Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hollies

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Tarporley > The Hollies Reviews

CLOSED: The Hollies
Forest Road
Little Budworth
Tarporley
Cheshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

 This is very attractive site with spacious pitches and water and grey waste disposal on each but beware the drains are too high and far away for running all but the longest drain pipe, I simply used it for pouring away the waste container without the usual long walk. The lights on site were fixed the day after we got there so it was not as dark as a previous reviewer mentioned. The directions after you enter are a bit vague and there is no camp warden or office you just pay at the shop checkout and pitch wherever you want. It was a bit crowded in the shop car park when we got there and we had to drive quite a way to find a place to park and return to the shop.

Beautiful Chester is only 15 minutes away and Liverpool, which has turned itself into a great tourist city is about a 40 minute drive if that, both are well worth a visit as is Port Sunlight with its gallery and museum a fascinating and lovely place. If it interests you the Inland Waterways Museum at Ellesmere Port is well interesting and a good half day out, he history of the Manchester Ship Canal that runs alongside is well illustrated.

We shopped at the site farm shop and found the quality and choice excellent as is the cafe which is soon to become a restaurant in January. Just a short walk down the road is Pesto at Cabbage Hall a strange name for a superb eatery, Italian Tapas is the fare and it is well worth a visit.

Due to road noise and lack of a warden I will not give a top score but I can recommend the site and would return. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gillv1 1 review from this member

 Stayed for a week and was very pleased with the site. It is ideally situated for exploring the area and we visited North Wales, Liverpool, Manchester, the Wirral and Chester. The pitches are level with gravel hardstanding and have electric, water and drainage on each pitch, although a long drain hose is needed. We didn't use the showers but as there is only one in each block, there may be a long wait when the site is busy. The farm shop is great with good quality food although it would be expensive to feed a family. It was fine for just the two of us. There is a bit of road noise but not too bad. We had a lovely week and would definitely visit the site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

 Reviewers -mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We chose this site as we were visiting family nearby. It is situated behind a farm shop on a main road, but in a fairly rural area.

I rang to book the day before and was told the shop was open until 7. 00pm for checking in. The satnav took us straight there, but you have to look out for the entrance on the main road. The site is flat and our allocated pitch was gravelly. The tourers are in an area together and further on there are pods and lodges. Part of the touring site is unused for some reason.

The shower block has separate facilities for men and women, all clean, but not very many.

The farm shop is extensive and has a cafe, with a terrace for sitting out in nice weather. Adjacent to the terrace is a large grassy area suitable for children to play, away from the gravel car park near the road.

It was very quiet at night, and dark too, you need a torch. You could hear road noise during commuter hours, but it wasn't obtrusive.

There are lots of tourist attractions in the area, also it is convenient for visiting Chester and the Wirral. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mic60 7 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed with our stay at the Hollies. We were looking for a quiet weekend away and found ourselves in possibly the noisiest place in the U. K! The A49 runs right past the site and traffic thunders along it all day and well into the night, we tried to go for a walk and found ourselves in a beautiful typically English forest but accompanied by the sounds of motor racing at Oulton Park. I was even awoken by a helicopter landing and taking off from a nearby garden.

The site is well laid out but the facilities are inadequate, with only 4 female toilets and two ladies showers. The drain in the shower I used was blocked and I had to spend ten minutes mopping up after I had had my shower. We used both dish washing areas and the lights were not working in either of them.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from stopping on this site for the second time, and was very pleased and still impressed with the site.

The site is fabulous and you get a real wow factor when staying on site, this time when I booked I requested a fully service pitch only to be told ALL our pitches are fully service hardstanding now. I knew we would arrive quite late 8pm ish, phoned whilst enroute to advise of our arrival time only to be informed that the office closes at 7pm and there would be a note on the door regarding our pitch number etc, ( I was informed over the phone as well our pitch number) and just report to the offices the next day to settle our account.

Pros : very easy to find site and plenty of room when on site ( huge car park ) pitch sizes are more than reasonable, not small at all but not the biggest we have stopped on, pitching up was straight forward and toilet block was only a very short 50 yard walk. Toilets was always spotless and are a real credit to the site.

Pitch price was very reasonable 22 per night. There is a cafe/ restaurant on site but we found to be a little pricey, or shall I say it would be a treat to have eaten there it could soon mount up having young children with us.

Cons : only one gripe really about this site and it is only MY personal preference, there is no play area for the children to play ! the site is of size that I feel would benefit extremely well from losing a small plot of space for a slide and couple of swings, (as one other site owner once said to me happy kids mean happy parents). Its the only thing I have rated the site down on ?!

All in all a very nice well kept clean and well run site well done to all staff and keep up the good work it does show. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beilby 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed over a busy bank holiday weekend. The site has camping pods and lodges as well as touring pitches. We were able to choose our pitch when we booked on line, the pitch was level and spacious. The toilet / shower blocks were modern and spotlessly clean (the cleaning lady was there bright and early each morning) there were however too few showers for all the campers and pod dwellers on site so there were queues at times. The farm shop is well stocked with goodies and the restaurant serves a very tasty, if a bit expensive, breakfast. We did not have children with us but I feel that the site would benefit from a safe play area. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

 Our first trip of 2013. We are planning to get the most from our of our motorhome this year, with holidays planned and many one and two night stop-overs. The Hollies is only an hours drive from home which is ideal for mini trips.

We have two dogs so it's important to have great walks from the site as we don't like to drive out in the Motorhome once we have pitched. We walked from the site for about 45 minuets down very quiet country lanes, before getting to Whitegate way, an old railway line, a linear walk of about 8 miles. There are probably lots more walks round about this lovely area. It would be a lovely idea if the owners prepared some information leaflets on detailed walks from the site.

This site is lovely, the shower/toilet facilities were clean, although a little cold they didn't appear to be heated. There is a wonderful farm shop on site which could see me emptying my bank account quite easily, fresh bread/meats/vegetables and a delicious aray of ingredients for the keen cook. There is a lovely gift shop. The restaurant serves breakfast lunches, cream tea's and evening meals. We sampled coffee and cakes which we can highly recommend. I think they may offer BBQ's outdoors in the warmer weather as there was a large outdoor kitchen on site.

The camping pods and lodges looked lovely set amongst the pine trees. We woke to beautiful varied bird song. A lovely little campsite with great on-site shops. If we stay again I wouldn't take any food along except breakfast cereals / milk / tea / coffee as I would buy all my fresh food from their wonderful farm shop. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Budweiser 4 reviews from this member

 Me and My Girlfriend stayed in one of the hideaways. We go camping about 6 times a year and this was definitely the best trip we have had this year.

The hideaways are fantastic, Very clean, Nice comfortable beds, TV and radiator inside and you get 2 camping chairs too. We actually took our camping chairs with us and never used them as we didn't need them.

The farm shop is amazing. A little pricey but we don't mind paying for food that is delicious and believe me it is.

Everything about this site is first class. We are hoping to return many times and we will stay in one of the lodges one time they look amazing too.

Shower and toilet facilities first class. All the staff we met were very friendly and polite including the warden who we had a chat with in the evening.

We will definitely be visiting again and again.

The only downside to our stay was the wi fi is not very good. If they improved the wi fi so it was better I would give this site 10 out of ten.

At the minute it's a 9 out of ten but we will return.

Kevin and Anna. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Evertonian Boy 5 reviews from this member

 Been here for loads of weekends during this season, about 20 in all. So have seen it at peak and quite times. Overall satisfaction I rate it at excellent. As season went on owners have addressed issues raised in these reviews. Hot water in sinks now no problem, they have addressed traffic issues, by redirecting deliveries away from caravans. The facilities have been upgraded from last season, especially the main toilet block, improved showers and sinks and quality tiling throughout.

Shop keeping up the top quality produce and butchery is fantastic. There is work ongoing on site, more lodges being built, but the owners do best to keep noise and intrusion down, and will always listen and act as they can. All you have to do is speak to them, unlike other site owners who are never there, there is always one here. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9917 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement