Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Treamble Valley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Treamble Valley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Treamble Valley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Rose
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 9PR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 149
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jayarbee 38 reviews from this member

 Approach could be a bit tricky but we didn’t experience any problems.

This is a CAMC site so you know what to expect.

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady who told us what’s what.

Place very empty so we picked a nice pitch with no near neighbours.

Pitches pretty level most seemed to have EHU.

Lavatory/shower block always very clean.

Seemed a very quiet site but there was hardly anyone there!

Reckoned to have a good dog walk according to a passing Labrador.

The weather during our stay was unbearably hot and we are not good in heat,

We also had a minor medical emergency which affected a couple of days. Worth mentioning that the NHS were terrific.

Went to Newquay, not impressed. Also went to Trerice, an NT property. That was quite nice.

Should mention a small village called Cubert because it has an exceptionally good chip pie.

The Boss had cod and chips which she pronounced excellent and I had a burger and chips alsoExcellent.

It was only a 5 day visit so didn’t get a chance to do much. We would go back.

You can even hear the sea lions at night. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rover1953 2 reviews from this member

 The site itself is accessed via a typical narrow cornish road about half a mile of a main road, not a problem for most drivers.

It is sited on the side of the valley so a slopping site but all pitches are virtually flat.

There is a walk from site to Perranporth beach, Not for the faint hearted, about 2 miles. Facilities are clean.

Ideal site to visit the cornish coast, Newquay, ST Ives, Falmouth, The Lizard(NT) also Truro within 1Hour journey.

Walking on site to exercise the dogs ideal walks through woods and hillside above the site.

Really enjoyed this Peaceful site.

Will go back when again in this area. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: D1onna 1 review from this member

 This was our first experience of the caravan world. Treamble Valley staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them.

The toilet and shower blocks are immaculately clean. A local butcher van, chip van and pizza van visit the site on a regular basis.

We will visit this site again without a doubt. It’s hard to find another site for our next holiday that has the high standards as here.

Thank you Treamble Valley for our amazing stay.

See you soon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coalhog 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this lovely site for 5 nights. Great staff very helpful. The road to the site is narrow but plenty passing places. Lovely beaches and dog friendly.

We walked from the site to perrenporth, about 1 hour. Would recommend this lovely well laid out clean site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DianeDavey 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 2 weeks at the start of August and will certainly be visiting again.

The location is great, not too far off the main road into Newquay, the approach road is quite narrow so care needs to be taken, we arrived overnight and left early in the morning so didn't meet anyone coming the other way, this may have been tricky at busier times.

The site is set into a (quite steep) hill with pitches on terraces going down the hill. Most pitches seemed relatively level and there are a fair number of hard standing but levelling blocks may be needed on some pitches. The pitches are in small groups apart from a large pitching area towards the bottom of the site near the children’s play area. All of the pitches are a good size as per usual on a Caravan Club site.

The wash block is halfway down the hill (no matter where you pitch you will either walk up hill there or up hill back). With only 1 wash block I was expecting it to be busy but I didn't have to wait for a shower once and I only saw one person waiting on 1 occasion. The wash blocks are starting to look a little tired but are to a typical caravan club standard and style and were well cleaned every day. There is an outside wetsuit shower as well for when you come back from the beach.

The playground on site is fantastic. It's a very large area with lots of equipment including climbing frames, swings, a zip wire, room for ball games and seating areas for the older children. This is probably the best Caravan Club play area I've seen.

The dog walk on this site is also exceptional (still set into that hill so you'll get fit whether you like it or not!) lots of space for the dogs to run off the lead with paths to take looping around so the dogs get a good run.

Newquay is around 20 minutes away for local shops, very large Morrisons being the nearest with Aldi, Asda and Sainsburys in the town. Perranporth has a medium sized Co-op which is probable 15 minutes away.

There is so much to do in this area it's fantastic. We spent a lot of time on the local beaches, mostly using the National Trust car parks at Crantock and Holywell (get there early to park as the car parks on good days are getting full by 9. 30 on sunny days).

We really enjoyed visiting this site and would fully recommend it. This won’t be our last visit! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wizzy Seas 4 reviews from this member

 Just got home after an extended 11 night stay here - it is a great family caravan site and the staff were very friendly and helpful!

We probably experienced the campsite at its worst - it was full when we arrived and we had 6 days of awfull rainy weather. We only had a choice of 4 sites when we arrived on Sunday and (luckily) we squeezed onto the last hard standing pitch. After all the rain some of the grass pitches were not in a good shape despite the best efforts of the wardens.

Positives:

Toilets kept very clean

Great hardstanding pitches

Visiting pizza van was fantastic (there was also a fish and chip van and a visiting butcher which we didn't try)

Excellent site wardens

Great play park

Perfect location close to beeches and the cyder farm!

Negatives (minor):

2 of of the showers on the right in the gents hardly worked.

No phone reception (we knew this in advance though) and poor wifi (not available from our pitch)

We would highly recommend this site and will definitely be returning again!

PS. Really don't use sat nav to get to the site! We tried several 'quicker' routes without the van on the back and they were all extremely narrow. The left turn out if the site through to Holywell bay challenged my off-road driving skills and pushed our 4x4 to the limit of what is comfortable without risking damage :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mim Clark 8 reviews from this member

 The location is excellent and the site very pretty.

The wardens were very helpful and friendly.

Facilities were clean as expected from a club site although there were queues to use the gents showers quite often.

Pizza van and fish and chip van were good though expensive. There is also a butcher 3 days a week but we weren't in when they called.

Hard standing pitches are close together and the middle area appears crowded.

We had a grass pitch which was a mistake. Lots of room but very poor drainage so our awning was flooded and unusable. We moved to a different pitch but this wasn't much better. Consequently we had to leave 3 days early. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Staffies 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights during October half term in our Racket Solena. Campsite was not even half full but wardens were very helpful and attentive. Slight concern on our hookup not reaching as we had pitched as instructed but our trailer hookup entrance was in a different place to a normal caravan.

Not a problem though and we enjoyed our 4 days in the mist and cloud. Site is very well kept, lovely long dog walk which runs up the whole site and showers and facilities were immaculate.

Our friends came to see us and were able to park in the small car park and their children enjoyed the play area whilst on site.

Lovely remote location but close enough to Perranporth and St Agnes where we enjoyed a good meadery or two! Sadly have sold our TT now but would definitely go back again if it ever allowed tents! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a long weekend, the site is very nice. Spotless facilities, layout is good so the site doesn't feel as large as it is. No mobile phone signal but wifi is available if needed.

Staff were very friendly. We had a hard standing pitch and they had obviously put a lot of effort into levelling the pitches when they created the site.

The lane is a but of a scary tow and there is no avoiding it, but we didn't come across any other caravans so all good. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Louish 5 reviews from this member

 Two adults, 15 year old girl and 11 year boy stayed here for the last two weeks of August including the August Bank Holiday weekend.

Arrival: I can see why they say do not arrive early and leave on time – the access road is an uphill single track road about about 1/3 mile long with limited passing places. If you meet a caravan coming the other way, you’re basically knackered unless you’re great at reversing (we did and I’m not!).

We arrived 11:15 on Sunday morning and on arrival, there’s an arrivals field to the left where you park up in line (takes around 15 cars / caravans) and at midday, one of the wardens comes up the hill and calls 3 outfits at a time down to reception to look for a pitch and book in.

You should make use of your time in the arrivals field by looking around the site for a few pitches you like as the procedure (at peak times it seems) is to get called down to reception at which point, you leave the outfit in front of reception and go and choose a pitch whilst you’re parked up at reception.

It doesn’t seem too efficient but I can 100% see whilst they do it as loads of vans all manoeuvring through the site at the same time would be a nightmare.

All in all, check-in was well organised and hassle free (but we were second in the arrivals queue with about another 10 outfits behind us and had a good choice of pitches).

Pitches: We went for a hard standing on ‘the shelf’. The awnings are South facing so with the way the hedging is, you get ok morning sun and brilliant day / evening sun.

The pitches on the shelf are undoubtedly tight if you pitch the van ‘on the peg’. My car (admittedly a largish 4x4) encroached slightly on the 6-foot wide grass area of the pitch to the left of mine. A mover is essential for ‘the shelf’ as there’s a low fence directly opposite.

My advice (if you can get away with it) would be to give yourself a few extra inches and pitch slightly to the right of the peg – you’ll still have space to get the awning on the hard standing and also the car. We had a look at the other pitches at the site - there’s a huge variety and you’ll find something that suits (the problem may be that there’s already someone pitched in it though!).

We like the hard standings but they do have a regimented feel to them and are definitely smaller than the grass pitches. On the downside, the grass pitches slope a little so blocks (warden supplied) may be required. If we visit again, we would go for ‘the shelf’ again.

On site facilities: Given we were in the middle of the school holidays, the site was fully booked but felt fine. There were loads of kids of all ages scootering / biking / skateboarding so be prepared for this if you get a corner pitch near the bottom of the site. Everything quietens down with sunset.

A butcher visits a couple of times a week (we didn’t try) as does a mobile burger / fish & chip van. The fish and chips were absolutely lovely but you do have to wait for up to 20 mins as they cook to order. Get up there as they set-up and get your order in. Plenty of water / waste points throughout the site.

There’s a play-field which attracted the kids – we didn’t go in there. Dog walking facilities were excellent - as well as the area on the site, a public footpath runs though the middle of the site (behind ‘the shelf’). There’s absolutely no mobile phone signal (on O2 and 3 at least) unless you walk up to the arrivals field.

We used the club wireless internet and it was fine – a bit flaky in the evenings but ok for checking e-mails / browsing. The shop stocked the essentials for emergency purchases. There’s nothing close by (pubs / eating places) so you need to get in the car unless you’re just out for a walk. When you come out of the site, you can turn right to go into Perranporth – we did and regretted it.

The access road is like a 3-lane motorway compared to the road if you turn right out of the site – avoid!

Toilet block: This seems to be a common cause for complaint. When we were there, the site was full. In the gents, there are (from memory!) 9 showers, 5 sinks and 6 toilets and some urinals (I think in the ladies there are extra toilets to replace the urinals). We never had to queue for a shower but did see a queue or 2-3 people a couple of times around 10am (they close at 10. 30 for cleaning).

There were a couple of times where there was also a queue for ‘the traps’ in the gents…there’s nothing like a warm seat in the morning. All in all, we were fine with the toilet-block facilities. There’s a very useful wet-suit shower outside the toilet block and a washing up area.

The toilet block is pretty central to the site so if you’re at the top / the bottom, you’ll have a few minutes uphill / downhill walk - fine if you’re able.

In the area: Perranporth / Newquay are about 6 miles / 15 mins away. In Perranporth, it was pretty busy when the sun was out and we parked in the municipal car-park at £6 per 24 hours (we used the mobile phone booking service which was great).

There are cheaper parking options but there involve a longer walk to the beach – fine if you’re not lugging loads of stuff for a day-out. The beach there is brilliant. Padstow (the speedboat trip is brill), St Agnes, St Ives and Porthtowan all get honourable mentions as great places to visit – we weren’t disappointed with anywhere we visited – Cornwall really is a great place.

We mainly ate in the van but did have a meal out in ‘the Watering Hole’ on Perranporth beach. It was lovely to see the sun go down whilst eating. Prices were ok, ok service and good food. It was busy but I think that was because there was a prem match on sky. The Perran Dairy Ice-cream parlor and Chapman’s butchers in the high-street were both excellent.

There’s a couple of low cost supermarkets in Perrsaporth and a larger Morrisons on the way to Newquay.

Overall, this is a lovely site and we’d visit again. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Treamble Valley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Treamble Valley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Treamble Valley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


712 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement