Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Chantry Country Retreat

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Chantry Country Retreat Reviews

Chantry Country Retreat
West Witton
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 4NA
Tel: 01969 622 372
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Statics Only
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Avondale e 13 reviews from this member

This camp site no longer caters for tourers and tents, residential statics only.

It is a shame as it appears to be a lovely site, in an area of outstanding beauty. Apparently it has been taken over by new owners who are establishing the site for statics only.

If anyone is interested in staying in a quiet location next to a lovely village, then this is the site for you.

The village looks to have a couple of nice pubs and a few shops.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindjemp 28 reviews from this member

Just spent a week at this site in a tent - very blowy (quite high up) so take extra pegs!

Very friendly wardens - toilets were small and heated (3 loos, 3 washbasins and 1 shower in the ladies) - the shower was nice and hot and strong (and free) but you had to nip next door to the loo to get ready as there was no shower curtain and if you hung your clothes on the door they got wet! Kept really nice and clean.

Nice room with a washing machine, mangle (my dd had great fun with this!), spinner and tumble dryer. 1 sink for pots and 1 for handwashing.

The small kids playground and football field was at the opposite end of the camping field.

Nice village at the bottom of a fairly steep hill - award winning restaurant - the Wensleydale Hiefer- pricey but excellent food.

The camp is ideally situated for all the local points of interest and is very well looked after and very reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TopCats 1 review from this member

Stayed here at the weekend. It is a friendly site with roomy pitches, they don't cram people in. It is in a lovely spot in the Dales. The facilities were more than sufficient for our needs and very clean. Site is also within walking distance of the Wensleydale Heifer; an excellent pub which has won awards - though not cheap. We went with very young children and they were extremely accommodating.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah C14 1 review from this member

I stayed at the Chantry over the weekend with friends and my 2 dogs, I found it to be really friendly and homely I will be going back the walks around the campsite were lovely well sign posted. Walked to the village and everyone was friendly went to the pub for a evening meal and was made to feel really welcome and they didn't mind us been sat in the beer garden with the dogs. Thanks.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dolphinman 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site in good location. Facilities basic but clean and made to feel welcome on arrival. Would recommend this quiet site especially for aircraft enthusiasts as you get some stunning views of aircraft from RAF Leeming low level flying in between the surrounding hills and valleys.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo Shaw 1 2 reviews from this member

I have just returned home from a weekend at this campsite.   The park itself is very pretty and well looked after.  The toilet/shower block was basic but adequate but as there was only 1 shower you sometimes had to queue.
 
It is mainly privately owned static caravans but has 2 separate touring fields, one of which is through the site, adjacent to the children's play area, football pitch and dog walking area.   Unfortunately we were told to camp on the other field which was adjacent to the entrance.   I say unfortunately as we were 4 ladies each with 2 children each.   The children are too young to walk the distance or play on the equipment by themselves.   That in itself isn't a great problem but when the children were told not to kick a football (we were the only people in the large field plus one other tent also with children), not to ride their bikes unless it was up and down the single track access road (a little dangerous I would say-especially for the 3 and 5 year olds'!) and told to put their soft ball cricket set away when they were at the far end of an almost empty field-why oh why did they not put us on the large field adjacent to the play areas.   This field had approx 10 touring caravans on, all situated at the opposite end to the play area and there was probably room for around 30 more. We could easily have been next to the children's area but well away from the caravans.  
 
We also had 2 dogs - no problem - a lovely area provided to walk them, but again a walk through the manicured Static area
So the dogs had usually done their 'business' well before they got to their area!  Obviously we pick up after our dogs but still not very nice for the people staying in the Statics!
 
I would say overall the park is ideal for anyone wanting peaceful holiday in a outstandingly pretty site.   BUT Mum's and Dad's beware-the couple who manage the site are over the top enforcing the rules & regs and seem to be laying in wait for our usually pretty well behaved 'little darlings' to break them. In a practically empty field!
 
We are members of the Caravan and Camping club and love staying on their sites.   We always find them very child friendly, and they try their hardest to pitch us as near to the children's area as possible.

I think this site needs to take a leaf out of their book or at least advise you of the restrictions, on their web site or when booking.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tina Roberts 1 review from this member

Had a really good time, so much so that we've come home to dry off and we're off again next week, facilities were really good, you can freeze your own ice cubes and  ice blocks which is great and showers / toilets were really great, no hesitation in recommending this site at all

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Abbey fez 3 reviews from this member

What fantastic views this site has to offer, this is one of the best sites we have been to, we will be coming back again, the lady owner of this site is a really nice person and made us feel welcome so did the residents of the static caravans. Not sure about washing facilities as we had our own in the caravan, we were in the top field which is a bit away from the toilets, good sized playing / football field for my 2 energetic boys and a small swing area. We went for some walks from this site and the views were breath taking, we have told so many people about this site, hope we have not told too many so that we can still get a place!. There is a village shop about a 10 minute walk away and they are also lovely people who have a little chat to you and make you feel welcome.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobanderson1954 3 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights on this excellent site.  The weather can be a bit 'fierce', the site being quite high up on the side of the dale, but nothing to be overly concerned about.  The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay.  The pitches were flat and the facilities were always kept clean and fresh.  Everything about the site is well organised and extremely well kept. Prices are reasonable and the opportunities to visit some fabulous countryside, either by car or on foot, are endless.  We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thehairymonkey 3 reviews from this member

Arrived around 1.30pm from Manchester after the traffic was terrible to be told by the owner that the office was shut 1-3 (for lunch). Didn't find this the best way to greet their only touring guests that day to be honest as we felt like we were disturbing them.

Was told to use the top touring pitch as wouldn't be as waterlogged. The ground was find and we set about putting the tent up in the rain. We had electric hook up which we were glad of. The top touring field has great views and is just what you hope for on a site and for £12.25 for 3 people and 1 large tent we thought it was a real find.

Now the gripes. The facilities were a long way from the top field and when we went to use them we found an out dated and very small men's block with two lock ups (no urinals) and 1 shower which floods the block when you use it. You also had to get changed outside the shower in full view of the door which, when opened exposed your nakedness to the world.

There was a separate block with a washing machine and tumble drier which we needed in the wet (50p) but only one quite small sink for washing up pots.

If the men's block (can't speak for the women's) was made larger and the facilities updated I would highly recommend this site but as it is I would say it's a letdown which is a shame as it's beautiful in the top tourer field. There is a David Bellamy award on the wall outside the office which pretty much sums up how nice the site is except for where it caters for it's human guests.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Leyburn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3691 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder