Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hadrians Wall Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle > Hadrians Wall Campsite > Reviews

Hadrians Wall Campsite
The Tilery
Melkridge
Haltwhistle
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE49 9PG
Tel: 01434 320495
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 241 Reviews
                9/10 from 241 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  241 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jsonin 1 review from this member

 This is a wonderful campsite.

Very well run with impeccable facilities.

Each pitch has a fabulous view, are very spacious with incredible privacy.

I shall certainly be returning.

So much to do & see in the locality as well! 


Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Claire 1 review from this member

 Brilliant campsite, well organised, amazing views, and dark skies so great for stars.

Toilet and shower facilities were heated and spotless.

The washing up facilities were outdoor so a bit chilly, but it made you wash up quickly!

Tracy (owner) was super friendly and helpful.

Really close to Hadrian's Wall, we walked to Housesteads and got the bus back.

We would definitely stay again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevjoa 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely well kept campsite in a fantastic location.

Owners really friendly and helpful too.

Will definitely be returning.

Would recommend this site, we came with the dog and enjoyed some of the many walks in the area straight from the campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 An excellent site, just off the Military Road and under a mile to walk to Hadrianís Wall. Cracking views from the site.

Friendly welcome on arrival. Facilities on site are excellent and very well maintained. Small cafe and shop on site too.

A great site - it was good to return and will be back again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Captain1959 1 review from this member

 Very well kept site with impeccably clean shower and toilet block which even has music playing

Very friendly informative staff who go above and beyond

Hadrian's wall is just over a mole walk away or a 5 min drive

WiFi available and TV signal was excellent 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GreyWolf8 3 reviews from this member

 This is a great site in a wonderful location.

Due to a navigational error, we ventured down a lengthy single track road adjoining the A69 and B6318, but were lucky enough not to encounter any opposing traffic, so just a warning to make sure you follow a suitable route on approach to this site.

Once on the correct road, the site was easy to find and access, taking it steady in case of other traffic.

The site itself is terraced, with a large initial grass area with some hardstanding pitches at the side, then access roads to other pitches situated further up the sloped site. We were on a grass pitch on the first field which was fine, despite some periods of heavy rain.

There are ample toilets and showers, which were well maintained and clean. There is a small shop for essentials and a cafe for breakfast if required.

Site staff were friendly and welcoming.

There are walks to be had directly from the site, including access to Hadrian's Wall -try and avoid the cows though, as they were a bit large and menacing when I crossed their field with my small dog, giving them a wide berth.

Housesteads Roman Fort is well worth a visit just down the road - National Trust, so there are some car park and access fees. There is a quite steep access path up to the fort, but ok for most people.

Haltwhistle is not far away by car and is nice for a wander and for shops etc. If you're keen you can walk there, but apparently the route back to camp is steep.

Carlisle castle is also worth a visit and is dog friendly (apart from the museum). 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wasa armstrong 3 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. The views are amazing on the top field where we were. The site itself is very very clean with a shop to help you out in case you forgot anything (T-bags every time we go camping haha).

There is a pub that does food which is about a 20 minutes walk or if you use your car you could pop into Haltwhistle which is 5 minutes away or pop into Twice Brewed Brewery where you could also have food.

Back to the campsite the showers are nice and hot and there was no queue when we went but could be busy as there was only 3. We hired a fire bin and it was lovely sitting out until 1am.

The tent pitches are kept very well. During our stay I have to say that there was hardly any noise and there was a lot of people there and children.

We will definitely be going back as it was very peaceful with the fantastic views. It really recharged our batteries. Keep up the goodwork 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Akabur 1 review from this member

 Had a fabulous time.

Gorgeous surroundings, Quiet and owners extremely friendly.

They had no issues assisting when my partners car got bogged in due to rain.

They kindly pulled it out at no charge and with no hesitation. 


Date of Visit: March 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lizhag 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite - well laid out and located in a beautiful setting.

Facilities excellent shower block and washing up area clean at all time.

Rural location with walking access to explore Hadrians wall with some great pubs also near by.

Would return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Captain Kenny 2 reviews from this member

 Perfect site for me and my dog to spend a few days walking in the area.

Easy check in and good clean toilet and shower facilities.

Nice large hard standing pitch (twin axle van) with glorious views across the countryside.

20 minute walk to Hadrian's Wall and the views from up there are breathtaking! Twice Brewed pub 35 minute walk with good food and real ale brewed on site.

Last night had a substantial snowfall and next morning owner said I could stay an extra night if travelling was a problem. Can't beat that sort of service and I definitely want to go back again. 
via mobile


Previous     241 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hadrians Wall Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hadrians Wall Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hadrians Wall Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haltwhistle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57629 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement