Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Okehampton > Lydford Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE
Tel: 01822 820497
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           15/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sarafdean 7 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site and wow what a find. The site was easy to find and no problems with access as we have a long caravan.

We were greeted by the lady warden who walked us to our fully serviced pitch which had a hard standing and was large enough for us to have our air awning up + canopy and park the car in front.

We did not need to pay extra for wifi as our own phones seem to get a good signal plus the TV reception was good.

The Covid rules regarding the toilet block worked well, but it did mean that only 3 people could be using this at one time via a system of tabs outside the block. This meant that if there were 3 people showering, then no-one could use the toilets and on a couple of occasions a small queue happened. This was not a problem for us as we had our own facilities, but for those camping it could have proved rather difficult.

We found the site to be very quiet at night, which is just what we wanted. We have 2 dogs and there is a good dog walk with plenty of bins provided.

We noticed that the recycling and rubbish bins were emptied daily so there was no build up.

We did eat out once at the local castle Inn pub and were given a warm welcome. We were impressed by their Covid arrangements. We did not eat inside but opted for their lovely beer garden and were able to order our food via an app which turned up very promptly & was delicious.

Finally, for us this site is a definite one to return to, although we think it may not suit all families as there is no play area. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hypalon 3 reviews from this member

 Our first ever visit. 3 nights in a Motorhome.

Lovely warm welcome by the lady in reception.

The site is immaculately kept amongst trees and hedgerows views over Dartmoor are amazing.

Great little dog walk on the top field.

Locally we visited the castle Inn Pub (10 minute walk) we sat in the lovely beer garden which was very dog friendly. ( not sure if dogs are allowed inside)

We placed our orders on the website due to covid and it was delivered to our table by the waitress and all worked perfectly. ( cream tea to die for 😋)

We have recorded our pitch number but thatís a secret 😊

Highly recommend this site and we will be back 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Efcman 1 review from this member

 This site is just fantastic

The staff are very helpful from the moment you arrive until you leave, very clean site as extra cleaning is being done due to covid 19,

Views are breathtaking, dog friendly with a trail that goes around the camp, and very little noise for the size of the camp

We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked up for next weekend as well.

Well stocked shop for all your needs

I just can't say enough about this site loved it. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Happyscrapper 4 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site for visiting Dartmoor and the surrounding area. The wardens are extremely helpful and friendly and are more than happy to help out with places to visit, walks, etc.

We had a lovely hard standing in the first part of the site. Shower block is clean and warm with more than enough showers, etc for the amount of people on site.

This is a quiet site which is ideal if you like to get up early, out walking and then not too late to bed.

Local pubs within walking distance which serves great meals. We went to the castle Inn and the food was amazing - just donít forget your torch if eating in the evening when it is dark as there are no street lights in Lydford village.

The Granite Way is about 10-15 minutes walk from the site allowing lovely off road walks into Okehampton.

Dartmoor is very close by to explore, and the town of Tavistock is worth a visit. Great site for those with dogs as there is a small dog walk on site with a larger field nearby.

We have visited this site a few times and will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rtayl112 1 review from this member

 Very clean and well looked after, friendly and accommodating staff, good clean toilet and shower block, mainly hard standings but personally prefer a grass pitch which was available on one of the three fields.

A quiet site where one could unwind and only a short 5-10 min walk from the local pub which served nice food and drink. Went to this site in 2018 as well and enjoyed it so much returned again this year and would definitely return.

Handy for Dartmoor and with its central location both coasts. On summer Sundays four trains run a return service to Exeter and just the other side of Tavistock, a lovely town, a train runs a regular service to Plymouth both trains quite inexpensive and lovely journeys.

Recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Jg59 2 reviews from this member

 We were given a very friendly and helpful welcome by the owners- which even extended to photocopied maps and advice on walking routes.

We had an absolutely level pitch for our motorhome and facilities were very clean and well managed. No charge for showers.

Near to a great pub - castle Inn - with morris dancing displays in the street outside the pub for local entertainment.

Thank you - will come again sometime. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Hecate105 8 reviews from this member

 We camped here as part of a cycle tour from Lands End to Glastonbury. The site is very clean and well run and has beautiful views. We were here whilst huge gales raged and the wardens were helpful in letting us move to a more sheltered spot. Despite the wind damage and a short electric cut they managed to keep everything going and tidied up all the damage.

The shop was useful and the site is on the edge of the village - with a pub and bus stop nearby.

An excellent place to stay if exploring the west of Dartmoor or further afield. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 29 reviews from this member

 A good site mainly hard standing pitches, warden takes you to the pitch on arrival. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Wc/Sh block was kept clean, felt it was a bit dated and needs bringing up to todays standards.

Usual service points dotted around the site.

A quiet site on the west side of Dartmoor easy access to walks or a drive out over Dartmoor. Lydford Gorge is a short walk from the site through a very lovely village, we did not visit the gorge as we were told it is quite expensive to gain entrance.

A really great pub in the village served good food and a good pint. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BillandGill 3 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant site in a lovely location. Very well run with very friendly and helpful staff.

The site excellently located for trips around Dartmoor. With a few pubs with in walking distance worth the visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Thank you 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Standleo 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet relaxing site with basic clean facilities. Some trees for shade. Electric hookups are fine. The site warden was very helpful too. Lydford Gorge is close and a must do with its 30 meter waterfall. Take your walking boots. We ate at the local pub which is next to a 13th Century prison/courthouse and a short easy walk from the campsite.

Would certainly stay here again 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lydford Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lydford Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lydford Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Okehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1409 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement