Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Wensleydale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Lower Wensleydale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Lower Wensleydale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Harmby
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 5NU
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 91
Open: 16/03/2021 to 05/11/2021
           16/03/2022 to 05/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 594 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site set in an old disused quarry.

Itís well maintained with good facilities.

The walk into Leyburn is 20-30 minutes, and itís a nice town. Hswee and Bedsle are a little furry her, by car.

Forbidden Corner is worth a visit too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Manna 7 reviews from this member

 We booked this last minute and had a few worries looking at previous reviews!

We were a late arrival so allocated a pitch, the pitch was plenty big enough for us and surprisingly we would of probably picked it anyway.

The Tv signal is still hit and miss. This is not the campsites fault, the transmitter bunt down but there are dvds to borrow if you need to watch something.

We visited the waterfall and Leyburn, a nice steady walk but not overly far (20mins). Plenty of shops, pubs and cafes.

We booked a Sunday lunch at the Golden Lion (book as we watched over 20 familyís turned away) meal excellent size and well cooked.

I am so pleased we went and kept an open mind as we have had a fantastic weekend.

We did hear the peacock, but only on one night and tbh no worse than home with foxes/cockerels/cats fighting and it added to the ambience of the site.

Facilities clean plenty of water and bins and we did not see any rubbish or dog Poo even in the dog walk area.

Excellently run site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ashbrofeeds 5 reviews from this member

 Would not recommend this site for the following reasons:

The site was too jammed in and everyone on top of each other, no views whatsoever.

The resident peacock Made a loud noise all night! I live on a farm, but still found this extremely annoying.

Lastly in the evening we could not sit outside because of a foul smell, which seemed to come from the toilet block!

Very disappointed as this is a Caravan and Motorhome approved site. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 618 reviews from this member

 A bit different to the normal we come to expect from CAMC. For sure pitches are generally a bit smaller and there are a lot of non awning pitches. We found that the non awning were in some of the sunnier spots and often hardly smaller than awning pitches.

We choose the bottom level which had plenty of sun through the trees for most of the day. The higher levels do seem roomier though.

Facilities are fine, ancient but always clean. Did find the hit water a but tepid in the morning and that's with only a third of showers in use due to Covid.

Friday is market day in Leyburn, just a couple of stalls, about a 25-20 minutes gentle walk from the campsite. On route you pass a chocolate shop where you can watch handmade chocolates bring made and if course fill your bags with treats. (There is a market in Northallerton on a Thursday which was more worthwhile with lots of stalls).

There is a fenced fog field at the top of the road into the site. Great for larger dogs to run free but smaller dogs (Shih Tzu / Terriers) can just walk under the gate so not good for anything much smaller than a Cookerpoo I would guess.

Overall we found the site to be very quiet and peaceful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Damaca 62 reviews from this member

 A nice site, but we thought that the layout, with many trees and steep banks and inclines made every pitch rather too dark and shady.

A good pedestrian-only walking exit from the site and down a few hundred yards to the local pub, bus stop and pavement walk 1 - 1 1/2 miles into Leyburn.

Middleham castle nearby is well worth a visit, as are Aysgarth Falls. You need to drive to the latter.

The access road to the site is steep and narrow, but short. They have timed entry and exit hours so in theory you shouldn't meet anyone coming the opposite way. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 594 reviews from this member

 Lovely site set in a disused quarry.

Facilities excellent.

Great pub a few minutes walk, and the town of Leyburn is about one mile. Nice town with a good range of shops, pubs and cafes.

Excellent walking in the area.

Good access to many area in the Dales. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: MelDonna 1 review from this member

 I really do not know why people say such negative stuff about this site. Itís clean and friendly. The toilets and showers are in a older style building but kept very clean.

The lane down to the site has passing places and you should not drive fast as there are people walking on it. If you canít handle the odd turn and gentle hill then you should not be touring.

The staff are great and the site is nicely spaced out and not in a regimental way but sections through trees. Lovely park.

We come here every year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jsparkes201148 28 reviews from this member

 Access to the site was no problem with 7. 3m caravan and kia Sorento.

Very friendly welcome, pitches are a variety of sizes and our caravan just about fit on the pitch we chose. A couple came in a 8+m motorhome and had to try a few pitches before they found one big enough.

We liked the site very much and will certainly return. Toilets were fine, spotlessly clean. , Leyburn 5 mins drive and a pub 10 min walk.

Harmby Waterfall 2 mins from the pub and worth a visit.

We ate at the Old Horn Inn, freshly cooked food at vert reasonable prices.

Looking forward to our next visit to the site.

TV reception was good as was 4G, CAMH Club wifi only at reception. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Countrywalker1 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site; the staff are very helpful and friendly; many local attractions with Leyburn a great place to visit and stock up on supplies.

I would recommend this site; it is very peaceful and amenities as expected are all on hand. Site has a local pub nearby which is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 40 reviews from this member

 Contrary to previous reviews, we found access to and from the site trouble free. We were in a motorhome and could see why some people towing may lack confidence but if you visit the countryside often then these narrow roads should be expected, if you are not confident, stop on a site at a motorway junction instead. We also found the facilities clean and well maintained.

The wardens were extremely friendly. Our pitch was on a balcony style area overlooking the lower tier of the park and the view, peace and quiet was much appreciated as even though the site was busy, it was indeed tranquil.

I thought some of the pitches would probably benefit from a little tlc but to be honest, think harsh gravel edges of hardstanding pitches would be detrimental to the feel of the site which I thought fitted in with it's surroundings beautifully.

The town of Leyburn is very accessible from the site and plenty of shops, eateries available. The only issue we had was that the motorhome waste water drain wasn't in the ideal place to drain our tank being on a slight incline and we thought our tank was empty but in driving away realised it wasn't so we spilt some waste water on the way out. We do not normally advocate emptying waste in the wrong place but it was just soapy water on this occasion and we will ensure all taps are closed next time we travel.

We will visit again without hesitation. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Wensleydale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Wensleydale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lower Wensleydale Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leyburn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement