Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flying Horseshoe Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Lancaster > Flying Horseshoe Campsite > Reviews

CLOSED: Flying Horseshoe Campsite
Clapham
Lancaster
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches as it's being redeveloped for holiday lodges. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mammaplop 2 reviews from this member

 This is the first time that my husband Keith and I have stayed at this site. Len, whom I spoke to on the telephone was very friendly and helpful. The site is very flat, which is ideal for camping in a tent. There is a toilet block, separate mens and womens, with two toilets and one shower. The shower is metered and cost 50p, you get about 10/15 minutes which is more than enough time to shower. There is also a separate covered area for washing up. We opted for an electric hook up which cost us 3 a night, which we thought was reasonable. If you enjoy walking this site is ideally situated. It is within easy reach of the '3 peaks', Lake District and the Forest of Bowland. We didn't have a problem with midgies, but we did have an awful lot of crane flies visiting us. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hawke1976 1 review from this member

 My wife and I (and the dog) stayed here for one night on a 'spur of the moment' trip. The site is lovely. Really friendly welcome from the owners. It was very quiet, with only one other tent, but quite a few caravans. Its only half an hours walk to Clapham village, where we had our tea and a few beers at the New Inn. Really enjoyed it and will definitely go again.

Only one problem, which is nobody's fault, prepare yourself to be eaten alive by midgies. There are millions of them. They start in the early evening and don't go away! Perhaps they might have if we'd have been using a bbq?

We will still go back! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jill and sid 22 reviews from this member

 The Flying Horseshoe is a small, friendly campsite with outstanding views. The pitches were fairly flat, although it was a struggle to get your pegs in, in places.

The toilet facilities were adequate and with a 50p token you were able to have a long, hot shower. We were allowed to have campfires on the stoney paths and the site manager was a very helpful fellow. He gave us a handful of tent pegs, as we were a little short.

There are a number of regulars at the campsite who return several times a year, and I can understand why. Somewhat limited for electric hook ups. I think there were only two. Nevertheless, a family from Bolton, kindly allowed us to plug our fridge into their supply.

The most enjoyable part of our stay had to be the mix of people. We voted, Andy the most friendly person you are ever likely to meet on a campsite, not to mention Steve and Sue from Bolton 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jo mawn 8 reviews from this member

 A really lovely site. The loo's and shower were basic ( 50p token for about 20 mins of hot powerful shower).

The pitch itself is in a stunning area ( I could see Ingleborough lovely from my caravan). Its about a mile and a half from Clapham, 4 miles from Ingleton & 10 mile from Settle.

The wardens were really great warm and friendly people, , they helped us get our caravan in and parked and we very funny with their jokes and humour!

The pitches come with a aerial point that hooks into theirs and we got all freeview channels.

The weather was beautiful and red hot, the out door pool at Ingleton was a blessing!

Will definitely be back again all for 12 per night in elec! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Warbuj 20 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a lovely break here. It really is only 12 a night and that includes electric-a real bargain. Although the campsite is small with only 2toilets and 1 shower we found it perfectly acceptable and didn't have to wait to use the facilities.

The showers are lovely and hot and 50p buys you 20mins(my wife and 3 daughters managed to shower on just 1 token!) The owners and their family were very friendly and you got the impression nothing was too much trouble.

The only downside to our weekend was having a family with 3 tents camp near to us- they showed little consideration for any other campers and many others on the campsite complained about the noise level which went on after midnight.

Having said this we had a lovely time and would highly recommend this site to other campers. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Itsmekids 3 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because of previous reviews, and we were really glad we had. Firstly the price, it was so cheap (compared to most these days) for 5 of us and the dog and TT, just 12 per night (without electric). Absolute bargain I'd say.

The site owners were really friendly, if you need anything they will go out of there way to help.

The campsite is in a good location, just 4 miles outside of ingleton, but also just over a mile walk down the road into clapham and there's plenty of walks and caves accessible from here. There are some lovely views over the hills from the site.

The campsite facilities are basic (just 2 toilets and 1 Shower) in ladies and I'm told mens are the same, but they were in a clean condition. Some might say they need renovating but then you wouldn't be paying 12 a night would you. There is also washing up sink and elsan point.

The only down side (if you can call it that) is at the moment, (I'm guessing what used to be the flying horse) is being renovated, we didn't hear any noise from this but there is a couple of builders vans parked around, so I'm not sure if you were sited nearer to it than we were, whether you would hear anything. We will certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greendemon 3 reviews from this member

 We had watched the weather all week and decided to go away for our 2nd ever camping trip. I had chose the site due to the previous reviews and added it to my brochure.

Got there at about 18:30 on fri evening.

The site is very small with mainly tourers pitched for the season. There is a separate part for the tents with electrical hook ups. We chose to have electric simply for using our small heater to keep the dog warm at night, 'oh' and the Mrs and little 'un. We paid 26 for the 3 of us including electric.

The site managers are great.

As we were the 3rd tent there, we were able to choose a pitch to suit us and we were shown directly to it.

The ground was uneven due to us being in amongst the trees but the ground opposite was very flat. We choose our pitch for the view over the hills.

The ladies facilities as I am told are very clean and fresh. The gents are the same and don't smell like a gents. I think this proves the care and attention shown by the managers.

The only problem we had was with the people opposite who arrived on the Friday and had 2 sets of families arrive on the sat. The kids were good as gold and our little one played on Friday and Saturday. BUT on Saturday night they decided to go on till at least 12:30am without quietening down and even playing the guitar. There were 4 other tents there excluding ours

But this did not deter them from making the noise they did.

All in all a great little site, close to Ingleton and the surrounding area with lots of amenities. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fifiwewe 1 review from this member

 Just been to this campsite this weekend for a one night stay, it is the only campsite in Clapham although is 1 3/4 miles from the village itself.

On arrival the owner was friendly and helpful and showed us to the area were we could pitch our tent. The site was very flat, was a little soggy but then we had a lot of rain earlier in the week. The site seemed mainly to be occupied by caravans but there was plenty of space for tents too.

There was a tap with clean running water and a toilet block with 2 mens/2 womens toilets and one of each shower, nice hot running water although on our visit the showers were a little messy/unclean. There is also a separate room for washing up with 2 sink units.

The site is next to a derelict pub/hotel which isn't very pleasant to look at as it is in a poor state of repair.

However all in the site does what it says in on the tin and not a bad spot to stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KENNY13 6 reviews from this member

 What a lovely little site. If it's peace and tranquillity you're looking for, then this place has it complete with superb views. Close to Ingleton waterfalls which is well worth a visit (9.00 for a family) and the village of Clapham is just over a mile away. Len and Jean are very helpful and left you to it. 2 loos, 1 Shower (tokens 50p and last ages), 2 washing up sinks, elsan and water nearby. All in all, a very quiet site. I would go again. It was lovely. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11358 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement