Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Okehampton > Lydford Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE
Tel: 01822 820497
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 15/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 64 Reviews
                9/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Happyscrapper 4 reviews from this member

Brilliant site for visiting Dartmoor and the surrounding area. The wardens are extremely helpful and friendly and are more than happy to help out with places to visit, walks, etc.

We had a lovely hard standing in the first part of the site. Shower block is clean and warm with more than enough showers, etc for the amount of people on site.

This is a quiet site which is ideal if you like to get up early, out walking and then not too late to bed.

Local pubs within walking distance which serves great meals. We went to the castle Inn and the food was amazing - just donít forget your torch if eating in the evening when it is dark as there are no street lights in Lydford village.

The Granite Way is about 10-15 minutes walk from the site allowing lovely off road walks into Okehampton.

Dartmoor is very close by to explore, and the town of Tavistock is worth a visit. Great site for those with dogs as there is a small dog walk on site with a larger field nearby.

We have visited this site a few times and will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rtayl112 1 review from this member

Very clean and well looked after, friendly and accommodating staff, good clean toilet and shower block, mainly hard standings but personally prefer a grass pitch which was available on one of the three fields.

A quiet site where one could unwind and only a short 5-10 min walk from the local pub which served nice food and drink. Went to this site in 2018 as well and enjoyed it so much returned again this year and would definitely return.

Handy for Dartmoor and with its central location both coasts. On summer Sundays four trains run a return service to Exeter and just the other side of Tavistock, a lovely town, a train runs a regular service to Plymouth both trains quite inexpensive and lovely journeys.

Recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Jg59 2 reviews from this member

We were given a very friendly and helpful welcome by the owners- which even extended to photocopied maps and advice on walking routes.

We had an absolutely level pitch for our motorhome and facilities were very clean and well managed. No charge for showers.

Near to a great pub - castle Inn - with morris dancing displays in the street outside the pub for local entertainment.

Thank you - will come again sometime.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Hecate105 8 reviews from this member

We camped here as part of a cycle tour from Lands End to Glastonbury. The site is very clean and well run and has beautiful views. We were here whilst huge gales raged and the wardens were helpful in letting us move to a more sheltered spot. Despite the wind damage and a short electric cut they managed to keep everything going and tidied up all the damage.

The shop was useful and the site is on the edge of the village - with a pub and bus stop nearby.

An excellent place to stay if exploring the west of Dartmoor or further afield.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 29 reviews from this member

A good site mainly hard standing pitches, warden takes you to the pitch on arrival. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Wc/Sh block was kept clean, felt it was a bit dated and needs bringing up to todays standards.

Usual service points dotted around the site.

A quiet site on the west side of Dartmoor easy access to walks or a drive out over Dartmoor. Lydford Gorge is a short walk from the site through a very lovely village, we did not visit the gorge as we were told it is quite expensive to gain entrance.

A really great pub in the village served good food and a good pint.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BillandGill 3 reviews from this member

A very pleasant site in a lovely location. Very well run with very friendly and helpful staff.

The site excellently located for trips around Dartmoor. With a few pubs with in walking distance worth the visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Thank you

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Standleo 3 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet relaxing site with basic clean facilities. Some trees for shade. Electric hookups are fine. The site warden was very helpful too. Lydford Gorge is close and a must do with its 30 meter waterfall. Take your walking boots. We ate at the local pub which is next to a 13th Century prison/courthouse and a short easy walk from the campsite.

Would certainly stay here again

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 37 reviews from this member

What a relaxing site - the wardens are very pleasant and helpful and the facilities, whilst basic are clean and well maintained.

Hadn't realised when booking the site that dogs had to be on lead whilst on the dog walk, had I known this I probably wouldn't have booked (we have 3 labradors who need a good run around ! ). We were directed to a recreational field a short distance up the road for off lead exercise, and luckily it was quiet so the dogs could stretch their legs, not sure if it had been busier whether this would be possible.

The 'town' of Lydford is really a village with one pub and not too much else. Had a wander around the castle which was interesting and a little eerie, given its history as a prison. Lydford Gorge is also within walking distance although down quite a steep hill.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vectratot 7 reviews from this member

Booked three nights wish I had booked longer, great site, very helpful staff and great facilities. We had fourteen nights booked in Cornwall so had to move on but would certainly go again but for longer.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodlander 15 reviews from this member

We arrived to a very nice welcome from very friendly helpful staff. We were offered several pitches to chose from and felt very lucky to set up on our eventual choice with superb views over the Dartmoor tors. The site is immaculate, some pitches are small but if you are a motor home not requiring space for a fixed awning it is fine. I have to agree with a previous reviewer that the shower block can be a bit nippy and I found the shower temperature erratic but I couldn't fault the cleanliness. We enjoyed walking Lydford Gorge and visiting Morwellham Quay and general walking on Dartmoor. Have to reiterate how nice the staff are.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Okehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020