Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Glastonbury > Greenacres Camping Reviews

Greenacres Camping
Barrow Lane
North Wootton
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 4HL
Tel: 01749 890497
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Davey T 1 review from this member

 A lovely peaceful campsite with very welcoming and helpful owners,

The fridges and freezers were an excellent touch and very handy, great facilities,

A taxi journey away from the beautiful City of Wells and Glastonbury Town.

Thanks for a lovely stay 👍 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Looklonger 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, basic shower & toilet facilities that are kept clean all day. Fridges & freezers available for use and fire pits available for hire on site if wanted.

Overall a lovely child friendly campsite, with friendly helpful owners who keep the site clean and tidy.

The showers are small, as other reviewers have said, but the water is hot and they are clean so they get the job done. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: P and L 4 reviews from this member

 My wife and I spent 6 nights at this site in May 2017. The site is located outside of the small village of North Wootton, near Glastonbury in a quiet rural location with only the occasional passing local traffic. Its restricted to tents and small camper vans which is understandable given the single track, narrow roads leading to it. It has around 40 pitches, all grass and several electric hook-ups.

Site facilities include toilets, showers, washing up facilities etc but no laundry. These were basic but clean although a lack of hot water was an issue initially. That said the owners were very apologetic and sorted the problem straight away.

It is described as a family campsite and has a small playground and games such as table tennis etc plus other farm related activities available.

There are no shops nearby (supermarkets at Wells and Glastonbury) and the nearest pub/dining is about 3/4 mile away along narrow country lanes.

Our only real issue was that for a site with basic facilities the off-peak price of 25 for an electric hook up was on the high side especially when you add on the surcharge on both debit and credit cards. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rawtenstall 1959 4 reviews from this member

 This camp site was fairly full when I arrived it being a bank holiday weekend.

The main units on the site were tents as it does not take caravans.

The owners were helpful during the booking process and when I arrived, and were very approachable throughout my stay.

The things I liked about the site was

1. Its location. Quiet so you can hear the birds sing in the morning. No road noise as its deep into the rurals of the area.

2. It had little light pollution so you could see the stars at night so beautifully.

3. The quiet country lanes meant I could ride my bike for miles without meeting heavy traffic.

4. Its close to beautiful natures reserves at meare

5 Wells is beautiful and there was lots going on there

6. The owners came to the site very frequently to top up sullies and ensure the showers were clean as possible.

7. The pitches were spacious (though my neighbours had encroached on quite a portion of mine when I arrived there was still plenty of space for my car and tent.

8. Children were playing freely in the big open space.

9. The logs and grates were well used by campers and lovely on the site to see in the evening.

10. The fridges and freezers were great for putting packs etc

11. The place was not too rule driven and felt relaxed

12. The late leave on my day of departing made drying out the morning dew from my tent possible and life easier when I got home which was great

Things I liked less

1. The toilet and washing up block was well past its sell by date and needs replacing as campers don't have access to on board showers they need these facilities to be warm, modern, efficient. And yes, that means we have to pay more to have such things, so be it!

2. I read the instructions stating there was no shop but if you had not, you may get quite hungry as few supplies were on site I think.

I would stay again. And more inclined to do so if the showers were refreshed. Thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thegrinch 16 reviews from this member

 Really nice site run by 2 really nice people. Great for kids with loads of space to run around and a park for them to play. Showers were not too busy and loved the fridges and freezers for food and ice blocks. Great for Glastonbury and other Somerset attractions and you can hire a fire pit which seemed very popular. Will be back when in the area. Thanks for having us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RachlN76 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from an awesome holiday at Greenacres. Highly recommended.

Location: pretty perfect. About halfway between Glastonbury and Wells. Both lovely towns well worth visiting, each about 10 minutes away, but very different in character. Lots of lovely cafes and restaurants and attractions like Wells cathedral, Glastonbury Abbey and Tor. Access is down some single track country lanes, but with plenty of passing places. We had a trailer and had no trouble. The gate is on a corner so some care needed here if you have a trailer, or motor home.

Facilities: huge, huge, huge field with very spacious pitches around the edges, and plenty of room to play in the centre of the field. Children's play area with slide, swings and play houses. Kids loved this, and there were lots of families, and all the children played together. Very friendly atmosphere.

Toilet block clean and functional. Rarely had to queue for toilet (and if I did, only for a minute). Never had to queue for a shower. Only 4 showers, and a little on the small side. Push button, fixed head, fixed temp. Because the curtain hangs so closely to the shower, they weren't the best. I struggled with the size of them, and I'm only 4'11' and a size 12. No idea how you'd manage if you were a big bloke, but my hubby is- and he didn't moan about it as much as I did!

Two sinks available in a covered area for washing up. This could get pretty busy at times.

No elsan point, which meant that it wasn't too easy getting rid of waste from the emergency potty. These are the only reasons I've marked it down on facilities.

Site sells Calor Gas, and owners very helpful in outing out our minor gas bottle issues.

Fire pits for hire, and Wifi available for an extra cost (about 15 a week I think). We got good mobile reception on the site anyway (with Three) and we even had the TV out and got good Freeview reception, by and large.

Pitches: if you look on their website, there's a plan of the site. Pitches A-J are set aside a little and probably a bit quieter, but don't offer as clear a view of the play areas. Pitches on the non-EHU side of the field probably best for sun/shade getting the most sun in the early evening.

Very level site, grass well mown and maintained, and seemed well drained (although it didn't rain much while we were there).

Definitely, definitely recommended for exploring this part of the country. A lovely site, and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirsty1680 9 reviews from this member

 Whilst we had a lovely three night stay here there were some negatives that I'd like to make people aware of. I went on my own with four children ranging in age from 14 to 6. The little ones loved it but the older one was a little bored as most of the facilities were aimed at younger guests. There was also an incident with two girls that lived there being rude and nasty towards her. Basically told they could get anyone thrown off the site if they wanted to. Not really what we wanted to be told and didn't really fit in with the family ethos that is advertised! Put that with the fact the children's play area is advertised as for under 10 years old and my 9 year old being told he was too old for it and that ruined it for us.

The shower and toilet area is very dated and needs some money spent on it. Having said that it was always clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WKHLANDCO 4 reviews from this member

 It's a lovely site, fantastic setting with good views of the Tor

We received a warm welcome and had a lovely week despite the weather. Good showers with no long queues. It was nice to be able to visit the farmyard with the children.

We will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sbryant 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from 2 nights at this great site. It was our first time taking our 10 month old baby. The pitches were very large, more than enough room for our new 3 bedroom tent! The play area was great for younger children and plenty of room for other games. The toilets and showers were always clean as were the washing up areas. We found the fridges very useful and they even had a microwave for sterilising bottles. Although there is no shop as such, they do sell, drinks, ice creams, milk, and bbq coals as well as logs for the fire pits. I would highly recommend this site for families with young children. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mickers 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, large pitches a few with EHU. Beautiful location well away from any road noise, large area in middle of the field with goal posts, children's play area etc so perfect for families with children. They have a few animals on their farm and children were invited to watch the lambs being fed.

4 shower cubicles which as previous reviews state are on the small side but hot, clean and manageable. Separate ladies/gents toilets, only issue we had as such was cleaning your teeth in the same area as toilets. 2 outdoor undercover washing up sinks, this is where you also get the drinking water.

Owners very helpful and welcoming, always about cleaning and looking after site. Hired a fire pit which included the kindling and logs for two nights @ 20. 00. This is a back to basics campsite (as in how sites used to be) no shop, club house which is what we always look for in a site. 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glastonbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2778 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement