Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tewart Arms Cottage Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Chathill > Tewart Arms Cottage Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Tewart Arms Cottage Camping & Caravan Site
Tewart Arms Cottage
Chathill
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE67 5JP
Tel: 01665 589286
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracy84 1 review from this member

 Myself and my husband stayed here with a couple of friends for 2 nights. The campsite was clean and tidy. It was extremely quiet and the facilities included 2 toilets, 2 showers and a sink to wash our things in. Everything was spotless.

3 miles away you have seahouses where you can go and have fish and chips in a restaurant called neptune. If you are into a bit of fun gambling there is a few arcades here which we enjoyed. There is also the boat tours to the farne islands and the prices are very reasonable. We visited alnwick gardens and castle which is only 8 miles away. There is a lot of beautiful things to see here. We were a bit shocked at first about the admission prices (it was 96 for the 4 of us to enter the gardens and castle) but we thought that its not very often that we can spend a couple of days together and experience new things. When we paid for our tickets we got the option to extend the tickets for a WHOLE YEAR so we can now visit any time we want. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dowlaz 1 review from this member

 I have just came back from this little campsite. My friends and I, had a great time, lovely weekend, with peace and quiet.

The Host was fantastic, could not of been more helpful, anyone thinking of going somewhere for a quiet weekend, should try this campsite as it is perfect for this reason. This campsite is great if you just want to get away for a couple of days.

Although there is nothing on the site such as entertainment or arcades, we made our own entertainment, with a couple of drinks and a chat. There is also an amazing amount of wildlife wandering around the site, they are beautiful and exciting creatures to watch! My friends and I have had a fantastic weekend, and will most definitely be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Orangefleece 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights. The site is small with 4 electric hook up points. The site wasn't busy but our only grumble would be that the 2 showers and toilets are not separate.

There is an outside tap and also inside is a sink which had a scourer and washing up liquid. A washing machine is available at 2.50 per load.

The site was lumpy and the grass had been cut but the cuttings had not been cleared which meant it was dragged into the tent and shower/toilets.

The owners are friendly and have a various amount of petting animals on site to look at whilst waiting for the toilet/shower.

It is just off the road so road noise is prominent as is the train line which is also close by. You do soon get used to it and isn't really a problem. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Towcamp 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at tewart arms campsite, we can highly recommend,

The facilities were top notch

the owners were friendly and helpful, always willing to go the extra mile to help, will return asap.

The location is spot on for visiting all of Northumberland places of interest and chathill junction with trains to various places is only a short walk from the site.

There are goats/ducks/chickens and cats belonging to the owners for to keep children amused. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: H and T 1 review from this member

 I would recommend this place without hesitation. It is quite good value for money.

This campsite is quite small but was pretty good. There are two showers / toilets. These are of good quality and were generally quite clean. The only issue here is that the toilets are in the shower rooms, which can make for a bit of a wait. However it wasn't too much of a problem because there are only about 6-7 tents at one time and therefore not too many people to wait for. Washing facilities are fine.

We had quite a lot of rain, however, there was no real issue with mud.

The people are very friendly and helpful and made us a lovely cup of tea upon arrival and gave us a tea biscuit.

It is about a 5-10 min drive to the coast and all the regional tourist destinations are reachable quite easily. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kbaileysmth 1 review from this member

 This was a lovely small campsite with about 8/9 tent pitches and 3 hook up points.

We got tea and biscuits when we arrived which was wonderful.

There were only 2 bathrooms with toilets and showers in together but both with boiling water and clean hand towels. Lovely and warm.

The only downside is that the site is right on the edge of a very fast road and next to the main GNER Edinburgh train line. When both cars and trains go past at the same time at night the whole tent shakes! Kids slept through it but we couldn't.

Absolute bargain for 15 a night with hook up. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cassieone10 3 reviews from this member

 We stopped on this lovely quiet site on our way back from Scotland. The owners are very obliging & looked after our dogs so we could visit the Farne Isles.

There are 4 Hook-up points, 2 toilets / showers, also a handy dog walk down the adjacent lane. There is however no Elsan point, but it would not put us off returning.

Site is within easy reach of Seahouses (boat trips), Bamburgh Castle & Grace Darling museum. Alnwick is only a short trip down the A1.

A very enjoyable 2 day stopover! 


Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Davidjohnson 1 review from this member

 After looking for a camping site open all year we found Tewart Arms Near Sea Houses.

Due to the very bad weather we stayed in their large carpark.

The facilities in the Site are very clean and the shower is great. This is probably the best bathroom I have seen on a site.

With the Snow being really bad, there was over 18" on the camping field, we were very surprised how good the roads were looked after. With all the roads cleared every day.

It is such a beautiful place and only 5 or so miles from seahouses and within 10 mins drive of the a1.

The new owners cleared the drive for us and offered us fresh towels everyday.

We also got some soup their daughter had made which was lovely.

I would recommend the site for anyone to use. Whether in a campervan or a tent.

Some people have mentioned the site would be squeezed with 5 tents. I'm not sure. The space is very good.

The shower facilities maybe squeezed if 5 big families turn up but it would be worth the wait to have a bathroom as good as any news house has. 


Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daneth 1 review from this member

 We stayed for almost a week and, being a wet November, had the place to ourselves which was a luxury as the indoor warm, clean shower, toilet and washup were the poshest we have ever encountered. The radiator was useful. We even took our shoes and boots off to go in! This facility would be crowded if the site is full (5 tents!)but the new owner Pat Love is adding a second unit.

The location is great - handy for Holy Island, Berwick & Alnwick etc. The road is right next to the site but it was a quiet road with mostly local commuter traffic only and did not affect us.

Pat was very helpful and friendly - she took pity on us offering cups of tea and provided flasks of hot boiled water when a local water main burst. Her daughter provided train times for Edinburgh (we drove then used the excellent Park n Ride.

It is remote and excellent for star-gazing.

Pat welcomes feedback - more hooks and shelves in the shower/washup area.Plug for hair-dryer.

Would go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Diggerdog 1 review from this member

 Please note that the owners have only just taken over this site last month !

The site is easy to find about a ten min drive from seahouses, it is a small long thin site, with 2 electric hook up points, the owners are super friendly and go out of there way for you

The site is dog friendly with nearby walks (we took 4)

There is a wash-up area loo and shower (please note this was kept very clean with fresh towels everyday!)

As we found the site we felt it lent itself more to be a camping site than caravan or campervan site for the following reasons BUT PLEASE DONT LET THIS PUT YOU OFF

No working out side tap - water inside wash up area

No elsan point

But from chatting with the owners I'm sure things will be soon sorted out

Many thanks to all the family we really enjoyed our stay 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tewart Arms Cottage Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tewart Arms Cottage Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tewart Arms Cottage Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chathill      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3640 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement