Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ye Olde Royal Oak

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Ye Olde Royal Oak Reviews

CLOSED: Ye Olde Royal Oak
Wetton
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Campsite Is Currently Closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Turbin 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here Jubilee week for 2 nights midweek.

Unfortunately for us the weather was dreadful but undaunted we decided to stay anyway.

Positive: -

Site is at the back of a pub so night-time drink & plenty of food available (if you don't want to cook your own).

Pretty cheap (in my experience) so value for money.

Good base to use if you are in the area for sightseeing or walking.

Negatives: -

Shower & toilet poor - my youngest son steadfastly refused to use either & to be honest I didn't either other than for absolute necessity.

Very uneven ground unless you go for one of the hook up pitches - expect to roll out of bed!

The entrance to the field turned into a swamp under the traffic in and out - had it been busy I would expect that but it wasn't & a little hardcore wouldn't go amiss.

In all honesty I sincerely doubt I would ever go back as it doesn't tick the boxes I want ticking.

Obviously just my opinion & that of my kids as many others clearly love it here.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matt24 3 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights at this site, Friday and Saturday. Although I had booked I expected that by the time we arrived (after 8pm) it would be almost full, however I was pleased to see that there was plenty of room for us to pitch.

Took a 6 man tent for 4 people, 2 dogs and came in 2 cars. I thought that £5 per person per night was good value and although the showers, toilets, washing area are basic it was always clean.

There is only one shower/ toilet for each sex and the washing up area is located in the men's shower room, however I was surprised that I never had to queue even though it got busy by Saturday night.

As noted in other reviews the village has no shops so we took all food with us, but fortunately the pub serves good meals, which I would describe as typical pub grub. It also had a couple of good ales on tap, as well as the usual lagers and bitter.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and it has a great laid back feel to it.

There are plenty of great walks in the area with stunning views and there is a kids playground just down the road from the site.

There was some noise from the sheep and cows in the next field, however this is what you expect from camping in the country and it didn't really bother us.

We had a great weekend here and would not hesitate to go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cdb077 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Ye Olde Royal Oak. The campsite is in a field at the rear of the pub. (A lot of the sites in this area seem to be situated in the rear of pubs!)

This is a basic site with one shower each for ladies and gents. The toilet/showers are kept clean but you may have a wait for a shower at peak times.

The pub serves good food and seems to stay open well in to the night. The pub had a couple of real ales on tap.

The site is in a good location for walking, cycling or if you just want to relax.

We followed a circular walk to Thores cave with includes a stop at the cafe at Wetton Mill. (walk was about 6 miles)

There are no shops or other pubs in the village so make sure you come fully stocked.

At five pound per person this was good value for the money!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nattynuke 1 review from this member

Just returned from a lovely few days at this pub campsite. Situated in a gorgeous little village surrounded by beautiful countryside.

The site is just the right size.Not too big, external tap, mens & womens showers and toilets (kept very clean).

I went with a friend in my campervan and cost us only £5 each per night each including a driveaway awning.

No electric hook up points are available but I wasn't needing one so not an issue.

No shops in the village. Its a typical pretty country pub which seems very popular in the evening for food. Site was really quiet except for the bell ringing group which met on the Thursday evening at the church adjacent.

Friday night was really quiet and had no further problems, it is such a lovely relaxed site though so this wouldn't deter me visiting again in the future. Hope to go again next year!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MR+KR 10 reviews from this member

We camped for a few nights recently, and loved the place.

Why?

Because its a small field behind the fantastic Ye Old Royal Oak pub, with adequate facilities for a small site (although more toilets wouldn't be a bad thing). A fantastic setting, and very good VFM. I think the £5 per adult per night and £2.50 per child is about right for the site, but still good.

The general location is lovely. The village of Wetton is very picturesque, and the surrounding area of the Staffordshire Peak District is beautiful and relatively unspoilt.

Specifically.

Brian and Janet who run the pub and site are extremely nice people and easy-going, which adds to the experience. Clearly they are top hosts and the success of the pub is down to them and their staff.

Ye Old Royal Oak is a fantastic and unspoilt country pub, being both a real ale 'proper' pub, and does food at the same time. They have the balance just right (unlike some). It is also the best prices for drinks we found in the area.

It is completely child-friendly, to well behaved examples (unlike some other pubs).

The locals were generally very friendly too. A nice atmosphere.

We missed out on the quiz on the Thursday night, as we got in too late (our loss). The place was packed! I'm not surprised when seeing the free buffet laid on; the best free one I have ever seen. A good quiz too. The Doom Bar on draught was excellent. There was a Stones one on too. Hedge Hunter?

A 'proper' pub, and it showed.

If it is walking you want, the area is wonderful.

Places to visit nearby: Ashbourne. Thorpe (climb up Thorpe Cloud hill in good weather). Ilam. Tissington. Alton Towers is about a half hours drive away.

Not Of Merit.

The George, at Alstonfield. What a waste! Its a lovely old pub that is now a restaurant 100%. We visited and were informed there were no seats available. Because the whole place was geared to being a restaurant. All seats were taken by eaters, and there were none for those just wanting a drink. A restaurant, not a pub. We left. The food looked pretentious, and no doubt, very expensive. It shouldn't be in the good pub guides, and be in a restaurant guide instead.

The Bluebell Inn, A515, Tissington. Largely ditto the above. Not impressed.

Could Be Better.

The Black Lion, Butterton. A fantastic looking building in dark grey stone/slate, and a very nice pub. Top marks for the choice of real ales. However the 2 for the price of 1 deal on all main meals wasn't all it sounded. Individual meal prices were c. £9 to £10, which wasn't too bad, and two for that price was very attractive. But not if you are hungry! The portions were VERY small, and if I had just paid £10 for one, I would have taken it back and asked for the rest!

The Jervis Arms, Onecote. A lovely location by the river, and very biker-friendly, but sadly, not very child friendly. We didn't like being shoved into a side room/restaurant, which wasn't particularly nice. Children not allowed in the bar, which is the pub, in essence.

Why is it that too many places still adopt this absurd attitude to children, when I believe the law has been changed on this?

Ye Old Royal Oak at Wetton wiped the floor with the lot of them.

And we will go again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jon.mcguinness 12 reviews from this member

My wife and I have just returned from a week at this site. This was our second visit to this site and we were pleased to find that the standards have not slipped since our last visit in 2006.

The grass was fairly short, but it's obviously cut regularly. The site is on a gradual southerly slope running down from the adjoining churchyard. The church bells ring on the hour and half hour, but you soon get used to them.

The toilet and shower facilities are basic, but clean. The showers are free and there is plenty of hot water. There is only ONE toilet and shower per sex.

There are NO facilities for children on site, but there is a playground in the village about 5min walk from the site.

The pub is excellent, as is the food (real ales too) and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

There are no shops in the village, the nearest is in Hulme End around 3 miles away. Stock up with everything before you go!

Being in the heart of the Peak District, there are many excellent walks nearby. Also, the Manifold trail is close by, but there is a steep decent/ascent to reach it from the site.

All in all, this is an unspoilt campsite.Basic, but very user friendly.Fantastic!

£4.50 pnpp.

We WILL visit again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chibster 5 reviews from this member

This is a small and secluded site, off the beaten track in Staffordshire, near the Manifold Valley. We went on a wet Saturday and had to wait in the pub for the rain to clear which it did after not too many pints so that we could pitch up. The ground was very wet after 2 days of heavy rain and the tent became very muddy. Be careful if you are parking, you may want to leave your car in the pub car park as there is a risk you may get stuck in wet conditions.
The site slopes away from the church but is not too steep, and there are toilets for ladies and gents with showers, although I found the men's shower rather dirty.

The church bell right next to the site does toll occasionally at night, and somewhere nearby there is a noisy generator on a farm, so take good wax earplugs with you when you go!

The pub is small, charming and friendly, with excellent real ales and good food, although much of it seems to be grilled meat of some kind, which is perhaps what you should expect in an area where there are so many livestock farms. The pub is open all day at least on Saturdays and Sundays so makes for a good bet on circular walks.

Walking from the door is excellent, we walked to Thor's Cave and along the Manifold Way. Take a packed lunch with you if you're doing this as you won't find anywhere to get food and drink unless you turn back to Wetton along Larkestone Lane off the Trail. The countryside is beautiful.

You may find a slower pace of life here and some friendly local characters, although as I say the site can be a little noisy, so be prepared!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nohands 4 reviews from this member

Only one gents toilet. As this is also the shower and the washing up facility, there was a queue.

Facilities were basic and the toilet block needed a good clean. There was a big hole in the wall. Pub was quite small and the owners left a sign asking campers not to disturb them.

The location is OK. There was the noise from the church bells next door and some animals, but nothing excessive. No local shop, limited public transport.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tturner 1 review from this member

Our family stayed this month and found the location easy to reach. We booked in advance has we had read that it can get busy with it been a great spot. It had rained a couple of days prior to us pitching, but still the ground was good. We took a day out towards the manifold trail which was brilliant and returned to have a meal in the pub. The food was served within min's and was hot and went down a treat as did with those around us, the ale was bloody good too! the staff were friendly and the whole feel of the pub was charming we WILL return.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rkelly79 1 review from this member

We chose this campsite based on the reviews we read on this site, so thought it only fair to add our own :-)

It's a lovely little spot - there's some work being carried out in the next field which made it a bit noisy during the day, but at night the place is silent, apart from the church bells that go on the hour and half hour (not exactly offensive though!). The pub is great - very friendly, super ales and the food is good, honest pub grub.
Facilities are basic, but the showers are nice (though only one each for male and female), and I particularly liked the fact that the pot washing basin is in the male toilet, so by default, the men have to wash up! great! At £7 a night (£5 per tent, plus £1 per person) it's a complete bargain, and we'll probably go again.
There are lots of nice walks from Wetton, the best probably being Thor's cave, and then along to Beeston Tor and back again.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019