Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Tewkesbury > Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Brooklands Farm
Alderton
Tewkesbury
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL20 8NX
Tel: 01242 620259
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 05/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 95 Reviews
                9/10 from 95 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 54 reviews from this member

 We were allocated a hardstanding pitch by the very friendly and helpful staff member. (We had booked one. )

The site was busy due to Cheltenham races but quieter after they finished.

Pitches are large and very flat. Most overlooking a pretty lake. The grass pitches were not in use due to recent heavy rainfall.

We were asked to avoid driving on the grass for that reason.

There is a little road noise at times but not obtrusive.

Toilet facilities were spotless at all times, good hot showers.

WiFi was pretty good, phone and TV reception good too.

There is information about local walks and pubs by reception.

There is a good pub about a half mile away over fields via a footpath, but the paths were very soggy so we had a look but decided against it!

There is a children's play area and dog walk as well a room with TV for campers to use.

The site is ideally placed for visiting the Cotswolds and close to the M5.

The Gloucester Steam railway runs close by with nearest station at Broadway 5 Miles away. It goes to Cheltenham Race course 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bessecar460 4 reviews from this member

 Really good wardens, around when needed

Facilities very clean and a really good feel to site.

Pub and food 5mins away in car, small site shop

Would stay again 


Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Annie65 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, easy to find, immaculately clean, dog friendly and well spaced pitches.

The site staff were all really helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Shop was small but well stocked with essentials and had good opening hours.

Highly recommended place to stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gladys6n 3 reviews from this member

 Really lovely friendly site, nothing is too much trouble for team.

The pitches are nicely spaced and very neat and tidy.

The washrooms toilets and dish wash area are all well appointed and kept spotless.

There’s young trees dotted about the site affording shade, and the stroll around the lake is delightful.

Loved it! 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 38 reviews from this member

 First time at this site, tried 2021 to stay as a stop off on way to Cornwall but only none electric pitch available.

Was met by a friendly warden who took our name then went to get info about site, pitch number etc. Already paid a deposit so they took the rest of the money on day of arrival so no messing having to go into office.

Our pitch was towards the back of the site, which was spacious, clean & tidy & had good views of the hills.

We arrived after leaving Cornwall & the bad weather followed us to the Cotswolds, so put our awning up in the rain, a first for us, but after that 1st day the weather was nice, not hot but nice & warm & sunny. I used the laundry facilities the same day we arrived as we had been in Cornwall 9 days & wanted to wash the clothes we had worn, £4. 50 for the washer, £1 for 20 mins dryer.

The site was nice & quiet although a family site only saw 1 family while were there. There is 4 ready tents on site, some pitches are seasonal I think, then touring pitches mixed in.

There is a separate area where there is chalets think these are private so cannot get in as barrier to get through. There is a large dog walking area & a path at the side of the chalets where blueberries & sloes were growing, so had blueberries on my breakfast & brought the sloe's home to make gin.

Most of the other caravanners had a dog or 2, we don't but all the dogs were good could see them being taken for a walk except one campervan who let their 5 dogs use their pitch to do their business. No excuse, although they did pick up after them it was no accident as they walked them around the pitch until the dog decided where it wanted to do its business, they were just lazy & all the dogs (spaniels) & the 2 adults all slept in a campervan no bigger than an ice cream van, Cant see that was very healthy for all concerned.

There was a lovely old pub about 2 miles up the road called Ye Olde Hobnails Inn, the food was fab, we called on the Sunday later afternoon & they were still very busy, we called again the last night we were away & although it was quieter the food was still as good.

Winchcombe was about 4 miles away, parking in Back Lane was £1 all day, very good value for money.

We went to Cheltenham on the bus from Winchcombe, bus's were hourly from the Cenotaph.

There is plenty of walks around Winchcombe & I think from the site itself, there was walks already printed out for you to take.

All in all we loved the site & will go back when in the area again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Reido 9 reviews from this member

 First venture in our new caravan. Very welcoming wardens who were able to site us near friends even though we had booked separately and at the last minute.

Level pitch although we did seem to be on the windy side of the site.

Facilities spotless and although the site appeared full, they never were busy, apart from the occasional wait for a washing up space. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 36 reviews from this member

 Arrived Friday 24th without too many problems except we didn't see the site signposted till we arrived at the gate.

Extremely friendly wardens made pitching up a pleasure.

The hardstandings have all been resurfaced with cotswold chippings since we were last here and are in good order. Ours was absolutely level.

The site was full but all showers were empty when I went in. Glad to see they've ditched the idea of shower curtains. Improves the experience immensely.

We walked to the Gardener's Arms across a couple of fields. Fairly straightforward, however the farmer had ploughed up the path so progress was slower than it should have been.

We enjoyed our stay and will most likely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tango55 23 reviews from this member

 We decided to stay at this campsite for just 2 nights in order to break up our journey home from another C&CC campsite further south.

Winchcombe C&CC site has easy access and pitches are well spaced, however on the far side of the lake the pitches are slightly sloping (where we were pitched) so levelling is necessary under one side of the unit. The immediate pitches and those at the top of the campsite are level so no issues regarding levelling at all.

The site is well maintained which the toilet block and showers are immaculate plus the site has plenty of night lights illuminated around the perimeter of the lake which is beneficial for evening dog walkers, however, there is a huge dog walking field accessible down a narrow public footpath adjacent to the hired lodges which are fenced off.

The only criticism we can say is that the TV reception was exceptionally poor in comparison to other C&CC sites we have visited and even only having received few channels (after several TV tuning attempts) some were severely breaking up which was a shame really.

It was somewhat disappointing as the two nights that we stayed, the weather was absolutely horrendous with stormy heavy showers with loud thunder claps during early hours of the morning which must have shocked just about every person on the campsite due to it's loud volume and intensity.

We would consider visiting the campsite again in the future but now having seen what the site is like we would prefer a flat pitch at the top of the field which is also nearer to the toilet block where the chemical disposal point is located. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ryabec123 1 review from this member

 Beautifully kept site, well run, toilet facilities excellent, great dog walking facilities on site.

Staff helpful, generally could not fault this campsite, highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 64 reviews from this member

 Favourite campsite of my Cotswold trip. Everything about it was clean and tidy, lovely situation with good views of fields, hills or lake. 3 dog walking areas, one of which was a massive off lead field.

Warm friendly staff. Well laid out pitches with a mix of grass, hardstanding, electric & non electric. MSP has drive over grid for emptying waste tanks.

There are ready tents and lodges that can be rented so a great place for families with different holiday requirements.

Great walking straight from site, 2 pubs that can be walked to from the site and over the fields. Small on site shop for essentials, Fish & Chip van on Fridays 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Winchcombe Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tewkesbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45175 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement