Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Okehampton > Lydford Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE
Tel: 01822 820497
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 15/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: StayingPut 1 review from this member

 We have frequented this site for some seven years. We love it so much weíve now taken a seasonal pitch.

The site is well maintained, utility areas spotlessly clean.

The area is quiet and very peaceful. Dogs are welcomed and have the perimeter of a lovely big field to be walked round on-lead.

Ample dog waste bins are included en route. With nest boxes and feeders dotted about the site is good for watching the antics of a variety of birds and fledglings.

A small shop at the site entrance holds the basics and a variety of epicurean treats including Devonshire steak, burgers, ice cream and fine wines.

The owners and staff provide sterling service and could not be more accommodating.

Great value all round. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndrewX1 2 reviews from this member

 I canít recommend this site enough it is fantastic. A great location for access to the Moors, the Granite Way for walking and cycling and to various local attractions.

The wardens were kind, welcoming and really helpful. There is a small shop on site and the facilities were clean and the grounds well maintained.

There are several local pubs serving good food that are walking distance from the site.

We have already booked to return! Access from the A30 is easy just a few narrow spots as you drop into Lydford village but visibility ahead is good so if there is oncoming traffic it is not a problem. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: TheOldDears 4 reviews from this member

 We have used this site for years, from its CCC days to now being affiliated with CMHC. The facilities are now maintained to a high standard and have central heating.

Pitch prices do reflect this but it was worth paying the extra to feel safe in these Covid conscious days.

We do gripe at paying extra for the dog, they used not to charge. The wifi is excellent and only £5 for 7 days connection for up to 2 devices.

The friendly wardens go out of their way to help, we had trouble levelling our van and had assistance from the warden which was much appreciated.

A variety of pitches to suit all units. A dog walk is kept mown shorter than the surrounding grass. The dog walk is round the perimeter of the field with grass pitches and has lovely views of Dartmoor from the highest spot with benches to sit and admire the countryside.

Lots of local walks and a bus from the village to Tavistock or Okehampton.

Ideal peaceful location for all types of units. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sarafdean 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second super stay at Lydford. We had a problem with our Santa Fe on the way down as an engine warning light came on! When we mentioned it to Steve, the warden, he very kindly said that he had an ODB2 scanner and this then enabled the fault to be cleared. Luckily itís due to go in for service and once re-set the warning light has not returned. Thank you Steve.

Our pitch was a large grass fully serviced one with plenty of room for awning and car to be parked on the pitch. The dog walk was so convenient as it circumvents the site and was just behind our caravan. The facilities were spotless and operated on a tag system whereby there were 3 for toilets and 2 for showers. We only used the toilets as we prefer to shower in the caravan.

The site was really quiet which suited us very well and we walked to the local pub, castle Inn, on 2 occasions and were very impressed by their Covid arrangements and their new awning covering the reserved tables. No need to book for the garden tables and all ordering is done via the app which worked really well for us.

I have submitted a previous review on this site and have nothing to add other than we are looking forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Robnclaire 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first time at Lydford, and we will definitely be back. The site is incredbly clean and well presented, and very well run, and good Covid precautions in place.

The wardens were extremley friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble.

Super quiet site, and amazingly dark at night, given beautiful views of the stars. The camping field (Dart field) was well laid out, and we didn't feel cramped.

This is a very dog friendly site, with a path around the entire perimeter for on-lead walking. There's a field nearby for off lead exercise too.

Good proximity to the moor, a lovely pub and some wonderful walks.

I would highly recommend this site - it is a super find. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blueroan 3 reviews from this member

 Visited several times with our trailer tent. Hard to beat this site - the back field gives wonderful views of the moor.

The village of Lydford itself is full of interest, and its pub The castle means that you can walk there for dinner and a drink and walk back to your pitch.

Lots of footpaths and good walking from the site, so you can have a holiday from your car if you wish.

The two front fields are entirely hard-standing, with some seasonal pitches so some vans are unoccupied. The back field "Lyd field" has some hook-up pitches on the flat, although these don't have a view of the moor.

The field rises up, opening out to give lots of pitches without electric and this is where the tent-dwellers pitch. The very helpful wardens have put us halfway up the back field sometimes, lending us an electric ext lead.

However, note that trailer tents aren't allowed at the top of the field owing to planning rules - they must not be visible from the moor!

Site is tucked away at back of village, has a feel-good factor and is affiliated to Caravan Club. Perhaps not the best for young children, as no play area, but otherwise full marks. Warmly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sarafdean 9 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site and wow what a find. The site was easy to find and no problems with access as we have a long caravan.

We were greeted by the lady warden who walked us to our fully serviced pitch which had a hard standing and was large enough for us to have our air awning up + canopy and park the car in front.

We did not need to pay extra for wifi as our own phones seem to get a good signal plus the TV reception was good.

The Covid rules regarding the toilet block worked well, but it did mean that only 3 people could be using this at one time via a system of tabs outside the block. This meant that if there were 3 people showering, then no-one could use the toilets and on a couple of occasions a small queue happened. This was not a problem for us as we had our own facilities, but for those camping it could have proved rather difficult.

We found the site to be very quiet at night, which is just what we wanted. We have 2 dogs and there is a good dog walk with plenty of bins provided.

We noticed that the recycling and rubbish bins were emptied daily so there was no build up.

We did eat out once at the local castle Inn pub and were given a warm welcome. We were impressed by their Covid arrangements. We did not eat inside but opted for their lovely beer garden and were able to order our food via an app which turned up very promptly & was delicious.

Finally, for us this site is a definite one to return to, although we think it may not suit all families as there is no play area. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hypalon 4 reviews from this member

 Our first ever visit. 3 nights in a Motorhome.

Lovely warm welcome by the lady in reception.

The site is immaculately kept amongst trees and hedgerows views over Dartmoor are amazing.

Great little dog walk on the top field.

Locally we visited the castle Inn Pub (10 minute walk) we sat in the lovely beer garden which was very dog friendly. ( not sure if dogs are allowed inside)

We placed our orders on the website due to covid and it was delivered to our table by the waitress and all worked perfectly. ( cream tea to die for 😋)

We have recorded our pitch number but thatís a secret 😊

Highly recommend this site and we will be back 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Efcman 1 review from this member

 This site is just fantastic

The staff are very helpful from the moment you arrive until you leave, very clean site as extra cleaning is being done due to covid 19,

Views are breathtaking, dog friendly with a trail that goes around the camp, and very little noise for the size of the camp

We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked up for next weekend as well.

Well stocked shop for all your needs

I just can't say enough about this site loved it. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Happyscrapper 4 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site for visiting Dartmoor and the surrounding area. The wardens are extremely helpful and friendly and are more than happy to help out with places to visit, walks, etc.

We had a lovely hard standing in the first part of the site. Shower block is clean and warm with more than enough showers, etc for the amount of people on site.

This is a quiet site which is ideal if you like to get up early, out walking and then not too late to bed.

Local pubs within walking distance which serves great meals. We went to the castle Inn and the food was amazing - just donít forget your torch if eating in the evening when it is dark as there are no street lights in Lydford village.

The Granite Way is about 10-15 minutes walk from the site allowing lovely off road walks into Okehampton.

Dartmoor is very close by to explore, and the town of Tavistock is worth a visit. Great site for those with dogs as there is a small dog walk on site with a larger field nearby.

We have visited this site a few times and will definitely be going back. 


Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lydford Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lydford Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lydford Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Okehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4025 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement