Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bushey Heath Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Bushey Heath Farm Reviews

Bushey Heath Farm
Pittlemere Lane
Tideswell Moor
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 8JE
Tel: 01298 605022
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60+ people
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Channy2409 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived home from this campsite, it's a well looked after site there are 2 unisex toilets and showers, £1 for 10 mins, the toilets had plenty of loo roll and clean.

We just arrived and pitched our tent, we spoke to the owner but it wasn't until the 2nd day when we paid, they a both very friendly. It was priced at £7 per person per night and free for our dog and 15 months old daughter.

There is a water tap and recycling bibs but no pot washing area, we just boiled up some water and washed them in a bowl at the tent.

The site is well looked after and sheltered from the wind. Blocks can be found around the site to have a BBQ on. There where sheep and alpaca in the next field.

Very quite site, intact there was only our tent there for our 3 night stay but some people where in the camping huts.

There is nothing around the site you have to drive to most places, there is a co op in tideswell and many pubs too.

Bakewell, Eyme and Buxton are not too far away in the car.

Overall a nice little site and I would return again in future. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirstsw 48 reviews from this member

 A well kept small campsite in the Peaks. We paid £7.00 p/p/p/n. The site has a slight slope but not that it affects your camping too much. It is sheltered under the trees and the grass is mown. There is no hook up or pot washing facilities.

There are 2 unisex toilets and showers that were kept clean with plenty of toilet roll. The showers were £1. 00 for 10 minutes. Dogs are allowed if kept on leads. There is nothing in walking distance so if its a pub or shops that you want this is not the site for you.

If you want relaxation and plenty of walks on the doorstop then this is a great little site.

Apart from walking round the campsite to collect the fees the owner left you to it.

We would definitely return and recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmajames1980 1 review from this member

 Just got back from spending a long weekend at this site and it was wonderful, the location is fantastic and owners are really friendly and it is great value at only £10 per night for two people and a car.

The site has only basic facilities 2 showers with 20p charge and 2 toilets however they are clean and well maintained,we have had to use worse.

People have mentioned the slope but where we pitched near the woods wasn't too bad and if you get there early you can choose where you pitch as there are no marked pitches.

It was fully booked whilst we were there with a mix of families and couples but it was fine we weren't all tripping over each other and there was plenty of room for the children there to play. The owner told us that rather than a cap on pitches they have a cap on the amount of people which they have recently reduced as they felt it was too busy.

The campsite is near tideswell which has a few nice pubs we would also recommend the Moon Inn in stoney middleton about 10 minutes away in Stoney middleton a lovely pub with really friendly staff and lovely food.

The campsite is excellently placed for access to all kinds of walks one of the one we went on was Padley Gorge which is well worth a visit.

All in all this campsite ticks all the boxes if you like a peaceful, laid back atmosphere in a gorgeous location and great value for money. We can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Love-to-camp 1 review from this member

 We had a great weekend at this campsite and would definitely go back. We wanted a quiet, peaceful weekend (grandparents had the children), just to get away from it all, and this site was ideal. We pitched up under a tree in a corner of the campsite and were surprised at how sheltered from the wind we were, it wasn't the best weather, but we were very warm and snug in our little tent!
The farmer was welcoming and advised us of a great walk which took us through Cave Dale and into Castleton, it was beautiful! There were 2 showers and 2 toilets, which were clean and well equipped, a water tap and a couple of big rubbish bins.Nothing was difficult or awkward, it was just basic, pleasant and peaceful. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beakker 1 review from this member

 My wife and I visited in expectation of a peaceful weekend away from a houseful of teenagers. We 'phoned a couple of days beforehand to book and were told that there weren't many bookings for the weekend and it should be very quiet.

Unfortunately, the site has a turn-up-and-pitch policy and by the time we arrived, there was very little space left. From memory, there were 23 tents up so the suggested 50 pitches is very optimistic. The site was definitely popular with families but the lack of space for children to play meant that footballs were bouncing off of tents left right and centre.

However, on a positive note, the location is perfect in the Peak District, the facilities whilst basic were adequate and clean, the owners were friendly and at £10 for the night for two adults and car, very reasonable. Definitely worth a visit but beware that it may not be peaceful or quiet! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dw85 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a two night stay at this campsite and it was not too bad to be fair. The slope as previously mentioned is a bit deceiving as I believed I had pitched on a flat part of the farm but then when I went to bed I was sliding off the airbed and also when I attempted to cook the cooker nearly slid off the top of my kitchen!

The toilet block is two toilets, one sink and two showers at a cost of £1 for ten minutes or 20p for two minutes. One of them was very spacious which gave plenty of room for getting dry in - more important on this trip because a combination of the weather plus a freshly mowed field saw a lot of grass trodden into the shower area. Because of this indication, I was also disappointed as I felt the toilet block was not cleaned in the whole time we were there. I may be wrong, however given the lack of people on site there was an awful lot of grass in the toilet block, and whilst this has happened on other sites, you can visit the toilets a few hours later and its all gone.

The owners were fairly laid back in the respect that we did not see them the first night and had to go over to the farmhouse to pay them on the following morning (it says as you go in they will come to you!). Not a bad site and in a good location to visit places such as Bakewell and Buxton. We had dinner at the Red Lion at nearby Litton which was very nice and reasonably priced.

Sat Nav's beware - If using the postcode and approaching from the Buxton side you first come to a Caravan club site, but you have to carry on further up the road! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joanne181170 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site having spent the bank holiday weekend there. The site is in a great position to enjoy the peaks, with plenty of small villages dotted about.

The only downside to the site for us was the slight slope, we kept sliding off our airbeds! Other than that would highly recommend it. The owners are very helpful and friendly.

Our 2 children had a fabulous time playing with the other small children there and exploring the little enclosed wooded area. Given that it was a bank holiday weekend it wasn't too busy. The toilet / shower block was basic but clean, and only had to wait 3 - 4 minutes for a shower on one of the mornings which wasn't bad for a bank holiday.

There is little within walking distance unless you are there for the walking, the walks from the site are great, plenty to go at.

This site is perfect for walkers and families and we will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pupdaddy118 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great little campsite. It is very sheltered from the wind and although it's on a hillside we easily found a flat spot for our tents. I went with a friend, two dogs and a car. It was £4/person, the dogs went free and the car was £2/night. So it was only £10/night, which is very competitive. It wasn't crowded at all while we were there, Monday to Wednesday, and it was a very relaxed and peaceful site. On bank holiday weekends they only take three night bookings.

The toilet block was good enough - one sink with cold water only, two toilets and one shower with another underway. The shower is 20p for three minutes, but you really need longer than that, so I recommend 40p for a decent wash. There is also a tap outside, but no dish washing area. This is a really eco friendly site, with recycling bins, rainwater flush for the loos and a wind turbine that powers the whole farm. There is a small shop on the farm, they sell eggs but not milk or bread.

The alpacas in the next field seemed very interested in our dogs and we caught them peering over the wall at us, which is quite an amusing sight! There were cows in a field across the road, which were making quite a fuss about something very early in the morning and I noticed there was a bit of air traffic quite early too.

According to my OS map the nearest pub is in Little Hucklow, but after walking to it we discovered it has been closed for a couple of years. We then went on to the Queen Anne in Great Hucklow (www.Queenanneinn.Co.Uk) only to discover that it doesn't open on Mondays (except Bank Holidays). So on we went towards Tideswell, we stopped at a lovely village called Litton on the way and found a pub that was open! Tideswell is only about a mile from there and we were rewarded with some lovely fish and chips at Elliots. The next day we went off road and walked over the top to Castleton, which is a nice town and then to Bradwell and back to camp.

It's a great base for good walks - in fact I'm going back there in a couple of weeks! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foggers 20 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a couple of nights at this farm site near Tideswell in Derbyshire. It is a basic, tent only site, on very quiet country lanes in the middle of perfect walking country. The location is quite high up so we noticed it was cooler and breezier than at the bottom of the valley, though the site itself is nicely sheltered with trees.
 
Their details say they have 50 pitches but I think it would be quite a feat to achieve that many! There are no marked pitches and whilst a pitch-where-you -like approach is okay for a relaxed atmosphere, on this busy bank hol it was a bit chaotic with groups who had evidently booked together whose groupings spilled all over. Coupled with this there is no play area for children so there were ball games and lawn darts etc happening all over. To be fair the owner Rod warned us it would be quite busy with families, and there was not a problem in terms of behaviour; it just means that this is one to avoid on a bank hol if you don't want the entertainment of cricket/football/rounders happening 10 feet away whilst you are trying to cook your brekkie! (Though we quite enjoy the banter of kids at play).
 
Prices at £4 per adult and £2 for vehicle meant it was £10 a night for us. There is a small unisex facilities block with one (very good) shower which takes 20p for a 3 min shower, so 40p is a minimum for a decent wash. There are 2 loos in there as well. It was all very clean but unheated and a bit cramped with queues at this busy weekend. They have a farm shop open at 9 that sells their own eggs and snacks etc and will freeze your ice packs for 20p too. We were impressed by their eco-friendly approach, with recycling bins and rain water flushing of the loos, and a wind turbine providing power for their other accommodation (there are bunk barns and a 6 berth static caravan but no EHU on camping field).
 
The area is superb for walkers with Edale just a short drive away, and many of Derbyshire's finest peaks and valleys close by. Tideswell with it's lovely church (and excellent fish n chip shop!) is just 2 miles away. The Chestnut centre is well worth a visit for animal lovers - otters and owls in a woodland valley.
 
For us this was a perfect weekend site; great location, cheap, relaxed and very friendly but not one for those who need their creature comforts. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pollydolly 1 review from this member

 This is a great small family friendly site. The ground isn't anywhere near flat on any of the ground - all on a slope - but it's not too bad. The sheep and alpacas in the next field are a real interest point. The facilities are very basic. Just one cold water tap, 1 not so great shower and 2 toilets. However, it's in a great position - off the beaten track. It's a nice small site and the owners are very friendly. There isn't much in walking distance.
 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bushey Heath Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Bushey Heath Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3270 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement