Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ping Ynys Fergi

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Borth > Ping Ynys Fergi > Reviews

CLOSED: Ping Ynys Fergi
Ynysfergi Farm
Borth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 4/10 from 14 Reviews
                4/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ibabanis 1 review from this member

 Visited several times over last few years. Always enjoyed the stay. Loos and showers are basic but work. Not spotlessly clean but I've seen worse. Playground very basic and not really suitable for older children.

Goats do get out - seen it twice in a few years - comical but not really a problem. Don't really notice the noise from animalarium though it is there. Beach and main street 5 min walk or so nearby with rock pools at south end and you can walk either over the cliff path - take care - or tide permitting - do check this - around the bottom of the cliff - wear sensible shoes or boots.

Lovely walks - along beach to Ynyslas Sand Dunes or along path from campsite past church along bog and river Leri. Site can be very windy - use your car as a windbreak if you go in one or use an extra guy or two.

If you want posh camping then this is not for you but it is a friendly basic site. Aberystwyth not far away either by train or car but parking can be awkward for longer than 2 hours. Trains from Borth every couple of hours.

Borth has Spar and Nisa type shops and cafes, pubs, takeaway etc and a friendly curry house whose garlic nans are to die for! If you don't mind roughing it slightly this is a great site. Just watch out for the railway you have to cross to get to the main town. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping gran 1 review from this member

 Very, very convenient to sandy beach, good pubs, train station, Animalarium(Zoo) etc. Nice flat site, no dog mess, no litter to speak of and reasonably quiet. Nice lady took money. Well used Public Footpath goes along the edge of the camping area so not a secure site for tenting. Toilet block clean but water barely warm and no basin plugs at all. There was a really bad smell from the ditch between the farm and the camping field, this was raw sewage. The worst problem was a 20+ herd of goats! They wandered into the site mid morning and proceeded to entangle themselves in tent guys, trash litter sacks and generally cause mayhem. We packed up as couldn't afford to have our 2man Hilly shredded by sharp hooves and horns. No one about to tell. This could be a cracking site with a bit more TLC 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CAE89 5 reviews from this member

 Toilet blocks were extremely basic and were not clean. There were only 2 showers, one of which flooded out the toilet block. While the campsite can not help the weather, the field was literally like a bog and you needed wellies to walk across it. All it all not an enjoyable stay! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wendy Woods 2 reviews from this member

 Very basic site, within walking distance of town & local facilities. Grim toilet/shower block which I didn't use. (Missed the 'newly built' one mentioned on their website, which I've just seen on returning home, but I did only stay 1 night). NO electric hookup as symbol shows on ukcampsite, but fair enough no mention of it on their own website. Also got charged £12 not £8 as their price list shows.

No one bothered me, as the only person I saw was the little girl who took my money. Field totally overgrown. Didn't hear the animals nextdoor. Only saw a leopard through the fence. Another neighbour is the local tip! Borth appeared run down but central for touring. Large beach but no dogs allowed.

The Victoria Inn has a beer garden/patio right on the beach and I saw the most beautiful sunset and dolphins swimming. May have seen more positive things if I'd stayed longer, but didn't want to risk it and moved on! Basically I paid £12 to park in a field overnight, (and got bitten to death to top it all!) 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevemel 2 reviews from this member

 Very basic site and slightly ropey toilets and washing facilities, however we didn't find it a problem as things worked.

The weather was pretty grim when we stayed and the site was boggy in places, it was squelchy enough for cars to get a bit stuck and I took care to avoid the swampier looking bits. The whole area is on a marsh so one might expect some boggy bits during a summer like the one we have just had.

Only a short walk to the town [ take care crossing the un-barriered railway line ]. The beach is dog free but the camp site is not so you would have to walk out of the town area to exercise your dog on the sand.

The area is quite wild really and Borth can seem a little like a frontier town and looks a bit run down , but if the sun was blazing down instead of the rain and wind it would have felt a bit better.

Conclusion.

Basic site, watch out for the mud if the weather is grim. Otherwise ok. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mgordon22 1 review from this member

 I visited this site with my partner and 2 year old daughter . The site is excellent value for money we paid £8 per night for our pitch and their was no annoying extra charges for our dog,car etc. Its central to borth and is easily walkable to the beach and local shops, pubs and takeaways. There is an animalarium which we didn't visit as the sound of the sheep and leopards gradually put us off a potential visit there !

Now to the bad points . The toilets to say they are basic is a compliment . They are pretty dismal and didn't seem very clean and I found myself in the shower cubicle trying to balance my way out of contracting a monster veruka (which I'm still checking the soles of my feet to this day!

The pot holed drive on the campsite has probably ruined the suspension on my car , you really need an off roader to drive over the terrain their.

Besides this we had a laugh and I would use the campsite again as it is value for money , and if they improved the toilet block I wouldn't mind paying a bit more.

Finally if you are a dog walker in Borth you CANNOT walk your dog on the beach . There is another more secluded beach at the end of the golf course in borth where luckily dogs can run on the beach. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Angela164 5 reviews from this member

 Wild site, no silly rules and regulations.

Toilet block and showers could have been a lot cleaner, something very small and very dead was on window ledge in showers. But water was hot and plentiful.

My grandson loved it, he and some friends he made there, spent hours playing in the fields and splashing in the puddles after a torrential rain fall.

10 minutes walk to beach, pebbly but flat and sea very safe.

Wonderful fish and chips in the town.

Animilarium next door provided hours of entertainment at a reasonable price.

Strange hearing leopard and monkeys during the night while you are getting to sleep.

In general an old fashioned site, with few facilities, but plenty of room. Dogs are welcomed. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Millyboy 1 review from this member

 Excellent site only 400 metres from the centre of the village of Borth. As stated before the facilities are basic but very good value at £10 a night for a unit and occupants, no extra charges for dogs or children.

Sheep had just been moved off the field for the start of the season, so nicely mown grass but a bit of poo dodging.

Would recommend this site for a basic,good value break with the nightlife of Borth on the doorstep. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Goatsmilk 5 reviews from this member

 We camped there along with family who were in caravans. The location of the site is very good and is easy to get to by road or rail.
The problems are that the toilet and shower block were filthy, I can put up with basic but there is no excuse for blobs of black mould in the shower cubicles, not just the odd one but lots that look like they have been there for years, these were around the window frame and on the very old shower curtains.

All it needs is tiling throughout with drainage, that way it would be easy to hose down and keep clean.

Even the camping field had not been mowed for ages as the grass had been left to grow quite long.

It's a pity as it's in a very good location near to pubs, shops and the beach. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy+jan 3 reviews from this member

 The second time we have used this site next to the zoo.
Reasonable rates, basic facilities, which could at times have been cleaner.
This is very much a working farm where the camping does at times take second place (especially when the bull gets out and decides to investigate the tents.
Plus points are : price, friendly owners, three pubs and shops in easy walking distance and stunning views.
Drawbacks are : very basic facilities, sometimes dirty, drinking water occasionally discoloured ( glad we took our own !),so so pitches (be careful where you set up as the top soil isn't deep enough to take a peg in places) occasional early morning  bull dodging. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2107 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement