Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fortrose Bay Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fortrose > Fortrose Bay Campsite Reviews

Fortrose Bay Campsite
Wester Greengates
Fortrose
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV10 8RX
Tel: 01381 621927
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04 To 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

A very busy and popular site, we rang ahead on the day we were looking for a pitch and very few left. The pitches next to the sea go first, those behind still have views though. On many of the pitches the electric posts are across the paths so your cables will be driven over - worth taking a rubber cover is staying long (the site has a couple).

All the pitches have ehu, there are several fresh water and grey disposal areas. Whilst both facilities blocks are old they are immaculate, always. The warden works tirelessy to keep the site looking lovely.

Without a doubt Dolphin watching at Chanonry Point is a great draw for the site. Its a ile down the golf course to the point, we saw dolphins on the incimmong tide and were told they had been there every day that week.

We spoke to many other campers who were just starting or just ending a trip on the NC500 route, a good place to chill out and relax.

It's a site we have used before, will use again and recommend.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Beebeebus 8 reviews from this member

Third time staying here. Lovely friendly site. Well set out right on the edge of the sea.

Toilets and showers are cleaned regularly and have a wee bunch of fresh flowers.

Rachel works hard at keeping the site tidy and can be seen riding up and down on her bicycle directing newcomers to their pitch. She arrived this morning with a basket full of Easter eggs and gave one to all of the campers.

Plenty space between units so doesn't feel crowded. I love this site.

There is a great walk along the edge of the sea to chanonrey point where if you are lucky you can see the dolphins and a walk to the village of Fortrose where you will find a co-op, a bakers, crafts hops, pharmacy and a couple of cafés.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lucyjcooke 3 reviews from this member

We loved this site. We got a very warm welcome from the friendly owners and they were very knowledgable about the local area.

We booked our pitch online and were able to choose which one we wanted before turning up which I think is an excellent idea. We watched dolphins in the distance from our caravan which was very special indeed.

The shower block was very clean and had lovely warm water. The site was full but was very quiet and I would not hesitate to come back here to stay. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

Came here because the nearby C&CC site at Rosemarkie was (crammed) full, with motorhomes camping informally for free behind the beach just outside the site boundary - that must be irritating when you've you've paid your site fees. No regrets & would be happy to come back to Fortrose next time.

There are similaries between the two sites - both have pitches at the back of the shore, a minor road passing through, very pleasant managers & the same distance to walk to the Point to see dolphins (or not - it was flat calm when we went & a 'no show'. Download a free tides app and get there an hour after low tide. )

Differences? This site was cheaper; views are to the inner Firth, Inverness and the mountains & the sunsets to the west. There's gorse here so it feels a bit more natural; beach is stony, sandy at the Rosemarkie site.

We found this site relaxed (minimum essential rules) and relaxing; the manager cycles up & down regularly; no site Wifi but there's 4G mobile; there's a homely family holiday feel about the place that we liked, with a lot of Continental visitors to chat to. The dog enjoyed her walks beside the nearby golf course.

Fortrose cathedral square is interesting, there are good wee shops & excellent coffee (e. G. IV10, there are other coffee shops). Cromarty is a beautiful little village with a lot going on - Gallery 48 maybe the best in our fortnight up north.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulgough 9 reviews from this member

We have visited The Black Isle on a number of occasions but this was our first at Fortrose Bay. There are a range of pitch options although the most sought after are the ones which look out onto The Moray Firth which are splendid.

The owners have made a tremendous effort to make visitors feel welcome and go out of their way to accommodate individual needs. We spoke to a number of people who commented on the improvements made in the last 3 years. There are plenty of hook ups and the facilities coped well despite the site being busy.

The village which is just a short walk away provides access to a supermarket, bakers, butchers and a post office plus a pretty little harbour.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would have no hesitation in using it again or recommending to other campers especially if their objective is to watch the dolphins and enjoy enjoy a great camping experience.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Princess123 2 reviews from this member

We had travelled quite a distance to this site, we originally asked for privacy because of the dogs, we have three little ones so we wanted privacy as well as privacy for others, as soon as we saw where we were we knew straight away that we would not get any peace,

We are in firing line for every child to run passed your van round as there is a fairy dell next to us so you can imagine all the kids come to see it, which in lovely but not when the kids then use your caravan as a play area, and we’ve had to tell them over and over again to stop,

This part we are on may be private earlier and later in the year but not in the school holidays, then a load of people arrived next to us straight away kids climbing up the trees over our part of course and to say that people were complaining would be an understatement.

So with an unhappy heart we have phoned ahead to our next site to see if we can come a couple of days earlier yippee we can, so for what we thought would be a lovely relaxing holiday wasn’t on the plus side the views are lovely unfortunately we won’t return

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SmallB 11 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site for one night at the end of my trip on the NC500.

The owners was incredibly helpful and gave me a full overview of the facilities and site when I arrived.

The toilet block and shower were very clean and there was a really useful kitchen area that also had a washing machine and microwave. I think there is a newer shower block up the site although I didn't use it.

The location is superb looking right across a loch with great views towards Inverness. Plenty of dolphins and seals in the area and I also found myself watching the planes flying in to Inverness airport across the loch.

I'd definitely recommend the site, it's a great base to explore the Black Isle.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: EmzieP 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site, perfect location right on the beach of Moray Firth.

Village was 10 minutes walk and had Coop so we could get supplies. There is a little pub but we didn't go in there.

Main reason for choosing this site is that its close to Chanonry Point where the dolphins and seals can be seen. It's about half a mile along the side of a golf course and we chose to go about 11am but the dolphins had been seen at various times during the day.

We were told when the tide turns is when they come in for the salmon. We were not disappointed, they appeared along with the seals and were jumping out of the water, so great photo opportunity if you have a decent camera.

My husband used their toilets and showers and said they were clean as they were cleaned regularly. All in all lovely site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rocky B 2 reviews from this member

Fabulous site right by the beach. Flat grass pitches ideal for tents and a toilet/shower block with kitchen round the back with everything you could need - hot water, washer & dryer, kettle and microwave plus loads of local info and even a little nature hunt on the site for the kids.

The road cuts through the middle of the site but it's so quiet it didn't matter at all.

A delightful fifteen minute walk along the coastal golf course takes you to the point to look out for the dolphins, and the owner was helpful and friendly and told us about plenty of other things to find beyond that in Rosemarkie. Beautiful sandy beach, rockpools, a beach cafe and even a cave further along round the coast, not to mention an excellent local play park that we wouldn't have known about from just looking at the map!

Couldn't have been happier with our pitch for the night. Brilliant price/value for money too!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Renwickv 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 5 nights at Fortrose Caravan Site. The weather was great and the site first class.

The Pitch was great, one of the best on site, therefore not saying which as I will be looking for it on my return visit.

The site is well managed and owner very pleasant and helpful. The site was extremely busy which proves its popularity.

Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3689 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019