Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwern Y Bwlch Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llanbrynmair > Gwern Y Bwlch Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Gwern Y Bwlch Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Gwern Y Bwlch
Llanbrynmair
Powys   (Browse area)
SY19 7EB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 34
Open: 16/03 To 12/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FreddyBB 2 reviews from this member

Truly, a lovely site that will remain in our memories for many years to come.

On arrival we followed the instructions, parked and then took a leisurely stroll through the site until we identified a pitch that best suited us. We setup and then began to enjoy the delightful scenery.

The site has no washroom or toilet facilities so we came prepared to utilise our own amenities. We also took a step back in time and found great enjoyment in the lack of television or even radio. The local area has a wealth of great walking trails and Lake Vyrnwy is a must. Do visit the aptly named Lake View Tea Room, a charming hostess and delightful venue.

Machynileth is not far and Aberystwyth only a few miles away and not to be missed.

If you love birds and wildlife you will love this venue. We setup a bird feeding station and by the next morning found it frequented by large numbers of small birds whose antics proved far more fun than most TV programs.

The wardens could not have been more friendly and helpful and they run a gem of a site costing only £12 per night all in, great value.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cymraes1dog 5 reviews from this member

Well kept and clean site. No toilet or washroom facilities but water, electric and waste disposal facilities available. Beautiful views and a very pretty dog walk with masses of bluebells at this time of year. Very peaceful apart from the occasional low flying plane. The nearest town is machynlleth where there is a good street market on Wednesdays. Very good value at £12 a night.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 56 reviews from this member

A lovely little site just perfect for a one night stopover. No facilities on site so own sanitation is a must. It is a Caravan Club Eleven Only site, £11 for the pitch including 2 adults and as many children as you might have. Very good value for money. A few nice walks from the site but we think you need a car or head out in your motorhome if you are staying for a longer period. There is a bus but we didn't use it. Wardens are very friendly and welcoming. Peace and quiet. Dog walk is good.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulmold 49 reviews from this member

A really lovely site. No toilet block so usually few children on site. Long narrow winding site with pitches in terraces ranging from one to six pitches per terrace.

TV reception is analogue despite area going digital. Bird hide needs a bench as viewing slots are low down and means kneeling to use so take your own seat although lots more birds are seen on feeding poles erected by visitors rather than at the bird hide.

Nearest town Machynleth which is not that great except on market days. Town has lots of vegetarian/wholefood cafes, couple of expensive ladieswear shops and one general department store plus usual charity shops.

Volunteer wardens are really friendly, lots of local information in hut. Visit to Aberdovey is a must and also Aberystwyth.

At £11 per night all inclusive, means great value.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rjandhl 8 reviews from this member

Usual CC standards for a site without a toilet / shower block. Site kept neat and tidy by friendly and helpful wardens.

There will be a new set of wardens for 2012 season as the current couple will be moving to another site in Norfolk. The incoming team will have a hard act to follow.

A point for walkers and bridleway users (bikes), planning to walk or cycle direct from the site, the paths and bridleways shown on the OS maps do not always exist on the ground.

Either there have been a lot of changes which have not made it onto the map or there are one or two uncooperative landowners in the immediate area.

It does not seem to be such a problem in the valleys to the south and west.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pooky 3 reviews from this member

Gwern-y-Bwlch Caravan Club Site is set in Mid Wales and ideal for touring many attractions.

£10.00 per night for pitch, two adults and children.

Peace and tranquillity is high on the priority list with a bird hide, pond and woodland for walking dogs.

The Wardens are helpful and always have a smile.

They keep the club site in tip top condition without cutting into the wild habitat.

In reception there are lots of local crafted items, these make ideal gifts for friends, family and neighbours, as the nearest town is 10 miles away, this saves having to travel more than what is needed.

Well worth a visit. You will not be disappointed. Open this year until 3rd October.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

Visited mid september for 7 days in what turned out to be another wet week. As mentioned this is a no facilities site set deep in the north powys countryside in a lovely location. Quite steep but the actual pitches are fairly level on mostly hardstanding. More of a large cl with little or no basics sold on site.

Nice views from most pitches but some are in a gloomy position & can feel quite damp & dark after lots of rain. Very quiet on site, but some road noise can be heard from the main a road, but its not over intrusive.

Not a site for a family with children i would of thought. We liked the relaxed atmosphere & when the sun did shine, it had a pleasant feel to it. A single track farm road runs along the site & is quite steep to walk up, but the views are quite stunning the higher you go.

The torrential rain kept us in more than usual, but when we did get out the coast cliff walk from borth to clarag bay was stunning. aberdovey was lovely & the sea at tywyn was raging when we went. We also visited a beautiful nt place at powis castle, has to be one of the best gardens we have seen.

On the way back we went over the mountain road to llyn clywedog reservoir, with stunning scenery. We also had a drive to dolgoch falls & bala lake with its cute little steam train.

Finally we climbed cadir idris a wonderful but hard walk with fantastic views all round at the summit. A beautiful part of wales that even the rain can not spoil.

Finally we climbed up to cadir idris a fantastic climb with stunning views all round.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TaffyY 10 reviews from this member

We stopped in this lovely little site for one night en route to a site further North and we were given a warm welcome by the wardens.

The site has no showers and no toilet block and appeared to be miles from anywhere which would be the down-side for us to stay there any longer than one night but it was perfect for an overnight stop.

The site has a great dog walk with the biggest blackberries we have ever seen growing there and beautiful hanging baskets and tubs decorated the entrance and Reception area!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Fabulous find and very reasonably priced at £9 pn - in high and low season.

We turned up for a one night with no booking and surprised to find space, only after booking on and parking on our pitch did we realise no toilets or showers, warden didn't mention at all when booking us in. Not a major worry though and site was lovely. Tiered and views over the park in the main and hill on opposite side of road.

Surprised for a Caravan Club to find a fair number of seasonals parked on the grass pitches, unoccupied but looking like they had been there a fair while.

Overall a cracking little site, very quiet and a good 15 mins from nearest village. Even with lack of facilities will visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bearded_1 8 reviews from this member

This is a very scenic little site set in a beautiful Welsh valley, with far reaching country views. But this really is a site for people who want seclusion as there is very little around it and the nearest main town is about 20 miles away. There is a small village with one shop and a pub about 5 miles away but very little else in the immediate area. #

Each pitch has a bird table and there is an abundance of birds to see. We spotted a Jay, a Buzzard and a Robin in the first 5 minutes of arriving. The site is steeply terraced with a tarmac road winding up through the terraces to the top. Nearly all the pitches are hard standings with an electrical hook-up.

Itís a Caravan Club site, so standard of cleanliness are high. Please note there are no toilet / showers on site so you need your own sanitation. Donít be fooled by the picture on the Caravan Club website the site does not overlook a lake.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4165 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019