Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel La Forge De Sainte Marie

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Thonnance Les Moulins > Castel La Forge De Sainte Marie Reviews

Castel La Forge De Sainte Marie
Rd 427
Thonnance Les Moulins
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
52230
Tel: 0033 03 25 94 42 00
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 199
Open: 20/04/ To 06/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roaming Rover 6 reviews from this member

A lovely, well maintained site. The pitches were large and with tall, thick hedges. Our pitch was slightly sloping.

There is a fishing lake overlooked by the bar/restaurant and a small river running through the site, which is situated in an attractive rural setting.

There is free WIFI in the games room or you could pay to access it on your pitch. We didn't have much phone reception on our pitch.

I did wonder if the toilet and showers facilities would be sufficient in the high season.

The people at reception were very helpful. Some people working there are English.

There is quite a lot of green space for children to play football, volley ball etc. There are things to see in the area, such as Joan of Arc's birthplace, the chateau gardens in the nearest town.

The roads are very quiet in the area - we saw a family of wild boar crossing the road in a nearby forest while driving to see a roman amphitheater and mosaic.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

A great family site set within small woodland.

The site is quite remotely situated, however there is little reason to leave.

We arrived to the main reception who could easily book you on in French, German, Dutch or English if you felt the need, they were awesome.

The shop is small but more than well stocked for basic essentials. There was also a Games room and nearby Pizza takeaway which sadly we didn't use, but looked superb.

The real highlight of facilities here is the on site bar/restaurant with stunning views over the tiny lake, well priced food although drinks were pricey.

The pool was very well kept and came in handy for 35 degrees of heat coming from Scotland!

Toilets and showers very well kept and maintained with ample dishwashing and laundry.

Grass pitches were well kept and private with good EHU.

The nearby town of Joinville is worth a visit with good shopping and culture.

Only a few downsides:

Standpipes were in odd places quite often resulting in disturbing a family meal outside. The whole site had a slight 'rustic' feel about it but by no means run down, maybe simple things like tarmacing the dusty gravel tracks would help.

Also the local cat stole my Bacon.

Otherwise a superb holiday park. Would I go Back? Planning a wee trip next year.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate w 51 reviews from this member

We stayed here overnight on our way to Alsace (3rd July 2016). A nice campsite in a pleasant location. We arrived just before 2pm to find our name and pitch number posted on the reception door, along with maps of where to find everything. Our pitch was near the lake/river, a good size with water and electricity points nearby. On going to reception later I was greeted with a smile from a lovely lady, I had a nice surprise, they'd decided to delay the high season date so our night was quite a bit cheaper than it would have been otherwise.

The shower block was up quite a lot of steps and I wouldn't have liked to negotiated them at night. Everything inside was clean and well maintained, loo roll provided.

We didn't get chance to try the swimming pool, we were going to but after a sleepless night driving down from Derbyshire we ended up falling asleep till teatime instead! We ate in the restaurant, which was very good, food excellent, service excellent, menu with lots of choice and reasonably priced.

The site was rather quiet, though I'm sure the facilities would cope when it's busy. A good site that I'd use again when in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Archangel_One 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for 5 nights in our tent on one of the fabulous, premium 200 sq meter pitches. This came complete with fridge, table and chairs, parasol and BBQ - all housed in a handy little lockable shed on the pitch. It was an ideal package as we only wanted to travel light for such a short stay. Most pitches we saw appeared to be pretty flat too.

The electric was 10 amp, with standard EURO connection, so no problems with running several gadgets. I would suggest taking a decent length extension lead however, as the premium pitches are so vast you maybe some distance from the power supply. The water supply was also very convenient on the pitch.

Washroom facilities were always spotless and there were hairdryers in several of the sink cubicles.

There is a well stocked shop which is open 8-10am and 14:00-19:00pm daily. All very reasonably priced.

The bar/restaurant is very nice too, with an outside terrance which extends over the river. Very handy to catch a cooling breeze while enjoying a beautiful range of traditional french dishes. In high season there's also a take-away/pizzeria, but it wasn't open while we were there.

There is an army of staff constantly maintaining the facilities and the reception and bar staff are first class, friendly and welcoming at all times.

Although we didn't have children we noticed there were several play areas for kids, including a bouncy castle, pedal go-karts and tricycles on a small track. There are other sports including archery to take part in.

We didn't use the indoor pool, but were assured by others we chatted to it was 1st class.

Around the site there are several walks which are listed from easy 5km up to 5-6 hour routes. The site is surrounded by wheat fields and forests, which makes for a lovely 2-3 hour hike.

Not much I can think of which is in any way negative about the site as I'd thoroughly recommend it. Just be a little careful with pitch selection if you have young children or are not so fit as some pitches involve using steep steps; however there are many that are perfectly easy to access.

Thoroughly recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pmaynard 10 reviews from this member

This site has a very special feel around the reception/bar/restaurant area and the owners make you feel most welcome. We pitched near to the lake and met several people who returned time after time. The range of pitches available is great and nearly all are secluded. A great indoor pool with outside relaxing area is perfect for a site that is not that far south. I hate to put a dampner on a great review but the sanitary facilities simply don't have the 5 star feeling of the rest of the site. They are very clean but are just poorly designed, very cramped and just not enough of everything. I really wouldn't want my wife or children to wash up in full view of the urinals. Don't let this stop you coming as I've seen a lot worse it's just that it lets down what is otherwise an excellent site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wobbler24 6 reviews from this member

We spent 3 nights at this site enroute to the South of France and it was great. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. There is a well stocked shop with essentials. There are also a selection of supermarkets a short drive away. There is a nice little bar/restaurant (we never sampled the food)and there is also a pizzeria on site. The men in our group thoroughly enjoyed the fishing and lost count of the fish they caught. The pitch sizes are generous and easy to access. The indoor pool was also very good and spotless clean with an outdoor area with sunbeds for relaxing. The only downside was that the shower/toilet block could have been better organised as only a partial wall separates the WC from the Dishwashing areas and the automatic lights kept going out. Notwithstanding this, we would definitely return if in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kad1310 10 reviews from this member

This is a difficult one to review for us, we were going to stay for 5 nights but left after only 2. The site when you turn up looks great and the reception staff vey helpful. We were given pitch number 54, possibly the smallest one on site and a bit of a funny shape, it was also on a small terrace. There were boulders all around and we had to be careful where we set the awning up. Plugging the electrics in was fun as the pitch we were on had 2 water taps and no electric, the point for our pitch was up on the next level, only had to climb a six foot bank to get to it, both the water and electric points were situated on concrete planters which had weeds growing out of them and here was me thinking that it was 5 star camping. That's what they reckon anyway. Sorry Castels, no way.

Shower block that is opposite the pool is apparently made to look old, yes they've achieved that on both the inside and out. Shower cubicles were 2. 5 foot square with the same size changing area and some of the showers did not have drain covers and nowhere to put shampoo or shower gel on except the floor. There were birds nesting inside above one of the doors on the illuminated fire escape sign and you know what comes with birds, that's right, bird droppings, all over the beams and even on the back of one of the shower doors I used. Generally not kept clean and very disappointing. Light kept going out when you are in the shower and be careful when you come out of the block as there is a 6' drop from the path. My other complaint is that on some of the roads there are drainage channels to get rid of the water, these are 4' across and deep, the only coverings on them is in the middle and we witness one lady nearly twisting her ankle and a child was very lucky as he nearly ploughed his scooter into one but he saw it at the last minute.

There are a number of positives like the pool, the trout stream and the bar area, but for us a total disappointment.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ceriannesman 6 reviews from this member

We initially booked for the first night of a tour of Champagne and Burgundy regions. We were so impressed by the friendliness of the staff, the good standard of maintenance of the site and the general feel good factor, that we stayed for 2 nights. The cost per night was not cheap but seemed reasonable for what you get. Our daughter enjoyed the pool and I had great fun fishing. The only slight downside is that the site is quite a distance from a supermarket but they did have a reasonably stocked shop from where you could order fresh bread and pastries. Would certainly stay here again and would try other sites in the group.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tina Small 1 review from this member

Just returned from a wonderful holiday. We can highly recommend this site, we originally booked for a few days, but ended up staying for 12 nights. We had our 14 yr old son with us. We found that all the facilities, entertainment and retaurant very good. We did lots of fishing and enjoyed fresh trout for our supper one evening. Our son made friends with the Dutch/French & English children, and was never bored. The owners are the friendliest I have ever experienced on a campsite, and there staff were all lovely. Congratulations on getting the balance at this beautiful site just right, beautiful setting, rustic feel. But just enough going on for the youngsters without spoiling its tranquillity. We will return! Thanks for making our holiday so wonderful.

The Small family.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 5gocamping007 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed at Castel sites before and were looking forward to bit of luxury on our way 'down south' and had booked a luxury pitch. A luxury pitch is supposed to be 200m2 and had a fridge, bbq, table and 4 chairs(we are a family of 5), 1 sunlounger and lockable shed. On arrival we were shown a rather cramped small pitch and after complaining were given a larger ptich. Although I have no specific complaints about the site, we felt it lacked the slickness we've seen at other Castel sites. The restaurant was fine, kids club good, loo blocks regularly cleaned, but we paid a lot for our 3 night stopover. Most of the staff were Dutch which meant we spoke little French. There is a nice indoor pool, but we too felt there wasn't a huge amount to do nearby. The campsite shop is not great and the nearest supermarket is in Joinville, at least 15 mins away. My husband enjoyed fishing for trout on site and my tip for any campers would be to buy some metal pegs for very rocky ground, as pitches were very stoney.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Thonnance Les Moulins      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Champagne Ardenne

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5729 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019