Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hadrians Wall Caravan And Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Hadrians Wall Caravan And Camping Site
The Tilery
Melkridge
Haltwhistle
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE49 9PG
Tel: 01434 320495
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 177 Reviews
                9/10 from 177 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  177 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stewart and trish 5 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed this site, friendly welcome, good facilities and ideal for walking, plenty of places of interest within easy travelling distance. We were pitched right next to the duck pond which was great. Would definitely go back

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights, ideally placed for walking and access to Hadrians Wall where we had a couple of great walks. Bus stops 5 mins away so you can do a linear wall walk. A little out of the way, pub is a good 45 mins walk, as is Haltwhistle. Mixture of hard standing and grass, slightly sloping but no problem with soft ground as it was quite dry, would imaging it gets a bit slippy if wet. Great facilities, drying room included. All clean and tidy. Small shop and cafe on site. Owners really friendly and helpful. Would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 37 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 nights at this great site with interesting levels. Location good for walkers. The site was very wet when we arrived and unfortunately a breakdown in communication meant that we got stuck in the mud and had to be winched off when we should have been told to pitch on the access road between the pitches. We had snow blizzards for 24 hours, which put our campervan to the test. It is approx 1/2 hour walk to the wall - we turned right and got as far as Sycamore Gap then dropped down to Vindolanda and back to site. Called at Twice Brewed Inn for a snack en route. Fantastic walk that pretty much filled a day. Shower block kept very clean with a good hairdryer. Great site for tents and campervans.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Des1603 4 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed on this site, the first time was en-route to Scotland. Ideal for anyone visiting Hadrians Wall or the Local Roman Settlements. Ideal to use this site as a base or a stopover if you are walking the wall or just passing through. The site sits about half-a-mile south of Hadrians Wall.

There is a hot room which is locked during the night so that your wet items can be dry and ready for you in the morning.

The site has several levels so that at the top you get a fantastic views of the surrounding area. The site has a mixture of hard stand and grass.

Within a mile there are eating places, pubs etc

The wardens are very helpful and knowledgable of the surrounding area.

Looking forward when heading to the Wall again to booking a further visit.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: D J T 4 reviews from this member

This camp site is ideally situated for exploring Hadrian's Wall and is close to the 'Sycamore Gap' (as seen in Robin Hood with Kevin Costner).

There is a small shop on site. The staff are very friendly, informative, and can provide walking routes with maps. After our long walk it was lovely to have someone cook pizzas and deliver them to the camper while we quenched our thirst.

The site was well maintained and the showers were good.

In general a very good small camp site and expect to visit again with more family members.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ajac 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site although as previous reviews have stated, the Motorhome pitches are very close together on a small hard standing at the front of the site. The owners are very welcoming and provide a brief overview of facilities. The toilet and shower block is basic but is kept clean and warm. Electric Hookups are provided with fresh water, grey waste and toilet emptying facilities available immediately behind the MH plots.

The location is ideal for those wishing to walk Hadrian's Wall or enjoy the dark skies at night.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keep0ut 5 reviews from this member

What a beautiful and welcoming campsite. Owner so friendly and helpful. Can't say anything negative about the site, would definitely go again and would recommend to all campers. The scenery and surrounding area was beautiful, although we went the end of the summer period we absolutely loved it.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clipstone Lad 6 reviews from this member

We stayed for five nights here, in our campervan with our dog. We liked this site straight away, by the friendly greeting and its layout and facilities. Its sited on the side of a valley, on various levels, the highest level being only for tents. We had a nice spot, lower down, still looking out over the hills. The amenity block has a nice 'log-cabin' feel about it; good showers, laundry/drying room, bunk room, site shop, and a café that provides pre-ordered breakfast's as well hot drinks and cakes. One really great service is the fresh pizza delivery by quad bike to your pitch! The WiFi is free but with a charity tin. Dogs are welcome, but (rightly) must be kept under close control - see below.

We were able to walk to (and along) Hadrians Wall from the site; also to Vindolanda (or Vindaloo as I called it) - well worth a visit. There are regular buses along the B6318, so its quite easy to do a walk and hop along sections of the wall. By car there is plenty of places to visit, including the above and Houseteads. With dogs; while we there dogs off the lead were shot by farmers, when they got amongst livestock; not very nice for the dog, and totally the fault of the owners; and the site staff do go out of their way to warn people. So yes, a very nice site that I would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chickentayls 1 review from this member

Very warm welcome to the site. Staff are friendly. It was a really busy bank holiday weekend as well. Pitches were of good size. Some pitches are on flat ground, some on a slight slope. We had rain x1 night and the area got a little water logged near one of our doors, not a real problem as we used the other doors instead - but be aware if pitching in bad weather of uneven grass so you do not get a pool of water beneath you (footprint needed).

Loved the extras like pizza and breakfast to your tent. Good facilities. Even though it was busy I didn't have to wait for a shower!

Layout of site is good and I will go back to this site again. Had EHU and no issues with tripping out either. Overall a really good site to visit. Close to places of interest as well. Local Co-op not too far away either.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Freefoot 1 review from this member

The site is well situated for visiting sites along Hadrians wall, and for walking in the area. The site is more suited to tents or small campervans as the Motorhome hard standing area is more like a car park with only about 5 foot between vans, not even room to get chairs out and the only view out of the side of your unit is the side of the van next door. The toilet facilities although clean, seem inadequate for the number of pitches. The staff are pleasant and helpful and there are good facilities for tent campers, ice block freezing, drying room etc. In summary, good site for tents, but if your in a motorhome and want outside space this is maybe not the site for you, I wont be returning.

Previous     177 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4040 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019