Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bromyard Downs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Worcester > Bromyard Downs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Bromyard Downs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Brockhampton
Bringsty
Worcester
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
WR6 5TE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 36
Open: 16/03 To 15/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: John51uk 1 review from this member

Noisy site from adjacent main road, motorbikes love this road.

Other than the traffic noise a well maintained site up to usual club standards. Bromyard only 2 miles away bus stop out of gate but infrequent service. Good dog walking.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunbeam03 24 reviews from this member

Easily accessible from the main road situated halfway between Hereford & Worcester. The site is an old quarry on 2 levels on our visit the upper level was quite packed in, some pitches are shaded but upon arrival you are able to walk around to choose your pitch so choose with care.

No toilets/showers as advertised, information room very good, warm welcome by the staff.

The highlight is walking over the downs which is accessed across the road (excellent views & recommended) Brockhampton estate (national trust)a short walk away also a dog friendly pub within walking distance which also does food.

Other reviews have mentioned the road noise which we didn't notice as said perhaps previously choose pitch with care.

Public transport is right outside the campsite with a bus route to Hereford & Worcester Bromyard itself is a short drive and boasts takeaways, shops and a supermarket.

Will definitely return

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ewing 3 5 reviews from this member

If you can manage on a park without a facility block then this park is just fine. The grounds are well maintained and set out over two separate levels which makes it feel like quite a small park. We pitched on a hard standing on the lower section which at £10.00 per night including elec hook up is very good value.

Due to its location in an old quarry there is very little outlook other than the trees surrounding the park, there is some road noise from the A44 but as others have said it is not too bad at all.

There is an information room providing details of local attractions and places to eat and the reception stocks a small amount of local produce and can order you a morning paper.

The food at the Royal Oak on the Bromyard Downs (along the road opposite the park entrance) is very good.

Would certainly return to this park.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smith21 2 reviews from this member

A typical Caravan Club 'no facility' site. We don't need facilities as we have already paid for them when we purchased the caravan. We were pitched on the lower of the two pitching areas and though we were aware of the A44 it caused us absolutely no problem at all.
The office could be open for longer hours as it is on Caravan Club sites with volunteer Wardens such as Aberbran. A nice central location for visiting the area but I would suggest advance booking is necessary as on our visit the site was almost full.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

Visited over August bank holiday for 3 nights.

Can't add too much more than previous reviews.

We stayed on the upper level & the more than helpful warden was putting everyone on the grass pitches with his tractor, due to the wet grass. We too noticed the road noise at times, but it wasn't over excessive. Small intimate site that needed levelling blocks on the grass ,as the few hardstandings were all taken. Pleasant feel to the place surrounded by woodland, & most pitches had the sun at some point during the day. It was a relaxing weekend for us & only drove to Bromyard town for a wander round, but we did have a couple of walks over the downs & around the grounds of Brockhampton ,direct from the site.

A no frills site, but if you get the weather another nice place to spend a weekend.

Good value for money at only £7 per night.Very cheerful & helpful wardens.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- The site is directly off the A44 Worcester-Leominster road. Approaching from the Worcester direction the site is about a mile and a half from Bromyard. Watch out for the entrance to the National Trust property called the Brockhampton Estate on the right, the site is about a 100 metres further on, down the hill from here on the left.

This is one of the Club's no facility campsites without a shower and toilet block. It does accept non members but not tents. The site does have 16amp electrics and of the 40 pitches about a third are on hardstanding and the rest grass.
The site (formally a quarry) is set out in two separate areas, one lower near to reception and a higher section both with their own service points. The whole site is well wooded which gives an intimate feel. There are no facilities for children although from the comments book a lot of them enjoy playing in the woods that surround the site.
The reception keeps limited hours as there is just one couple running the site, however there are clear instructions on how to find a pitch. When reception is open they sell a range of local products including milk and eggs and newspapers can be ordered the day before. During our visit in 2008 site fees were £7 a night which is excellent value.

There are many excursion that can be taken from this site. Worcester and Hereford are not so far away but there are also many smaller towns well worth a visit including Tenbury Wells, Ludlow, Leominster and Malvern. For the more energetic Bromyard Downs are very near to the site and details of walks are posted in the site information hut.
For food shopping there is a nice Co-Op Supermarket in Bromyard. (follow signs to Tenbury Wells) For the larger supermarkets, Malvern, has a good selection. The National Trust Brockhampton Estate is well worth a visit especially the half timbered, moated, Manor House. They also have a nice tea shop near the main entrance.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

This site has a lot going for it. The countryside is beautiful, the wardens are lovely, it is very close to a lovely National Trust Estate and there are lots of walks in the area. There is a bus stop outside the entrance which goes to Bromyard / Hereford or to Worcester the other way about every couple of hours or so, I think. Bromyard with shops etc is about a mile or so up the road.

There seem to be quite a few places to eat in the area although I'm not sure if any are within walking distance, at least at night.

However, the site is in a small former quarry and we weren't lucky with the weather which may explain why we found our pitch in the lower area and surrounded by very tall trees, vaguely depressing and strangely claustrophobic. There are more open pitches but all the hardstandings were taken and we were not permitted to park the motorhome on grass.
It may have felt very different in the sunshine and I don't wish to detract from the site's good position for touring the area. There was a bit of road noise from the A44 but not overly intrusive. We may return but only if we could be guaranteed a more open pitch.

Reviewer: Ricpop 25 reviews from this member

June 2005
Although this site is only 10 miles from my home, I went there for a quick couple of nights. There are no toilets or showers but other than that it is up to the usual Caravan club standards. The site is on 2 levels, the upper level is grass pitches and the lower level is hardstanding all with EHU. The site is quiet and in a lovelly setting, it is an old quarry that is overgrown with mature trees and abounds with wild life. The area around thsite is well worth a visit.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3654 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019