Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Green Dragon Inn Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Hawes > The Green Dragon Inn Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: The Green Dragon Inn Campsite
Hardraw
Hawes
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this the campsite at this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, although the pub itself is still open

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmystuart 7 reviews from this member

 Was not impressed with the customer service which was none existent on a site with about 40 tents with upwards of 120 people there were not enough welfare facilities, People on the site were ok and the surroundings were nice but the landlady was rude and dour. This could be a nice site with a change of management. I was charged at the bar with two different amounts when I ordered the same drinks and a packet of nuts ( 10:50 first visit and then 8:37 on the second, this for a pint of Landlord, a cola and a packet of nuts) for me and my granddaughter. We were told we had to leave on Sunday although other people on the site had not nor were they asked to. I will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 Plus points: open all year, virtually no road noise, no one else on the site on my Monday visit, sheltered from the wind (useful sometimes!)

Minus points - deposit required, according my receipt (but I didn't have to pay one); the first field is overlooked by a neighbour's house, with medium views, so didn't seem rural, and I wasn't given the option of camping in the (much nicer) second field; walkers walking close to the campsite.

Cost - 8 for me, my tent and car.

Summary - becomes very useful in windy weather out of season. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Discoverystu 10 reviews from this member

 Managed to put up a group of 6 vehicles at short notice. Nice site on 2 fields. Only 1 shower in male toilet block and 1 WC. Shower overflowed very quickly could do with unblocking. However despite this we always get a warm welcome here and the site is linked to the pub (site at rear). Decent pint and home made food and the best bit of all Free access to the amazing waterfall. Good value. Only downside is smallish car park and have to carry gear to the field on other side of the fence or further if on the other field. Last year we were allowed to take our car on but not this year. A great site that we always use when in the area. Hawes is a few minutes drive away with most facilities you could ever need. Always seem quite site maybe not many know about it or are put off due to being behind a pub. Do not let this put you off. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeets 3 reviews from this member

 We went for 2 nights at a weekend at the very end of June. We arrived and paid the 10 deposit and the 2 night fee (8ppn, no extra charge for the dog/car).

Access:

We were told we couldn't take cars on the grass, and a barrier was up which they would not drop, and there were no wheelbarrows we could see, so we carried our gear the 2 min walk to the far field. The next morning we did see a family drive their cars to their tents to pack up however. The barriers and gates seem to be open or closed at random, so I don't know if they asked, or if they just snuck up when the barriers were down. For us as a group with a few young lads it was not such a problem, but if you had mobility problems or simply can't carry all your gear several hundred meters I would recommend phoning ahead to check if you would be allowed to drive up (they seem like friendly people, so I'm sure even if it is not their 'usual' policy they would make an exception if it was necessary, or come and help themselves or something).

Loos/showers:

Toilets and showers have clearly been very recently renovated, in both the pub and the camping area, and they were smashing, really quite luxurious, with countertop bowl sinks, sandstone tiles etc and clean. The showers were proper ones with a twiddle knob so you can take as long as you like (the light and fan switched off after about 10 mins, but came back on easily - this probably wouldn't happen at busier times, as more people would be coming and going, but as it was quiet I was the only one in there). They were hot and lovely, but the shower block lacks a good spot for makeup or hair drying, but the loos next door are fine as they have a shelf. There is a hook on the door in the cubical, but just one so if you tend to take a lot of 'stuff' with you then you would have to leave it out on the bench in the main area along with shoes etc so if you have an issue with this don't take any valuables. The guys ones were equally nice, but only one cubical for the loos and showers, whereas the girls had 2. Also, you access the campsite through a gate in the back, which leads to a car park for waterfall visitors, then another gate and the visitor centre/ice cream shop and cafe. Oddly, the loos and showers are located on the other side of the gate from the campsite. This means at times when the gate is shut (which seems fairly random) you might have to go through the visitor centre in your jammies to get a morning shower. The staff seem completely nonchalant about this, but it is something to bear in mind if you are self conscious in the morning!

Camping:

The ground where we were was surprisingly stony, and we had trouble with some of our pegs. Not sure what the rest of the site was like, but it's something to be aware of. The site is made of 2 large fields, with a path on one side for the public to access the waterfall and the river / stream running down the other. It is a little odd getting your breakfast or just relaxing in the morning etc with regular hikers / visitors / families walking down the path (and often gawping at you) to the waterfall right next to your tent, we found it sort of brought us out of the camping mindset a little, but you get used to it. There are plenty of water taps, but no electric. The grass is a little long but no big issue, there are bits of black clay pigeon everywhere, but now crushed small enough that its no bother to your tent, but there are bigger neon orange bits in the river which looks quite unusual at night!

Fields are fairly flat, a little shady as you are in a valley, but you do get some dappled light and are also quite sheltered from wind and noise etc. You can hear the waterfall from the top field at night which is nice. There are a million midges due to being next to the river, so bring some repellent or you will suffer. There is a small bit of a view over the dales, but not much, however it takes about 5 mins to get to some pretty spectacular areas. They are doing up the waterfall paths, so the top field has some piles of gravel, and some orange barriers up preventing access to the bridges (and for some reason a heap of plastic chairs) at the end. Whilst this is not super pretty, it should only be temporary.

The lower field is further from this work so is clear of building supplies if it bothers you! The weekend was quiet, but on the Monday there were RAF jets flying quite low overhead every hour or two, it was both quite interesting to see, but a bit of a racket! I'm not sure how regular this would be, as it may have been a one off, but I thought it worth mentioning! It's a very basic site, so no special kids club or anything, just the countryside and the stream to play in.

Local area:

A 20 min walk (if that) to the very pretty Hawes with lots to visit and some lovely pubs and local shops. Dale walks are literally all around you - just set off in basically any direction you fancy! The waterfall on site is actually pretty amazing, about 100ft high in a quite spectacular circular valley it has carved. The pub on site is great, traditional but nicely renovated, real fires, live music, the food was better than average and fairly priced (9-15) with a nice choice of both traditional pub fare and things that were a bit more special (game casserole was great!) and they were more than accommodating for my vegetarian friend, making up a lovely vegetarian version of their giant Yorkshire pudding dish with no issues.

Overall:

A pretty, peaceful site with a few quirks but bags of potential. I would visit again, but I think I will wait for a few months till the renovations have been finished. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Discoverystu 10 reviews from this member

 8 of us turned up late afternoon and they fitted us in. There are 2 fields and it was fairly quiet and pitch where you want on grass no laid out pitches as such. Very informal which suits me. Small river running next to the site. Grass could have done with a cut bit long in the morning. However you must stay there for 1 thing only that amazing private waterfall I had no idea it was there and its absolutely stunning. Cars need to be parked in carpark next to field which could be a bit of a drag if you are in the top field although they did drop the barriers for us. Pub food was ok and beer was nice which helped a lot 2 minute walk from tent to pub. Building work going on on bunkhouse and lets. Toilets were clean but only 1 male shower. To drive past this pub you would think there is nothing there and I expect the campsite over the bridge that is better signposted gets most of the trade (except no dogs allowed). Its a real gem if you like informal camping with a pub next to you. Vehicle gate is kept locked at all times so fairly safe for those shiny motor homes of which there was one there. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Outdoorytypegirl 7 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit here, the 1st being for New Year. We're not scared to camp in the snow, but me & my partner did have a little domestic whilst erecting tent in wind & rain. So after paying deposit of 10 & didn't collect it back we threw everything back in the car & drove back home in silence.

So we thought we'd give it another go jubilee/bank holiday weekend, knowing they possibly could be busy we phoned around dinner time & was told no need to book & that there was only 3 tents in the field. we didn't arrive till around 8pm & pulled straight around the back of the pub to the gates of the fields to camp in. You usually pay inside pub where a lady took deposit of 10 & 2 adults at 8 each a night, she then took us through the gates, you are then instructed to park your car no cars allowed on field, wheel barrows are provided to relay up & down with your tent etc, she then took us past the little bit of grass we nearly camped on at New Year. She said they let motor homes park on that bit & led us on to the next bit of grass which was already crowded and said you can squeeze inbetween the sycamore trees. The seconds we stood there we were being eaten alive by thousands of mosquitoes, we were also situated next to the main path that runs down to the waterfall. Don't get me wrong she was very friendly but this isn't our idea of a campsite, it was way overcrowded & people were still turning up at 9. 30. Anyway so she left us to it & off we went to get our tent, both of us moaning how we definitely were not staying the 3 nights we had planned to.

Came to unpacking the tent & we were a pole missing! Cut a long story we ended up staying in the bunkbarn which was heaven compared to that field!

Because we'd already paid up 26 think it was another 4 we had to pay, which is great because we had a comfy double bunk, brilliant shower & a little kitchen to make teas/coffee & snacks.

They take late orders for meals in the pub, we ordered at 9.30 & people where still ordering way after that. Meals are nice & good priced.

They were very helpful & kind at trying to sort us a pole out but we'd already decided we weren't staying there.

The thought of staying near a waterfall is lovely but twice we've tried & been unlucky, so wont be returning.

They're suppose to have a warden looking after the campsite on a night so it should be pretty safe but don't leave any valuables in your tent because the site is open to the public which pay 1 or so to walk threw to the fall, is free for campers.

This would be a great campsite if they kept it small, but they want to fit as many in a possible which spoils the ambience of the place, but if you like the party & noisy atmosphere then you will enjoy it. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flippsy 14 reviews from this member

 This was quite a picturesque site, fairly small and with only a few, basic facilities, making it not so great perhaps for families with young children. Prices were 8. 00 per adult per night, no charge for dogs or cars. There were no electric hook-ups at all.

Its close connection with the pub however was a great advantage since (apart from the obvious benefits) they served excellent, reasonably priced food until quite late in the evening. We found it to be a quirky place. Kept imagining Bilbo Baggins would walk in. Very friendly though.

We arrived early on Friday afternoon, at the beginning of the Jubilee weekend and were glad to find a site with available pitches that allowed dogs. The experience was as described in the previous review - the wheelbarrows provided to assist with carrying the tents up the field etc. However this was one of the most popular camping weekends of the year and they were expecting a lot of people. They were very organised for that, having a lady out in the camping area all afternoon, organising car parking and pitches, and she certainly did try to get people to pitch quite close together.

However, after most people left, on the Monday, the proprietors were into laid-back mode, allowing cars up into the top field, which was helpful when packing up on Tuesday. People were also later allowed to camp in tents in the lower field.

There was a stream running through the wooded gorge from the waterfall, so some midges (they were not mosquitoes) were to be expected and were not so bad as they can get eg in West Scotland.

My husband did complain that there was only 1 toilet and shower for men - but other than at peak times (bank holiday weekends) this would probably be ok. He did say he never had to queue though and neither did I in the ladies. These were kept clean but toilet paper did run out for a while, later in the weekend.

Friday night was a bit noisy (as is usual) with people talking round their 'fires', but it died down by midnight and was never a problem for us on the following nights.

The biggest issue was that they had got a problem with lack of electricity (for lighting) in the Toilet/Shower block that they were unable to rectify before the weekend. Nevertheless, they did have a great hot water supply and the showers were copious and unlimited. Campers were also allowed to use the showers in the bunkhouse.

Any washing up had to be done in the tent, via kettle and bowl, as the washing up sinks which were on site, have not yet been fitted. Not a problem for only two of us, and eating out most nights.

We used the site as a base from which we walked 3 stages of the Dalesway, using 2 cars. So we didn't do much in the local area apart from that. However we did look round Hawes and found interesting, useful, good quality shops and restaurants. We have previously visited the cheesemakers there and found that fascinating.

All in all, we enjoyed staying at the site. In a nutshell, it was good old fashioned quiet camping rather than up-to-the- minute and well-appointed. Horses for courses. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wkijki 3 reviews from this member

 Small site very quiet. We were the only ones on this very wet weekend.

Pub 2 mins away and very friendly. Even opened our can of soup when we realised the tin opener was at home! Waterfall picturesque and free to campers. 2 mins away.

Showers and toilets immaculate. Flat site.

15 min walk into Hawes with its large selection of cafes/pubs/resturants. Dales museum and wenslydale cheese factory a must for visitors.

I'm told there is a folk festival during the summer which can get very busy.

Shall certainly be visiting again 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bertie300 20 reviews from this member

 If you want a friendly campsite this is one of them. Chris the bar man, booking agent, information centre, he is all of those and more! Really helpful guy.

The site is flat and well situated for walks and relaxation.

This site has a decent toilet block with proper 'free' working showers and a secure parking area.

The waterfall is terrific and it's only a 3 minute walk from the site.

The pub serves great ales and food although a little pricey it's still a great place to meet people from all walks of life.

At 8. 00 per person per night it is a bargain. It's one of those places where you just know you are going to enjoy yourself.

A great locality with friendly people and a nice tea room next door, we shall be going back. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4347 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement