Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Runnage Farm Bunkhouse And Barns

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dartmoor > Runnage Farm Bunkhouse And Barns Reviews

Runnage Farm Bunkhouse And Barns
Postbridge
Dartmoor
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL20 6TN
Tel: 01822 880222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: No camping for 2019
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dmsplat 16 reviews from this member

The site is basically fine. The field is a bit uneven, but it's fine. The toilets were basic but clean - perfect, really. There didn't seem to be any hot water for dishes (but maybe the tap was just broken?)

The thing that really puts me off is that it seems everywhere you look there are signs telling you what you can't do (at least three notices on or near the farmhouse door saying don't come in (ring the bell instead), fires must be out by 10:30, you mustn't leave any children alone at any time because it's a farm & there's a pond - I was told in booking in that I needed to accompany my 10 year old whenever he left the tent for any reason, including going to the toilet).

It just felt unwelcoming, as though campers are an inconvenience that they have to put up with.

Most of the sites I stay at have really friendly owners and rules are presented in a friendly manner - that didn't seem to be the case here. I think I'll give this one a miss next time

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

A wonderful farm site in the middle of the moors. Camping is in a field below the farm and next to river and pond. Uneven but some flat spaces, I managed to find space without the need for levelling blocks.

Campfires allowed, wood for sale at farm. Also BBQ food, burgers, Lamb etc.

Toilets, showers, washing up etc by farm house, very clean and adequate. Only downside for me was no chemical disposal facility, but understandable considering wonderful location.

Plenty of walking direct from site. Postbridge has pub, village shop.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplecampervan 3 reviews from this member

We have been coming here for around ten years, and love it! The site is just a field by a stream, toilets and showers in the farmyard, but what more do you need! Phil and Chris always friendly, and Zak the collie is happy to play football with kids all day long. Wonderful place, and the Warren House Inn a few miles up the road is a lovely old pub.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RachelOrofino 1 review from this member

Absolutely brilliant site. Showers, toilets really clean. Fabulous and very beautiful location for hiking as soon as you open your tent! Great for children with a river running by for them to have endless fun. Big open spaces to pitch on with firepits. We thought we had found a great campsite already being seasoned outdoor campers. But Runnage Farm outweighed it by far! Owners so helpful and friendly. Will definitely be back ! Thank you to the Owners too. For opening up their land for people to be able to do camping with fire. Really great :-)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neeto 6 reviews from this member

Really lovely site. There's a little stream running down one side so that you fall asleep to the sound of running water. Dartmoor ponies wander off the moor and graze in the field. Sheep come in off the farm in search of grass. You can search for wood in the nearby forest to build and make your own fire by your tent. The farm will sell you sausages and pasties. There is complete peace and quiet. It is the ultimate bucolic heaven! Yes, the facilities are a little on the basic side, but if you want simple camping then this is the place for you.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smokey fire 1 review from this member

Just returned from fabulous camping trip at the lovely runnage farm. We always return here. The owners are always pleasant no matter how many times you bang on the door for freezer blocks/charging etc through out the day. We are happy with facilities, they are basic. You quickly get used to washing up with cold water! but always clean and I have never had to queue up. This campsite is proper camping, open fires, no restrictions on cooking anytime of day, we did cooked breakfast on it, lunch and dinner all week. It is a family run farm so animal noises are a constant and tractors fly by regularly with cows and sheep and wild horses roaming. This suits us and entertains the toddlers! We love it here, looking forward to our next holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kayaking lovers 3 reviews from this member

Absolutely fantastic place, we stayed in the bunk house over a very wet august bank holiday.

The owner is lovely and very accommodating and even lent us some board games.

It is in the middle of no where which is just what we wanted, the 9 of us enjoyed the lovely walks over the moores.

Showers and toilets are basic but what do you expect from a campsite! They met our needs.

No mobile phone signal is fabulous!

We ventured in to prince town and tried out the plume pub -also worth a visit!

Would 100% recommend to anyone who wants to escape city life! We returned home today and have already booked to go back for New Year's Eve!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: D333s 2 reviews from this member

This is a fabulous site for camping and countryside lovers. The owners are working farmers but give you all the time you need to assist or just pass the time of day, plus offering excellent meat and pasties and more.

The setting is idyllic moorland, walks in all directions plus nearby pubs and shops. The campsite was busy at times but always peaceful, civilised and friendly, with a wide range of nationalities enjoying the evening fires. We even had fabulous weather, but I don't think Dartmoor can guarantee that.

This is Camping as it should be.

We had a really great holiday and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr & Mrs Mungo 7 reviews from this member

Runnage Farm Camping Barns and Bunkhouse is a wonderful campsite in the centre of Dartmoor National Park. Surrounded by miles and miles of open countryside, the site is a beacon for walkers, trekkers, Scouts, DOE and campers alike, but big enough to create your own little haven.

There is plenty of space for pitching tents in different fields, two camping barns and a bunkhouse. We were camping in a tent and this review echoes our stay.

The showers, toilets and washing up facilities are good but basic which reflects that this is a working farm not a holiday park. You can have real fires and there is a great pub within walking distance. The nearest town only has a small store, so be prepared to bring all your essentials. Our hosts were most helpful and kind during our stay.

This is a fabulous place to come and unwind in the heart of Dartmoor. Don't forget to look out for Zach the Collie!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: BB88 1 review from this member

I would highly recommend this campsite. You can pitch where ever you wish so we pitched right next to the stream on the back field with only two other campers on the field.

Very peaceful feel here right in the heart of dartmoor, on a working farm. Owners are very nice only saw them once on arrival. Shower block is clean and has hot water.

They allow fires here which just adds to the camping experience. For only a fiver each a night it's a bargain!

I would definitely return.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019