Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Deers Hut Public House

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Liphook > The Deers Hut Public House > Reviews

CLOSED: The Deers Hut Public House
Griggs Green
Liphook
Hampshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 22 Reviews
                7/10 from 22 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this whilst the pub is still open, the campsite has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note the Deers Hut will be closed on 30th April. The new landlords are carrying out a refurbishment. at the time of writing it is not yet clear whether camping will be available once it reopens. If you have any information regarding this please don't hesitate to let us know. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tobyfred 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here because of location. Near Hindhead as visiting relation there. Lovely old pub on site friendly owners but spoiled by having quite a lot of white van men who appeared to be living in their vans and working possibly in London.

Went early morning didn't see until evening most ok. However the language was not what I would have wished for by one individual and no one said anything and this stopped us going in the pub more than once.

Also the toilet was round the back and as a female didn't like the way too it also no hand basin in the toilet area.

Lovely surrounding countryside shame site not as good as thought would be having read the other reviews.

Perhaps we were just unlucky.  


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Twinkle098 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and at first it was exactly what we wanted quiet field where kids can play and adults can relax. After we arrived we learnt there was a group of some 9 caravans all with on average 3-4 people in, this wasn't a problem until the evening when they had bonfires and very loud music which was not curbed by the owners and went on after midnight!

The one toilet per male and female were fine but the one shower with that many people on site meant we ended queuing for anything up to 20mins. The shower took 20ps but you got a good long shower ( enough for an adult and child for this ) Also during our stay cleaning of the amenities was very lapse I once had to unblock the female toilet ( not part of the deal when on holiday ). The elsan block was raised from the floor and we were put next to this.

The pub prices are high for drinks but from reading and looking at the menu the food looked very reasonably priced. The park no longer exists but there was a playing field, there is no washing up facilities just two taps for water. Dogs seem to have no rules at all which is fine if you have them but not if you don't, at Least some of the owners were courteous enough to take dog off site for the toilet however others didn't care.

All in all it's a good quick cheap (14 per night) getaway site with no arrival and no departure time but needs some tlc and perhaps warning if there is a large group! 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucie123 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent a fantastic weekend at this site.Lots of electric hookup, clean toilet which stayed clean all weekend, I never found it locked.

This site is ideal if you want a quiet getaway and great for kids.Its a twenty minute walk to liphook, if you go in the eve take a torch as there is very limited street lighting.

The pub owners are friendly and the pub serves food.We will be returning this site.Previous reviews have noted that there ia only 1 toilet for women and 1 for men an one shower, this isn't really a big problem as it is a small site there was never a queue the whole weekend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 57 reviews from this member

 We wanted to find a site that was easy to get to whilst on our way to Portsmouth to catch the ferry over to the Isle of Wight. Found the site on here and booked for both the outward journey and our trip home. On the Sunday, there was just a tent and ourselves on the site.
The previous reports about the toilet/shower facilities are spot on; it would be nice to have a hand basin in the loo. The landlords of the pub are very easy going and very welcoming to our dog who was allowed to walk around the pub off the lead.

On the trip back, the site was full and the atmosphere was really good. Plenty of electric hook ups. It is situated in a very pretty area. We didn't eat in the pub, food isn't available on Sundays and we didn't want to eat on our return trip. We would certainly stay here again if we venture this way in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kosb2446 5 reviews from this member

 The camp site is well situated on the A3 to travel on. Liphook is about 1mile away with shops and take aways plus a train station if you wanted to go further afield like london or portsmouth.
The camp site itself was not value for money as there was only one male and one female toilet with no hand basin there was only one shower room with a hand basin but no hot water and the shower head was broken and the fasilates was not kept clean 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Niki and Terry 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely break at Deers Hut Campsite, really enjoyed it. The site is lovely, with a gentle slope, surrounded by trees and woods and even though it is fairly close to a main road it is quiet. It's a very relaxed affair, with pitches around the edge meaning that you don't feel penned in. We even stayed late on the Sunday as there is no need to vacate the pitch early. This meant we could make the most of the sunny day. We did book and would recommend this as it was full. Cost for 4 adults and a dog in caravan and awning was 12.50 a night. (Shower 20p)

The pub which fronts the site is just how we like, small, informal, lots of character, nice garden and dog friendly. We ate at the pub twice, with 4 adults eating for less than 25.00 each time we thought it was great value. The food was decent pub food - nice and good sized portions. My husband is vegetarian and he had no trouble finding something he liked.

It is about 1 mile from Liphook centre meaning it is easily walkable. There is a good sized Sainsbury's and a couple of pubs but from our experience they weren't a patch on the Deers Hut.

If you enjoy a good walk we would recommend walking out of the site and over to Waggoners Wells - you will need a map and landmarking skills to get you there and back. We took it gently and it took us most of the day.

The only slight downfall is the shower, it could do with a bit of a spruce up but this was outweighed by the rest of the experience. Also there is only one female and one male toilet.

Definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lespingu 2 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say bad nothing really we arrived and found the owners and staff friendly,toilets/showers were clean and fine to use. So peaceful we loved the quietness in the morning. The pub had some brill real ale there was entertainment on at the weekends. Shops within walking, great chinese and chippy also a big sainsbury in liphook. Out and about a very peaceful and laid back area, lovely country lanes and walks. So all I can say is I would go back any time 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Girls on Tour 6 reviews from this member

 This is a small campsite (field) adjoining a pub. The facilities consist of one female toilet, one male toilet and one unisex shower on the side of the pub. There are also 2 water taps outside. Neither toilet has a basin, which is quite unhygienic but they were as clean as can be expected for outside toilets. There is nowhere to clean your teeth or do any washing up which, when camping in the rain especially, is a pain. There seemed to be no rules about dogs and there were a number of them running around unsupervised - not that this was a problem for us but could be for some.

The surrounding woodland is beautiful with plenty of walking opportunities. We didn't use the pub as we had small children with us but it looked very nice. Liphook centre is a short drive away with a supermarket and take aways. Overall, this wasn't one of the best campsites we've visited but we would return. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3325 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement