Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kessingland Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft > Kessingland Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Kessingland Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Whites Lane
Kessingland
Lowestoft
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR33 7TF
Tel: 01502 742040
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/04 To 28/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
                8/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Carol Jean 35 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site. Showerblock not open due to Coronavirus which was a shame. We have been touring Suffolk and some sites have gone to the effort of opening and maintaining the shower blocks whilst others haven't yet they still charge the same which doesn't seem fair.

The previous reviewer has said that this site is near the beach but I am wondering if they have got the wrong site! There is a site near the beach but it is not this one. This site is 1. 5 miles from the beach. We cycled there in about 10/15 minutes.

The beach is pebbly and we didn't go on it. There is a pub The Sailors Home and a restaurant The Waterfront overlooking the sea. The Waterfront gets booked up but they serve paella outside on a Thursday evening if the weather is fine without booking so we went then and it was fantastic value. The other nights we ate at The Sailors Home.

There arent any other pubs or restaurants there but a couple of fish and chip shops and one delivers to the site. We cycled 5 miles into Lowestoft which was easy as there was a cyclepath along the A12 and it only took 35 minutes and was well worth it.

We visited Africa Alive which was 22 each. We spent 2 hours there. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Julesh117979dhb 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, clean and tidy. Plenty of space and facilities well maintained.

Close to the beach and woke to a sea view!

A bit far to walk to the village but close to a large supermarket for essentials. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mud62 6 reviews from this member

 The site is clean and very well kept however there were several issues I would like to point out.

The staff were ok but not what I would call helpful. The code for the gate changes weekly but if you miss the extremely limited opening times of the office and shop you may have a problem later in the day.

I have 2 main problems with this site. The toilet block although spotless is accessed via a coded key pad, I have no dexterity problems but found the key pad small and very stiff. Anyone with arthritis or visual impairment would find it almost impossible to gain access without any help. Also they are closed for cleaning 10. 30 to 12. 00 with only one toilet available during this time, the site must be vacated by 12. 00 so you may have to queue after packing up before you start your journey home,

The second is being a dog owner I thought it would be a great site BUT the dog walk is no bigger than my garden and on a closer look I saw on the left side a run of barbed wire 6 inches above ground level at the base of the hedge, there was no access to anywhere other than the site and could think of no reason for it and a danger to dogs.

The site is surrounded by lovely green areas ALL fenced off with no access so if you want to give your dog a good walk you will have to walk about a mile to the beach negotiating a very narrow road with quite a lot of vehicle movement and on return a steep uphill walk back to the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Climo 6 reviews from this member

 Very well run site as are all the CCC sites.

Clean and pleasant surroundings. Heated shower block which isn't used by many as they have their own caravan facilities.

We arrived late and the managers were extremely helpful

Can't fault the site. 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: _tich_ 13 reviews from this member

 I went there at the end of December for the new year & the pitch prices were as cheap as chips, it's only a short walk to the beach which is nice although its a long climb back up the steps. Staff were very friendly & helpful & it had good amenities which were always clean. Only a short drive to Great Yarmouth as we spent the day there & I were surprised on how many places were open there too considering the time of year. Another site I'd definitely visit although preferably when it's a bit warmer next time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Colin21 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very pleasant week at this site. I was a bit concerned about the nearby wind generators, but they were really no problem at all. Yes, you can hear them at times, but they are not intrusive. The wind and rain made much more noise when it arrived!

The site is small by Camping and Caravan Club norms, but that was fine by us as we prefer small sites. There is plenty to see and do nearby, with Lowestoft, Great Yarmouth, Southwold, and Oulton Broad a very easy drive away. For transport enthusiasts the East Anglian Transport Museum at nearby Carlton Colville is well worth a visit, with its trolley buses and trams. Our only slight disappointment was that we were unable to visit the next-door Africa Alive wildlife park, as dogs were not admitted. A day-kennel for our dog would have been very handy.

All credit to the very friendly staff who kept the site in an excellent condition. All was very clean and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topcat+Dibble 18 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here. Worth noting no grass only pitches so had to pay for electric even though we didn't need it. Usual C&CC standards with regards to facilities and wardens helpful as to be expected. Spent one day in Africa Alive and it was well worth it. You can return to your unit during the day with a hand stamp. Following day caught the bus to Southwold, very enjoyable.

Two pubs within walking distance. One at the end of the entry road and the other a mile walk towards the sea. Both to be honest were alright but nothing better than that. Convenience store and takeaway in village. Would we return? Probably not. There was nothing wrong with the site but we did the two things we wanted and there wasn't enough else to draw us back. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JanetER74 3 reviews from this member

 Site is clean and tidy as you would expect from a C&C site but we felt the facilities were inadequate for a site this size. 4 showers and toilets was clearly not enough with frequent queueing. Showers on an unnecessarily short timer making the whole experience quite a chore. Long list of things children couldn't do as we checked in which is always a bit off putting. Nice local village and amenities but wouldn't stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oopsadiddly 1 review from this member

 A lovely site set in a beautiful area. Toilets and showers excellent and very clean. Family room available. Basics sold in shop on site but co-op and morrisons not that far away. Fish and chip van visits in a Friday night. Lots of space between pitches and wardens very helpful and friendly. Small play area for children but no ball games allowed around units which suited us just fine as no young children with us! There are wind turbines either side of the site but we didn't find the noise disturbing. Africa Alive is literally next door and so often heard the lions roar early morning and evening time. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wibbs 9 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a two week holiday here and it is a great site everywhere always clean and tidy even when we had 3 days of continuous rain. The pitches are a really good size and nicely laid out we were near the safari park end and the children thought the animal noises was great the hosts are really great and made our holiday really enjoyable would stay again. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kessingland Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Kessingland Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lowestoft      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7136 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement