not fault this campsite, highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 Favourite campsite of my Cotswold trip. Everything about it was clean and tidy, lovely situation with good views of fields, hills or lake. 3 dog walking areas, one of which was a massive off lead field.

Warm friendly staff. Well laid out pitches with a mix of grass, hardstanding, electric & non electric. MSP has drive over grid for emptying waste tanks.

There are ready tents and lodges that can be rented so a great place for families with different holiday requirements.

Great walking straight from site, 2 pubs that can be walked to from the site and over the fields. Small on site shop for essentials, Fish & Chip van on Fridays 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 Spent a few nights here in September. Very nice.

Site is about six miles from the M5, so convenient for a stop-over, or for a visit to the Cotswolds. Entrance is half mile on right past a filling station.

On arrival we were shown to an open pitch towards the back of the site. That was fine - away from any road noise, and with pleasant outlook. Most pitches are hard stand, but there are a few grass pitches at the side and rear of the site. As would be expected from a Club site, the amenity block was always clean and well provided. There is a small shop facility in the office, but beware - prices are expensive! The wardens were very friendly and seemed easy going.

Small lake in the middle of the site, if you are into fishing. Some pitches adjacent to it. The ducks are well practised scroungers!

A fish and chip unit calls on Friday nights; very popular - and justly so. There fayre was delicious - if again pricey.

Toddington station of the Gloucester-Warwickshire Railway is just three miles down the road. It has a very nice cafe, as well as STEAM trains. Stow on the Wold is about 12 miles. A pleasant small country town, but traffic congested. Bourton on the Water is equally pleasant, if touristy. Cheltenham Spa is also quite near. Use the Racecourse Park and Ride bus.

Not the cheapest site in the country - but worth it for a pleasant trip to the Cotswolds. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Edridsdale 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely peaceful site with good on site facilities. Small fishing lake with pitches surrounding it and very large dog walking field make this site a must visit place either for a long stay or short stopover if going south. A bit tricky to spot on approach road and little chance of an easy turnaround if towing a caravan but quite close but not too close to M5.

Sat nav is misleading taking you past entrance so watch out for site sign earlier than sat nav guidance and if coming from M5 it is on right and showing as a brown caravan site sign. I don't think there are any others nearby so bear this in mind when you pass a nearby filling station which is about half a mile before the site.

Will definitely visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pauledgcott 1 review from this member

 A really nice site with friendly staff we were made to feel very welcome. As we have a small unit we were given a nice pitch overlooking the fishing lake that dominates this small site. From a caravanning point of view no complaints. However there is road noise from the very fast road outside the entrance and you probably don't want to be sited that side especially in a tent. On the rest of the site it doesn't seem to be an issue. There is a children's play area, dog walk usual stuff for a C&CC site. Shop is very small and limited - never understand why C&CC have never really gotten into a site shop as they seem very commercialised these days. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 48 reviews from this member

 Probably the very best Camping & Caravanning Club site we've stayed at. Staff very friendly and helpful, pitches level, well-proportioned and reasonably spaced. Pleasant stroll round the natural-looking fishing lake.

Showers and toilets were very good - much better than many other C&CC sites. Plenty of water taps, well-designed chemical disposal point and grey-water dump for motorhomes suited to all drainpipe locations.

Adequate on-lead dog-walk for essentials but you have to walk between camping units to get to it. Subject to seasonal conditions, a large field for cautious off-lead exercise may also be available. This isn't totally secure so beware of gaps in the fence/hedge and open field gates.

We downgraded 'customer service' by one point because of the C&CC practice of short inconvenient shop opening hours. Fancy an ice-cream during the heat of the afternoon? Baked beans for lunch? Forget it - shop closed. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rispinator 3 reviews from this member

 The site is clean and well presented with friendly helpful staff.

There is an excellent pub about 15 mins walk away through the fields.

Would return.

The only negative point for me is the tasteless jokey notices displayed in the toilets about soil stains on the toilet bowls. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stef Jake 8 reviews from this member

 We booked this site as it was close and we just wanted a quiet break away, unfortunately we didn't get that the road noise was so disturbing it seemed to me on a motorbike race track!

We paid extra for a jumbo pitch, the pitch we were given was right next to the entrance gates, you could hear every single bit of noise as customers were to- ing and fro-ing, you could hear the general enquiries at the reception desk, also the communal area which had a pool table was heard from our pitch. I think possibly we had the worst pitch on the entire site. Oh, and to cap it off we had our neighbours behind us walking under our gazebo in front of our caravan in between our chairs to get to the campsite facilities.

The new wardens seemed very nice and offered local advice.

The toilets were clean and tidy

Paid for annual wifi however was unable to connect, spoke to the wardens who advised I keep on trying to put my password in. I did to no avail.

I paid over 70 for two nights and I can honestly say there are much better and quieter sites available, we will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nora 9 reviews from this member

 This is a site that we have used often. Yet not recently. We have just returned and had booked for 4 nights arriving quite late on Wednesday. However sadly we did have to return a day early. We had problems with our motor mover so the site manager helped us on to a pitch that we could just drive on to.

The site was spotless we mostly use club sites, cc and c&cc but these were the best I have seen.

I loved the open out look and ducks everywhere.

There are some lovely walks from the site, we did walk to Greton and had a coffee in the pub again lovely views from the outside seating area.

Tewkesbury is not far also Malverns three counties. Where we went for the caravan show.

I have booked again for the end of October. Before putting the caravan away for the winter.

It was cheaper for us due to having age concessions, we don't have children so I can't comment, there is a small park. And a huge play field for ball games and dogs etc.

Children need to be watched due to water. But there are lots of warnings. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tewkesbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2444 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement