Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Treamble Valley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Treamble Valley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Rose
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 9PR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 149
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coalhog 9 reviews from this member

Stayed at this lovely site for 5 nights. Great staff very helpful. The road to the site is narrow but plenty passing places. Lovely beaches and dog friendly.

We walked from the site to perrenporth, about 1 hour. Would recommend this lovely well laid out clean site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DianeDavey 5 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 2 weeks at the start of August and will certainly be visiting again.

The location is great, not too far off the main road into Newquay, the approach road is quite narrow so care needs to be taken, we arrived overnight and left early in the morning so didn't meet anyone coming the other way, this may have been tricky at busier times.

The site is set into a (quite steep) hill with pitches on terraces going down the hill. Most pitches seemed relatively level and there are a fair number of hard standing but levelling blocks may be needed on some pitches. The pitches are in small groups apart from a large pitching area towards the bottom of the site near the children’s play area. All of the pitches are a good size as per usual on a Caravan Club site.

The wash block is halfway down the hill (no matter where you pitch you will either walk up hill there or up hill back). With only 1 wash block I was expecting it to be busy but I didn't have to wait for a shower once and I only saw one person waiting on 1 occasion. The wash blocks are starting to look a little tired but are to a typical caravan club standard and style and were well cleaned every day. There is an outside wetsuit shower as well for when you come back from the beach.

The playground on site is fantastic. It's a very large area with lots of equipment including climbing frames, swings, a zip wire, room for ball games and seating areas for the older children. This is probably the best Caravan Club play area I've seen.

The dog walk on this site is also exceptional (still set into that hill so you'll get fit whether you like it or not!) lots of space for the dogs to run off the lead with paths to take looping around so the dogs get a good run.

Newquay is around 20 minutes away for local shops, very large Morrisons being the nearest with Aldi, Asda and Sainsburys in the town. Perranporth has a medium sized Co-op which is probable 15 minutes away.

There is so much to do in this area it's fantastic. We spent a lot of time on the local beaches, mostly using the National Trust car parks at Crantock and Holywell (get there early to park as the car parks on good days are getting full by 9. 30 on sunny days).

We really enjoyed visiting this site and would fully recommend it. This won’t be our last visit!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wizzy Seas 3 reviews from this member

Just got home after an extended 11 night stay here - it is a great family caravan site and the staff were very friendly and helpful!

We probably experienced the campsite at its worst - it was full when we arrived and we had 6 days of awfull rainy weather. We only had a choice of 4 sites when we arrived on Sunday and (luckily) we squeezed onto the last hard standing pitch. After all the rain some of the grass pitches were not in a good shape despite the best efforts of the wardens.

Positives:

Toilets kept very clean

Great hardstanding pitches

Visiting pizza van was fantastic (there was also a fish and chip van and a visiting butcher which we didn't try)

Excellent site wardens

Great play park

Perfect location close to beeches and the cyder farm!

Negatives (minor):

2 of of the showers on the right in the gents hardly worked.

No phone reception (we knew this in advance though) and poor wifi (not available from our pitch)

We would highly recommend this site and will definitely be returning again!

PS. Really don't use sat nav to get to the site! We tried several 'quicker' routes without the van on the back and they were all extremely narrow. The left turn out if the site through to Holywell bay challenged my off-road driving skills and pushed our 4x4 to the limit of what is comfortable without risking damage :-)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mim Clark 8 reviews from this member

The location is excellent and the site very pretty.

The wardens were very helpful and friendly.

Facilities were clean as expected from a club site although there were queues to use the gents showers quite often.

Pizza van and fish and chip van were good though expensive. There is also a butcher 3 days a week but we weren't in when they called.

Hard standing pitches are close together and the middle area appears crowded.

We had a grass pitch which was a mistake. Lots of room but very poor drainage so our awning was flooded and unusable. We moved to a different pitch but this wasn't much better. Consequently we had to leave 3 days early.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Staffies 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights during October half term in our Racket Solena. Campsite was not even half full but wardens were very helpful and attentive. Slight concern on our hookup not reaching as we had pitched as instructed but our trailer hookup entrance was in a different place to a normal caravan. Not a problem though and we enjoyed our 4 days in the mist and cloud. Site is very well kept, lovely long dog walk which runs up the whole site and showers and facilities were immaculate. Our friends came to see us and were able to park in the small car park and their children enjoyed the play area whilst on site.

Lovely remote location but close enough to Perranporth and St Agnes where we enjoyed a good meadery or two! Sadly have sold our TT now but would definitely go back again if it ever allowed tents!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

We stayed for a long weekend, the site is very nice. Spotless facilities, layout is good so the site doesn't feel as large as it is. No mobile phone signal but wifi is available if needed. Staff were very friendly. We had a hard standing pitch and they had obviously put a lot of effort into levelling the pitches when they created the site. The lane is a but of a scary tow and there is no avoiding it, but we didn't come across any other caravans so all good.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Louish 5 reviews from this member

Two adults, 15 year old girl and 11 year boy stayed here for the last two weeks of August including the August Bank Holiday weekend.

Arrival: I can see why they say do not arrive early and leave on time – the access road is an uphill single track road about about 1/3 mile long with limited passing places. If you meet a caravan coming the other way, you’re basically knackered unless you’re great at reversing (we did and I’m not!). We arrived 11:15 on Sunday morning and on arrival, there’s an arrivals field to the left where you park up in line (takes around 15 cars / caravans) and at midday, one of the wardens comes up the hill and calls 3 outfits at a time down to reception to look for a pitch and book in. You should make use of your time in the arrivals field by looking around the site for a few pitches you like as the procedure (at peak times it seems) is to get called down to reception at which point, you leave the outfit in front of reception and go and choose a pitch whilst you’re parked up at reception. It doesn’t seem too efficient but I can 100% see whilst they do it as loads of vans all manoeuvring through the site at the same time would be a nightmare. All in all, check-in was well organised and hassle free (but we were second in the arrivals queue with about another 10 outfits behind us and had a good choice of pitches).

Pitches: We went for a hard standing on ‘the shelf’. The awnings are South facing so with the way the hedging is, you get ok morning sun and brilliant day / evening sun. The pitches on the shelf are undoubtedly tight if you pitch the van ‘on the peg’. My car (admittedly a largish 4x4) encroached slightly on the 6-foot wide grass area of the pitch to the left of mine. A mover is essential for ‘the shelf’ as there’s a low fence directly opposite. My advice (if you can get away with it) would be to give yourself a few extra inches and pitch slightly to the right of the peg – you’ll still have space to get the awning on the hard standing and also the car. We had a look at the other pitches at the site - there’s a huge variety and you’ll find something that suits (the problem may be that there’s already someone pitched in it though!). We like the hard standings but they do have a regimented feel to them and are definitely smaller than the grass pitches. On the downside, the grass pitches slope a little so blocks (warden supplied) may be required. If we visit again, we would go for ‘the shelf’ again.

On site facilities: Given we were in the middle of the school holidays, the site was fully booked but felt fine. There were loads of kids of all ages scootering / biking / skateboarding so be prepared for this if you get a corner pitch near the bottom of the site. Everything quietens down with sunset. A butcher visits a couple of times a week (we didn’t try) as does a mobile burger / fish & chip van. The fish and chips were absolutely lovely but you do have to wait for up to 20 mins as they cook to order. Get up there as they set-up and get your order in. Plenty of water / waste points throughout the site. There’s a play-field which attracted the kids – we didn’t go in there. Dog walking facilities were excellent - as well as the area on the site, a public footpath runs though the middle of the site (behind ‘the shelf’). There’s absolutely no mobile phone signal (on O2 and 3 at least) unless you walk up to the arrivals field. We used the club wireless internet and it was fine – a bit flaky in the evenings but ok for checking e-mails / browsing. The shop stocked the essentials for emergency purchases. There’s nothing close by (pubs / eating places) so you need to get in the car unless you’re just out for a walk. When you come out of the site, you can turn right to go into Perranporth – we did and regretted it. The access road is like a 3-lane motorway compared to the road if you turn right out of the site – avoid!

Toilet block: This seems to be a common cause for complaint. When we were there, the site was full. In the gents, there are (from memory!) 9 showers, 5 sinks and 6 toilets and some urinals (I think in the ladies there are extra toilets to replace the urinals). We never had to queue for a shower but did see a queue or 2-3 people a couple of times around 10am (they close at 10. 30 for cleaning). There were a couple of times where there was also a queue for ‘the traps’ in the gents…there’s nothing like a warm seat in the morning. All in all, we were fine with the toilet-block facilities. There’s a very useful wet-suit shower outside the toilet block and a washing up area. The toilet block is pretty central to the site so if you’re at the top / the bottom, you’ll have a few minutes uphill / downhill walk - fine if you’re able.

In the area: Perranporth / Newquay are about 6 miles / 15 mins away. In Perranporth, it was pretty busy when the sun was out and we parked in the municipal car-park at £6 per 24 hours (we used the mobile phone booking service which was great). There are cheaper parking options but there involve a longer walk to the beach – fine if you’re not lugging loads of stuff for a day-out. The beach there is brilliant. Padstow (the speedboat trip is brill), St Agnes, St Ives and Porthtowan all get honourable mentions as great places to visit – we weren’t disappointed with anywhere we visited – Cornwall really is a great place. We mainly ate in the van but did have a meal out in ‘the Watering Hole’ on Perranporth beach. It was lovely to see the sun go down whilst eating. Prices were ok, ok service and good food. It was busy but I think that was because there was a prem match on sky. The Perran Dairy Ice-cream parlor and Chapman’s butchers in the high-street were both excellent. There’s a couple of low cost supermarkets in Perrsaporth and a larger Morrisons on the way to Newquay.

Overall, this is a lovely site and we’d visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Boomerangs 18 reviews from this member

Again, a warmer welcome would be appreciated.

Site beautifully landscaped. Plenty of wildlife around. Woodpecker greeted us on arrival to our pitch!

Lots of walks from site, Holywell Bay is a must. Plenty of eateries too. Liskeard, nice place to visit. Easily accessible with a motorhome.

Facilities good.

We were pitched in a quieter part of site which suited us to a tee.

TV good, mobile reception. = 0. Bliss if you have left young adults at home!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barney23 3 reviews from this member

We have recently returned from a stay at this beautiful site. The site is kept in pristine condition by the most friendliest and hardworking Wardens we have encountered during our years with the Club.

The site is well managed with hardstanding and grass pitching arears which make the site very pretty and spacious.

The site is on the doorstep to the most beautiful beaches Crantock and Holywell Bay. The location makes this a great base to tour the Cornwall Coast.

Pay this site a visit it's a must! Thank you Treamble for a great stay we'll be back soon.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CarpenterClan 15 reviews from this member

Nestling right in the middle of the countryside half way between Perranporth and Newquay is this lovely site, mostly sloping with a mixture of grass and hard standing pitches.

Typical Caravan Club site of a very high standard. Plenty of hook ups with TV points too. Plenty of bins regularly emptied. Plenty of water points etc. Wardens are very friendly and keep the site beautiful with spotless showers and toilets and weed free gardens.

There is a choice of dog walks, their own which is also a nature trail and a public footpath that goes through the site. If you like wildlife you will love this site, there are so many rabbits here, they come out in broad daylight as well as at night, then there are Buzzards calling to each other and circling around, at night there are bats and owls calling, it’s enchanting.

There is a large play area for kids and the site certainly attracts a lot of kiddies in the school holidays, riding around on scooters and bikes.

There is no phone signal though; you have to walk up to the top of the site to get anything. The shop is very small, they don’t sell much, there is a Londis in Cubert 3 miles away, there is also good phone signal there, or there is a big Morrisons in Newquay 4. 5 miles away.

A butcher comes to the site 3 times a week selling meat, sausages, eggs, black pudding, cream, desserts etc. , a Fish & Chip van comes twice a week and a lady selling strawberries about once a week. The shop will get you a paper if you order one.

Would definitely return to this site.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2946 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019