Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kingsmills Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Castle Donington > Kingsmills Camping & Caravan Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Kingsmills Camping & Caravan Park
Park Lane
Castle Donington
Derbyshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tilda 1 review from this member

 Have just stayed for 2 nights, the grounds were well maintained and very peaceful. The noise of the planes was not an issue. The toilet blocks were clean and functional and the site was handy to access local areas. I would have no hesitation in recommending this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happy camper 199 1 review from this member

 I recently stayed for a weekend at Kings Mills Caravan Park.

Its the first time I've stayed and it was a really nice little site backing onto the side of a woods. The facilities were very clean and tidy and the grass had been cut very nice.

There are a couple of nice pubs/restaurants in the local village. I visited the Apiary on the Saturday night where they had a nice live band on.

I would definitely re-visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Qsbuilder 21 reviews from this member

 This site is most suitable for those who need to stay in the area for a long period

The 'renovated' toilet block is very basic with a corrugated plastic roof. The dishwash area was often dirty with dead flies. The bins were in need of a steam clean

There is no fridge-freezer, and the games and recreation rooms were always locked

Aircraft noise is not noticeable but at weekends the racing at Donnington Park can be noisy

Otherwise the comments made by the previous contributor are accurate 
Management response: Many thanks for your comments

Regarding the remark about facilities being locked up, the reason for this is to prevent vandalism and theft of the pool table takings.


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma simpson 8 reviews from this member

 Peaceful location for exploring Derbyshire and surrounding area, situated near to East Midlands airport, planes can be heard but does not invade to much on tranquillity. WIldlife around holiday park evident and nice to watch. Only a few minutes drive from Castle Donnington which has a large Coop, decent bus routes to various main cities, towns and East Midlands airport. Some good pubs in the village which serves good grub. Need a car due to location as down a lonely single track which isn't lit up.

Pool table and tv in reception. You will need 1 for a five minute shower which I feel should be inclusive of the site fees. Toilets not very clean, Cobwebs evident in female toilets. Owners not that friendly and stand offish at times, although informative and friendly on the phone. If going to use this site and have own facilities in campervan or caravan then I would recommend using these. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Manx fairy 11 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, tucked away within surrounding woodland which was ideal for dog-walking and exploring down to the River Trent. Quite secluded and near the end of a road leading to the Priest House Hotel - rather lush and in a stunning location where we enjoyed soaking up the atmosphere sitting on a bench overlooking the activity of the river. The bar was open and drinks can be purchased by non-residents.

We were given a friendly welcome and guided into the main field where there was access to some electric points. The owner was very helpful about where to pitch etc. And we were amazed at the facilities that she described that the site provided - ideal for campers or if you want to escape the enclosed environment of the 'van for an evening (these facilities have already been mentioned by other reviewers). Brilliant!

Being in a motorhome we were keen to find level ground and did so in a corner alongside a caravan. There were not many other campers there, although it was a weekend for us to visit the D. P. Club motor-racing at the nearby circuit and we had expected it to be busier. There seemed to be quite a few 'seasonals' although generally there were not many people to be seen about. We had been unable to secure a pitch at the camp-site next to Donny circuit due to another event taking place there at the same time as the meeting we were attending. We needed somewhere that would accept pets (dog) and this site seemed to fit the bill.

We took our mountain bikes with us since the owner had said that to get to Donny was do-able on a bike. However, I am not so sure we could have done it unless there was a short-cut and in the end we got a lift from family who were staying elsewhere and we commented en-route to the roads being rather busy for cyclists to negotiate.

Castle Donington seemed a nice place but, we did only drive through it and popped into the Co-op for supplies on our way. The massive Sunday market nearby the race circuit seemed to attract many cars/ people and had we not been otherwise 'engaged' might have paid a visit since it was very busy with many traders present. It is actually right next to the race circuit.

Oh and, we were not bothered in the least by aircraft noise and, of course were at the race circuit so we were not able to detect if the bike noise would have been a problem on the site as some reviewer has previously mentioned. For us, it wouldn't have been. We are used to the noise!

We would go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jasohora 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on the weekend 19/20 August 2011 and we booked for two nights. The location is lovely and the facilities are fine. However the aircraft are very loud!

We only stayed one night because whilst we were aware of the airport, we did not know about the 'British Superbikes' at Castle Donnington, these started up 9. 30am Saturday morning and it was a racket. We go camping for a bit of peace and tranquillity, the screeching of barn owls is fantastic, the screeching of motorcycles is not.

We certainly weren't going to stay and listen to them all weekend.

I really think we should have been told at the time of booking and for this reason we wouldn't return. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Macp 1 review from this member

 Just back from a 2 night stay at this very quiet, get away from it all rural park.

Park is well presented and maintained. Facilities are well kept and clean. This may have been due to the fact that we were one of only four residents on the site at the time, but there seems to be plenty of toilets etc even if the park were full.

The T.V/games room is a bonus at night as there is very little around this site, and everything is a drive away.

The only down side for us was the aircraft noise from the near-by east midlands airport, which was unheard during the day, but somehow managed to come to prominence in the late evening and early mornings (4am start up)

This however did not spoil our visit,and at 13 per night per pitch, was very good value for money. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WENDY09 18 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend at this great site, warm welcome from owners mum who took us us to the camping field, we had a choice of where to pitch on good level ground.

Nice clean facilities. As a group of 4, 45+ we really enjoyed the planes taking off from East Midlands airport it was a novelty, with binoculars you can see the pilot, but spoke to other campers who were not impressed.

Ashby del a Zouch a short drive away nice town to walk around, you do need to drive to visit anywhere even the pub.

All in all a good place to stay would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deano23 1 review from this member

 We stayed here at the Easter weekend the owners were very friendly and took us to our pitch,

The facilities are well maintained and the whole site is spotlessly clean and tidy. We had plenty of space between pitches and an enjoyable time for us and our dogs

Will be booking up again end of may for a long weekend, hoping for more nice weather and another relaxing break,

Ideal site if attending donington park also plenty of nearby shops a short drive away. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2799 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement