Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Okehampton > Lydford Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE
Tel: 01822 820497
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 15/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: DunkB 1 review from this member

 Really great site. We were welcomed on arrival and led immediately to our pitch.

The wardens were really friendly throughout our stay, opening and closing the barrier.

We loved the flexibility as we asked for a late leave and were offered a very reasonable extra charge.

The toilets and showers were clean.

My single (very small) gripe was the push button on the shower in the gents was quite quick to shut off.

All in all a very nice and welcoming site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil Heb 21 reviews from this member

 Booked on website for “small hardstanding” pitch, perfect for a campervan. Very efficient check in; they saw us approach the gate and led us straight to our allocated pitch. We later saw their planning board with arrivals all listed and suggested pitches.

2 main areas with hardstanding pitches (various sizes) and some grass for tents. Additional terraced field with some hookups and space for tents.

One facilities block, recently extended with new wash-up (3 or 4 large sinks) and info room. Toilets and showers spacious and always clean. Only gripe is push-button showers. Otherwise very good.

Efficient warden team of two couples, with good local knowledge and walk sheets available.

A few hundred yards from village centre, with bus routes and walking from the door.

A lovely stay with good facilities and staff. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 200 reviews from this member

 We've just come home from a fantastic 3 nights staying at Lydford.

Having previously stayed here we knew what to expect but it's got better!

Wonderful welcome from the assistant wardens, they could not have been nicer. Had lots of interaction with the main wardens too and again they were brilliant. All 4 of them are a credit to both the campsite and the CAMC.

Lovely hardstanding pitch close to everything we needed, water, waste, bins, recycling, etc.

Had the sun literally all day, and also had trees at the rear of the pitch for shade so literally perfect.

New (to us) facilities block were spotless at all times.

The dog walk (even though we no longer have a dog) is stunning, just for the views of Dartmoor alone.

Easy walk into the village. Castle Inn is lovely, but was constantly busy when we visited so only had drinks. Also food menu looked expensive! The gorge is a short walk (downhill) from the pub too and worth a visit for the 3 mile riverside walk to the waterfall (even though we'd not had a lot of rain).

The Granite Way cycle path runs from the village down into Okehampton with the Pump & Pedal worth a coffee stop on the way.

There are buses from the village to both Okehampton and Tavistock although we didn't use them as we just walked and biked all weekend.

As this site is only a 45 minute drive from home for us we hope to be regulars!

One word sums it up. PERFECT. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elaine191261 3 reviews from this member

 We had alovely restful and peaceful time here,

The wardens were very helpful,

It was very clean and tidy everywhere and very quiet,

Gorgeous views around,

Plenty of walks,

We had a really nice stay and definitely come back again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Maryne 1 review from this member

 What a lovely friendly site, very clean and quiet, lovely wardens, clean shower and loo block, delightful little shop.

Good information about walks, dog friendly, good facilities.

Only downside was that we were right by dog field and our dogs barker every time anyone went past, next time will request different site. X 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lbarkas 91 reviews from this member

 Booked to spend time with family including our young grandchildren who have a trailer tent. Not our usual holiday as we now tend to use adults only sites.

The site is well maintained and laid out. We opted for a fully serviced pitch which was very good and worth paying for. Both sets of wardens were very efficient, friendly and hard working. We had issues with WiFi which were quickly dealt with.

Liked Tavistock very much and visited on more than one occasion. The market is worth a browse. Before the family arrived, we had an enjoyable visit to The Garden House.

One of the best we have seen this year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Westie 4 reviews from this member

 This was a first foray into the West Country, Devon and Cornwall.

We were greeted by the site staff who all I can say about is nothing is a problem, everything can be sorted out and it was.

The pitches are generous and well positioned. We had a fantastic view of Dartmoor.

The shop was well stocked and on one occasion one of the staff gave us some of their own items. We can not think of any single point which disappointed us.

A great site for all we would recommend to anyone. A great place to explore both counties from. The Westies 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: StayingPut 1 review from this member

 We have frequented this site for some seven years. We love it so much we’ve now taken a seasonal pitch.

The site is well maintained, utility areas spotlessly clean.

The area is quiet and very peaceful. Dogs are welcomed and have the perimeter of a lovely big field to be walked round on-lead.

Ample dog waste bins are included en route. With nest boxes and feeders dotted about the site is good for watching the antics of a variety of birds and fledglings.

A small shop at the site entrance holds the basics and a variety of epicurean treats including Devonshire steak, burgers, ice cream and fine wines.

The owners and staff provide sterling service and could not be more accommodating.

Great value all round. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndrewX1 2 reviews from this member

 I can’t recommend this site enough it is fantastic. A great location for access to the Moors, the Granite Way for walking and cycling and to various local attractions.

The wardens were kind, welcoming and really helpful. There is a small shop on site and the facilities were clean and the grounds well maintained.

There are several local pubs serving good food that are walking distance from the site.

We have already booked to return! Access from the A30 is easy just a few narrow spots as you drop into Lydford village but visibility ahead is good so if there is oncoming traffic it is not a problem. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: TheOldDears 6 reviews from this member

 We have used this site for years, from its CCC days to now being affiliated with CMHC. The facilities are now maintained to a high standard and have central heating.

Pitch prices do reflect this but it was worth paying the extra to feel safe in these Covid conscious days.

We do gripe at paying extra for the dog, they used not to charge. The wifi is excellent and only £5 for 7 days connection for up to 2 devices.

The friendly wardens go out of their way to help, we had trouble levelling our van and had assistance from the warden which was much appreciated.

A variety of pitches to suit all units. A dog walk is kept mown shorter than the surrounding grass. The dog walk is round the perimeter of the field with grass pitches and has lovely views of Dartmoor from the highest spot with benches to sit and admire the countryside.

Lots of local walks and a bus from the village to Tavistock or Okehampton.

Ideal peaceful location for all types of units. 
via mobile


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lydford Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lydford Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lydford Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Okehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4643 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement