Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elm Beds Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Stockport > Elm Beds Caravan Park Reviews

Elm Beds Caravan Park
Elm Beds Road
Higher Poynton
Stockport
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SK12 1TG
Tel: 01625 872370
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
                8/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janspi 1 review from this member

 Fab little site in a great location, very relaxed site not rules and regulations everywhere you look, just the usual dogs on lead and covid info

But had a great stay with the owner very friendly and helpful 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peepdip 15 reviews from this member

 Positives:

A lovely location near the canal in Poynton.

Nicely laid out site.

Not too large, quite a homely site.

Gate to canal walks and Poynton is only a few mile down the road.

Safe for children, though no activities on site

Negatives:

Be prepared to ring time and time again to get through to make a booking.

Facilities are a little tired but OK.

The road to the campsite is a bugger due to overgrown holly bushes at the bottom which scratch the paintwork of any van larger than a transit size. (I suspect the neighbours are trying to deter vans? 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deb1wo 1 review from this member

 Delight site by the canal within easy walking distance of Lymn Park and the beautiful Peak District.

Poynton is a busy village with a cafe culture and a range of coffee shops and restaurants.

Be sure to go To the wonderful traditional Italian bistro opposite the fire station the real gem in Poyntons crown. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 31 reviews from this member

 I’ve written loads of campsites reviews on here and I always base them on an honest view on the night that we stayed and the majority have been very positive… until now…

As we needed to be in Stockport really early on a Sunday morning as my wife was taking part in a 10K run we pre-booked this place as it’s only 20 minutes’ drive from the centre. On arrival over the narrow, cobbled lane I rang the doorbell at the reception.

The guy who answered couldn’t get away fast enough and basically said to park anywhere… We drove round and the main flat area that runs along the hedgerow by the canal was full up already and some vehicles looked like they were there long-term.

The only place left was on quite a slope but with no other options I got the van parked as best I could. There was a double hook-up point next to it but neither worked, then a single socket that didn’t look too safe but at least it was working.

The facilities… Hmm, as others have noted they could do with a massive overhaul! Two grotty toilets and two grotty showers and dozens of bugs, daddy long legs and dead flies to keep you company.

The strip lights on the ceiling were on the angled roof and the bottom of the housings had been steadily filling up with dead flies over time… It’s not really what you want to see at a campsite. On the plus side, the shower water did warm up nicely.

Then, as mentioned, we had an early start 6:30am alarm to get on the road but one of the other caravans on site had other ideas as they were playing music well beyond 11pm when I was tucked up in bed.

I woke several times in the night, no idea what time it was, but every time the music was still playing. It wasn’t “nightclub” loud but on an otherwise quiet campsite it was the only noise around and again just not what you want when you’ve got an early start.

All in all we definitely won’t be back based on the noise, lack of interest by the site owners and the general condition of the facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campervanpair 7 reviews from this member

 Beautiful area, close to canal and disused railway walk, also close to Lyme Park. F

acilities disappointing, toilets old, not cleaned every day, also bins not emptied every day.

Would return if facilities were improved otherwise definitely not. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pnefan 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from the site. Weather was fabulous which helped but the site is amazingly quiet and in a lovely location. The short access road is a bit rough due to part of it being laid with stone cobbles but we managed OK with our FC by passing down it slowly.

Admittedly the facility block is old and only has 2 showers and three loos in the ladies but they are in a good condition and clean. A note to the owners though you do need to keep the toilet rolls topped up at least in the ladies block.

I read in other reviews that the cleanliness of the washing facilities wasn't the best and maybe this could be the case when the site is completely full. We found every thing OK but we only stayed for two nights and the site wasn't full.

The site is convenient for Lyme Park and also walkable to two pubs, The Miners Arms and the Boars Head. Both of which do food. It is also next to the canal and a disused railway track which provide opportunities interesting walks. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bex and Terry 1 review from this member

 This site is in an Amazing location it's stunning! We came up for a last minute stay for two nights to try it out, and I'm so so glad we did!

The staff are Absolutely lovely and very friendly and helpful when we enquired about various activities and places to go in the immediate area as we were keen to find out for when we decide to go on further adventures and future reference.

The site is quite nice and on the doorstep to loads of activities, beautiful walks and interesting places to go.

The showers, toilet block ect are not brand spanking new, spotlessly clean everywhere and dusted to perfection with state of the Art, luxury shower, toilets hairdryer and central heating but they are very useable clean where it matters and with lovely hot showers,

its adequate and alright for a nice shower and to use the toilets and dish washing area it's simple but who cares I'm not gonna spend hours in the bathroom dying and styling my hair (which is down to my bum and thick) or spend too much time on the toilet or in the wash room washing billions of pots pans and oven roasters,

so out and out we cannot wait to go back this time for much longer with the big tent cos the pros of the location, friendly owner & staff, wildlife and things to do out weigh basic amenities 10 to 1m so glad we tried this place and gave it a shot! We are planning on going back as soon as we can 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PhilbyUK 4 reviews from this member

 Nice friendly site staff and, once in, a pleasant site right next to the Macclesfield canal. The site is mostly statics and long term caravans with an area for tourers next to the canal (which is the other side of a hedge) and well laid out. But access is tricky (see below)!

Really lovely walking along the towpath of the canal and some nice pubs nearby.

Loos and showers are sub-standard and really do need improving, As other reviewers have said, access is very tricky! First, the access roads getting to the site are narrow country lanes, secondly, the access road is really a track, the first bit being cobbles which really test your suspension.

It's also incredibly narrow with holly hedges either sides. The track at this point is only an inch or so wider than a standard caravan so great care needed (and even then we've ended up with a few scratches). How they get statics into this site is beyond me. Finally, to add some spice, there are building works to 2 houses in the access road so access can be further restricted at times (though not at weekends)

A pleasant site once in but could be better and for £17 a night quite expensive for what you get. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cogsy1 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights, met by lady owner who was helpful and cheerful.

Toilet/showers were clean even though there was heavy rain and the site was busy including 2 groups of Duke of Edinburgh youngsters. As per other reports toilet paper was in short supply - for warned is for armed. Plenty of hot water, a duckboard in the gents shower would be beneficial

The site is in a very good spot just over a hedge to the canal, had a good walk along when the sun came out, there's nearby pubs, coffee shop and general trader.

There's an hourly bus into Poynton up to 1905, a taxi back was £4. 50

We will go back here again when in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happiecamp 3 reviews from this member

 Never had a bad stay here

The site is small but has everything you need.

Has lovely walks along the canal and is a dog friendly site.

The facilities are ok, constant very hot water and toilets are ok, not the cleanest or warmest facilities but they are fit for purpose.

Unless you make your own entertainment there is nothing for kids that we saw, I small basic play park is just off the site. As far as I know they do allow ball games and if you bring your own activities then kids will be entertained.

A couple of times there was no loo roll but we took our own so not a problem to us. Staff were difficult to find sometimes as they were working.

Prices are good and for us being only 20 mins from home but feeling like we're in the middle of the countryside is ideal. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elm Beds Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elm Beds Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Elm Beds Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stockport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3308 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement