Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Chase Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Chippenham > The Chase Holiday Park > Reviews

CLOSED: The Chase Holiday Park
Stanton Park
Leigh Delamere
Chippenham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that following a change of ownership this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Danelle 1 review from this member

 On first impressions this seems like a very small and tight fitted camp site, but once arrived and settled in you realise to how much space you really have.

The facilities are brilliant, not many camp sites offer you a shower room with a homely feel, a kitchen with toaster, kettle, microwave, fridge, washing machine, tumble dryer, plates & utensils. Also each pitch had a electric hook up which was very useful!

The owners of The Chase are lovely, welcoming & warming. Considering we were a group of 22 aged from 16-20 the owner was very flexible to us.

The price was the cheapest around considering the facilities you got here compared to anywhere else.

Most definitely will be retuning to here for future trips! Could not say anything bad about this camp site! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rybooo 1 review from this member

 Had the most amazing weekend at the chase, really made to feel welcome by the owner and had a brilliant time

Plenty of room for 22 of us and its just down the road from castle combe

Not a lot of people would put up with a group of 18-22 year olds, but the chase did the owner respected us and treated us how we would want to be treated and it just made us all feel welcome

Will be returning next year for japfest and will be booking at the chase

Thank you for such a good weekend and hope to see you again soon 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikeprichard 1 review from this member

 I don't usually write reviews but after staying at this site a few times and reading the review written by 2 Alsatians I felt I had to write. As said I have stayed on this site a few times the last time being December just gone 2011. It is brilliant, yes it is small but it is advertised as such. The owners are just so helpful, nothing is too much trouble and they seem to be on call 24/7.

The site has some holiday static caravans and they are very well kept I certainly have never felt they are trailer trash as described, each has very pretty flower pots in front of them that are a burst with plants in the summer. The drive is gravelled with golden gravel and the site is very clean and pretty. There are extra wide gates at the rear of the site and you only have to ask to have them opened for you, if either your unit is too big or your driving is not too good to negotiate the front entrance. The pitches are arranged around the main residence which is mostly grass pitches, all with electric hook up.

There is only one shower for gents and one for ladies but seeing as the site is small this is ample, and there is a unisex loo as well, and as an added bonus they have central heating in the winter. I am quite a large guy and did not find the shower any smaller than my home one, seems to be a standard size to me, and the shower was always clean with toilet paper, hand soap and hand towels, and hair dryers. There is also a kitchen with a fridge, toaster, electric can opener, microwave, electric kettle and usual kitchen equipment, washing up liquid and tea towels, all this included in the price of the pitch, so I think really not bad at all. There is also a coin operated washing machine and dryer. The electric hook up is also included in the price as is the use of the showers

The surrounding area is really lovely, and the village pub the Huntsman was really good food and hospitality. We understood from the owners that the adjoining forest has recently been sold into private hands hence the fencing of the bridleway. Such a pity that the Forestry commission has felt the need to sell off all our woodlands. There is places to put your BBQ around the site and lot of interesting artefacts that makes the whole place a bit unusual and interesting. However this site is a little beauty, and when ever we have stayed have found other campers to be happy with the site, so do go give it a try. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2alsatians 4 reviews from this member

 Reading other comments has us wondering if we stayed at the same site as the writers, because in our opinion, this site is simply not up to scratch.

The good:

--The owners are exceptionally nice, friendly, and helpful. Can't fault them in any way.

--The shower is not a push-button variety.

--The shower/toilet room was kept clean and tidy.

--The site is convenient to the M4.

The bad:

--At best, you are pitched in what amounts to the side yard of the house.

--There are several static caravans located around the pebbled yard, which, frankly, gives the site a trailer-trash feel. The caravans on the large concrete surface in the back add to this impression.

--There is only one shower/toilet room for each gender, which is fine if you're the person in it, but very inconvenient if you're having to wait. The shower itself is a tight squeeze, as well.

--Towing into and out of the site is challenging, as all turns are tight and space is very limited.

--Traffic noise from the M4, while somewhat muted, is constant.

--The site advertises a large forest nearby suitable for walking dogs, but the reality is that it's only a straight, fenced-in bridle path through the woods (which are off-limits otherwise), and only about 3/4 mile long. It continues through a farm into a town.

--Walking is limited from the site, with only one other bridle path nearby. Otherwise, you take your chances on the not-so-quiet country roads.

--It's expensive (minimum 16/night with hookup), considering the facilities.

We did not eat out locally or use the kitchen facilities, so are unable to comment.

While the owners are tops and the convenience to the M4 is also good, we would only stay here again if we had no other options, and then only for one night. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Si_P 5 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a convenient stop over to visit my brother and newborn nephew in Bristol.

We contacted the site to let them know we'd be arriving late on Friday and they could not have been more helpful.

In my currently limited experience of camping the pitch we had here was second to none. Plenty of space for our van with a picnic bench brick BBQ and fire pit plus a hammock.

The site itself was really well maintained. I cannot really comment upon the surrounding area as we did not visit it. However I can recommend the pub in Kingston St Michael. This came recommended by the site and it did not disappoint.

The shower facilities were clean and functional but it did take a long time for hot water to come through.

My only disappointment for this site was that we didn't spend more time utilising our lovely pitch. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CRAGGIES 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 5 nights whilst competing at Castle Combe circuit and had a great stay on this really friendly site.

Great facilities, clean toilet/shower, kitchen should you need it and although it was at capacity over the bank holiday, there was a feeling of your own space.

Great couple own it (my missus blew the power whilst I was out and the owner fixed it without me knowing!) and really accommodating.

Great walks into local villages on the doorstep, 4 miles from Castle Combe and Chippenham and Motorway services a 2 minute bike ride away was really useful for the M&S Simply Food.

Useful short cut (nudge nudge wink wink) onto and off the M4 too. Will deffo use again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Saracen 15 reviews from this member

 The Chase is brilliantly situated for the M4, just a couple of minutes away, making it great for people travelling to or from the south-west, and also for visiting Bath, Bristol or the Cotswolds. It's a prettily laid out site - each camping pitch has its own stretch of garden with a picnic table and sunshade. It wasn't full when we were there, but I don't think it would seem too crowded if it was - the pitches are spacious.

Facilities are good - a shower room with toilet and sink for women and the same for men, plus one additional toilet - there's also a really well-stocked kitchen with all the appliances and equipment you might need. This is a very welcome touch.

We did think that if the campsite was full, then the facilities might be a bit stretched - more toilets and showers wouldn't hurt - but we had no problem.

The site is in beautiful countryside and we had some nice walking. The pub at Kington St Michael is to be recommended, as is the wonderful community village shop in the village - just a half-hour walk away. The service station is nearer and has most of what you could need - handy for breakfasts and suppers if you don't feel like cooking! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happyholiday 1 review from this member

 Amazing little family run site!

We visited here for a weekend in September. We stayed in a tent and our friends stayed in a static caravan.

The site is very well maintained. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The showers are free, very clean and warm with plenty of hot water. There is even a hairdryer for you to use free of charge. They are not your normal concrete block of showers and you can see that a real effort has been made.

The kitchen has everything you could possibly need and was clean and tidy.

I loved the cosy and relaxed feel to this site which you lack in the larger sites.

The static caravan our friends stayed in was really nice too and maintained to a very high standard.

Had a wonderful weekend and will definitely return next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prettyrose 3 reviews from this member

 Myself and my boyfriend camped overnight here en route to holidaying in Wales, and were very impressed. The couple who run this site are absolutely lovely and put themselves out to accommodate us.

We arrived late and they kept the kitchen open especially for us. The bar/restaurant on site is stunning - wooden beams, cosy fire etc. The meal was freshly cooked and wonderful, as well as being reasonably priced!

We'd highly recommend this site if you'd like a relaxing, incredibly friendly atmosphere. And eating in the restaurant there is a must!  


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3797 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement