Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Berwick Seaview Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Berwick Seaview Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Berwick Seaview Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Billendean Road
Spittal
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 1QU
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jada109893dtd 1 review from this member

 Was disappointed we were not nearer the sea as the site pictures showed it was closer

Had to search for a pitch instead of having one allocated which was unusual

Unfortunately not one of your better sites and wonít visit again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Approach Berwick from the southern end of the A1 bypass exiting onto the A1167. In about 1. 4 miles turn right at roundabout into Billendean Terrace signed for Spittall.

This road has some quite severe traffic calming speed ramps so care is required. Continue under railway bridge and watch out for the site entrance road about 300 metres on the right. Please note no arrivals before 1. 00pm.

Berwick Seaview whilst being in an urban environment has wonderful views out over the Tweed Estuary and Berwick upon Tweed beyond. It is a long narrow terraced site running alongside the East Coast main railway line.

The latter does cause some noise but it is only momentarily whilst a train passes. The frequency does not seem excessive and for scale the wardenís tractor makes more noise! There are in the region of a hundred pitches all but a handful on gravel hardstandings, plus a few tent pitches.

If the site is busy it would be wise to discuss with reception where the free pitches are because at the extremities of the site it is difficult to turn, particularly with a car and caravan.

Owners of outfits over 8 metres longer are required to book directly with the site as not all pitches can take long caravans/motorhomes. Electrical connections are convenient to all pitches and use CEE17 blue connectors rated at 16 amps.

The site has only one toilet block which is of a good standard but because of the site layout it is a long way from some pitches. There are service points dotted around the site for fresh and waste water, plus chemical disposal. There are two motorhome service points both with open grill dump points.

Reception sells a few essentials and next door there is an information room. There is site wide WiFi although best the check with reception as there is a map of the best signal. I found using my 4G data to be perfectly satisfactory.

This site is ideal for visiting Berwick upon Tweed which is only a short distance from the site. There is a half hourly bus service from immediately outside the site.

The rest of the Northumberland coast is within easy reach. There is a nice walk down to the Tweed estuary from the site.

For shopping there is an ASDA on the bus route into Berwick, and for the fit even in walking distance, and further out there is a Tesco and a Morrisons. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Zackyboy 16 reviews from this member

 Once again we managed to get a pitch with an unrestricted view over Spittal and the river.

As expected from a Caravan and Motorhome Club Site we had a pleasant welcome, a great view from the caravan, clean toilet and shower block and good facilities.

It's a nice walk down to the promenade at Spittal and a pleasant walk along the river and over the bridge into Berwick.

As mentioned before the main train line runs immediately behind the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Themis6206za 1 review from this member

 Loved this site.

Super clean.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Fantastic views

Good base for visiting Holy Island and Edinburgh.

The East Coast mainline runs right next to the site, but the trains donít run overnight so it wasnít a problem for us.

Dog friendly.

CAUTION: the tent pitches are small, so your tent needs to be shorter than 6m or you need to request the family pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kenmeade 1 review from this member

 Lovely view out over spittal towards berwick itself. Plenty of ocean and scenery. Our spot's view was partially blocked by the toilet block but still plenty of nice view left.

Clean and tidy facilities, welcoming, friendly and helpful staff.

Very close to the lovely spittal promenade and easy walking distance / short drive to berwick itself.

Good base for further travels, the site office sells basic essentials but your near a farm foods and a retail park with plenty of other shops if you need more.

A train does run past at the back of the site, we were situated right next to the line - did not bother me in the slightest, hardly even noticed the trains.

Dog loved berwick beach, and the walk around the berwick walls is an absolute must if you like history and fantastic views. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Chappies43 31 reviews from this member

 We have recently returned from an enjoyable 2 week stay at Berwick Seaview. Access is very easy with the site being just a few miles from the A1 along good roads.

There are speed bumps on the final approach road but they are easy to navigate if you take it steady. On arrival we were told which pitch we had been allocated as this isn't the usual CMC set up of driving round and choosing your own pitch due to the layout of the site having lots of dead-ends.

We were very disappointed to find we were a very long way from the toilet block - it took several minutes to walk there - and also very close to the railway line and the motorhome service point meaning we often had motorhomes driving past to the turning space next to our pitch and back again while we were sitting out which wasn't good for a 2 week stay.

The view near the pitch was good but our view from the caravan was obscured by a hedge. Unusually this site allows users to park front or rear end in to take advantage of the view but this can mean that units are awning-to-awning taking away some privacy and causing a little uncertainty of who can use the grass between pitches.

The site is kept very neat and tidy by the hardworking, friendly wardens but the downside to this is that they are often mowing grass and cutting hedges which disrupts the peace and quiet (between the trains going past!).

The great thing about this site is its location meaning there are lots of lovely walks from the site and there are also shops, supermarkets and petrol stations close by. Spittal prom is lovely for an evening stroll and the walk into Berwick is very pleasant.

We found lots of good takeaways in the area; Foulis Pizzas and Roberts Fish & Chips in Spittal are both great and are within walking distance providing you have a microwave to reheat when you get back to site.

Northumberland is a very beautiful county which we have found to be extremely dog friendly. The walk along the beach from Bamburgh to Seahouses is lovely, Beadnell, Eyemouth and Holy Island are must-sees and the ramparts in Berwick are well worth a visit but don't go too near the edge! Mr Chappies and our son caught the train from Berwick to Newcastle to watch a football match which was a good day out for them.

All in all we had a great time at Berwick Seaview and will definitely be returning but you do need to be aware of the noisy trains and that you may end up with a long walk to undertake your ablutions. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ct955 47 reviews from this member

 Well organised and maintained by friendly wardens. Very clean and tidy facilities. Pitches vary in size so wardens set aside larger pitches for larger units.

We still had a good choice and ended up with a super view and plenty of space. Trains are close by but we didn't find them intrusive. Short walk into spittal with pubs and small shop, also lovely dog friendly beach.

Walk into Berwick is pleasant, about 20 minutes. Lots to see and do in town and surrounding area. Had everything we wanted and would return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 598 reviews from this member

 The site is actually in Spittal, just outside Berwick. That said its less than 20 minutes walk along the estuary, over the bridge and into town, so perfectly placed if you want to visit Berwick town and museums. The ASDA supermarket is just up the road, there are also several bars and a cafe witin walking distance of the site.

Spittal has a lovely promenade, straight down from the site its a lovely evening wal and there is a large sandy beach there too.

The site is as previous reviews show, very clean and tidy, excellent facilities block. The pitches are mainly hardstanding but there are some grass pitches in the centre as well as a few tent pitches. We did think pitch sizes varied greatly, some at the front of the site were very small, those towards the back seemed larger.

We too didn't find the train noise excessive, we didn't hear any road noise at all.

Excellent C&MC site, will visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 56 reviews from this member

 This site is on the outskirts of Berwick. It is a long thin site, with several terraces. Most of the pitches have great views, however not all do. The main east coast train line runs along the side of the site, but we werenít bothered by the noise of the trains. Walking into Berwick took about 25 minutes. There is a small retail park close by with an M&S food hall, Halfords and an Asda. There is also a huge Go Outdoors shop close by, in case you need any more caravanning stuff.

The staff were friendly. There is one central toilet block which was always spotless. There is no childrenís playground or any areas of grass for them to use, so probably not the best site for children. The info room has DVDs to rent and lots of books to swap for a small charge. The access road is short and narrow, so do not arrive earlier than allowed, as there I nowhere to wait, and it blocks the road for everyone.

The NCN route 1 is nearby and can be used to cycle south to Holy Island, but be aware that this is a cliff top path and only suitable for mountain bikes. There is an on road alternative, but it is not signposted and obviously it is much longer. We did a lot of cycling from this site, but it did involve crossing the A1 at various locations, some of which were easier/safer than others.

Nearby Ford and Etal villages are pretty and a nice day out. There is even a champagne bar with glorious views over the Cheviot Hills. Nearby Kimmerston riding stables offer fabulous scenic rides. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 17 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this great site. Excellent wardens, excellent facilities and some great sea views from the top tier.

Great place to visit Berwick and the local area including Lindifarne and Banborough.

Can't understand people who come on criticising noise from roads and trains. If they had check the site beforehand they would know about this and if they haven't checked they should have. If they are bothered by noise why book the site. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Berwick Seaview Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Berwick Seaview Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Berwick Seaview Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4255 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement