Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blue Hills Touring & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Blue Hills Touring & Camping Park
Cross Combe
Trevellas
St Agnes
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR5 0XP
Tel: 01872 552999
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Easter To October Half-term

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nibbles1 11 reviews from this member

First trip to Cornwall in our touring caravan, what a fantastic site. We were met personally by Ginny and Martin as we drove onto site, asked about our journey and shown to our pitch, Martin told us to get settled and the kettle on before sorting out the paperwork, how refreshing.

Busy time of year in Cornwall and the site was full but it was quiet and peaceful.

Fantastic location, coastal path access, 30 mins walk to St Agnes with some amazing views and good food.

Perranporth a slightly longer walk or short drive away with its amazing beach.

We had a great 12 days on site with some mixed weather. Martin and Ginny were always on hand for advice and information.

Facilities spotless, showers great. Dishwashing area had basins, wash up liquid and sponges. Everything you needed was there.

Several catering outlets visit the site and seem to be well attended, we can vouch for the Pizza man, all fresh cooked.

When we expressed concerns about meeting traffic on the narrow road out of the site when towing Martin drove ahead and kept the road clear for us.

A fantastic site and a fantastic holiday, would recommend and would return

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul and Susan 6 reviews from this member

This site lives up to all of the previous excellent reviews, the site and it's fantastic owners can be justifiably proud of the reputation they have created.

Nothing is too much trouble for Ginny and Martin, they keep the place spotless and welcoming without the need for the 'rules and regulations' that so many other sites bombard you with!

The location is perfect for walkers or relaxed holiday makers, the dog facilities, particularly the massive exercise field, are excellent so no wonder they keep picking up the top 'dog friendly' award.

We were in a touring caravan and perhaps the only comment to note is that the final half mile route to and from the site is very narrow with few passing places and can be a bit difficult if someone refuses to back-up!

We can definitely recommend this site to everyone and if we visit Cornwall again, this site is definitely our preferred choice.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SMH56 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in June as we were getting married in St Agnes whilst we were down there!

Ginny and Martin were wonderful, couldn't do enough for us, even when we spent two nights in the hotel where we got married, they looked after our tent under storm force winds! When we went back they'd put bunting up and left us a bottle of bubbly!

Site is immaculate, very dog friendly, fantastic views and 5 minutes walk to glorious sunsets, St Agnes is about 45 'mins walk down past the only working tin mine left, and up and over the coast walk, I managed it easily and I'm no walker! The flora and fauna are wonderful.

We will be back for our anniversary next year

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carole934 7 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site! Had a week there during August. Busy, but plenty of room for everyone. A small site with big pitches. The sunsets were amazing. Will definitely go back.

Dog and ball games field is excellent - right next to camping field. Dogs could run free and they loved it.

Shower and loo block immaculate. The team were always cleaning it. Plenty of hot water.

Site is right next to coast path that hangs onto cliffs around the aerodrome. Big drops in places, leads for dogs and kids a good idea! You can rush round there in a few minutes to get the best sunset views. A few light aircraft and parachutists - quite fun to watch.

Can walk down to dog-friendly beach - 5 minutes down, 15 minutes up. Tourists seem to be quite fit in North Cornwall!

St Agnes is a delight. Great small, dog-friendly beach, nice cafes (that close too early), lovely pubs. And St Agnes Head. Pure Cornwall.

Easy to get to Lands End, Eden Project and Geevor Mine. All about 40-50 minutes away. Local Miners Arms a real treat. Plenty of beaches in the local area to suit everyone.

Campsite shop has the basics. Wifi if you need it. Laundry machines quick and efficient. Owners always on hand to help and give local info.

Loved the visiting chippy and coffee vans.

A fantastic small site. Very relaxed and well thought out. Owners are lovely and very keen to make the most of their great business. 2 adults, 2 dogs and one ten-year-old absolutely loved it.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mully 8 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a week here with a teen and 12 year old. We loved the spaciousness of the site - not crammed in like many sites these days and the area to play games or fly the kite was a great bonus.

While the site was full at times it was not crowded and, we found no problems with queues for toilets or showers and the nice touches of fresh flowers and toiletries in the ladies were very welcoming.

Ginny and Martin could not have been more hospitable or accommodating and were always about for friendly advice or a chat. They were incredibly helpful when we had problems with our tent.

The location was perfect. It is an easy and scenic walk to St Agnes where there is a beautiful beach in a cove. Coasteering and surfing lessons as well as kayaking tours are available. St Agnes has everything you need in terms of delicious food and decent loos while being small and low key.

Blue Hills is now firmly on our list of favourites.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jane A V 1 review from this member

Just back from Blue Hills. Won't go on too much about what a great site this is as previous reviews saying how good it is are bang on target. One thing which is a huge advantage, especially if you have a bus pass, is the 87 service which goes from Truro to Newquay. The service is approximately hourly and gets you into St. Agnes or Perranporth (or beyond) in 10 minutes. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the bus stop. However lovely the coastal scenery is and it is a truly beautiful stretch you don't always want to walk it. Also avoids some quite steep climbs!

Bus timetables were available on site. There is another bus which goes to St. Ives but only two a day and have no experience of this one.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alicenaish 1 review from this member

Perfect campsite with ample facilities, beautifully kept and in lovely position. We stayed for 3 nights in a VW camper and would recommend this site, definitely. Very friendly and helpful reception. St. Agnes and area is great for coastal walking, bird watching and for wild flowers, especially in May and June.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SierraKilo 5 reviews from this member

We visited early September for a repeat visit ( last one was 4 years ago ) and are pleased to say that it still is a beautiful campsite and the new owners are very welcoming. We were picked up from the airfield as we arrived by air. Grass nice and short and the camping fields well sheltered. A short walk down to the cove or a slightly longer one into St Agnes (25 mins) with plenty of Pubs and Food. Fish and Chips at Fission were great and the beers at St Agnes Hotel and The Driftwood Spars went down well.

Facilities were clean and tidy and the small shop on site could be useful if you need some basics. Being able to leave your food in a numbered box in a fridge was also welcome

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barracuda 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to the site, and our first since the new owners (Martin and Ginny) took up the reins. They have made a great start, and already began to make their mark with the addition of a large field which has been cleared to make somewhere for the kids to play ball games; small shop; and a new fridge.

The shower block is fairly small as some have commented but even so we hardly ever had to queue - worse we experienced was to wait 5mins and return to the shower block, at which point all cubicles were empty. Seemed to be plenty of hot water regardless of the time of day, and always very clean.

There are 2 washing up sinks, washing liquid supplied, again no problems with queues. Sinks are under a covered area, nicely sheltered, and frequented by a friendly robin looking for scraps.

We were in the Swordfish field which was quiet and sheltered on all sides by high hedges. The whole site is on a gentle slope, which results in a large puddle around the site office during prolonged rain showers. With a little planning it is possible to position the tent fairly level, some pitches have more camber than others.

The site is great for exploring both the north and south coast of Cornwall. Our favourite beaches were Porthtowan, Portreath and Chapelporth. All had areas to explore, with loads to keep kids interested.

When you visit Perranporth visit Chapmans butchers for the best pasties. There is a great chippie close by in St Agnes - Fission Chip Shop. If you fancy some posh fish and chips visit Lewsey Louís in St Agnes.

Thanks to Martin and Ginny for a great holiday. If you want a quiet site this is the place for you.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BarnsleyBelle 12 reviews from this member

We had a wonderful few days at Blue Hills after arriving up from Falmouth and have to say that itís a lovely little site, perfectly located for coastal walks and visiting (by car) other parts of Cornwall.

The facilities are good, we loved having our own fridge box to keep everything cool and not having to worry about ice packs and the availability of power sockets for hair drying/phone charging is always an essential requirement for me. Some reviewers have mentioned that there are only 3 showers however in peak season neither I nor my husband had to queue for showers or toilets and only occasionally did we experience any congestion around the washing up area. There is an additional sink in the utility room. Other reviewers have also mentioned that the toilet block is basic, well yes maybe it is but for the price we paid we thought it was perfectly adequate.

The dog walking/games field has lovely views over the valley and the neighbouring airfield (just off the coastal path) provides a bit of interest with low flying light aircraft passing overhead.

One thing we loved about the site was the size of the pitches and the feeling of space, there's nothing worse than an over crowded site for spoiling your holiday. Ginny and Martin were great hosts and went out of their way to find out information for us and were always on hand if we needed them.

Itís a 350 mile journey for us to this site but we will most definitely be back and would totally recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet, chilled out site off the beaten track yet close to some great coastal walks and interesting little coves and ideally placed for Perranporth and its beautiful beach.

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2839 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019