Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest Holidays Thorpe

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford > Forest Holidays Thorpe Reviews

CLOSED: Forest Holidays Thorpe
Shadwell
Thetford
Norfolk   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2015  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a luxury lodge with a hottub and the place was outstanding.

The welcome at reception was excellent and everytime we spoke with them they were helpful and accommodating.

The lodges range from small ones to the huge luxury ones and we had the four bedroom lodge for the weekend. It came with everything you would need for a long weekend and was extremely comfortable. The dog especially liked the underfloor heating.

The site is set in the lovely Thetford forest and walks from the site are in abundance. Locally you have teh full forest to wander around and we spent an afternoon at the visitor centre of the forest where you can take part in Go Ape, on Segways and more.

Tesco is about 6 miles away and take 15 mins by car, plus you have all the shops you would find in a town too.

Onsite there is a bar and small shop which you can buy some basics.

We loved our stay, it was not the cheapest, but definitely worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please be aware that this site has now closed for touring bookings. To search for another site, please click here 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helen707 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, that very sadly closes probably forever at the end of October 2013. We have had many happy holidays here over the past 15 years. No toilets have ever been there but that didn't put people off at all, they just took their own in caravan or a toilet tent.

Forest Holidays plan to build 70 log cabins for those non camping types. What a shame, check out this web site to support the cause http://www.savethorpecampsite.co.uk 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PaulandChrissy 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is truly beautiful. Nothing but grass, trees and completely tranquil. There are no toilet facilities, but that's what this campsite is all about, being at one with the natural surroundings. This is what campsites were like when l was a child back in the 60s. There are electric hookups, so its not totally cut of from the real world. As an astronomer with a telescope, this campsite is heaven. You can actually see the milky way with your eyes alone. Its humbling. Theirs walks a plenty, and the local town of Thetford has some history and plenty to see.

We will be back again and again that's for sure 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Feistymaid 1 review from this member

 Super site, the best thing they ever did was to open all year round. We have been coming here for years and everyone is so helpful and friendly. Warden is very nice and always helpful.

On the upside, the site is beautifully quiet especially in the low season, mostly level, the approach to the site is good - nice easy access, the few facilities that they have are good, lots of lovely walks for the young and the elderly - with or without dogs. The wildlife is plentiful.

On the downside, I would like to see the site shop offer more groceries. Otherwise. ? can't think of anything else. If you want flush toilets and showers, this is not the site for you.

Tesco's within easy drive, the town of Thetford not far away with plenty of shops and stores. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stuandtan 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an impromptu overnight stopover! Overall it was very enjoyable but I think that was as much to do with the excellent weather and company as it was the site itself.

A lovely quiet setting as you'd expect on the edge of the Thetford Forest, we pulled up at reception to find out where we could pitch up. We were advised that the site was a bit more securely run due to some gypsies moving in illegally up the road! Not the most assuring of things to be told, but I guess at least the forestry commission were acting responsibly. The only other gripe I had was that we arrived 45 minutes before their booking in time and were subsequently charged 3 extra, even though we had the entire rally field to ourselves!

As the site material states, there are no loos, showers or much else other than wonderful scenery and an access to wildlife that will amuse and surprise many of the visitors.

The lack of facilities is reflected in the price though, as it only costs 11. 80 for an overnight stay and our pitch was about 8 acres!

As long as you remember the distinct lack of most things, you can't go too far wrong. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dickiemint 1 review from this member

 I must say that Thorpe is our best kept secret and am loath to say anything nice. But if you want peace tranquillity this is for you easy reach of all eastern areas.

The site is clean and well maintained shop has essentials. Basic amenities but that's Thorpe lots of easy walking and cycling. Loads of wildlife.

The staff are very pleasant very approachable and nothing is too much. Nuff said be back soon 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Enna19490 1 review from this member

 I am currently on the Thorpe Woodlands site. Very quiet peaceful site with plenty to see & do around the area. Walking in the forest is amazing- seeing all types of birds & wildlife that are about the area. Well kept site- No facilities only water & waste disposal.

The staff are very friendly & help in any way possible enabling us to have a good stay. I certainly will be coming back for breaks & holidays again. I will forward photos too if I can 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darthillcat 16 reviews from this member

 If you are after a Basic very quiet site with no facilities this is for you, approx 350 pitches in mixed wood land, a very large rally field or an open plan area with 36 electric hook ups some of which are used by Seasonal users. The pitches are all grass with no hard standings but the site drains well after rain.

You must have your own sanitation to use this site, Plenty of water and chemical disposal points dotted around the camping area.

There is no childrens play area but with acres of woodland to explore who needs play equipment.

We saw several different types of Deer during our stay and bird life beyond count the site reception even has a web cam in a nest box, the wardens are helpful and friendly and for a modest charge allowed use to stay on late on our departure day normal time is midday.

The nearest large town is Thetford which has a good selection of shops and eating places. If you have a dog with you please obay the site instructions regarding control they are strict about this, Can't recommend this site enough have used it several times 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahlou80 1 review from this member

 My Family & I have just spent a very pleasurable two nights at this site - Woodland site. The Woodland walks are brilliant our dogs & children loved it however on the campsite itself there is not much for the children to do as the adventure playground was not open, but when youre walking all day it does not matter so much as the children were pretty tired when we returned back to the tent. The wildlife was abundant and made for great evenings listening to it. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. However we do recommend that you hire a portaloo (20 deposit & 5) There is a shop on site however you will need to bring the essentials with you (Milk, tea, coffee, sugar & bread) as when we went to ge these they were unavailable or sold out and the nearest village was approx 2 and half miles up the road. This is a back to basics site but an enjoyable one. We would come back again. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2824 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement