Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of White Horse Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Sudbury > White Horse Camp Site > Reviews

White Horse Camp Site
Mill Green
Edwardstone
Sudbury
Suffolk   (Browse area)
CO10 5PX
Tel: 01787 211211
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tcc2b4 1 review from this member

 A lovely site, relaxed and ‘festival-like’ as the weekend we were there meeting friends, there were young families, youngsters in tents, and a hub bub of low music & conversations- really nice.

The facilities are clean and accessible & drinking in the pub was very nice.

We’d certainly love to visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Countrylemon 12 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the White Horse in Edwardstone. Although behind a pub we experienced no noise, although it was a little early in the season and rather chilly, so most folk inside the pub! Lots of real ale, if that's your thing. There were a few other caravans and motorhomes, and on the Saturday evening two groups of venture scouts/Duke of Edinburgh young people arrived, although they were quiet and disappeared early on the Sunday morning. The pub has music now and then, they post events on their Facebook page which is regularly updated.

For walking with or without a dog, the location is fantastic. There are many well marked well walked paths locally. Sudbury, around 15 minutes away, has all the usual offerings of shops, cafes, culture you'd expect.

The ablutions block has two showers, and one loo apiece for ladies and gents. It was quiet when we were there so never had to queue. The hot water was very hot (it's solar heated) although it ran out around Sunday lunchtime (in fairness the 2 x groups of young people had probably used quite a bit!) but it heated up fairly soon.

The site itself is tending to the rustic side, don't expect manicured lawns. We found it absolutely fine. The location is most definitely out in the sticks, with narrow lanes, but we like this.

One big plus for us was the huge Millennium Green field opposite the pub. The kids really enjoyed the play area (surrounded by its own picket fence), and there are benches and picnic tables dotted around. Dogs are allowed. Lots of space for games etc. It's well looked after and a real credit to and asset for the community.

We hope to return soon. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Just got back from the Cider Festival. Superb range of real ciders, and they were all on at once!

The main news for 2017 is that the campsite now has electric hook up, making it a truly year round site.

Also of interest is that it has new owners and that the Mill Green Brewery seems to have closed.

This time, we stayed in one of the two self catering cottages which overlook the campsite. The buildings 'footprint' measures approximately 5m x 5m, is of wooden construction inside and out and will accommodate up to 4 people. Kitchen, lounge and wet room type shower/toilet are downstairs and bedroom is up. It has been thoughtfully equipped with just about everything you should need for self catering including washing machine. Towels are the only thing not provided.

Observations intended to help:

-Those needing to visit the toilet during the night should note that it is downstairs.

-Heating is by plug-in electric convector heater which might prove slightly inadequate during the coldest months.

-These cottages are over 5 years old now, whilst well maintained, don't expect pristine.

-No tariff is currently published. We were charged £40/night which I thought was fine.

Pub food is very good with main courses typically around £10.

To sum up: I've previously said that the White Horse was the best “pub site” I know of (See reviews Oct 2015, May 2013, May 2012) now complete with EHU, it can't get any better. I wish the new owners every success. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moplet 7 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent old-fashioned pub, in great rural surroundings, with basic campsite facilities. As long as you go along expecting this, you'll have a lovely time, as we did. Landlord very relaxed, and he and his team work very hard in the pub serving excellent ale. The camping field is flat and sheltered, although be prepared for noise from the pub and any music acts it has on. This didn't bother us as it was all part of the experience.

There's only 1 loo for men and 1 for women. The weekend I went there were at least five times as many men than women, so you found a lot of men queuing or nipping into the ladies (sometimes for quite a long period of time!) There are two showers, although one not immediately obvious, which is why some people might think there's only one. Hot water was in slightly short supply which made washing up a little more difficult, but it wasn't a disaster.

The proximity to this great pub more than made up for the slightly basic facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DickDude 1 review from this member

 We've been coming here for years to camp, enjoy the on site brewed provisions and to Eddyfest.

Great for kids to run free without worry and the site never packed. Solar panelled facilities clean but sometimes busy in peak times of day.

It appears that there has been a takeover and the much loved Mill Green brewery has/had shut down which means the ales served are not from ten metres away. Still had a good range of regional beers and ciders but not the fantastically local ones on offer previously. I don't think that Eddyfest was on this year either, which use to be a crackin' weekend.

We ate at the pub which seemed as good as before if a little pricey but it was very empty on a Saturday early, evening, mid summer which may speak volumes. Unsure of the exact situation with the pub or brewery but it seems that there may be life in the brewery yet but in the over marketed 'craft beer' form rather than real ale.

I hope this site gets its mojo back because without fear of contradiction it was the best pub site in the UK so I hope it can return to that status. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Just got back from the annual Cider Festival at the White Horse, so just by way of update.

Other than to say that there has recently been a slight price increase to £7/person/night with a min of £14, nothing has materially changed since my last visit/review of May 2013.

Happy to concur with other reviewers' complimentary comments.

To sum up: When I reviewed the White Horse in May 2012, I concluded, “. If anybody can suggest a better ‘pub site’, I would like to hear about it. ” I have yet to receive any suggestion. Cheers! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrAndMrsSmith 3 reviews from this member

 A wonderful little campsite hidden in the little lanes of Suffolk. The camping field is flat and nicely surrounded by hedges to break the wind.

There is plenty of space for children to run around and play, with the village park and cricket green just across the quiet lane. Good clean toilets and shower, although there can be a bit of a queue for the single shower in the mornings.

The pub is popular, but not noisy, with 4 different drinking \ eating rooms which you can take well behaved dogs into. They stock a wide range of beers and ciders some of which are brewed on site. The food is excellent. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RobandB 4 reviews from this member

 Fabulous place off the beaten track, surrounded by nothing but countryside, lovely walks and thatched cottages. Stayed for just one night mid week so it was very quiet.

Lovely, friendly pub with it's own brewery, (great ale. ) Flat field, well maintained site, no hook up but not an issue for a night or two, loos and washing up area clean and the eco solar shower was lovely and hot.

Great value and beautiful location, well worth a look. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: EllieR 6 reviews from this member

 This site was recommended to us by friends and it did not disappoint. In fact we stayed on for a couple of extra days. It was very peaceful. All you could hear upon waking was birdsong. The field is level and we were able to 'park' where we wanted. We used our own facilities most of the time but because we were using the caravan battery (no hook up) we did need to use the showers one day which were quite good.

The pub is very friendly and it has only very recently had a new landlord. The attached brewery supplied many different ales which we enjoyed. We only ate in the pub one night and we were very pleased with the burger deal. The vegetarian option was very tasty too. Many people were eating there on other nights.

There were many places to walk our dog, either using the public footpaths around the pub or across the road through the Millennium Field.

We will definitely be back in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sasara0 15 reviews from this member

 A fabulous site on a level field which was well maintained. We did find a mallet a rather handy tool. The site is sheltered by trees and hedges. The surrounding area is lovely with plenty of good walking to be done. The village of Kersey is well worth the walk.

The site belongs to the pub and can be a bit busier at weekends. We spent a wonderful 2 days here midweek and then went back again at the weekend which was some what busier. The pub is fantastic with many home brewed ciders and beers. Would particularly recommend their elderflower cider.

There is a small wind turbine on site, this is turned off at night and starts again around 9. 00 am so don't be put off by this. The hot water was produced by solar power for the washing up area and the showers, this was very hot.

My only negative comment would be that the toilets could perhaps be cleaned more often. Tip, take your own loo paper. Would we return? yes we already have!

We would also just like to thank the owners for organising the Suffolk Seven, great event and we really enjoyed the day, despite it being so hot! Many thanks. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is White Horse Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to White Horse Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is White Horse Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sudbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3297 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement